App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Bitwarden Logo
Bitwarden

The Most Trusted Open Source Password Manager for Business

visit website

Bitwarden Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.7

/5

97
99%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.41/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

And it's amazing to see you get so much with the free version. There are some out there claiming to be the best but this is simple, intuitive, and easy to use.
Feels good having a reliable way to manage strong passwords. I've gotten to interface with some of their devs and they seem like a great bunch trying to make a great product.
My experience with the program is very good, it helps me to remember the passwords on a daily basis and it helped me a lot to start using secure passwords in my accounts.
I am concerned about losing my password because it can be a huge problem not having it since it´s almost impossible to access Bitwarden vault again witout it.
I regularly have problems updating to the next version using the update prompts within the software. For this reason, I download updates directly from the website.
It doesn't always detect fields right, and there's no button inline to fill in passwords automatically. I have to right click to get to the vault.

Bitwarden users...

LastPass-logocaret
avatar
avatar
avatar
listing-logo
+ 40

LastPass

1Password-logocaret
avatar
avatar
avatar
listing-logo
+ 1

1Password

Microsoft Excel-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

Microsoft Excel

Zoho Vault-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

Zoho Vault

How would you rate Bitwarden?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


97 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ho'omana Nathan H.

Visiting Assistant Professor

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

The best password manager I've used by a wide margin

Reviewed 4 months ago

Transcript

Speaker 1: My name is Nathan. I'm a visiting assistant professor. I rate Bitwarden five out of five stars....

Overall Rating

Password management

Reviewed 4 months ago

Transcript

Renato C.: Hi, I'm Renato. I'm CTO. And I give Bitwarden a rating of five out of five. For more reviews...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Uncluttered and Secure

Reviewed a year ago

Bitwarden quickly became my password manager of choice. The browser add-on is quickly accessible and I can fill in passwords with a minimum of fuss. An excellent free option and much better than my previous paid software.

Pros

Bitwarden has a clear and easy to navigate interface. It enables easy access to passwords without distracting from higher priority tasks. Its simplicity is its strength.

Cons

I regularly have problems updating to the next version using the update prompts within the software. For this reason, I download updates directly from the website.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best free alternative ever

Reviewed 8 months ago

I've been using it for 5 months, moved her from Last Pass. I would be happy to pay for a premium plan but only if they fix this lack of asking to update (or add) new passwords

Pros

Supports multiplatform, multi synching and it works well!

Cons

Sometimes it doesn't ask you if you want to add a login when you log into a website for the first time, and more often it doesn't ask you if you want to update a password when you are restoring one.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great user experience and simple management

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

Password encryption - end 2 end encryption of passwords so they cannot be stolen from Bitwarden servers. Shared collections for team secrets - document passwords, server access, etc. Secure password message - send password to other user securely

Cons

Yubikey MFA support only in premium version. Letdown but not a dealbreaker

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly Secure, Flexible, and Easy to Use

Reviewed a year ago

Trusted solution that I have relied upon for over a year. I can provide access to others in my family.

Pros

Great free plan to get started. Easy to understand how it protects your passwords. Browser extension and phone app make it easy to access anywhere without compromising security. Easy import/export.

Cons

I wish the Bitwarden business model charge some small fee for the entry tier of service. It seems like they offer too much for free, which is a concern for continued operation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Bitwarden is both very capable and reasonably priced

Reviewed a year ago

Since moving to Bitwarden I've been very pleased with the experience. Importing from the old password manager product was quick and seamless. I was up and running in no time with a U2F hardware key as a second authentication factor. The little touches like adding custom fields and additional URIs to a login are great.

Pros

One standout feature for me is the ability to use things like base domain and regular expresions to match login URIs. With logins you can also add custom fields to be filled - particularly useful for something like an AWS login, where you need to provide an account ID as well as the typical username and password. The password generator also supports passphrases which is another great addition. Granular controls on password policies and minimum

Cons

The way attachments are handled needs a rethink. Creating and saving a note before editing it in order to add a file isn't a nice experience. A new category alongside notes would improve this. I feel the interface could do with some modernisation but that's obviously subjective. Overall it does feel like an efficient product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Your First Choice of Password Managers

Reviewed 3 months ago

Easy to use and very less subscription fee. Free users are able to sync across multiple platforms and don't have restrictions on device limitations. High value of money.

Pros

Bitwarden is a highly reliable encrypted password manager. Its organization function allows you to share specific passwords across your team members, which extended team collaboration. The Premium version also supports embedded 2FA, so it helps you to log into any 2FA enables sites even faster.

