This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Candy

Estimating, Planning and Project Control software

see alternatives

Candy Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Access to help (have built up a good relationship with the reps over the years & have always had excellent service).

Martin Heinz R.

The amazing feature of this project is the links which help you to reach your project up and downs in seconds.

Muhammad Rafiq S.

I have work with Candy more then 9 years. It was very good for the tender pricing works and also latest updates versions are very help full.

Dasanayaka Mudiyanselage J.

Cons

Earlier our business used to suffer because of lack of resource planning and accurate estimation process.

Rajesh H.

Its hard to undo stuff if you have changed it accidentally.

Chris S.

The only concern I have with candy is that if an error is made it is not easily correctable.

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

62

52

4

0

1

96%
positive reviews
99%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


119 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Candy estimating

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent, once established database and master can price complex items quickly and accurately

Pros

Features, layout of worksheets as well as the integrated planning and quantity offtake software.

Cons

Lot of features but no manual on how to use all the features

Vendor response

Dear Donovan, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated. We do have numerous manual available for all Candy features and modules, please contact your local support office and they will email them to you. We do provide training in various locations on all aspects of Candy. Please follow the link to our website for all courses held worldwide. https://constructioncomputersoftware.com/training-candy Furthermore, all support & training staff are construction professionals providing expert, 24/7 aid & advice on the practical application of Candy in person, email, telephone or remote services. Please feel free to contact us directly if you'd like to talk about the specifics of your situation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Candy is the best

Reviewed 3 years ago

I Have been in Civil Construction for more than 20 years and have been using Candy for about 15 ears. I use it every day not only for tender estimating but also for cash flows and much more. It is a great product, with great support.

Pros

Candy is by far the most user friendly program I have worked with and updates are done very often. I will never use another program for estimating tenders. You can structure it according to your needs and use your own experience to define your pricing.

Cons

I can not say anything negative about Candy, I almost want to call it perfect.

Vendor response

Dear Coert, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for the last 15 years. I know our Candy development & support teams will be happy to hear that their hard work is appreciated and that they in turn are there for you. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region. Have a super day.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

From an expert-level user

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

- I love having the level of information to which I can do costing, be as accessible to me as this software does it - the ability (though very very very under-utilized) to convert omney to a timeline is exciting

Cons

- the support line is geared to the average user. Not much in the wat for expert users - the inability to integrate with other big-name financial packages is a downer - a one fits all fee structure is frustrating. Because we're not all on the same level of skill.

Vendor response

Dear Candy User Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Candy - The Estimators friend

Reviewed 3 years ago

For us as a Civil Construction company Candy is helping us be more efficient with our time and money. To follow the process of a project with time and money is really helping us achieve our goals in a project. Doing a quick course in Candy does help a lot in understanding the program. What is also very efficient is if you priced an item once, the data is in your program and you just use the specific code to price the item. Overall I think Candy is a great Design and very effective and I will definitely recommend it to other Construction companies.

Pros

What i really enjoy about Candy is the time you save by pricing on Candy. Once your Candy is set up and running with you Master file, it's as easy as 1, 2, 3!!! Being able to load your Subcontractors on Candy and having them there is your best friend. Doing a program by using your information of your priced Bill of Quantities and being able to follow your cash flow all in one place is just brilliant and very efficient to you as Contractor, Quantity Surveyor, Site Agent and Estimator.

Cons

If you don't have a Master File to work from and you need to build your own Master file, then it can be quite a nightmare. Getting a Master file from another construction company and changing it to your standards and way of pricing and working is the easiest way to go.

Vendor response

Dear Larozelle, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Project Management Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am using Candy to do simple project management programs.

Pros

Candy is a very powerful and very user friendly project management software where so many software such as MS Project, Oracle Primavera tries to be the leader. Out of all these products I like Candy because it is very easy to handle and less complicated. Price is also lower than the Primavera.

Cons

Candy is still less popular software when compared with other project management software. But Candy is moving fast towards the bigger market. So files needs to be compatible with other management software.

