This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Flex Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

The best part of the software is the overall show management functionality to it. I like that the software is geared to Rental Stagers and has the ability to integrate gear, labor, and logistics.

John S.

It is super helpful in finding shortages and helping to resolve them. Our customer rep. and the team have been fantastic to work with and talk to.

Ryan D.

For the price Flex is great. We had nothing before so it feels like a big improvement.

Daniel J.

Cons

Our dislikes are all features. There are just so many features that it is hard to master them all.

Kate G.

We think you should not stop fixing bugs in the current version when the new version is largely vaporware. The new Flex 5 is being developed for Mobile and Tablet first...which is ridiculous.

Michael Z.

Sometimes I'll scroll down a quote, open up some sections, and many times it'll either freeze for a moment or crash and start over.

Geoffrey S.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

41

58

28

4

3

74%
positive reviews
91%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


134 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Flex is great for managing our inventory, and communicating with customers each step of the way.

Reviewed 3 years ago

It streamlines our business. It makes tracking, maintaining and managing our inventory easy. It also improves our corporate image and streamlines our customer communications. Lastly, it holds everyone working in the warehouse responsible for their work and accuracy of orders by tracking their scans.

Pros

Flex makes it easy for our account managers to build quotes and communicate that information with customers. Which then easily translates into documents for our warehouse team to prep and prepare orders. It is also wonderful to have the ability to document maintenance, damaged or broken items and losses for each event or rental. The customization capabilities also mean that we can really make the software our own and create documents or work flows that work best for our company. We aren't stuck with a cookie cutter solution that only fits some of our needs. Additionally, the support team is on top of it. They can help with a wide range of questions or issues and are very patient and detailed when explaining how to do something.

Cons

The customization can be daunting. There are SO many options that occasionally you can accidentally make changes you don't intend to. On this vein, the software is also ever changing. Which is AWESOME, but as a small business it can be difficult to keep up to date on the changes and new features. Overall we don't have any big complaints. Our dislikes are all features... There are just so many features that it is hard to master them all!

Vendor response

Kate, thanks for such a wonderful and thoughtful review of Flex. It makes us so happy hear about all the wonderful ways you're using Flex at Mastermind.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Solid Platform for Small to Medium size users

Reviewed 3 years ago

When we started with 1 location and 4 employees the system was awesome. With the addition of more facilities and staff we have found some issues. But overall the ability to enter a client, create a quote and process an order is great.

Pros

Ease of entering data. User Interface/GUI. Overall layout of platform. Automated functions for sending quotes/PO's.

Cons

Equipment scheduling when working between multiple locations/warehouses and when moving equipment from existing jobs to other facilities does not currently reflect stock properly. Mixing the sale of rental inventory into the mix causes additional issues. Lack of ability to generate reports on cross rentals seems a major failure on a rental software program. The scheduled inventory count application is flawed in not automatically accounting for existing equipment scanned out to jobs that overlap the count period. Also the report, if generated anytime after the actual count changes to the current state, not the state when counts happened.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Works for some things but is clunky

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Flex has so much potential yet the basic core functionally of the program is not being focused on.

Cons

The program is written in pieces and coded by outsourced programmers. So where one thing works well it doesn't translate into the rest of the program and is often overlooked. The ability to do a multi-session show that would incorporate and calculate total equipment needed for shows that changed equipment requirements for each day. This was promised to us over 5 years ago when we purchased the...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Flexible and Powerful

Reviewed 10 months ago

You will get out of Flex what you put into it. With Flex 5 (HMTL) in open beta now: the future looks bright for the platform. As my companies Technical Operations Director: I use Flex daily to track our inventory per project. It's been a powerful tool and a mainstay for us.

Pros

Flex is, as the name suggests, highly flexible: it adapts to your needs from an inventory management perspective. Tracking projects, inventory, and maintenance are a breeze.

Cons

The migration to HTML from Flash has taken significantly longer than originally projected. Using Flash has significantly slowed down reaction times through the program and often results in some irritating bugs.

