App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Candy Logo

Candy

Estimating, Planning and Project Control software

see alternatives

(6)

Candy Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

135

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.97/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The amazing feature of this project is the links which help you to reach your project up and downs in seconds.
Access to help (have built up a good relationship with the reps over the years & have always had excellent service).
I have work with Candy more then 9 years. It was very good for the tender pricing works and also latest updates versions are very help full.
Earlier our business used to suffer because of lack of resource planning and accurate estimation process.
Its hard to undo stuff if you have changed it accidentally.
The only concern I have with candy is that if an error is made it is not easily correctable.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


135 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Larozelle v.

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Candy in my workspace...

Reviewed 3 years ago

I would definitely recommend Candy to any Construction business. You have to keep up with changing times to stay ahead of your competition and Candy is one of the best ways to do so. The courses that you can do with the program is also fantastic and you learn so much.

Pros

What I like most about Candy is the ease of using the product. Once you are set up and start going it makes your work a lot easier. It safes time and money, and in business time is money. I love how I can do my programming, subcontracting and pricing all at once. Project Management is made more efficient with Candy.

Cons

Initially getting all the "meat" for estimating of projects (Masters) can be a challenge. Pricing per license can get a little expensive if you do not make use of the program a lot.

Vendor response

Dear Larozelle, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we are so glad it has been so positive. Your feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User-friendly construction cost modelling software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Users can get familiar with the software by vary basis knowledge, and if established a proper master CCS then very easy to price any project, however master should establish very carefully considering project requirements.

Pros

CCS providing user-friendly cost modelling solutions for construction projects to manage project cost from tender stage to until project completion. The CCS detailed cost estimation model help to produce a number of cost reports which will help during the decision-making process in the tender stage, as well as this cost model can use to establish the post contract cost control process, and able to produce cost reports such as cost to completion, cost value reconciliation and cash flow statements, etc.

Cons

Its required more time for the establishment of master CCS, and also only one estimator can work in one project, if two estimators work for one project by dividing into two parts, later if required to merge into one file, it is possible but not simple.

Vendor response

Dear Candy User, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We understand your concern regarding the building of the library but this is a one time task once you have built your library you will be able to do your estimate in no time. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

UK
AvatarImg

Uwais K.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CCS Candy & Buildsmart Review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The simplicity of the software and features as well as the depth of accuracy.

Cons

Integration with BS, Support on Candy & BS, company-specific requirements and customization, Multi-Level user security and restrictions, consultation services.

Vendor response

Dear Uwais Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Candy. It means a lot to us here at CCS. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our Users' experience and your feedback is invaluable. Have a wonderful day.

PV
AvatarImg

Pierer V.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Best Contractor Tool by Far

Reviewed a year ago

Definitely the BEST fully comprehensive programme incorporating, Estimating, Planning and Project control all in one

Pros

The package allows one to price the project to the last screw and then enables one to analyse the project and fully understand where the cost is and what areas require special attention. Generally 80% of the cost is in 20% of the items. The programming module of Candy is by far one of the most advanced programs available. It assists in monitoring the design information for construction. It enables one to link the estimate to the programme and get out detailed accurate cash flows, labour and resource histograms.

Cons

It is a rather expensive package with a monthly cost per package and companies tend to look for alternative cheaper packages. So far have managed to convince company to stay with candy

Vendor response

Dear Pierer, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

NC
AvatarImg

Neschlin C.

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

CCS

Reviewed 3 years ago

CCS is great for pricing tenders. It is great for assisting with the preparations of the cost reports

Pros

I enjoy the estimating and valuations . I like the fact that you can customize it for your own uses.

Cons

The difficulty and amount of time that it takes to programme on CCS. There is a lack of clarity of how to link everything and pricing multiple items with the same description.

Vendor response

Dear Neschlin, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us. Regarding the difficulties you are having please see our consultants recommendation below, we hope this will help you: The Link in the Program and Estimate can be made easier with the Auto Link option. We have a webinar on the topic "Program Auto-link Code" - please...

LM
AvatarImg

Lulanga M.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

CCS

Reviewed 4 years ago

Valuation most of the time and estimating,i m trying to use QTO but it is very inefficient.

Pros

Very good estimating software rates can be built easily and utilize efficiently,no other software can compete in term of estimating and valuation

Cons

Functionality of QTO is very bad and inefficient,it is way behind other on screen measurements softwares.

Vendor response

Dear Lulanga Thank you for your review on Candy. Your feedback and continued support is highly appreciated and important to us here at CCS. Have you tried our new and improved Candy QTO3? Changes include: 1. Automatic vertical scrolling to Variable and Detail sections of Take-off sheet 2. More intuitive drop down box to Units of the Variable section of Take-off sheet 3. Option to preserve...

JL
AvatarImg

Jean Lorenzo V.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Efectivness of the CCS in the Construction Field

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have been using Candy for almost 25 years, and the greatest plus is their constant upgrading, quality training and help at all times of the day. The consultants also go out of their way to sort out your problems. That is why I believe that they will be leaders in AI technology, and take next leap into a new fascinating world.

