App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

BMC Helix ITSM Logo

BMC Helix ITSM

IT service and IT asset management software

see alternatives

BMC Helix ITSM Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.1

/5

113
81%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.39/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

I have worked on Remedy ITSM and found it robust and secure which can offer huge benefits to organisation investing in this solution either for their own use internally or when serving other clients.
Once installed/upgraded it is super easy to develop, manage and it is very easy to have to tool fit your processes.
Remedy ITSM has been great to implement our Service Desk Service from Scratch. With it we can keep track of the ticket´s progress, and improve our Support Platform 100.
It has many errors, from the need to be used via the web, such as problems in scripting, execution and timeout. Serious problems that make the tool a bad work mechanism.
There are a few fields mandatory that for some users are annoying since there is no like an option for a quick ticket to report a particular emergency that wants our support ride away.
Support by BMC is generally poor. Very difficult to get people who understand what the problem is and even more difficult to find the ones able to resolve it.

BMC Helix ITSM users...

avatar
listing-logo
IBM Maximo Application Suite-logo

IBM Maximo Application Suite

avatar
listing-logo
Zendesk-logo

Zendesk

avatar
listing-logo
Siebel CRM-logo

Siebel CRM

avatar
listing-logo
SysAid-logo

SysAid

How would you rate BMC Helix ITSM?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


113 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

You need a better designer

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This software allows you to log tickets and assign to groups.

Cons

If the person, i mean the designer does not know what he/she is doing and does not cater to your needs, then it is going to be a pain.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Pros and Cons

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Consistent UI makes it easy to navigate. Fully ITIL Compliant and easy to explain how using SMPM. Easily customizable to meet company needs and business processes

Cons

No end to end data model so when you do have to do a configuration or customization change you don't know all the places impacted. Upgrade are tough if you have done any customizations.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Use of remedy

Reviewed 2 years ago

its useful for the team to efficiently place tickets without the hassle of going through paperwork

Pros

What I like most about remedy is that Im able to place tickets Ina orderly fashion and im able to search through old tickets that relate

Cons

N/A

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Mercator review of Remedy IT Service Management

Reviewed 8 years ago

PROS: - big community of users, - generally lots of best practices are incorporated into the tool, - listed as ITIL compliant (but see below coment...), - offers lots of ITIL processes, - well-connected OOTB with CMDB, BPPM, ADDM, other BMC tools, - mostly well accepted among users (if we ignore product defects). CONS: - very difficult to understand process steps in Remedy and SMPM and relate...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I love this software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This is the first ticketing system i have ever used. I love it

Cons

Great software, only issue is it times out from time to time

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Enterprise Incident and Change Tracking Software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Remedy works well in modern web browsers which is something anyone can appreciate. Specifically browsers that handle advanced web applications well such as Google Chrome. The general layout is relatively intuitive and a lot of organizations will use their development framework to customize.

Cons

The application feels extremely bloated even for a web application. I find myself often spending more time waiting for a screen to load than I do resolving the issue, documenting the incident, or logging the change request.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This product is great if u want to log your tickets in

Cons

It’s an older base format that needs some work

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Complex and Complete

Reviewed 8 years ago

PROS - when you setup Remedy ITSM you are able to work as ITIL says. ITSM brings you the ITIL standard process. - all the applications inside the ITSM suite are connected natively: You can open a Change from an Incident. You can configure your SLA and measure it on Incident and Change. You configure your foundation data (about people, site, company and so on) once, and then your data are available...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Prior job, used this in high level gov agency.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Great at storing a bunch of data. **See cons for why this isn't optimal** ***Hint, data storage isn't issue, data discovery is***

Cons

What a behemoth! Pure entreprise bloatware. We paid very large sums of money to have specialized contractors develop custom forms... and then realized it was so rigid/compartmentalized we could never find the data. And as to customer support? You paid through the nose... only for them to recommend a service contract person. Junk.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Support tool for acting demands and sla compliance

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use to receive incidents identified by customers or other T.i teams

Pros

It is a system that covers many features. The fact that having interface with other systems facilitates the delivery of the protocol and completion within the time limit of the incident

Cons

It has many errors, from the need to be used via the web, such as problems in scripting, execution and timeout.. Serious problems that make the tool a bad work mechanism

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Review of Remedy

Reviewed 2 years ago

it allows us to obtain statistics on the number of tickets opened in the different groups created in the software.

Pros

Remedy is a good tool that allows us to follow up with clients on problems experienced by them and we can see how many times this client has had the same problem.

Cons

We use templates in the version we have and the main problem with templates is that they are duplicated by the number of groups we are assigned to.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Works OK, but has some flaws

Reviewed 4 years ago

I used Remedy in the last 3 years to process automatic generated incidents and changes. Overall it was a good experience, but you always have the feeling that you are using an older, obsolete software.