Vendor response

Thanks, Benjamin, for leaving us a review. We're so glad you have found Flex customizable and able to adapt to your unique needs. We are so excited for Flex5 and where it's going and we're happy that you're along for the ride. We can't wait to show you more!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solid solution for AV rental companies

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great overall solution for AV rental companies with multiple locations/warehouses. Full service for lifecycle of a project (from quotation to invoicing/ shipping)

Pros

Flex takes a bit of time to get used to it (the interface), but once you familiarize yourself with daily workflow, it's features and functionality are pretty exceptional for rental AV companies. Smooth flow between quote creation, confirmation, packing list and invoicing between team members.

Cons

Their mobile support for a few years was poor (only an iPad application). More recently, an iPhone iOS version has become available which is very useful.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It's 2018, what even is Flash anymore?

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like that it's web-based.

Cons

It's written in Flash, which is horrendously outdated, and works terribly with my computer/browsers... yes, browsers plural, because I have to use one browser for Flex while I use another browser for everything else. It's painfully slow. It crashes routinely, resulting in us asking support to "restart" the software for us (usually at least a few times a month, and more during our busy season). You...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent desktop platform, lacking mobile support

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Software's Ease of use, multi-user (seamless ness from Warehouse to Warehouse). Every function we would need to perform from a logistical standpoint we can.

Cons

Software lags from time to time. Also tends to crash and/or freeze via Mac OS X from time to time (particularly when tweaking invoices). Also wish you guys revamped the mobile app :) came out and then was abandoned - we rely on it for our smaller Warehouse locations.

Vendor response

Hey Keenan! Thanks for the awesome review and that you're finding our software easy to use for your business. Our dev team is working hard to address the lags and reliability side of things. Stay tuned!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

28 years in AV using different rental software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Ease of use for quoting

Pros

Well thought out for both quoting and logistic. Work flow for an event is a great asset (child documents etc)

Cons

Sometimes it takes a long time to add items Server down time is sometimes bad, I don't know if this has to do with our size and number of users. Sometime it takes a long time to add an item

Vendor response

Carl, we so appreciate the time you took to submit a review. Thanks for your feedback and comments on ease of quoting functionality and load times, it's something that is top of mind for us. Thanks for being part of the Flex family.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We have been users of Flex from almost the very beginning. We love the customer support!

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are able to do all of our quoting, invoicing and warehouse management in one software.

Pros

Ease of use, Flex is very intuitive. It works well for what we need it to do. The financial side of quoting and invoicing is an especially great feature.

Cons

Wish there were more labor timekeeping/crewing/scheduling features. A one stop shop product would be great.

Vendor response

Laura, thanks for your thorough review and for your loyalty through the years. We pride ourselves in having a lot of long term Flex users and we work hard to make sure we keep them. I'm so glad to hear our support team has been good to you!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

So Many Bugs

Reviewed 8 months ago

Lame as hell. Use Current.

Pros

It works sort of. But it will drive you nuts.

Cons

The software is not intuitive, makes you do things by hand 4094275982792 different times, and then still not work right. The Java based platform is slow and dated. These many bugs and issues simply arent addressed.

Vendor response

Andrew, Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate it, critical or otherwise! For us, improving the features and usability of Flex5 is mission critical, and we're committed to listening to our customers first when it comes to changes and updates. Last year we debuted Flex5, opening access for all active users- since then, we've implemented updates and changes on a regular basis with overview webinars...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love the software. Very easy to use and grows with the company. Great Tech Support.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Compared to our previous software this is tremendously beneficial. This makes inventory management and writing quotes much easier.

Pros

Once its set up, its very fast and easy to write quotes and manage inventory. That process takes a long time to get to, but the tech support is unrivaled. Its incredibly flexible in allowing individual customization which allows us to make our documents look the way we want. We're still learning and tweaking our forms and its great that we can continue to change.