Pros

1) Complete package 2) Cradle to Grave 3) Able to use in motivation contractual claims 4) Interlinked between Tender, Costing, Measurement, Programs, Cash flow, Claims etc

Cons

1) To get the full use of the product the user needs to spend a lot of time working on it 2) The constant changes require aren't always apparent to the user 3) Artificial Intelligence has not been implemented in the product, where the program could understand your thinking process and assist with the creation and general work process 4) Artificial Intelligence could also be used for the more mundane chores, leaving the User to spend more time with the creative process 5) Artificial Intelligence could be used to monitor the original implementation and subsequent betterment due to AI. Time is precious, and if we can do the same work faster, with assistance from AI that would be a major plus

Vendor response

Dear Jean, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Candy online. It means a lot to us here at CCS. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

MH
AvatarImg

Martin Heinz R.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Candy review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Have been using Candy from when it was still known as "Marsbar" in the 1980's, in tender planning and project control & monitoring in both building construction and civil engineering projects.

Pros

01. Can use a bill of quantities to allocate resources to tender- or construction programmes and therefore come to sensible programme activity durations very quickly. 02. Access to help (have built up a good relationship with the reps over the years & have always had excellent service). 03. The ease of using macros, saves me loads of time, especially when linking multiple activity strings.

Cons

Used to be able to import more fields when importing new programme activities; would like the option of importing text 01 to text 05 as well.

Vendor response

Dear Martin, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for close on 40 years. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Candy- A better alternative software for Project Management

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is a good alternative software for project management. Please try it, recommended.

Pros

I have experience with MS Project and Oracle Primavera for project management works and during the initial period, I struggled a lot to learn these softwares. But recently I got introduced with Candy and it is really simple to understand and more powerful to work. It is the most suited software for the construction firm and price-wise also the preferable option to go with Candy.

Cons

It always difficult to correct the mistakes and functional wise, MS Project is far better to compare with Candy. The popularity of this software is very low and there are very limited numbers of online tutorials available for Candy.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. You will be happy to hear that we are presently developing on-line tutorials for all Candy modules and hope to have them out within the year. In the meantime, we have User guides in the system that may help you and run Candy courses in various regions around the world - please follow the link below to find out what Planning courses we have and where they are being held. https://constructioncomputersoftware.com/candy-courses-category/planning Thank you once again for your feedback. Have a super day.

DD
AvatarImg

Derrick D.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simplifying Estimating

Reviewed 4 years ago

Candy Simplifies the estimating process with this powerful software package while being flexible enough to customise to my needs. Managing my resource and subcontractor pricing is simple with easy export to a number of file types.

Pros

Coding system Resource manager Subcontract adjudicator Buildsmart integration Planning links Candy Support

Cons

Candy courses a must for beginners .

Vendor response

Dear Derrick Thank you so much for your positive review, we highly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

RH
AvatarImg

Rajesh H.

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Must try this software - all estimation engineers/civil engineering student

Reviewed 4 years ago

Earlier our business used to suffer because of lack of resource planning and accurate estimation process. After candy introduction it made our business easy and we can plan cash flow and resource mobilization easily and estimation also accurate. We are now more competitive and won couple of project.

Pros

This software designed in such a way that it satisfy the need of all contractors/engineer. We can get ' n ' number of types of reports it helps you in financial planning, cash flow,resource planning, mobilization etc. It makes your estimation process easy and most effective way.

Cons

Price is not affordable for small firms and free lancers and some of commands need to be more friendly like MS excel, however if you practice candy even you can achieve required speediness in work

Vendor response

Dear Rajesh, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, its great to get feedback like this as our team is always encouraged to hear that Candy is being used correctly and helping you to win tenders & manage projects effectively . Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

MJ
AvatarImg

Matthew J.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Candy - An Excellent Tool

Reviewed a year ago

Excellent

Pros

Most of what I use Candy for is the QTO and Estimating portions. I find them very useful and quick to use. I do enjoy that the software is continually being updated and changing to make it easier to use and more streamlined.

Cons

As I mostly use the QTO function, I do come across a few minor bugs. Sometimes QTO will crash or state that there is an unexpected error; or sometimes the length or area tools will bug out when inserting new point etc. However this is not a major issue.

Vendor response

Dear Matthew, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. I will forward your feedback to the QTO Developers for their attention. We assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

NC
AvatarImg

Neschlin C.

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A PRICING DREAM!!!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Life Changing.

Pros

The way in which you can customise everything to yourself and your business, making it easy to do everything for a project on one program.

Cons

The program is very complex and to get started and acquanited with every aspect of the program is near on impossible.

Vendor response

Dear Neschlin Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated. We do provide training in various locations on all aspects of Candy. Please follow the link to our website for all courses held worldwide. https://constructioncomputersoftware.com/training-candy Furthermore, all support & training staff are construction professionals providing expert, 24/7 aid & advice on the practical application of Candy in person, email, telephone or remote services. Please feel free to contact us directly if you'd like to talk about the specifics of your situation. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

PM
AvatarImg

Peter M.

