This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

BuildTools

Construction management built by builders, for builders.

visit website

BuildTools Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

The initial sales team was great. We felt that they understood our needs and that we were a great fit.

Tracy G.

We have been a client for several years now and have enjoyed the fantastic feedback from our clients to keep them up to date on their jobs, especially our out of town clients.

Lain C.

Customer support has been very good and steady. They are a small, but growing, company and you can see the commitment to customer service.

Jef F.

Cons

Too residential, limited features, no sub contract change orders, no way to resend purchase agreements or sub contracts. Most of the emails sent from Buildtools get sent to spam by vendors.

jeffrey s.

Worst construction management tool I have ever used.

Aayah G.

We updated our cost codes this year and making those changes on the back end and then the front end was difficult to do. Some setting changes are also hard to find in the administrator.

Kim C.

Overall rating

3.8

5

4

3

2

1

15

7

9

0

2

67%
positive reviews
70%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


33 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Available

Reviewed 9 months ago

We are very happy with BuildTools using it since 2013.

Pros

BuildTools has a great budget module which ties to the financial system, a great purchase order system and change order tracking.

Cons

The selection module could be tweaked to include more features (text formatting for example and list building within descriptions)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Transformational. Scaleable. Powerful. Appropriately priced and with solid support.

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have been able to tie together multiple geographically dispersed staff and simultaneously dispense with multiple different tools/desktop based software. It has increased our ability to monitor work performance, share experiences and ensure continuity of work during staff absences as all project information is always available to all permitted users from virtualy any device.

Pros

BuildTools has far more features than other systems we compared in its class. This has allowed us to perform not only almost all major business functions: selections & client management, change order documentation, communications, bids procurement, budget monitoring, scheduling, and invoicing but also other important but less well promoted capabilities such as daily logs (for health, safety & schedule deviation monitoring), meeting minutes that permit tasks to be assigned & tracked (for use with clients, subcontractors/suppliers, or internally) among others. This combined with the product's progressive incremental improvements and willingness to occasionally make changes based on our own suggestions or requests add up to good value.

Cons

The advantage of having so many features can also be a detriment to new users, for whom learning and navigating the system may be overwhelming at first. This is exacerbated by weak FAQs/video tutorials and lack of proactive hints/suggestions as to how to get the most out of the software. However if one is patient and implements the system section by section as each are successively mastered and while doing so makes use of the excellent and always responsive (and free) support staff, then this shortcoming can be overcome, revealing all of the features and capabilities.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

I appreciate the value of Build Tools to communicate with our clients and trades.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Being able to communicate effectively to our trade partners and clients. Keeping the project managers of each job on schedule with their daily logs and for purchasing by sending PO's to trade partners to be confirmed as well as change orders to be reviewed and approved by the client.

Pros

I like that our clients and trades can see the progress of their home as it is being built from start to finish. They can access anything from building permits to daily schedules and pictures of progress. It's a wonderful way to schedule your trades in advance as well to ensure they will be there when they are needed and lets the clients know who will be out at their home and when.

Cons

There is no way to create a master schedule for all the jobs for in-house use in terms of accountability. We would like to be able to put all current jobs major scheduling items on one grand schedule. I was told by September there was to be a new roll out of the software including using the schedule as we need and my company would be a tester of that roll out and I have not heard anything since then. There is also little pains such as when pictures are uploaded they get turned sideways no matter that the original orientation was straight up.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 8 years ago

We're a small design build company focusing on high-end remodeling and custom homes. We produce design in house, and then provide construction services with in-house project managers and carpenters, as well as subcontractors performing the work. Every client goes through the same process, however, since each project is unique we always have unique tasks to accomplish for each job. We chose a...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 8 years ago

Minton Homes is a small custom home builder located in St. Louis, Missouri. We have been in business 25 years. We only build custom homes (no specs, no remodels). In the last 10 years, the size of the homes has ranged from 5,000sf to 25,000sf. We go to extremes to make sure we exceed expectations. In January we attended the home show in Las Vegas. One of our goals was to preview all of the companies...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We have been using Build Tools for several years now. We appreciate the attention to the details.

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have been using Build Tools for several years now and love the way it helps us stay up to date with our projects for our clients. Our clients love the continual feedback (weekly updates) and appreciate how they can access pertinent information for their project virtually anywhere in the world at any time. It saves us time and money. We have shopped other competitors and have found the functionality and commitment to continual improvement the best in the business. We will continue to use Build Tools. Thank you TEAM BT for an excellent application.

