App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Snyk Logo

Snyk

Cloud-based security platform to track & fix vulnerabilities

see alternatives

(1)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Snyk Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

17

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.76/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Snyk is allowing us to make good use of the wealth of great open source software out there, without compromising on security.
I was so grateful to find a service like Snyk that does the hard work for me - keeping an eye on any security issues so I can focus on building great software.
The weekly reports are a great way to regularly check in on overall package health. The alerts on new vulnerabilities are very useful and enable us to respond to important issues rapidly.
In a world where the time from vulnerability being announced to exploit being used is decreasing rapidly it is crazy not to use a service like this.
Sometimes the UI is confusing and access management is a bit vague.
When I started using Snyk I found the reports useful but still too easy to ignore. So I added Snyk to build pipelines to fail builds that included high risk vulnerabilities.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


17 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Colin C.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best tool for addressing the concerns of using open source libraries.

Reviewed 5 years ago

When I started using Snyk I found the reports useful but still too easy to ignore. So I added Snyk to build pipelines to fail builds that included high risk vulnerabilities. Snyk is now even better and warns me before I even merge my pull requests. In a world where the time from vulnerability being announced to exploit being used is decreasing rapidly it is crazy not to use a service like this. Snyk is by far the best tool I have found in this area

Pros

Objective reports on vulnerabilities in code we produce GitHub Integration

Cons

Having open source builds count towards your paid count if you are not careful

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A necessary and reliable companion in the fight for security

Reviewed 5 years ago

Snyk is allowing us to make good use of the wealth of great open source software out there, without compromising on security.

Pros

As a long time fan of open source software, keeping track of security issues amidst an ever growing software stack was increasingly an impossible task. I was so grateful to find a service like Snyk that does the hard work for me - keeping an eye on any security issues so I can focus on building great software!

Cons

The pricing structure gets extremely expensive for medium to large companies, but thankfully for smaller organisations there is a free tier which covers our needs.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Konstantin S.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Good SCA

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Nice component analysis tool, great interface and dashboards. Very fast and easy deployment and use.

Cons

SAST component is very weak and don’t support increment scanning.

EY
AvatarImg

Elmo Y.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the best vulnerability scanning tools around

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Have been using Snyk for around 1 year now and it's one of the tool which we can't avoid though it annoys us now and then by finding new vulnerabilities in our packages and forcing us to mitigate the risk. They provide details of the vulnerability and in most cases the version to fix it. It integrates very well with the build pipelines and other CI/CD tools along with a nice IntelliJ plugin.

Cons

Sometimes the UI is confusing and access management is a bit vague.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniel H.

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Security Sorted

Reviewed a year ago

So far our company has adopted Snyk across our SDLC and incorporated it into our repos and pipelines and have enjoyed our experience with using Snyk so far.

Pros

Snyk simplifies security. It can scan your for vulnerabilities during development or when your run a pipeline in azure dev ops. This raises issues before they make it to production so you have the comfort of knowing that new and existing packages have no known security vulnerabilities. I also really like the ability to one click fix issues within Synk where it can automatically fix the issue and create a PR within azure devops - this simplifies the process and saves time.

Cons

Not all issues have a 1 click fix which is understandable.

YV
AvatarImg

Yonatan V.

Medical Devices, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Snyc guards open source

Reviewed 5 years ago

Snyc guards our Node.js projects in our Medical applications

Pros

Active scan for malicious software. Freeware model for small businesses with single project. Nice dashboard and nice CLI for SSH access.

Cons

The cheapest paid plan should cost a bit less

AB
AvatarImg

Ashveen B.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A must have for all node.js dev

Reviewed 2 years ago

Has delivered value from the day I started using it. I hope you will enjoy it too.

Pros

Concise reporting and the vulnerability scan is excellent regarding categorization of issues.

Cons

Nothing really. It is excellent as it is.

GJ
AvatarImg

Glenn J.

Research, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A good easy to use security tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

We were looking to have a quick method of checking for vulnerabilities in open source, Snyc fir that bill perfectly. It was fast to set up and the cost was quite low. A great tool.

Pros

I liked the easy of setting the tool up. I did not have to spend a lot of time configuring this tool.

Cons

The user interface can be a bit short on details. When I go to use it, there are really just a few items that say "everything is fine".

RT
AvatarImg

Ross T.

Government Administration, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Works well

Reviewed 5 years ago

Helpful tool that integrates seamlessly and works as advertised.

Pros

Snyk is easy to use, provides clear feeback, integrates well into GitHub

Cons

Doesn't always update its results the fastest

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

James S.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very useful tools

Reviewed 5 years ago

As a beta stage startup I appreciate the free offering and expect Snyk usage to grow with our business.

Pros

Snyk was easy to setup and use. The weekly reports are a great way to regularly check in on overall package health. The alerts on new vulnerabilities are very useful and enable us to respond to important issues rapidly.

Cons

No problems using the tool so far. I look forward to more information on vulnerability resolution in the platform.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Your security agent

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, the plugin is pretty handy to get started with but I would like to see smarter analysis.

Pros

The automated repository analysis is pretty good and can be easy to plug into your PR (pull request) validator

Cons

The security analysis is very primitive and often flags false positive which has to be fixed with manual override or skipping the PR validation check

JC
AvatarImg

Justin C.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Convenience and piece of mind

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It took only seconds to set up, yet works for my projects every day. Knowing what my venerabilities are during the development phase allows the evaluation of the concern prior to code ever seeing production

Cons

I wish it had a way to automatically inform the creators in the chain of dependencies so we as developers did not have to.

MS
AvatarImg

Matt S.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great service

Reviewed 5 years ago

Helps me keep on top of the dependent packages that my software relies on and motivates me to help in open source software with issue reporting or making PRs if I can.

Pros

Informative email messages when vulnerabilities are found in dependencies. Very clear explanations. I also appreciate the email newsletters.

Cons

So far nothing. It seems to fit my use-case really well.

DO
AvatarImg

David O.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

be the Snykiest

Reviewed 2 years ago

i enjoyed using snyk so not bad

Pros

it gave me really useful code to add to mine in really creative ways I didn't think about before using it

Cons

your barely get any suggestions till you start typing, i feel this takes a lot of creativity out. just my opinion

Sg
AvatarImg

Shravya g.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Reviews on Snyk

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We can identify security vulnerabilities during the development and fix them. Its easy to use, and the depth at which the scans are performed to find the vulnalerabities is great.

Cons

Nothing as much, but the pricing is expensive.

ST
AvatarImg

Srinivas T.

Banking, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Must have for UI development

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Quick results for vulnerabilities scanning

Cons

I did not like the user interface. You should provide some dashboard

AC
AvatarImg

Anthony C. V.

Online Media, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Testing Snyc

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It is fast at making the fixes it explains thing well

Cons

that I don't understand if the changes will break my code