Cons

Sometimes the open format and flexibility is TOO much flexibility. Once in a while we'd like to just have a standard way to fix a problem but can't because the issue is unique to the way we've structured our individual set-up. (Fortunately tech support is a life saver here) Also, there are some strange bugs still working out with regards to inventory- items that are scanned out today will show as unavailable...

Vendor response

Matt, we're definitely a Flex-ible software and we made it that way intentionally to make sure our users can customize their system for their particular needs. That being said, if there is something not working how you expect, contact support! We're glad you love our software, our software loves you too!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Can't beat these features at this price point!

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've used Flex with 2 different companies and have managed the system for both of those companies. The features and functionality can't be beat for the price. It's extremely easy to start using the basic functions and also offers more extensive functionality for the companies that choose to implement them. At it's core, Flex is a rental inventory management software, but it's workflow includes financial...

Pros

-Easy to start using. -It's in the cloud giving you access to all your information from anywhere. -Scanning is easy. -Manages both the financial and the logistical processes of a job. -The price is right compared to a lot of the competition.

Cons

-Currently Flash based, but HTML5 is coming soon as per the time of this post.

Vendor response

Aaron, thanks for the detailed review! We are indeed working on HTML5 - if you'll be at LDI this year, you'll be able to see a demo! We're proud of how far Flex has come since the company started a handful of years ago, and work every day to make Flex by people who know the industry, for people who work every day in the industry. Thanks again!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Very "functional", but not very practical.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The greatest strength of Flex is also it's greatest weakness - it is very customizable, and you can set up many aspects in specific ways tailored to your company's workflow. I do appreciate that the software can be set up to store all sorts of data points and pull reports on many of those. We currently do not use the full functionality of Flex because every aspect of business that relies on this software takes more time than necessary.

Cons

As of November 2017, the user interface is still Flash-based, meaning it is extremely slow to use. The more items added to a document (quote/contract), the slower it gets both on the account side and warehouse side. Technically, Flex is capable of doing a lot, but every aspect of business that operates in Flex (i.e. quoting, inventory management, purchase orders) takes longer than necessary, resulting in inefficiency overall.

Vendor response

Hi There! We apologize you're not 100% satisfied with our product. Here at Flex, we work really hard to create a product that brings value to every aspect of your business. That being said, since we're such a robust piece of software, it does take some customization and training. We would be more than happy to offer you some training so you can make better use of Flex. If you can please email us to training@flexrentalsolutions.com. Also, we're working hard to launch Flex5, more info here: flexrentalsolutions.com/flex5/ The tablet version is already in beta, let me know if you'd like try it out. Thanks for your review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It’s been a very productive tool for us, overall great software!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I’m much happier with flex than we were with the previous two offerings. Keep it up!

Pros

It works! (I’m surprised to see how many people have outstanding issues, we have our fair share but they get sorted out fairly promptly). Web based is a winner, do you remember when you couldn’t do this? And yes, I understand the flash debate, it will be wonderful with html5 but flash has worked fine to date. Agree that you get out what you put into this software. We have spent a lot of time customising it, creating specific reports, documents, workflows, inventory suggestions, etc and it’s all paid off. Yes it takes time but I can’t imagine an off the shelf product working adequately in our custom world of production? Allocating times to labour items is great. Helps massively with rostering. There’s lots of positives to say about this, well done flex team!

Cons

The lack of html5 support so far. Also an api would make sense so we can integrate with other relevant platforms / software. To channel a younger me, I’m also going to say; custom colours and ‘themes’, background images, etc. as we end up working on it a lot.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Daily user, many areas need further development, cannot trust the results presented many times.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Allows us to schedule our gear without creating major conflicts on the calendar. Accessible on the web without a special local installation.

Cons

Where to start? Depending on where or how you start a query, you can receive different results for counts of the same inventory items at the same time. This is just one of many examples that the software seems to be working the same calculations in multiple locations. Overall, it seems like the initial project was poorly planned and implemented by people with low programming experience. The system...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Great product! Slow platform !!! STAY AWAY!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Everything about flex rental solutions is absolutely awesome with the HUGE exception of how slow their system gets when you build a half way descent size price quote.

