App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

MOVEit Logo

MOVEit

Secure data & file transfer for enterprise-level users

see alternatives

(2)

MOVEit Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

93

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.77/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

Pros and cons

Overall we have had a very good experience with MOVEit. Our secretaries appreciate the ability to send and receive data securely.
With MOVEit Transfer and Automation setup in a high availability configuration, we experience very good uptime and reliable transfer of incoming and outgoing files.
Moveit works really well at what it does. It runs quickly and efficiently and has a very nice task designer that has gotten better with time since we bought it.
Using java or flash plugins is horrible for users. The emails look outdated as well.
I cannot think of anything that is missing from the software.
Some times you need to find files for a specific date but because MoveIt sorts by name it make it hard to find files in large file repositories.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


93 reviews

Recommended

BR
AvatarImg

Brandon R.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simplify Your File Transfer Needs

Reviewed 2 years ago

We utilize a hosted SFTP solution, file transfer operations (both internal and external), and monitoring of those file transfer jobs through our MOVEit software collection. It has integrated with our business well and has reduced the time it takes to implement a new job.

Pros

The software provides an intuitive GUI interface for both administrators and users. It allows an organization to place some of the functionality back in the user's hands and provides and ease for external entities to exchange data and information for organizations.

Cons

There is not much I do not like about the software. Of course, there are cheaper alternatives, however in my experience they do not compare to the ease and customer support provided by the MOVEit platform.

OM
AvatarImg

Oliver M.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MOVEit has completely gotten out of the way and allowed me to do what I need to do simply

Reviewed a year ago

File moving and SFTP. MOVEit is a simple solution for getting everything where it needs to be. I've used MOVEit Automation more and more as things have come up that I can use it for, which is a lot. We've grown into it being the first choice for much of our file automation that just needs to work and be a quick turnaround.

Pros

It's simple and powerful so it doesn't get in your way but allows you to affect what you are doing to a large degree. I'm was able to get this set up in all out environments within 1 month tested and functioning. I also like that MOVEit Automation has allowed us to continue creating tasks as we get more advanced with it.

Cons

Database views do not exist by default which would be helpful for reporting. Reporting in general could be given a feature upgrade. It does pull reports but it's not a simple process and the ability to tie into something like Power BI is not there. Even having several views setup in the database by default would make this quicker and easier to get setup for reporting. When something touches as many files as MOVEit Transfer and MOVEit Automation do you want to be able to report on metrics from it immediately

JW
AvatarImg

Judy W.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Move it for Precision Director

Reviewed 2 years ago

We did not have a choice in using this software, but again, once we got through the difficulty of setting up the platform, the product has been working great.

Pros

Once we got the software working correctly, it does the transition of files quickly and easily

Cons

When we were setting up the product to use for Precision's Director product, we had difficulty setting up the program because we did not have support from Precision and did not have support from the MoveIt team. Our IT rep basically had to figure out how to use the software and do troubleshooting on his own.

GM
AvatarImg

Garrett M.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good but needs new look

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Tons of functionality, security features are pretty good, logs and reports are nice, and it's usually easy to setup and upgrade. It can be run on premise which is great, and has features like an Outlook plugin that people like to use. Technical Support for the program has been great every time we need them, which is always over a mySQL database issue.

Cons

The user interface and functionality is lacking and we complain about it. It's older style, not HTML5 yet, and just looks outdated. Using java or flash plugins is horrible for users. The emails look outdated as well. Clients complain sometimes about how difficult it is to navigate and get their files. We have used this product for 6+ years without a major interface update, and it needs one.

MM
AvatarImg

Mike M.

Printing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MOVEit for workflow automation

Reviewed 2 years ago

MOVEit is at the center of all of our workflow. We move thousands of files every day using MOVEit without issue and this service handles all of it effortlessly. It is easy to administer and just works day in and day out.

Pros

This product is versatile and infinitely customizable. We have a variety of tasks set up that range from simple to extremely complex and this product can handle all of it without issue. We have thousands of tasks set up that with a vast majority running every few minutes and the server never bogs down

Cons

The only issue we are running into is having to schedule regular runs in addition to watching for new files since the new file notification service on Windows often fails

DB
AvatarImg

Darwin B.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Set it and forget it

Reviewed 2 years ago

This solution has helped us to centralize and streamline all of our data transport needs. The ability to log in to Office 365 Sharepoint and upload data to our cloud repository was a real game changer for easily and securely sharing real-time data with external sources.

Pros

Very intuitive to setup and use. Includes lots of choices for being notified if there is an issue so my team does not have to baby sit it.

Cons

The standard version of MoveIT that we purchased does not include the option to include a list of the files that were transferred in the email notification sent by the program. This has been our most requested feature from our end users, but it only comes with enterprise.

jL
AvatarImg

jason L.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Powerful tools!

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

MOVEit Automation from Progress is an excellent program. It's learning curve is moderate, but once you get the hang of it, the power at your fingertips is immense. We are able to retire a 20 year old batch scripting and email notification application to an easy to use GUI in Automation. GUI interface easy to set up notification added bonus for scheduling file level folder backups

Cons

lack of direction for overcoming the learning curve. (third party Youtube videos were hit and miss).

SS
AvatarImg

Sameena S.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for getting the job done

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been a great experience. we purchased support so we were able to get assistance with set up which was very helpful. then it is a set it and forget it solution.

