Cisco Meraki Reviews

Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

4.52/5 (44 reviews)

Anonymous

Decent MDM - But Conversion to License structure is irritating

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-12-13
Review Source: Capterra

Sales/account reps are purely focused on selling you new stuff so they can improve their numbers. they do not look out for you once you've bought their product.

Pros
It has a decent feature set - including remote management of profiles and security features, For both Macs and iOS. The ability to completely lock down and erase the entire device has been nice in a few extreme situations. The UI is intuitive and easy to use with LOTS of information about the devices being managed.

Cons
Initially we enjoyed the fact that we were given a relatively high if not unlimited (I cannot recall) now, we are billed per device. Which is fine. But the process to obtain the licenses is absolutely ridiculous, takes way too long and they do not allow for our account for an upgrade process. IE client has 20 computers enrolled, and they replace all of them, well you have to get another 20 licenses (paying for 40 computers) and then remove the old computes when they are phased out. Then decrease the license count. There is zero flexibility here, and the vendor was borderline indignant when it was pointed out how this is a problem in the real world.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Bruce Fong

Plenty of Features when they work

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-10-29
Review Source: Capterra

It gives us what we wanted from a MDM with a good price, functionality and features. Having it share the same management screens as our APs, routers and switches is a huge bonus in managing devices. But blacklisting of software seems to be the only consistently working part with software as deployment and whitelisting is not very reliable.

Pros
It is very easy to setup and start using. It has a lot of functions that can you can see in more expensive products but all cloud based and managed. Having no on premise foot print is great and it has the same dashboard as our Meraki devices we manage. We do not need to switch to check or update the status of devices. This does device inventory and deployment of software. Can find where devices are and who is logged in to them.

Cons
The MDM for managing the installation and whitelisting of software is poor. We would approve software for users but then when an update to the app happens we would need to approve the app again. We have used the setting to keep the app approved for all updates but it does not work. Force installing the software is not reliable at all.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Anonymous

Easy to use and comprehensive tools for managing mobile devices and other assets

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
A single one-stop location for remote management of iOS and other mobile devices and other assets. In particular, monitoring and administrating iOS devices is challenging and this tool has saved countless hours in configuring and deploying and maintaining iPhones in our business.

Cons
The features for updating Apps from the App Store needs improvement.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Nathan Muleski

Feature galore!

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-01-08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
We use this product mainly for phones and it's amazingly feature-rich in that regard. Every piece of information I could ever want is available on the dashboard once the software is installed. The ability to use Apple DEP is amazing, as our phones automatically install MSM as soon as they are activated, right out the box. Setting up DEP is a hassle at first, but completely worth it as it takes away all other steps of configuration. As soon as a phone is ordered through Apple or a certified reseller, it will have MSM out of the box. You can even use MSM to install other pieces of software such as time trackers, CRM software, etc. It's a fantastic tool. Once installed you can get GPS coord, public IP address, storage stats, WiFi stats, ICCID, IMEI, MAC address, encryption and jailbreak status, and much more. You can send messages to the phone (Why are you at McDonald's and not work?), you can remotly disable password protection (or add it) and, obviously, you can remotely wipe the phone. MSM does everything our old mobile device management software did and MUCH more for aroudn the same cost.

Cons
Setting up Apple DEP is a pain. Adding MSM to exsiting phones is a time consuming process and, unless you wipe the phone, you only get some of the features by just installing the app from the app store. The user would also be able to remove the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Stephen Bornheimer

Meraki - Management at your Fingertips

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-02-13
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, Cisco Meraki is a great company with some of the best products and services. I currently use their firewalls, switches, access points and system manager. When using all their products the user experience is excellent. The equipment and services are high quality but you will pay a premium to use them.

Pros
Meraki Systems Manager is a cloud based management system that grants you the ability to manage devices within your network. You can see a lot of information about device use, manufacturer and connectivity. You can apply user policies and utilize Meraki’s built in Mobile Device Management. You can manage PC, Mac, Chromebook, iOS, Android and more!