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Construction Computer Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Cost reports are life and up to date, procurement is executed as estimated/priced or within all allowable. CCS Buildsmart/CCS Candy hand and glove

Pros

It is user friendly, results driven and assist in ensuring an improved accurate level of reporting in all aspects

Cons

None, it and you always life you need internet to connect

Vendor response

Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

MI
AvatarImg

Mohammed Iqbal P.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Comprehensive tools with solution for Estimators

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

-No chances of arithmetical errors -Generating Reports makes it very useful to review the tenders/project - Easy to change the price of particular resource which will change the price in overall BOQ - Able to add different mark up for each trades

Cons

- Initial setup for pricing/estimation takes time - Not able to export pdf BOQ

Vendor response

Dear Candy User, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. We understand your concern regarding the building of the library but this is a one time task once you have built your library you will be able to do your estimate in no time.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

CCS

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

the software is user friendly and easy accessible. after going through the practice book i was able to understand about 80% of how the software works

Cons

the manual and software quantity take off need some improvement. calculation from QTO (not the result) are hard to export onto worksheets

Vendor response

Dear Candy User Thank you for taking the time to review Candy, it means a lot to us here at CCS. Manual take-offs have now been replaced by calc panels to link your measurements directly to the bill items. QTO is being updates and improved on an ongoing basis. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

gn
AvatarImg

ganesh n.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Budget review and Cost control

Reviewed 4 years ago

To be honest i am really happy to work with the software and mainly we can control the materials in detail

Pros

It is very useful to review the budget and compare with the actual cost. Also it helps to notify the loss early and forecast for the Project can be verified every month or whenever need.

Cons

It is very difficult to understand and mainly confusion about codes. Also to note that time taken process during switch over menu (eg. Cost allowable to Valuation)

Vendor response

Dear Ganesh Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy, it's always a pleasure to hear from our Users.

GJ
AvatarImg

Gavin J.

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

CANDY REVIEW

Reviewed 4 years ago

The speed with which complete estimates can be put together is a huge factor

Pros

From an estimating perspective, the easy with which an estimate can be constructed (from baseline and from a database) is effective in getting tenders out quckly and in time

Cons

The interface between programming and estimate. After working with MS Projects, it seeds the programming function is a bit limited

Vendor response

Dear Gavin Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Candy, we appreciate the feedback. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

TM
AvatarImg

Thabo M.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Thabo Review

Reviewed a year ago

Overall I am happy with the product and would recommend any professional in the construction industry to invest in this powerful product . Candy Makes Project Budgeting, Estimating and cost controlling much simple.

Pros

The ease of use, the user interface is so simple to toggle through and for one to get used to. In terms of Quantity Take offs, one may do this in a matter of half what they would if done manually

Cons

The frequent updates only really , otherwise I am happy with the product

Vendor response

Dear Thabo, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We like to assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

DM
AvatarImg

Dasanayaka Mudiyanselage J.

Civil Engineering, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The system is accurate, Help full, and easy handling, good support services.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have work with Candy more then 9 years. It was very good for the tender pricing works and also latest updates versions are very help full.

Pros

latest updates versions are very imported.

Cons

I have used the Candy system for tender pricing per pours only. The all pricing tools are most impotent.

Vendor response

Dear Dasanayaka Mudiyanselage, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are honored to have been by your side for the last 9 years. We want to assure you of our continued support in the future.

SG
AvatarImg

Simon G.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good Job but need some Upgrades

Reviewed 4 years ago

Candy is a Good Estimation Program . but will need some Upgrading

Pros

easy to use Friendly interface Good Reports structure

Cons

Limited number of Characters for the Resources Some Bugs that appear instantly need to be fixed for good . (like the storage area Error)

Vendor response

Dear Simon, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Candy, your continued support is highly appreciated. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

AZ
AvatarImg

Ahamed Z.

Construction, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Commercial Companion

Reviewed 4 years ago

It reduces my time in pricing

Pros

Upgrading in line with the technical advancements

Cons

1. Yearly renewal. May be one time payment for 3 years/5 years with special discounts 2. Importing MS Excel Boq is difficult, if various sheets are given by Client 3. Importing MS Excel BoQ is difficult, if sheet is protected by Client

Vendor response

Dear Ahamed, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

TH
AvatarImg

Tamer H.

Civil Engineering, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

my comments

Reviewed a year ago

it's likely application, easy and not risky since it's stable software

Pros

importing worksheets from sheet to another one

Cons

housekeeping process is so easy to recode all workgroup

Vendor response

Dear Tamer, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Its' much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

AK
AvatarImg

ABDUL K.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Candy is good

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall i like candy

Pros

Features of candy.i like the overall features included in candy. Many more need to include in candy in future

Cons

its not easy to access. For starter its not easy to access.

Vendor response

Dear Abdul, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Candy, your continued support is highly appreciated. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Expand Text Lenght on Resource List

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like the speed, the efficiency of mathematical calculation and the auto save.

Cons

The resource listing of materials cannot describe full material list due is length limit.

Vendor response

Dear Candy User, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for the last 2 years. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region. Have a super day.