Pros

This is a product that gets the job done. it has the security features that makes our Core Provider comfortable and is affordable enough for a company our size to implement. once it is in place and running - the software has not given us any trouble.

Cons

It takes a minute to figure out but once you do it is very user friendly so I cannot say there is anything i don't like about it.

NC
AvatarImg

Nicholas C.

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Move-it Tranfser and Move-it Automation

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Having used the software for many years now, we have become quite familiar with the product. Over the course of time, we have been able to use the Outlook Plugins and API to customize our process. With minimal assistance, the products have served us very well.

Cons

The only issues that we have had is with the logging/reporting. There have been some issues getting the information that we are looking for in the logging, but with a quick call to the support team, that was resolved with little pain.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Moveit Software Suite, Decent software

Reviewed a year ago

The overall product is decent and I would recommend it to others.

Pros

I find moveit automation and Transfer provide sufficient easiness to setup and manage.

Cons

The software can sometimes be flakey and need reboots. There is no way to support task rollbacks. One has to copy the task to take a backup. The other option is to copy and restore the whole task config file. But this is time consuming and requires knowledge of the product that general users are unaware of.

AG
AvatarImg

Andre G.

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good product

Reviewed 2 years ago

Once it is set up, it is a solid product. We've been using it for years and have had minimal issues with it.

Pros

The fact that secure file transfer and secure e-mail is in the same product.

Cons

The support/troubleshooting could be a little better when issues are identified.

MC
AvatarImg

Matt C.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MOVEit DMZ Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I like the search functions as well as the ability to scan through users and groups easily. Navigation within the program is relatively easy as well. On the back end the handling on configuration and setup is pretty easy to do as well.

Cons

running custom reports could use some work. It runs out of a sql database so some simple sql query searches through the gui would be a nice feature.

AS
AvatarImg

Athar S.

Information Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of use

Reviewed 2 years ago

I really liked this product , i used it in my previous places and onboarded when i join this company. Product is easy to use and aligns with our security requirements.

Pros

Guest User life cycle management Data at rest encryption No end user training required Auto IP lockouts

Cons

I still find progress can add few commonly used reports without going through the hassle of starting from scratch

EM
AvatarImg

Eric M.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

MOVEit

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It seems to be very solid, with little downtime.

Cons

Unable to reconfigure without new setup to get external user IP address Very expensive support that isn't 24x7.

EM
AvatarImg

Emily M.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Super easy to set up and deploy!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Sharing date with outside parties has been the number one use of this software. It has enabled us to secure share information.

Pros

Ease of use! Integration to our systems and processes was very simple.

Cons

I cannot think of anything that is missing from the software. It meets the needs of what we are looking for

LM
AvatarImg

Larry M.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good automation of push/pull of files that are encrypted

Reviewed 2 years ago

It was easy to use and setup and we were able to quickly work with our vendors in pushing/pulling of files.

Pros

relative easy install and setup. Good software support for questions. web based. pretty intuitive to use without a lot of RTM.

Cons

Naming of products can be confusing. Would like more built in options for what to before and after transfer without doing special setup.

CT
AvatarImg

Clayton T.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Very nice tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

So far the experience has been very positive. We hope that as we continue to transition all of our file transfers to this tool we will continue to have no issues.

Pros

Ease of use. Front end UI is very user friendly

Cons

Unzipping feature could not handle volume we where trying to use it for. Had to build another Home grown tool because server kept crashing.

MU
AvatarImg

Mayur U.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

MoveIT

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, satisfied with the product and what it can do.

Pros

The ability to schedule multiple runs of the same job and the ability to run hundreds of jobs at the same time.

Cons

The UI can use a refresh, its not the most user friendly and sometimes just does not respond.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Banking, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent file movement software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Secure file movement, control, and reporting.

Pros

The interface is easy to use and creation of tasks is straightforward. Support typically responds quickly. Alerting and viewing the history of files moved and job outcomes are very useful.

Cons

There are some minor features that could be included instead of having to create custom VB scripts, such as file counts. Job auditing could be more specific as to what was changed.

ER
AvatarImg

Erik R.

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Product with Great Results

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ease of use and the quality of the product. Not an overly expensive utility for us to use and solved our MFT issues

Cons

Cant think of any issues with the product to be honest

GB
AvatarImg

Garrett B.

Banking, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MoveIt Automation

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This product has helped us automate so many processes and has saved countless hours of manual work.

Cons

I really cant think of anything I don't like.

GV
AvatarImg

Gregg V.

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MoveIt Central

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

The ease of setting up and managing schedules

Cons

We only use for file transferring and syncing haven't had any issues.

CG
AvatarImg

Chad G.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent customer support

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We have been using this product for about 10 years. Very easy to use for our customers and administrators

Cons

No cons were added to this review

KM
AvatarImg

Kenneth M.

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

Used it at two different organizations and it has worked great at both

Cons

Can be cumbersome at times. because of this, it has been difficult to get organizational adoption.

JM
AvatarImg

Jeff M.

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MoveIt is a good system to utilize for file movement.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Easy of use, quick reporting, auditing exists at a very high level.

Pros

Configuration of new/existing tasks is much easier than scripting everything. GUI is simple and easy to use.

Cons

Auditing is not explicit to show what actions were performed, only an "update" by a username with a date time stamp. Even if one clicks "OK" and no change was made, it is audited as an "update".