This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

Learn why GetApp is free

Avalara Reviews

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


224 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Avalara overpromises & Under-delivers

Reviewed 2 years ago

TERRIBLE! There are a lot of configuration issues that we had discussed in the pre-sales cycle (like CertCapture integration, configuring marketplace facilitatort exceptions, etc.) these were all ignored and never were addressed by Avalara when we went live. Tons of issues, then their customer service doesn't respond to cases for weeks at a time. Just a really horrible customer experience. AVOID AVOID AVOID!

Pros

I liked that it integrated with all of our platforms (i.e. NetSuite, Magento and future state Shopify+) and the quoted price came in much lower than other comparative software solutions.

Cons

The setup is not intuitive. There are tons of issues where it doesn't calculate sales tax correctly or at all for some states or on returns. There are multiple different logins for different services/features (i.e. AvaTax, CertCapture, General Avalara account) which are frustrating. Also had a number of issues with our NetSuite integrations. CertCapture required us to manually upload each state certificate...

Vendor response

Blake, thank you for sharing about your experience using Avalara. We are sorry to read you've experienced challenges, we understand it's been frustrating, and we'd like to address your concerns. Please contact our VP of Customer Excellence Bobby Sands at customercare@avalara.com so we can learn more and work to assist.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Technical Difficulties

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

I like the ease of use - the drop downs and categories are perfect.

Cons

When I have technical issues with specific transactions customer support isn't always knowledgeable enough to help. When I have specific tax calc questions support will never respond with an answer - as you are "not" tax advisors and sometimes the question is not that limited.

Vendor response

Carlyle, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Avalara. We work hard to deliver our customers a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we are grateful for the opportunity to serve you. If you have additional feedback to share, especially around areas where you see opportunity for improvement, please contact customercare@avalara.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

User of Certcapture -IDSC Holdings Snap-on Industrial

Reviewed 2 years ago

I really like the tax information provided through the blog, and twitter feed. Managing tax documents has gotten a lot easier since I first started doing this 10 years ago.

Pros

I can customize for my needs Searching is easy Campaigns make collecting expiring certificates easy

Cons

I would like to be able to add email contact for our sales field when we send email or letter to customer in a campaign. Would like to be able to bulk upload certs Drop and drag would be cool for adding certs We have two sub companies set up. I would like to merge them so i have visibility for customers who are under both companies, and only have to upload a certificate once instead of under both companies.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Couldn't do it without them!

Reviewed 2 years ago

In the wake of South Dakota v. Wayfair, Avalara alerts us if we have nexus in a new state. This is a priceless benefit. Also, Avalara was instrumental in helping us comply with a Tennessee customer's request for a multi-year sales tax refund. Thanks to Avalara, we survived the experience without hiring additional labor and the customer was satisfied with the outcome.

Pros

Avalara keeps up with all the nationwide changes in taxing jurisdictions month-to-month so we can focus on our business transactions and not struggle with tax compliance. They operate seamlessly in the background and keep us accurate and exposure-free.

Cons

I am eternally disappointed that I didn't come up with the concept for Avalara myself =)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I have Avalara integrated on 2 of my online Bigcommerce stores.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

As with most Bigcommerce integrations, setup was super easy. Signing up for an account and a couple clicks and you're good to go. Calculating sales tax/setup on the backend of an online store can be time-consuming if you don't have Avalara. I do not use the software to do any tax return prep or reports so the version I use is completely free. You can't beat free for a no hassle sales tax calculation experience. State laws change and it's nice to have software that keeps my stores up to code.

Cons

I cannot think of any cons to the software. It is free and truly takes the hassle out of calculating state sales tax for all my customers. If you are looking for a software to take care of all of your sales tax needs, such as reporting, you might be able to find cheaper alternatives.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simplifies the Sales Tax Process

Reviewed 22 days ago

We never could have managed 20k+ customer certificates manually! The modal for self-uploading benefits our customers, improves their experience and improves our internal company users as well.

Pros

The software is easy to use and the integration with CertCapture makes it easy to administer our sales tax program with over 20k exempt customers currently.

Cons

It is sometimes difficult to troubleshoot why the software does not act as expected. No helpful hints.

Vendor response

Linda, thank you for sharing about your experience with Avalara AvaTax and CertCapture, we're happy to hear it's been positive. We are committed to offering a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we look forward to continuing to serve you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

As my company expanded into multiple taxes, having AvaTax was essential to managing sales & use tax.

Reviewed 3 years ago

This headache is almost entirely outsourced to specialist. We concentrate on our core business instead.

Pros

Once implemented, it is simple to use both for the administrators and our customers. AvaTax has covered a wide gamut of situations that my business presents. The software itself is thorough no matter what jurisdiction or product/service is sold and the product help desk is quick, user friendly and complete.

Cons

The integration with our ERP software and e-commerce website yields a frequent rounding issue on the customers' invoices. Not blaming AvaTax for the issue, but neither AvaTax nor our ERP have the flexibility to address the problem.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Avalara

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use Avalara for our sales tax returns and it saves our company time and headaches. Just knowing that our tax returns are done properly takes a lot of stress off.

