App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Network Detective Pro Logo

Non-intrusive IT assessment solution

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Network Detective Pro Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

10

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.7/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

jira-service-management
action1-rmm

Pros and cons

My overall experience with the product has been great with regards to using this as an information gathering tool.
We love that we can quickly capture lots of information on a network quickly. We can also integrate this with documentation systems to keep data up to date.
Great tool for Network and Security Assessments.
Technical Support suffers from a lack of responsiveness on really big impactful issues that can stop an assessment in its tracks for 1 or more weeks.
When reviewing through many pages of a pdf, it can be difficult to flip through and catch things unless you are specifically looking for a piece of info (search in pdf).
My only difficulty with the software is processing through the shear amount of information that can be generated in the Reports.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


10 reviews

Recommended

JA
AvatarImg

John A.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Network Detective Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have greatly enjoyed using the software and find it easy to generate some valuable reports. It is tried, tested, and true and provides me amazing insight and understanding of even the most detailed network.

Pros

This software has been vital to helping our business grow. From new prospects to existing clients we use this software to help shed light on companies networks. In the pre-sale we use this tool to help inform the customer about their current support and security issues they may have and not even know about. It is eye opening for them to see this and it helps us build a better program for them to help address their needs. For our existing clients we run this and use it during our QBRs to show the value they are receiving from us and how we have helped remediate the issues on their network.

Cons

There isn't much I don't like about this software. It is simple to use and easy for us to train new employees on. The biggest issue I have ever had about this was more my fault than the software itself. I had done an upgrade on the report builder and didn't upgrade the scan tools so I had a mismatch after a scan and had to contact support who helped me roll back my software and get the scan going so I didn't have to go and re-scan the environment.

MB
AvatarImg

Michael B.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Network Discovery and Constant Insight into Monitored Infrastructure

Reviewed a year ago

My overall experience with the product has been great with regards to using this as an information gathering tool. Outside of using this product, manually reviewing the data points it covers would take much time out of a resource's day. The usefulness of Network Detective Pro is apparent by the 5 years + of our org working with this tool.

Pros

We currently use Network Detective Pro for initial investigation and assessment of potential clients, along with constant monitoring of network changes in clients that are subscribed to our service. The ability to export the gathered information into IT Glue allows us to initially populate our documentation for a particular client and review relevant information outside of just an exported pdf report. This allows us to review over potential and current clients quickly and efficiently, saving time for our tech resources in the information gathering process.

Cons

My only difficulty with the software is processing through the shear amount of information that can be generated in the Reports. When reviewing through many pages of a pdf, it can be difficult to flip through and catch things unless you are specifically looking for a piece of info (search in pdf). I think this may be remedied by exporting report into IT Glue and using that as a base to review data and build reports through that platform, but that is an additional product outside of Network Detective Pro.

RA
AvatarImg

Robert A.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good Product, But it could be great with more refinement, updates and enhancements.

Reviewed a year ago

Overall Network Detective provided insight and reporting not available within other platforms. Technical Support suffers from a lack of responsiveness on really big impactful issues that can stop an assessment in its tracks for 1 or more weeks.

Pros

Ease of use and deployment. Data collectors work 95% of the time without issue. The reports have an enormous amount of data and are well organized.

Cons

Scaling and capacity for larger clients (4000 device & users) is marginal. Reporting for larger clients can take an extraordinary long period of time (like 12+ hours or more). MS O365 and Azure assessments suffer from configuration and authentication issues. No support for endpoint push assessments for Azure AD Devices (We modified the endpoint data collector to run in a cloud managed environment). Reporting needs to be refined to show the actual assets being cited within many of the reports.

GS
AvatarImg

Gaurav S.

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for Network and Security Assessments

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Reporting and Analytics is one of the great features of Network Detective as it produces some great detailed and comprehensive reports with detailed risk score and issues summary. It also integrates well with different environment to produce consistent results and reports.

Cons

At the same time, we are dealing with some false positive's issues recently on the reporting produced by the tool. Some scaling issues have also been faced by us with tool failing at times when working with some very large cloud environment with many users, other than that it's great.

SK
AvatarImg

Sheila K.

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great product for MSPs!

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

This saves us so much time and supports standardization so that there are less manual processes.

Cons

Implementation was a bit of a challenge but thats easy to say about all software implementations.

BR
AvatarImg

Brad R.

Information Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quick Network survey and updated information

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great, especially the people supporting it.

Pros

We love that we can quickly capture lots of information on a network quickly. We can also integrate this with documentation systems to keep data up to date.

Cons

The software tools had a little bit of a learning curve.

Vendor response

Hey, Brad. Thanks for the positive review! We're thrilled that American Technology Specialists is getting great value out of our tools. Stay tuned for new reports and even more new features coming soon!

AW
AvatarImg

Adam W.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool for getting a handle on your clients

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

- Excellent visibility into the overall status of the network, detailing out potentially vulnerable ports and - Clearly identifies items for cleanup, such as old user accounts and what users are in what groups. - Provides a wealth of reports, some of which are end-user friendly and can be given to executives, while others are more technical and can be utilized for remediation. - Has helped on both landing new prospects and showing improvements to existing clients over the course of time

Cons

Generating reports has intermittent issues, has not been a big deal.

MW
AvatarImg

Mark W.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Network Detective is part of our regular toolkit

Reviewed 5 years ago

The information returned is extremely useful when onboarding a new client.

Pros

The detail it returns regarding user accounts, shares and computers on the domain.

Cons

The initial user interface isn't very intuitive but after a few uses it's seemless.

MK
AvatarImg

Mike K.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A powerful discovery tool that's simple and effective!

Reviewed 5 years ago

A few years ago our company was looking for a solution to make network assessments more profitable while also being able to add in security and overall system health analysis. We had a compile different products that we tested along the way but nothing gave us the simplicity while also providing the detail like Network Detective!

Pros

- Simple to use - Cost-effective network assessments - Ability to schedule scans - Deliverables to clients that have a real impact!

Cons

No cons come to mind, the product does what I ask of it!

FC
AvatarImg

Felix C.

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great assessment tool

Reviewed a year ago

allows us to customize the reports for our clients with giving them the correct info

Pros

I like the ease of being able to generate reports

Cons

setup does take some time to get the way you would like