Vendor response

Dear Thehani, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us. With regards to compatibility, please be aware that programs created in Candy Planning Module can be exported to other planning tools like Primavera / MS project in "xml" format, similarly we can do an import into Candy from other planning tools in "xml". We have a...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

CCS / Candy

Reviewed 3 years ago

Witnessed a transformation of Candy from a DOS based platform to recent look which is not just a cosmetic touch it's enhanced like anything with strong features from setting up a job at pre-tender stage and helping through out the construction cycle till handover

Pros

Candy is a complete solution for a construction firm

Cons

cash flow needs some more improvement and reporting tools Couldn't explore it to a full extent

Vendor response

Dear Syed Shiraz, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Candy, your continued support is highly appreciated. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Candy Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

I love the estimating module and all the functionality that goes with it. The integration into the Buildsmart accounting & procurement package makes your life a lot easier to track budgets & forecasting.

Pros

The ability to cross reference everything that was done. Pricing from 1st principles and to continue through project process until completion.

Cons

The fact that is not web based. Difficult to access from remote locations.

Vendor response

Dear Niel Thank you for taking the time to review Candy, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why i like Candy

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have solved a lot of issues with Estimating as we are now able to include and adjust all our cost drivers into an estimate. Adding and excluding cost items is extremely easy.

Pros

It is designed specifically for the construction industry

Cons

I don's know all the functionality and do not have the time to go on training courses.

Vendor response

Dear Anton Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated. We do facilitate monthly webinars with the purpose of upskilling our users and will be happy to forward the link to you, covering a substantial number of topics

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Candy for Estimators

Reviewed 3 years ago

Candy allows the user to produce a true nett cost of a project, Including a proper risk analysis, cash flow and perspective on viewing costs from different views.

Pros

Estimating from first principles. Ease of use, Accuracy

Cons

There is nothing I do not like. Candy provides all that is necessary for senior management to have proper knowledge to submit a realistic Competitive accurate tender.

Vendor response

Dear Owen, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great versatility

Reviewed 2 years ago

Candy's customer service is phenomenal, they offer great training sessions and constantly improve and innovate to keep the software in line with industry trends.

Pros

The software allows the user to customize a bespoke solution based any number of outcomes.

Cons

I cannot "undo" once I've moved off the line.

Vendor response

Dear Johan, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Candy as an Estimation Software

Reviewed 3 years ago

I always recommend to my colleagues and friends that CCS is the best estimation software for estimation purpose. I do believe that developer will maintain the quality and keep updating it as per the new requirement of digital era. We have variety of estimation software in the market and the developer are giving attractive packages to sell their product but CCS is still the best option. I believe that it would enhance the demand of this software if it becomes more competitive.

Pros

I have used many estimation software but I found CCS more User Friendly and the reason behind is that it's developed by the estimators keeping in mind the requirements of best estimation practices. I am using it since 2013 and never experienced that I was unable to furnish any type of report/summary which was requested by my employer.

Cons

When the CCS file get bigger the software functionality get slower. Recently, I have worked on a project with around 77 buildings, each building comprised very extensive BOQ and there were around 19,500 pay items. It was taking quite extra times to finalize the worksheets and I spent many extra hours to generate the excel version from CCS file. This issue must be resolved.

Vendor response

Dear Gultasab, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User-friendly construction cost modelling software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Users can get familiar with the software by vary basis knowledge, and if established a proper master CCS then very easy to price any project, however master should establish very carefully considering project requirements.

Pros

CCS providing user-friendly cost modelling solutions for construction projects to manage project cost from tender stage to until project completion. The CCS detailed cost estimation model help to produce a number of cost reports which will help during the decision-making process in the tender stage, as well as this cost model can use to establish the post contract cost control process, and able to produce cost reports such as cost to completion, cost value reconciliation and cash flow statements, etc.

Cons

Its required more time for the establishment of master CCS, and also only one estimator can work in one project, if two estimators work for one project by dividing into two parts, later if required to merge into one file, it is possible but not simple.

