App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

BuildTools Logo

BuildTools

Construction management built by builders, for builders.

see alternatives

(6)

BuildTools Reviews

Overall rating

4.0

/5

37

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.39/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The initial sales team was great. We felt that they understood our needs and that we were a great fit.
We have been a client for several years now and have enjoyed the fantastic feedback from our clients to keep them up to date on their jobs, especially our out of town clients.
Customer support has been very good and steady. They are a small, but growing, company and you can see the commitment to customer service.
Too residential, limited features, no sub contract change orders, no way to resend purchase agreements or sub contracts. Most of the emails sent from Buildtools get sent to spam by vendors.
Worst construction management tool I have ever used.
We updated our cost codes this year and making those changes on the back end and then the front end was difficult to do. Some setting changes are also hard to find in the administrator.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


37 reviews

Recommended

MG
AvatarImg

Matt G.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for Home Builders

Reviewed 2 months ago

Customer service is great! We feel like they listen and try to resolve issues. They cater to home builders which is not like the other softwares that are commercial, subcontractors, renovations contractors, etc. They are all different industries so it won't work like that.

Pros

Ease of use and implementation. We have found that even older, none tech savy employees can still understand it.

Cons

We are unable to control some of the notifications to people it's not applicable to.

KB
AvatarImg

Kenny B.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Available

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are very happy with BuildTools using it since 2013.

Pros

BuildTools has a great budget module which ties to the financial system, a great purchase order system and change order tracking.

Cons

The selection module could be tweaked to include more features (text formatting for example and list building within descriptions)

JM
AvatarImg

Jessica M.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

I appreciate the value of Build Tools to communicate with our clients and trades.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Being able to communicate effectively to our trade partners and clients. Keeping the project managers of each job on schedule with their daily logs and for purchasing by sending PO's to trade partners to be confirmed as well as change orders to be reviewed and approved by the client.

Pros

I like that our clients and trades can see the progress of their home as it is being built from start to finish. They can access anything from building permits to daily schedules and pictures of progress. It's a wonderful way to schedule your trades in advance as well to ensure they will be there when they are needed and lets the clients know who will be out at their home and when.

Cons

There is no way to create a master schedule for all the jobs for in-house use in terms of accountability. We would like to be able to put all current jobs major scheduling items on one grand schedule. I was told by September there was to be a new roll out of the software including using the schedule as we need and my company would be a tester of that roll out and I have not heard anything since then. There is also little pains such as when pictures are uploaded they get turned sideways no matter that the original orientation was straight up.

RP
AvatarImg

Rick P.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quest Homz, LLC Review

Reviewed 3 months ago

The ability to manage multiple projects in real time has enhanced our capacity to scale our business and improve profitability.

Pros

Total construction scheduling, document storage, bid package, and cost accounting

Cons

Would like the ability to add data fields to align with internal processes

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ben P.

Verified reviewer

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Transformational. Scaleable. Powerful. Appropriately priced and with solid support.

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have been able to tie together multiple geographically dispersed staff and simultaneously dispense with multiple different tools/desktop based software. It has increased our ability to monitor work performance, share experiences and ensure continuity of work during staff absences as all project information is always available to all permitted users from virtualy any device.

Pros

BuildTools has far more features than other systems we compared in its class. This has allowed us to perform not only almost all major business functions: selections & client management, change order documentation, communications, bids procurement, budget monitoring, scheduling, and invoicing but also other important but less well promoted capabilities such as daily logs (for health, safety & schedule deviation monitoring), meeting minutes that permit tasks to be assigned & tracked (for use with clients, subcontractors/suppliers, or internally) among others. This combined with the product's progressive incremental improvements and willingness to occasionally make changes based on our own suggestions or requests add up to good value.

Cons

The advantage of having so many features can also be a detriment to new users, for whom learning and navigating the system may be overwhelming at first. This is exacerbated by weak FAQs/video tutorials and lack of proactive hints/suggestions as to how to get the most out of the software. However if one is patient and implements the system section by section as each are successively mastered and while doing so makes use of the excellent and always responsive (and free) support staff, then this shortcoming can be overcome, revealing all of the features and capabilities.

MA
AvatarImg

Mark A.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Build Tools for Custom Home Builders

Reviewed 3 months ago

Overall our experience has been good. We are looking forward to seeing advancements in the software.

Pros

Build Tools has excellence customer service. We are able to address any concerns immediately. They also, have excellent on going webinars about variou features of the software. The scheduling and document management features are the brightest features. Budgeting is also good.

Cons

Financial features are confusing for our clients. On their own they are fine as an overview of the project financials, but there is no direct invoicing feature without creating a special report.