Cons

Autosave password on browsers is not as smart as Lastpass.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Once I knew about this LastPass alternative, I never tried any other alternative!

Reviewed a year ago

My experience has been awesome since day one I tried it! The transition from LastPass to Bitwarden was done very quickly and just like that I switched to this one without any issues, also I get used to the UI/UX very quickly, as iin any case t isn't difficult to understand it either. I highly recommend this tool!

Pros

This is the best alternative for LastPass I've ever found and I love the fact that it is open-source! After LastPass changed their terms for Free users I started to see for similar tools as an alternative that would fit my needs, then I started to saw a lot of opinions and reviews over the internet, so I tried it and immediately loved it! Also the transition from LastPass to Bitwarden was very smooth and quickly! After 2 mins all of my passwords were imported successfully to Bitwarden, I highly recommend this one!

Cons

Probably the UI/UX could improve a bit more, other than that this product is awesome! Actually, a refreshed UI/UX would just be a plus, as the service itself totally worth it!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great password management tool!

Reviewed 10 months ago

I was a bit scared at first to use this password management tool as I was very happy with the previous one but so far it has been great. Importing all the password took just a minute and everything was there. There is a bit of adjustment but once you get the hang of it, there is no going back.

Pros

The fact that Bitwarden has open-source code and is very clear about their tool and what they are doing. The free option is enough for most people but even the paid version is very cheap for what it offers you. The phone app is great and very easy to use!

Cons

Compared to some other password managers, Bitwarden doesn't always recognize when a new password is created and therefore doesn't offer to save it automatically.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great free password manager

Reviewed a year ago

This software has an import process that works very well. If you already have logins and passwords for other services, it's very easy to import and organize them without much difficulty. It is also possible to organize all your passwords in folders, facilitating future consultations.

Pros

The free version of this software is very good, as it allows saving passwords directly in the browser and automatically syncing them to the Android phone. It is also possible to add small notes, bank credentials or any other information in text mode easily.

Cons

On some sites, this software does not automatically save the creation of a new login and password, and you have to add it manually. In some situations he wants to re-save a login and password that were previously added. It does not have a password resend option, but it does have the master password hint option.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One to rule them all, One to find them, One to bring them all and in the darkness bind them

Reviewed 8 months ago

For me, it's an easy choice. Free + open source + encrypted with apps for phone, pc and extension for chrome means it's the last password manager I will try probably.

Pros

If you have not been using a password manager till now, then you are missing so much on security and usability. And Bitwarden is maybe the best one of them. Free, open-source, and with the ability to create passwords, easily auto-complete them and group them. Really you can't go wrong with this software.

Cons

There are a few times that the auto-completion of passwords does not work automatically (you need to manually click on the password from the icon) and sometimes on the phone, the app is not running and so you need to open it before it proposes you to fill the password.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Open source password management that works everywhere

Reviewed 4 months ago

Secures our password usage within the company, allowing us to securely share credentials in appropriate cases. Also encourages users to better secure they're accounts.

Pros

Password management without the commercial question marks that other tools entail. Solid functionality and active development.

Cons

Difficult to work with multiple accounts. They're working on this - the desktop client currently supports this, but the browser extensions do not.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Professional software but with some limitations.

Reviewed 5 months ago

We share passwords as a team now, which is more secure than sending these via email. We love how quickly Bitwarden synchronises and we can deploy this on-premise if we wished.

Pros

I love the design and ease of use of Bitwarden, with some super simple setup to get started. It has an absolutely awesome password generator which allows you to set length, characters used, and to define not to use ambiguous characters such as lowercase L or capital I.

Cons

Bitwarden only lets you have a few types of stored data, such as login username / password, secure note, and credit cards. In other software I am able to create my own types including PINs, API keys, etc... this limits importing from other apps to using secure notes for everything.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Current Best Password Manager

Reviewed a year ago

Bitwarden does what it sets out to do really well as a password manager. Being open-sourced means greater security as anyone can check the codes and report any potential issues, bugs or exploits. This is really important as you have to trust the software to keep your valuable information safe and sound, something not all of its competitors can provide.

Pros

Bitwarden is an open-sourced password manager that lets you remember and manage the many different logins you have. It lets you generate complex passwords that are difficult to guess even for other computers, which means greater account security and in the event that one of your password does get leaked, none of your other accounts will be compromised since you should already be using different passwords for different sites.