Vendor response

Dear Candy User, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We understand your concern regarding the building of the library but this is a one time task once you have built your library you will be able to do your estimate in no time. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

CCS

Reviewed 2 years ago

CCS is great for pricing tenders. It is great for assisting with the preparations of the cost reports

Pros

I enjoy the estimating and valuations . I like the fact that you can customize it for your own uses.

Cons

The difficulty and amount of time that it takes to programme on CCS. There is a lack of clarity of how to link everything and pricing multiple items with the same description.

Vendor response

Dear Neschlin, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us. Regarding the difficulties you are having please see our consultants recommendation below, we hope this will help you: The Link in the Program and Estimate can be made easier with the Auto Link option. We have a webinar on the topic "Program Auto-link Code" - please...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Efectivness of the CCS in the Construction Field

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have been using Candy for almost 25 years, and the greatest plus is their constant upgrading, quality training and help at all times of the day. The consultants also go out of their way to sort out your problems. That is why I believe that they will be leaders in AI technology, and take next leap into a new fascinating world.

Pros

1) Complete package 2) Cradle to Grave 3) Able to use in motivation contractual claims 4) Interlinked between Tender, Costing, Measurement, Programs, Cash flow, Claims etc

Cons

1) To get the full use of the product the user needs to spend a lot of time working on it 2) The constant changes require aren't always apparent to the user 3) Artificial Intelligence has not been implemented in the product, where the program could understand your thinking process and assist with the creation and general work process 4) Artificial Intelligence could also be used for the more mundane chores, leaving the User to spend more time with the creative process 5) Artificial Intelligence could be used to monitor the original implementation and subsequent betterment due to AI. Time is precious, and if we can do the same work faster, with assistance from AI that would be a major plus

Vendor response

Dear Jean, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Candy online. It means a lot to us here at CCS. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

CCS

Reviewed 3 years ago

Valuation most of the time and estimating,i m trying to use QTO but it is very inefficient.

Pros

Very good estimating software rates can be built easily and utilize efficiently,no other software can compete in term of estimating and valuation

Cons

Functionality of QTO is very bad and inefficient,it is way behind other on screen measurements softwares.

Vendor response

Dear Lulanga Thank you for your review on Candy. Your feedback and continued support is highly appreciated and important to us here at CCS. Have you tried our new and improved Candy QTO3? Changes include: 1. Automatic vertical scrolling to Variable and Detail sections of Take-off sheet 2. More intuitive drop down box to Units of the Variable section of Take-off sheet 3. Option to preserve...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Candy review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Have been using Candy from when it was still known as "Marsbar" in the 1980's, in tender planning and project control & monitoring in both building construction and civil engineering projects.

Pros

01. Can use a bill of quantities to allocate resources to tender- or construction programmes and therefore come to sensible programme activity durations very quickly. 02. Access to help (have built up a good relationship with the reps over the years & have always had excellent service). 03. The ease of using macros, saves me loads of time, especially when linking multiple activity strings.

Cons

Used to be able to import more fields when importing new programme activities; would like the option of importing text 01 to text 05 as well.

Vendor response

Dear Martin, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for close on 40 years. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Complete package including Planning and Cashflow

Reviewed a year ago

We did use Candy for Estimating and Project Control. Planning was done either in Microsoft Project, Power Project or Primavera depending on the requirements of the clients. But because it was possible to export the data from these softwares to Candy Planning it was always possible to use Candy for the Cash Flow calculation and forecasts.

Pros

Most important for me was the integrated planning and cashflow tool during the estimating phase and later for project control.

Cons

The integration of the software in the overseas department was easy, for the local projects difficult because of the missing German language.

Vendor response

Dear Anton, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to CCS and we assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Must try this software - all estimation engineers/civil engineering student

Reviewed 3 years ago

Earlier our business used to suffer because of lack of resource planning and accurate estimation process. After candy introduction it made our business easy and we can plan cash flow and resource mobilization easily and estimation also accurate. We are now more competitive and won couple of project.

Pros

This software designed in such a way that it satisfy the need of all contractors/engineer. We can get ' n ' number of types of reports it helps you in financial planning, cash flow,resource planning, mobilization etc. It makes your estimation process easy and most effective way.