RE
AvatarImg

Randy E.

Design,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A work in progress!

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The folks at Build Tools are friendly and accesible, which they need to be because they have no training manual, which is a challenge for a product that spans so many functional areas. No average team member would be able to puzzle out this rubics cube by themselves. However, the tech support always does their best to help you figure it out! The scheduling and warranty modules are the easiest to work with and once you figure out an appropriate notification regime for your company, you can get the schedules to work. Although its a bit awkward to update schedules (too many clicks to just say something is "done", the basic idea is pretty good.

Cons

After using schedules and warranty for two years, we are dying to try selections, budgets, and PO's....and integrate into Quickbooks. However....there are a lot of levels of data entry to get this set up and not a lot of guidance on what the best practice should be. A LOT of cross links and that generates nervousness. Some challenges just getting the budget to show expected profit. All must be workable, however without a clear manual, its hard to know.

KC
AvatarImg

Kim C.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Build tools has been very helpful for our business, and for our clients

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Ability for client log ins, lead tracking, Financial and Change order processes, the customer support team is great, reports, and the client dashboard. We also like the scheduling side, but think a few tweaks could be made.

Cons

Selections - This tab is great to have but is very difficult for us to use (inputting items for selections, modifying and general use is difficult). General Back end items - making changes to the settings or back end items is not intuitive. We updated our cost codes this year and making those changes on the back end and then the front end was difficult to do. Some setting changes are also hard to find in the administrator.

AI
AvatarImg

Andy I.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

BuildTools, a foundation to build on.

Reviewed 6 months ago

BuildTools is allowing us to be more agile and efficient both in the office and in the field. The digital platform and mobile access capabilities have allowed us to take a good system and make it great.

Pros

BuildTools utilizes an user friendly interface that is easy to rollout to a team of varying tech skills. The customizable nature of the platform has allowed us to keep a lot of our legacy procedures while updating to more effective and efficient digital platform.

Cons

The biggest issue that we have had is how the platform integrates with our QuickBooks accounting system. The QuickBooks integration has been fine, however it is more rigid and less customizable to our legacy procedures.

CM
AvatarImg

Craig M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 10 years ago

My company builds custom homes in upstate New York. We were looking for a software program to primarily do our scheduling for projects. Once I saw what was out there, I became interested in using a more robust program to organize the budget and selections besides the scheduling. There are many similar software setups out there that do many of the same things. Software Advice was great as far as...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JF
AvatarImg

Jef F.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 10 years ago

We're a small design build company focusing on high-end remodeling and custom homes. We produce design in house, and then provide construction services with in-house project managers and carpenters, as well as subcontractors performing the work. Every client goes through the same process, however, since each project is unique we always have unique tasks to accomplish for each job. We chose a...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JM
AvatarImg

Jim M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 10 years ago

Minton Homes is a small custom home builder located in St. Louis, Missouri. We have been in business 25 years. We only build custom homes (no specs, no remodels). In the last 10 years, the size of the homes has ranged from 5,000sf to 25,000sf. We go to extremes to make sure we exceed expectations. In January we attended the home show in Las Vegas. One of our goals was to preview all of the companies...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

LC
AvatarImg

Lain C.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We have been using Build Tools for several years now. We appreciate the attention to the details.

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have been using Build Tools for several years now and love the way it helps us stay up to date with our projects for our clients. Our clients love the continual feedback (weekly updates) and appreciate how they can access pertinent information for their project virtually anywhere in the world at any time. It saves us time and money. We have shopped other competitors and have found the functionality and commitment to continual improvement the best in the business. We will continue to use Build Tools. Thank you TEAM BT for an excellent application.

Pros

Build Tools has done an excellent job at listening to what the customer needs in their software development. We are a custom home builder and appreciate the details in the day-to day use of their product. Our clients like the access to the information and that helps us look more professional and gives a higher level of customer service. We send out the weekly reports (updates) on all of our jobs on Tuesdays. Clients love this interaction and ability to stay informed. Happy client, happy projects!!! Thank you Build Tools.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

TW
AvatarImg

Terry W.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 9 years ago

We are a custom builder, remodeler, and service company in the San Diego area. We work in the higher end of the residential market with over 40 employees. We have been implementing BuildTools over the last two months and should be complete with implementation by Dec.1 (a four-month process). We are currently using Timberline for our accounting package and Microsoft Project for our scheduling. We...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

SG
AvatarImg

Shane G.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Completely Satisfied Customer

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

BuildTools has allowed us to scale our operation to build more homes and condos with efficiency and valuable organization of key components of home and condo building.