Pros

Build Tools has done an excellent job at listening to what the customer needs in their software development. We are a custom home builder and appreciate the details in the day-to day use of their product. Our clients like the access to the information and that helps us look more professional and gives a higher level of customer service. We send out the weekly reports (updates) on all of our jobs on Tuesdays. Clients love this interaction and ability to stay informed. Happy client, happy projects!!! Thank you Build Tools.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A work in progress!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The folks at Build Tools are friendly and accesible, which they need to be because they have no training manual, which is a challenge for a product that spans so many functional areas. No average team member would be able to puzzle out this rubics cube by themselves. However, the tech support always does their best to help you figure it out! The scheduling and warranty modules are the easiest to work with and once you figure out an appropriate notification regime for your company, you can get the schedules to work. Although its a bit awkward to update schedules (too many clicks to just say something is "done", the basic idea is pretty good.

Cons

After using schedules and warranty for two years, we are dying to try selections, budgets, and PO's....and integrate into Quickbooks. However....there are a lot of levels of data entry to get this set up and not a lot of guidance on what the best practice should be. A LOT of cross links and that generates nervousness. Some challenges just getting the budget to show expected profit. All must be workable, however without a clear manual, its hard to know.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Lost thousands of dollars due to Buildtools bug

Reviewed a year ago

Customer service is only helpful with small problems. If you have any major concerns expect to get responses like, "we're looking into it" for months on end. Losing thousands of dollars due to our project management software is obviously not what any business needs or wants.

Pros

Program is easy to navigate. I like the drag and drop feature in the Documents section

Cons

Due to a bug in the system, Buildtools was not billing the full percentage of fees in several instances. I did a reconciliation of just a few projects and found $5,000 in fees that the program didn't collect or give us any sort of red flag. Not to mention the 3 years plus of projetcs I haven't looked into yet. When I brought this to Buildtools customer service on multiple occasions, I got no substantial response for months! We are switching to CoConstruct. The QuickBooks sync can be problematic

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

good customer service but its extremely slow

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

good customer service, but you will need them quiet many times.

Cons

extremely slow for people which time is an asset, many basic stuff dont exist

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

The software is very slow. It is cloud based but lags.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It is easy to use. Very simple structure. We load all projects into the software with ease.

Cons

The biggest issue is when we attempt to login it can take a while to pull up the site. Sometimes I just give up. This has happend numerous times. It is not efficient when you cannot access the program.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 8 years ago

We are a custom builder, remodeler, and service company in the San Diego area. We work in the higher end of the residential market with over 40 employees. We have been implementing BuildTools over the last two months and should be complete with implementation by Dec.1 (a four-month process). We are currently using Timberline for our accounting package and Microsoft Project for our scheduling. We...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Build tools has been very helpful for our business, and for our clients

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Ability for client log ins, lead tracking, Financial and Change order processes, the customer support team is great, reports, and the client dashboard. We also like the scheduling side, but think a few tweaks could be made.

Cons

Selections - This tab is great to have but is very difficult for us to use (inputting items for selections, modifying and general use is difficult). General Back end items - making changes to the settings or back end items is not intuitive. We updated our cost codes this year and making those changes on the back end and then the front end was difficult to do. Some setting changes are also hard to find in the administrator.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Buildtools delivers! We love this product.

Reviewed 10 years ago

Compared to all of the other products we reviewed, nothing came close to the features and ease of use that BuildTools offers.

Pros

We've been using BuildTools for just under two years. I can say without question that it is one of the best decisions that I've made for my remodeling business. We looked at several different competitive products, and were amazed at the differences we found in BuildTools. The Schedule module is really second to none. We actually now schedule projects without ever speaking with subcontractors. We publish the schedule and update as things change. We send messages and documents to the contractors electronically. We track all of our project selections and change orders using BuildTools. I'm sure we been saved from countless mistakes because of the level of organization BuildTools has added to our building process. I highly recommend this product! I could not run my business without it.

Cons

None. The buildtools team has been quick to respond to our requests for new features, and training was very simple.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 9 years ago

My company builds custom homes in upstate New York. We were looking for a software program to primarily do our scheduling for projects. Once I saw what was out there, I became interested in using a more robust program to organize the budget and selections besides the scheduling. There are many similar software setups out there that do many of the same things. Software Advice was great as far as...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool and easy to use!