Pros

It is a very simple intuitive system. Doesn't take a long time to learn it and they have plenty of tutorials on line to help. They also do a descent job responding to customer support emails within 24 hours.

Cons

IT IS INCREDIBLY SLOW!!! Building quotes is like pulling teeth. What should take 2 to 3 hours takes about 7 hours to build. We regret using flex every day. They use a flash based system that is outdated and we are told that they will go to a new faster platform when flash is no longer supported. Duh! I guess they will go away from Flash when they are forced to. We were also told that a plan to move away from Flash was in place years ago when we first looked at them and their competition. I'm not here to promote competition but I do regret going down the flex route. It is so slow that we are having serious meeting on what costs we are looking at to transfer to a different rental software!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overall the system does what it is expected to do

Reviewed 3 years ago

This software has helped us become more efficient in our day to day operations. We have also significantly increased our ability to track our equipment.

Pros

The best part of the software is the overall show management functionality to it. I like that the software is geared to Rental Stagers and has the ability to integrate gear, labor, and logistics.

Cons

The software runs very slow with required refreshes for everything you do which takes a lot of time over the course of a day. I also do not like how the availability of gear messes up periodically and gear will go crazy. I would also like automatic notifications that allowed for reminders to be sent at milestones or as things happen. For instance, I would like to notification to go to our sales team if a quote is not confirmed 7 days away or a notification go out to our warehouse team for schedule pickups and returns upcoming.

Vendor response

John, thank you so much for your thorough review and for your recommendation. We definitely love that we can help you integrate the different parts of your business.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We have worked with numerous software and nothing compares to this system. Flex has done a Great Job

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We like the freedom of having a web base system that we can take where ever we go. That all departments are integrated to work in a perfect harmony. It keeps track on where everything is and gives us the tools to facilitate quotes to our clients in a fast timely matter. This system has help us spend less time building forms and waisting time in implementing procedures when all you have to do in input all the assets and thats it. It keeps the entire team integrated and aware of all the moving parts to make a successful event.

Cons

We would like to see a better mobile version of the system. With now a days we try to travel light sometimes we are on the run but the need information on the hand to execute a last minute request and let all the department know what they need to do to make it happen. Other than that we are set with Flex for life!

Vendor response

Michael, we're elated with your positive review. We're so happy you're able to use Flex to streamline and optimize the way you do business.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Flex is a deep program that aggregates and organizes a lot of info. It functions but is not optimal.

Reviewed 3 years ago

It keeps track of our Barcode Systems and our gear.

Pros

I like how detailed you can be and how most of the functions that a rental house might need are accessible and available. Almost anything you want to do you can get it to do to some degree. Flex has a deep base of tutorials that are very helpful.

Cons

Speed. It is slow and adds hours to every week while I wait for things to load and/or populate. The availability of crew and equipment is often inaccurate and it's hard to tell why. The crew lists are barely usable and a whole seperate program is probably a better tool for crew communications. Flex makes it seem like they have the functionality to manage crew but it is not functional on any real scale or complexity.

Vendor response

Jeremy, we appreciate your well though out and honest review. Please feel free to reach out to our support team if availability is not working how you expect, they can troubleshoot that issue for you. Thank you!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

overall it is a good program

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have only been using this software for about 3 years so we are still learning the ins and outs and all the things that this system can do.

Pros

Flex has many good features, live inventory, easy to maneuver. Customer support has always been great. The webcasts are extremely helpful. Love the work tree to keep everything in order.

Cons

The updating as you go. Sometimes things take a long time to load, and when you change a line in a large quote it takes awhile to load the info. Sometimes it feels like it would be easier to make the quote and then have it save. Also closing POs so that the items come out of the how many ordered column only to have the purchase orders disappear. In the work tree I wish the item you were working on would be highlighted or something to show which one you were working on.