Cons

We haven't found anything yet that we like least.

JD
AvatarImg

John D.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Buildtools delivers! We love this product.

Reviewed 12 years ago

Compared to all of the other products we reviewed, nothing came close to the features and ease of use that BuildTools offers.

Pros

We've been using BuildTools for just under two years. I can say without question that it is one of the best decisions that I've made for my remodeling business. We looked at several different competitive products, and were amazed at the differences we found in BuildTools. The Schedule module is really second to none. We actually now schedule projects without ever speaking with subcontractors. We publish the schedule and update as things change. We send messages and documents to the contractors electronically. We track all of our project selections and change orders using BuildTools. I'm sure we been saved from countless mistakes because of the level of organization BuildTools has added to our building process. I highly recommend this product! I could not run my business without it.

Cons

None. The buildtools team has been quick to respond to our requests for new features, and training was very simple.

MA
AvatarImg

Mark A.

Design,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool and easy to use!

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

We've had a great start to BuildTools. We've been with BuildTools for a month now and really feel like we know the system. It took a couple of weeks to get spooled up, but we're rolling now. The training team was great; we set up several initial training sessions with my team. Trainings were customized for the various users. The support folks were also very responsive for quick questions, both on the phone and via email.

Cons

We haven't found anything to complain about. Based on the support we've had thus far, I'm not worried.

DB
AvatarImg

Derek B.

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It's perfect for smaller companies that gives you everything you need, and nothing that you don't.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Ability to track the schedule, budget and project health and history at the press of a button.

Pros

The features are useful and helpful to the bottom line. I can track the health of my project much easier and it helps add structure to our company organization. The pricing structure allows us to utilize the software on all our projects without having to pay a premium per project. It is perfect for custom builders and re-modelers. We can track our resources more efficiently and maintain a tighter project schedule.

Cons

It occasionally will have minor glitches or lags where I will need to refresh my browser and re-try.

MG
AvatarImg

Matt G.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 10 years ago

We have been researching our options for PM software after using another software for several years. I began speaking with BuildTools and did the online demo. The software seemed to offer many more features than what I had been using. I spoke with Chad at Buildtools and said that I'd like to try BuildTools to compare to what we were using (BuilderTrend). They set us up an account. I did an online...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JS
AvatarImg

Jon S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 10 years ago

Regency Builders is celebrating our 40th anniversary this year and will do about $20 million in 2013. We build high end custom homes in the Milwaukee area. We have been using BuildTools since its inception and watched how the product has continually evolved and changed with input from various customers as well as the team at BuildTools. This software has significantly improved our systems and ability...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

js
AvatarImg

jeffrey s.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Good but not for commercial g.c's

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have used Buildtools for about 2 years and are finding it not a good fit for us anymore. As a commercial general contractor we struggle to use Buildtools because it lacks some detail and features we need.

Pros

Fast, streamlined and simple, good customer service. Nice style and presentation..

Cons

Too residential, limited features, no sub contract change orders, no way to resend purchase agreements or sub contracts. Most of the emails sent from Buildtools get sent to spam by vendors.

BJ
AvatarImg

Brad J.

Design,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Couldn't run my company without it!

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

BuildTools is a great product. It does everything I need and then some. The staff at BuildTools is fantastic. Their knowledge of the program, construction, and general business acumen is great. They've helped not only with setup of the software, but provided valuable insight to better help me run the business.

Cons

We had a great experience. I can't say that there's anything that we didn't like.

CB
AvatarImg

Carl B.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 10 years ago

We wanted software flexibility enough to process production building, custom homes, and remodeling alike. Buildtools has the flexibility to perform. Before Buildtools, Icon used paper processing. I custom designed and built a complete back end and customer friendly Web based system. Complete with all customer colors, selection, change orders, contracts, dynamic lot selection, and a flash drag and...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

oh
AvatarImg

oshi h.

Construction,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

good customer service but its extremely slow

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

good customer service, but you will need them quiet many times.

Cons

extremely slow for people which time is an asset, many basic stuff dont exist

LC
AvatarImg

Lain C.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 10 years ago

BuildTools has been an excellent addition to our business! We have been a client for several years now and have enjoyed the fantastic feedback from our clients to keep them up to date on their jobs, especially our out of town clients. We were using several out of date products in the past that were not centralized into one complete system. BuildTools now gives us the ability to track job schedules, communicate to clients immediately of any changes, show current status of the jobsite (upload photos from our smart phones from the jobsite), and keeping track of all the job specific information that goes on behind the scene that the customer does not see. I would highly recommend the software and the team at BuildTools!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review