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

We've had a great start to BuildTools. We've been with BuildTools for a month now and really feel like we know the system. It took a couple of weeks to get spooled up, but we're rolling now. The training team was great; we set up several initial training sessions with my team. Trainings were customized for the various users. The support folks were also very responsive for quick questions, both on the phone and via email.

Cons

We haven't found anything to complain about. Based on the support we've had thus far, I'm not worried.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It's perfect for smaller companies that gives you everything you need, and nothing that you don't.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Ability to track the schedule, budget and project health and history at the press of a button.

Pros

The features are useful and helpful to the bottom line. I can track the health of my project much easier and it helps add structure to our company organization. The pricing structure allows us to utilize the software on all our projects without having to pay a premium per project. It is perfect for custom builders and re-modelers. We can track our resources more efficiently and maintain a tighter project schedule.

Cons

It occasionally will have minor glitches or lags where I will need to refresh my browser and re-try.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 8 years ago

We have been researching our options for PM software after using another software for several years. I began speaking with BuildTools and did the online demo. The software seemed to offer many more features than what I had been using. I spoke with Chad at Buildtools and said that I'd like to try BuildTools to compare to what we were using (BuilderTrend). They set us up an account. I did an online...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 8 years ago

Regency Builders is celebrating our 40th anniversary this year and will do about $20 million in 2013. We build high end custom homes in the Milwaukee area. We have been using BuildTools since its inception and watched how the product has continually evolved and changed with input from various customers as well as the team at BuildTools. This software has significantly improved our systems and ability...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Good but not for commercial g.c's

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have used Buildtools for about 2 years and are finding it not a good fit for us anymore. As a commercial general contractor we struggle to use Buildtools because it lacks some detail and features we need.

Pros

Fast, streamlined and simple, good customer service. Nice style and presentation..

Cons

Too residential, limited features, no sub contract change orders, no way to resend purchase agreements or sub contracts. Most of the emails sent from Buildtools get sent to spam by vendors.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Couldn't run my company without it!

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

BuildTools is a great product. It does everything I need and then some. The staff at BuildTools is fantastic. Their knowledge of the program, construction, and general business acumen is great. They've helped not only with setup of the software, but provided valuable insight to better help me run the business.

Cons

We had a great experience. I can't say that there's anything that we didn't like.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 9 years ago

We wanted software flexibility enough to process production building, custom homes, and remodeling alike. Buildtools has the flexibility to perform. Before Buildtools, Icon used paper processing. I custom designed and built a complete back end and customer friendly Web based system. Complete with all customer colors, selection, change orders, contracts, dynamic lot selection, and a flash drag and...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 9 years ago

BuildTools has been an excellent addition to our business! We have been a client for several years now and have enjoyed the fantastic feedback from our clients to keep them up to date on their jobs, especially our out of town clients. We were using several out of date products in the past that were not centralized into one complete system. BuildTools now gives us the ability to track job schedules, communicate to clients immediately of any changes, show current status of the jobsite (upload photos from our smart phones from the jobsite), and keeping track of all the job specific information that goes on behind the scene that the customer does not see. I would highly recommend the software and the team at BuildTools!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 10 years ago

Regency Builders is a significant custom home builder in the Milwaukee marketplace. Our homes average $1.2 million and we typically build or remodel 20 homes a year. We have been in business since 1973. We are a systems-based, customer-focused, and family-owned company that has gained significant market share in the recession due in a large part to our reputation, quality, value, innovation and customer communication/satisfaction. We have used BuildTools since January and it has been everything that we were looking for in a online management system. This is a part of our sales process and it has been an easy tool for our team and customers to implement The BuildTools team responds quickly and fluidly to ideas and complications.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

BuildTools helps me sell more houses.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

They are very responsive, and it's a great tool for our customers to see and use.

Cons

The schedule software has to reload to line date up to the columns. It's not a big deal, but you have to refresh the screen on the working schedule part.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Lots of functionality for the price!

Reviewed 6 years ago

The system is easy to use and intuitive. We were searching for a full-service, online based construction management system with client interface. Build Tools has delivered. You can see in the way it functions it was designed by a builder. We have been able to on-board quickly and put the system to work immediately. Definitely recommend Build Tools!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review