Vendor response

Vickie, thanks for the shoutout to our webinars and support. We think they're great, too!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome Rental Software!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Business operations have been incredibly organized now that we have this software.

Pros

We love that our company can keep track of our rental inventory , knowing where everything is at the moment needed

Cons

The Accounting feature is nice as it’s works with QuickBooks and other accounting software. But... one thing I wished they would change would be to have the ability for multiple invoices to be paid by one check. You have to go through a process of crediting an account just to do this. Other than easily showing what is owed all by that one customer for a single payment to be made and exported to your accounting software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Flex has been a great piece of software for our company

Reviewed 5 years ago

Flex has been great, we have been taking steps into utilizing flex more and more. it has been for the most part mostly positive and things have been pulling together quite well for us.

Pros

you can customize it for the most part to your own needs, and you can utilize flex to how it best suits you and to what level you are using it

Cons

Prepping, when you have packages built with Non serialized items it makes very difficult to prep properly when you have to go find where that item got prepped to

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Tony. We appreciate the comments on how you can customize Flex to your needs and are glad to read that Flex has been helpful for your company. You are welcome to call into our tech team at 801-420-1706 x2. If techs are on the phone and you get directed to voicemail, please leave a voicemail, and we can call you back. Thanks again for the review, we appreciate it!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Used this software while working at a lighting/video company, now using it at an Event Decor company

Reviewed 3 years ago

The current company i'm working for had no inventory system at all, this is a big step up for them and I'm confident that Flex can adapt to the company's needs as the company grows.

Pros

I like having a database where anyone an go to find out information about a specific show, inventory questions, and being able to track assets easily. It's offers a lot of customization options for each business.

Cons

Quickbooks online integration is not complete. Header titles don't update across all documents if you change the name of a quote. Cannot edit the layout of reports very easily. I can't wait for the HTML5 version to be released, i'm hoping a lot will be fixed in that version.

Vendor response

Danika, thank you for wonderful review. It's one thing we keep hearing about how customizable our software is for our customers and I'm glad you trust Flex to meet your needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Industry standard, but needs some love

Reviewed 5 years ago

It has all of the quoting, invoicing, inventory management that a production company could use. Fusing flash in 2016 is a little insane, but hopefully Flex 5 is released shortly.

Pros

It has a full feature set and is purpose built to fit the needs of our business.

Cons

Flash, in 2016.... Seriously. Mega lag with scanning and hangs on 5% of barcode scans. 1/20 scans requires click in the 'processing' box or a full refresh of the browser.

Vendor response

Hi Jordan, Thanks for your review and for letting us know about your scanning issue. That is certainly not common and definitely something we want to resolve. Randy connected with you yesterday and provided some recommendations to help with that, and after talking with you today, it sounds like things are as they should be without those lags. We are always happy to help resolve issues when they arise - please do not hesitate to reach out to us at support@flexrentalsolutions.com or 801-420-1706 x 2 for assistance. Thanks again for the review. We're excited with you to show V1 of Flex 5 (HTML5) soon! Stay tuned :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

As the core of our gear management, Flex lets me stay on top of things.

Reviewed 3 years ago

This software has simply made my job easier by allowing me to access detailed information at any given time. I also like the fact that I can access Flex online.

Pros

Once I figured out all of the powerful tools Flex offers, it makes gear management a breeze. I personally use it to look over booked shows that will go out for delivery. I like that I can easily print out a copy of any show with just a few clicks of the mouse. The lists are usually very detailed so I can be certain that I don't miss anything. Although I do not do it often, booking and entering gear into Flex is fairly straight forward and not too difficult as long as I pay attention to what I am doing. I like the fact that I can print out different types of lists as well, whether it is a gear list, or carnet, all of this makes my life easier.

Cons

The most difficult thing with Flex was the learning curve, it took some time to learn how to navigate all of the tools the software has built in.

Vendor response

Hi Michael, thanks for submitting such a great review and we're so happy that our software allows you to make your job and your responsibilities much easier!