Pros

- A lot of features and options. - Good (logical) interconnections between fields/tables etc

Cons

- The user interface could be better - Some unexpected errors - Horrible web interface (e.g.: multiple scroll bars in the same window, sub-windows larger than the screen size)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Remedy Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Remedy hasn't been the best service management software I have used, but it's also not the worst. Cluttered, very unfriendly to new users, slow, and overall lacking features that other software provided

Pros

Gives users a lot of power to view cases and different tickets.

Cons

Cluttered interface. Cannot have multiple cases open at once. Cannot have multiple comments open at once. Not user friendly and too many hard stops.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Remedy - crashing and burning constantly

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use the Remedy Ticket system for helping with customers. However, there is a lot more we could be utilizing for what we're paying. Remedy is great - when it works.

Pros

It works - to the standard that we need it to. Highly Customizable. Works - under a light load. When it works, it works well.

Cons

Crashes often. Not using to the extent that it's possible to use. Several different versions needed for running at once.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Remedy as a tool for change request and incident management is useful

Reviewed 4 years ago

Organization has adopted ITSM Remedy tool a few years ago. It was difficult in the initial few months. However, experience members are use to this tool now. New team members take time to understand the tool.

Pros

* Supports Change Management * Facilitates Incident Management * Request Management is embedded within the tool * Implementation timeframe is extremely less * Helps standardization by eliminating multiple legacy tools * Workflows can be defined to track the request/ incident management process

Cons

* It is not very intuitive * It takes time to get hands-on with the tool * Some features like searching for group could be simplified. If there are hundreds of groups user has to scroll using a small arrow which is highly cumbersome. * Creating change request requires lots of practice

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A Mediocre Solution

Reviewed 2 years ago

Although Remedy works, there are much better options out there.

Pros

What Remedy has going for it is the ability to scale upwards to the nth degree. It does that well and allows external emails to be sent to other services.

Cons

It is a slow system and it takes loads of patience to work with. It isn't very forgiving with mistakes either.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Best issue resolving tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

All problems regarding IT issues can be tracked till closure with incident number by the user.

Cons

Closing Response may delayed due to multiple team members assigned for same incident

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Expanded Tool - Not User Friendly

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Remedy can be a great tool in the right hands but it's a bit difficult to use. You can manage both tickets and assets all in one place.

Cons

Not user friendly, needs A LOT of training to even use the basic functions. Wish it was easy to use, training new engineers takes a long time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Review for ITSM

Reviewed 8 years ago

We are currently using 7.6.04 of ITSM. So, I will give my comments based on that version: Pros ITIL-based Not as many tabs as in previous versions Ease in getting between modules Ease of moving between statuses Making relationships is easy Cons Difficulty in getting to the categorizations No Task Console for the IT Home page Wish the screen was even more concise Should be easier to...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love the product

Reviewed 3 years ago

Awesome

Pros

The way the software is design and ease of use.

Cons

No negative comments I think so far. Love the functionality.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

review for REMEDY

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Good way of tracking the life cycle of your assets. Customisation options are also available. Customer service is also very good, responds on time.

Cons

However customising it is a bit complex. Other than that product is of good use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Feature rich, but only if you're experienced with it

Reviewed 4 years ago

Easier ticket tracking and management, makes IT helpdesk job a lot more manageable.

Pros

Remedy is filled with features and the ability to customize it to fit your organization is really helpful. Even their old software till now is pretty useful for my organization

Cons

Complexity is high, you really got to be trained to use this software, and it's not for people with the faint of heart. Tho you might also want to update to their latest software, because legacy support for older software is pretty sparse

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Remedy 7.5 ITSM Review

Reviewed 7 years ago

Pro's are that it is completely customizable, we do this a lot, it implements ITIL which most companies would like to follow. Support for us has been really good from our BMC support vendor. Cons:- Usability is really bad and not modernized at all. We ran into a lot of Memory ceilings with it being a 32 bit system. Way too many clicks Version 8 that we are upgrading to did not improve screens much and SRM(Request Console) is a disaster with the amount of Clicks required to scroll through Categories(We have many). Really looking forward to trying MYIT and SMARTIT. I think the efforts for thew above have been applied in these 2 products as apposed to the actual Module screens which I understand. I hope they are as impressive as they look.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Syncronize IT support ticketing

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

In large company like us, IT ticketing is a must. I like that I can create my own ticket to resolve my issue and I can view the history of tickets I have created.

Cons

I still need to call the helpdesk support in order to fill up the forms accordingly. Since we have change software from time to time other options on the remedy ticketing are not applicable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

ITSM Review

Reviewed 7 years ago

Have been using the solutions for 15+ years, they are constantly improving. This has historically been good for the end users, not always for the tool admin side. This has been getting better with the last few releases, there is certainly room to improve. We have good staff internally that execute well, would like to see solutions to make their jobs easier without use of consultants. We have been using the CMDB (ADDM & SCCM feeds) for the past few years and am big fan of the solutions. Would like to see their usability with ITSM simplified. Perhaps simpler relationship creation. This is always a complaint from our service staff that it is too cumbersome, even though it's not difficult.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review