Cons

The greatest hassle of using Bitwarden is that you'll need to manually click on the Bitwarden extension icon to start the auto-fill process, something which other competitors may have better ways to deal with this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Free Password Manager

Reviewed a year ago

I would definitely recommend using password manager to everyone as using different password for each service improves your security a lot. And Bitwarden is one of the best on the market. I used 3 different tools for this and I stay with Bitwarden :)

Pros

Works on every platform, including mobile. It integrates really well with all popular browsers. It has also integration with mobile keyboards, which makes logging to websites on the phone super easy. Using password manager improves your security a lot.

Cons

There is no option to set a keyboard shortcut to fill in forms in web browsers. But this is only tiny detail.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bitwarden for keeping your passwords safe

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

Bitwarden is an easy to use Password Manager. It generates secure passwords to be used during logins online and offline. It also offers mobile application and browsers extensions. While on a browser, the auto complete feature is very useful, since it identifies the website and the login form and automatically add username and password.

Cons

For mobile devices it has difficult to auto complete the login forms for when using a browser apps like Chrome. This is due to Android limitations but directly impacts on the user experience. In these cases it is common to copy passwords using the clipboard, which is not ideal, since other apps can read the content of it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

BITWARDEN for a researcher

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

when I switched to warden I was hesitant but from step one bitwarden was great. it managed to import all my passwords seamlessly and even managed to import the notes, the password generation is very good , and I seem to find that the software manages to autofill info for more websites that other password managers.

Cons

what I like least about the software is that for fingerprint login you need both the chrome extension and the standalone software, it would be nice if you only needed the extension

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Outstanding product in all areas

Reviewed a year ago

Password accessibility through other programs! No phone support; but they answer email requests the fastest I have ever witnessed.

Pros

The ability to Interact through all software packages, saving time by not having to continue changing at every turn

Cons

No phone support! Quick response from email requests!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bitwarden: The Best Option

Reviewed a year ago

Bitwarden became and will stay the best option in password management because of its high-level encryption, seamless transition between mobile and PC, and because it's entirely free.

Pros

One of the pros is how easy it is to switch from other password managers to Bitwarden and have all your passwords carry over. The biggest pro is that this software is completely free and open-source, making it a more affordable option compared to more popular managers.

Cons

The only con is that the app feels a little unpolished/glitchy at times when compared to bigger and more developed password managers, making it harder to use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Use this instead of LastPass

Reviewed a year ago

I switched to it due to LastPass's new limitations, is OpenSource you can install it on your own servers and manage your own key management system, is cheap, and has a ton of features, the same as LastPass.

Pros

Its free version offers the same as the previous LastPass plan, you can use it in both Mobile and PCs, pricing is much cheaper, the android App is not as buggy as LastPass.

Cons

The UI could be better, there are some quirks but you can move around them easily, Its design is not as nice as LastPass.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Strong Security for free

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It allows you to use both desktop and mobile versions at the same time and has exceptional support for generating strong unique passwords

Cons

There's nothing about the software that I dislike

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Password Management

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Bitwarden has a good user interface and its easier to use and navigate. It syncs passwords across all devices and platforms. And it's free. It has a feature that will notify the user if the password has been found in the breach list.

Cons

I have faced issues on my phone while auto-filling the username and passwords while using bitwarden. Certain basic features like 2FA requires you to buy a subscription.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Most trusted password manager

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Open source nature of the software makes it highly trusted. High quality extensions, emphasis on security.

Cons

Safari extension is slow and clunky compared to other platforms.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bitwarden's Free Version is Excellent

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I have currently only used the Bitwarden free version. It has an awesome set of features and I would highly recommend it as a password manager.

Cons

I switched from Lastpass. It had a feature that would scan all your saved passwords and provide you with recommendations of passwords that might be considered insecure. I liked this featured and so far have not seen anything similar in BitWarden.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solid rock

Reviewed 6 months ago

Haven't had any required. Program runs on autopilot. Click when I need it, runs flawless every time.

Pros

Easy to operate, solid peace of mind. Not really for business, this home use program generates and saves long, randomly generated passwords. Ones that theoretically would take millions of years to hack. Just one less point of attack I can defend, for cheap. This program does the job well, just a single click to enter a very safe, unique password on a website. Simple and intuitive methods to control password requirements, access and lockout settings, and online vault storage.

Cons

The directions can leave you confused. New password generation could be easier.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent password manager

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

I love how fast and easy it is to add new passwords. I am also very impressed with how well the autofill works.

Cons

I love everything about Bitwarden - I can't think of anything I don't like!