Pros

With all the constant change in Sales Tax laws the software gives me a worry free product that handles everything for our company.

Cons

It's expensive and I find it difficult to use

Vendor response

Christine, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with Avalara. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to continuing to serve you. If there are additional comments you'd like to share, particularly around areas where you see need for improvement, please contact customercare@avalara.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Avalara Cert Capture

Reviewed 2 years ago

The Avalara system has been very beneficial in the tracking and uploading of tax certs for all of our customers. It has also proved to be a very efficient way of pulling certs during audit reviews.

Pros

Uploading tax certs and searching for tax certs within the system is very simple

Cons

This isn't really a con. Currently we have not used the reporting function or the request for information function. It isn't as simple and takes a lot more time from what we have been told. The instructions we received were very detailed and seemed a bit complicated. I will be able to better score this once we have a chance to actually work with it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Avalara review

Reviewed a month ago

Working beautiful with ERP system

Pros

Automated the sales tax process reduced errors from previous manual process.

Cons

would like more flexibility in reporting. extra selection criteria fields in Avatax reports, like wanting to run on a specific customer. in certcapture, would like to pick and choose fields to print on downloaded reports. you can select on these fields, but some fields aren't on the report.

Vendor response

Bonnie, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with Avalara. We appreciate your feedback and are passing along your thoughts on AvaTax and CertCapture reporting to our product team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good product

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The product is easy to use. Setup is simple, however if you are using QBO you will be doing setup regularly as it oftentimes becomes disconnected.

Cons

While Support Services are available you cannot count on them. The respond time is very slow and difficult to access

Vendor response

Avina, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Avalara. From what you wrote, we recognize that there are things that have gone well and areas that may need improvement. If you have additional feedback about using Avalara with QBO, please contact customercare@avalara.com so we can share your feedback with our product team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Avalara review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Avalara Avatax for SAP is one of the key add-ons that our users use to get their job done on time.

Pros

Using the add-on for SAP has made tax calculations something that our users don't ever worry about when performing their work in SAP.

Cons

Customer services is a bit on the slow side. We have a user that occasionally calls for support and waits nearly an hour before getting service.

Vendor response

Thank you for sharing about your experience with the AvaTax integration with SAP, we're happy to hear it's been positive. We are committed to offering a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent sales tax program. Top of the line glad we went with Avalara back in 2015. The support group is well versed on trouble shooting and resolving issues. I would highly recommend Avalara to any other company that is looking for a sales tax program.

Pros

The software has the ability to capture from start to finish with taxing the invoice to remitting the returns to the state were we collect sales tax.

Cons

Would like to be notified if Avalara stop taxing on invoices instead of finding out after the fact. This could be on the connector side, but still to put in place even an email to let us know.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Service

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Avalara has saved our company so much time and hassle with sales tax. Our company does business in all 50 states and it is hard to keep up with the changing tax rates. Having Avalara by our side gives us confidence that the taxes we are charging the customer are correct.

Cons

Avalara has grown a lot since we started using them. Our company was one of the first. For a while, it seemed as though it was taking Avalara a bit more time to respond to our requests and inquiries, but the company has added more staff and the response rate has improved.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Difficult to Setup

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Makes tax collection and administration more streamlined, puts the burden into the hands of those at Avalara.

Cons

Though the program is "administered" by Avalara, they make it very clear that they will not provide advice for tax setup and implementation. If you are not well versed in tax laws, you will have a hard time figuring out how and which apply to you. Customer service has very long wait times.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Avalara. We work hard to deliver our customers a reliable and easy-to-use solution. From what you wrote, we recognize that there are things that have gone well and areas that may need improvement. If you're open to a conversation, please contact customercare@avalara.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great add-on!

Reviewed a year ago

Great customer support!

Pros

Overall, it accomplishes the goal we set out. We needed a more accurate way to charge sales tax, down to the county, city, and specific area when it comes to California. Alvalara AvaTax can do just that! It has saved us so much time in calculating this ourselves.

Cons

It is not very customizable and is not 100% accurate. It basically just rounds differently, so you have to get used to that. When it is off, it's just a few pennies, so we've worked around it.

Vendor response

Elyse, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Avalara. We work hard to deliver our customers a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we're grateful for the opportunity to work with you. Accuracy is extremely important to us, so if you've experienced inconsistency with a particular tax rate, please reach out to your account manager or contact customercare@avalara.com so we can look into it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Avalara Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good quality people, expertise and concern with perfection of product. We were a bit oversold on connectors, etc.

Pros

The automation of getting correct tax rate for multiple states in which we do business. I think it is a valuable resource and good value for the money. There's no way we could keep up with all the laws and tax rates and keep our software updated accordingly

Cons

When working with Support, they assume that I am a software person. I'm the accountant and often don't understand their techno lingo. This is very frustrating. Also, there seem to be frequent issues with the Avalara software not communicating back with my software, causing posting issues. This is frustrating as well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We use AvaTax to calculate sales tax on customer invoices for multiple states and jurisdictions.