Cons

Price is not affordable for small firms and free lancers and some of commands need to be more friendly like MS excel, however if you practice candy even you can achieve required speediness in work

Vendor response

Dear Rajesh, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, its great to get feedback like this as our team is always encouraged to hear that Candy is being used correctly and helping you to win tenders & manage projects effectively . Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Candy in my workspace...

Reviewed 2 years ago

I would definitely recommend Candy to any Construction business. You have to keep up with changing times to stay ahead of your competition and Candy is one of the best ways to do so. The courses that you can do with the program is also fantastic and you learn so much.

Pros

What I like most about Candy is the ease of using the product. Once you are set up and start going it makes your work a lot easier. It safes time and money, and in business time is money. I love how I can do my programming, subcontracting and pricing all at once. Project Management is made more efficient with Candy.

Cons

Initially getting all the "meat" for estimating of projects (Masters) can be a challenge. Pricing per license can get a little expensive if you do not make use of the program a lot.

Vendor response

Dear Larozelle, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we are so glad it has been so positive. Your feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Construction through Candy

Reviewed 2 years ago

As an entity that operates across Africa in the civil engineering construction sector, candy is our preferred computer software. Their support/ technical teams are extremely efficient and patiently deal with our cross border users.

Pros

The software offers a dynamic array of reporting and management tools to the construction sector from pre-tender through construction execution and close out. CCS also offers ongoing updates improving their software and often improving their integration with other construction software packages.

Cons

It doesn't allow you to undo and action.

Vendor response

Dear Frederick, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for the last few years. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Most Comprehensive ERP System - Candy

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have used Candy primarily for estimating and planning. Estimates are the foundation of any construction projects. and Candy has one of the best estimating Modules which synchronizes with planning and post contract Cost valuation and monitoring.

Pros

It is designed to cater the construction industry, by construction professionals and they constantly improve the deficiencies, provided by the users and improve it. Its a daily basis transformation, moving with the technology, and I have not seen such a competent customer service by any software provider, as of now.

Cons

Nothing really. Perhaps the monthly licence, but they deserve that too!!

Vendor response

Dear Farhan, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy, it's always a pleasure to hear from our long standing Users. Your continued support is highly appreciated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Life with Candy

Reviewed 2 years ago

Time saving, multiple project management and ease in project management and control

Pros

Working with Candy the past few years has increased the accuracy of the estimates, valuation and project control and management incredibly.

Cons

The only concern I have with candy is that if an error is made it is not easily correctable. The full integration of CCS and Buildsmart and QTO is complex and knowledge of the system and integration is learnt with numerous errors and trails. The course provide cover the scope but the executions differ from project to project.

Vendor response

Dear Candy User Thank you for taking the time to review Candy, we appreciate the feedback from our users. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Management Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

estimating is the catalyst for all the other applications. Candy makes the whole chain of administration from estimating to final account so much safer and easier

Pros

Cuts out repetitive work Acts a s a library of information Does all arithmetic, collection of data and sorting Links to accounts Links to time / programme

Cons

Some actions do not follow through into all applications eg The "No off"in estimating cannot be used in "Cost & Allowable"

Vendor response

Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Construction Computer Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Cost reports are life and up to date, procurement is executed as estimated/priced or within all allowable. CCS Buildsmart/CCS Candy hand and glove

Pros

It is user friendly, results driven and assist in ensuring an improved accurate level of reporting in all aspects

Cons

None, it and you always life you need internet to connect

Vendor response

Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A PRICING DREAM!!!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Life Changing.

Pros

The way in which you can customise everything to yourself and your business, making it easy to do everything for a project on one program.

Cons

The program is very complex and to get started and acquanited with every aspect of the program is near on impossible.

Vendor response

Dear Neschlin Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated. We do provide training in various locations on all aspects of Candy. Please follow the link to our website for all courses held worldwide. https://constructioncomputersoftware.com/training-candy Furthermore, all support & training staff are construction professionals providing expert, 24/7 aid & advice on the practical application of Candy in person, email, telephone or remote services. Please feel free to contact us directly if you'd like to talk about the specifics of your situation. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.