Reviewed 3 years ago

AvaTax handles all of the sales tax calculations, reporting, returns, filings and payments seamlessly. We were very pleased with how easy it was to set up initially and how seamless it has been since then to use. Definitely would recommend it to others who need to simplify and automate their sales taxes.

Pros

Very easy to implement and use. Handles all of our sales tax requirements with little to no effort on our part. Integrates well with our financial system. Very reasonably priced.

Cons

We really do not have any complaints. We have been extremely pleased with AvaTax. It has worked great for us.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Peace of Mind

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Excellent Customer Support Tiered Pricing for a Mid Sized Business Detailed Reporting User friendly Portal Flexible Nexus Rules and Company Structure Setup Easy Website (Retail) Integration

Cons

Very little. If I can think of anything it would be that the pricing is tiered based on level of transactions, so if you do a very high volume of extremely small transactions with a very tight margin and need to utilize Avalara or another service for your taxation call the ROI in time saving could potentially be negated by the cost.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Say Goodbye to SALT Problems!

Reviewed 2 years ago

The Wayfair decision created a gaping maw of taxation liability for clients. Avalara single-handedly saved the day- can't imagine using or recommending anything else.

Pros

Legal and accounting fees plummeted, Avalara did (almost all of) the work for us. You can simply update the tables if you need to modify anything! I also like the collateral effect it has produced- because we all rely on Avalara we all inherently follow processes to ensure the proper use of Avalara. It is functionally the enabler to nationwide sales and a must-have for any business trying to do the same.

Cons

More support is available, but costs more. Reminds me of the old Microsoft model (maybe still current model?) and it can be very irritating. If you have a tax problem, the last thing you need is more costs and a wait time. Notwithstanding, the documentation and Help Center gets you a long way, if not all the way.

Vendor response

Thank you for sharing about your experience with Avalara AvaTax, we're happy to hear it's been positive. We are committed to offering a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we look forward to continuing to serve you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Avalara makes sales tax easy!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Avalara helps us manage our sales tax responsibilities effectively, efficiently and easily.

Pros

I love how Avalara automatically tracks and updates all local tax law changes and alerts me to anything I need to be aware of. Avalara takes all the pain out of sales tax.

Cons

Nothing! I cant imagine a better sales tax product.

Vendor response

Bill, thank you for sharing about your experience with Avalara, we're happy to hear it's been positive. We are committed to offering a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we look forward to continuing to serve you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simply the best in sales tax management

Reviewed 2 years ago

Automation of sales tax management provides enormous value.

Pros

Avalara integrates with every major accounting system and seamlessly calculates sales tax on all transactions. Reporting is excellent and filing is easy. Sales tax no longer hurts.

Cons

No complaints about Avalara. I've been a customer for over 8 years.

Vendor response

Tim, thank you for sharing about your experience with Avalara, we're happy to hear it's been positive. We are committed to offering a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we look forward to continuing to serve you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Customer Service is Horrible

Reviewed 2 years ago

My company and I decided to outsource our sales tax filings in the 3rd quarter of 2018 in the wake of the impactful "Wayfair" sales tax ruling. I have to say that our experience thus far has been wholeheartedly disappointing. It is a textbook case of a vendor over promising and under delivering. Avalara failed to support us during the implementation period in that we could not even reach our implementation...

Pros

Not much really. It is mostly out of necessity that we must use Avalara otherwise we would be spending days just filling out state sales tax filings for our monthly sales.

Cons

The software itself is not terribly bad; however the customer support is atrocious! If you have any questions it may take days or weeks for someone to get back to you (if ever).

Vendor response

Brian, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience; it's not the type we aim to deliver. We apologize that the implementation process has been a challenge and we'd like to help. Please contact our VP of Customer Excellence Bobby Sands at customercare@avalara.com so we can work to address your frustrations.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Tax Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are an ecommerce business that needs this to function and grow.

Pros

Automatically calculates and files taxes, even by city limits. We don't have to worry about the intricate detail they cover.

Cons

You need to make sure you set up everything correctly with the right tax codes - true for any program really.

Vendor response

Nancy, thank you for sharing about your experience with Avalara AvaTax, we're happy to hear it's been positive. We are committed to offering a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we look forward to continuing to serve you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Saved my butt on state sales taxes.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Saves time, money, and simplifies your life.

Pros

Saved me a clerical body no longer chasing and updating new tax rates. Added new efficiency points on sales tax collects. Excellent sales tax reporting. I've passed 11 sales tax audits without any charges since I've been on the software.

Cons

I wish the address field could be more dynamic in our use of the product. As our product is tied to our ERP the addresses must be set up for use and as such that is good, but if the step was combined it would save time.

page 2 of 9

Select your country

10+ YEARS RECOMMENDING SOFTWARE

Ā© 2010-2021 GetApp. All Rights Reserved.
GetAppĀ® is a registered trademark of Nubera eBusiness S.L. Nubera eBusiness uses its own and third-party cookies. By using the website you are accepting the use of these cookies. To get more information about our cookies click here.