Cons
System Manager is a great tool and has great customer service, however Meraki licensing is pricey compared to other tools available.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Rob Samuel

Amazing functionality for the value, gives great visibility on devices

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-02
Review Source: Capterra

Fantastic! I have used Spiceworks and other inventory tools in the past and Meraki Systems Manager suits our requirements the best. As well as monitoring device performance, storage, etc. it allows me to organise devices by tags and really keep on top of my inventory.

Pros
Integration with Meraki Dashboard, free for up to 100 devices which makes it ideal for smaller businesses. Also the ability to remotely end tasks, remote command line, RDP web client, screenshots and useful statistics make this a valuable solution when managing desktops, servers and mobile devices.

Cons
Nothing really, sometimes devices take a few minutes to update in the dashboard but I don't have any complaints about the product. It is updated regularly like most Meraki products and gets better the longer you use it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Anonymous

Great fully-featured cross-platform MDM solution

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-02-12
Review Source: Capterra

We needed a basic iOS MDM for about 50 iPads, and Meraki SM fit the bill with their Free 100 device plan. In a space where most iOS MDMs are the same in features and in price, Systems Manager has unique features like Tags, and allows us to expand our management to Android and Windows, which we will most certainly be taking advantage of in the future.

Pros
-Aggregation of MDM policies across iOS, macOS, Android, and Windows platforms make it really easy to deploy the same setting, such as screen lock, to multiple platforms without drilling the per-platform settings -Supports all iOS MDM settings and is quick to implement new ones as Apple introduces them -Tagging system is incredibly useful to identify and organize different devices - this is unique to Meraki -Although we don't have Meraki networking products - they can all be managed from the same dashboard -Just like most MDM platforms, it offers easy web-based device registration, and syncs with Apple VPP and School Manager

Cons
-Web management dashboard has a steep learning curve and is not very intuitive - a task like deploying a new app to devices involves three or four different management pages -Pricing is comparable, if not a bit more expensive than other iOS MDMs, but its cross-platform support makes up for this

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Ross van der Pas

Powerful product in combination with Meraki hardware

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-06
Review Source: Capterra

Overall a brilliant product and system, there is a reason we have been using the Meraki products for the past 8 years.

Pros
The ability to remotely manager and monitor the network remotely has significantly cut down on support call outs and requests among our clients. Everything on the network is visible from the moment traffic hits the WAN to the clients machine. The tools for diagnosing and checking network issues are amazing. As well as the granularity of the information displayed to the ability to 'micro manage' the network.

Cons
Not so much an issue with the software , but the cost of licenses and hardware can be pretty steep especially if you replace all the network devices.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Dan Hartley

Making networks easy (as usual)

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-10-17
Review Source: Capterra

Moving to Meraki has solved so many network issues and made the entire infrastructure reliable and easy to manage. A move from one office to the other involved no downtime of the network or the VPN thanks to the intelligent interface.

Pros
The ability to maintain and manage your networks from anywhere is a real advantage and the access control and ability to resolve issues fast is a real bonus. I cannot recommend this infrastructure solution enough.

Cons
The licensing can be confusing and additions to equipment will move dates about which you should be aware of. Once you understand that dates will move about, it makes it easier, but there should be more warnings.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Miral Patel

Meraki is easier than regular Cisco Wireless.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
1) Consolidated management of all of our Meraki devices at different location. 2) You can use same configuration template for all or multiple locations. 3) Cisco meraki's keeping up with new vulnerability game is really good. 4) You can use MX devices for SD-WAN which is much more simpler than regular Cisco CLI devices.

Cons
1) If you are using template based deployment then your guest ambassador account can't delete user accounts for wireless. 2) Like many other cloud solution, there is a lack of granularity & fear of compromise.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Eric Peterson

Easy to use systems manager

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Meraki Systems Manager is designed to be easy to use. From setup time to adding endpoints, everything is easy and quick. It easily helps to track and, if necessary, remotely wipe lost devices. I also like the geofence feature as it sends notifications whenever a device leaves the geofenced region.

Cons
Though there has been some improvement in recent years, the system still contains some bugs. The mobile apps really need to be updated, especially the iOS app.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Eric Ottoson

Cisco Meraki Solution to Security

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-18
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Cisco Meraki has enterprise level or security and features that truly give any network the strength to do good business. Its user interface is very adaptive to firewall and equipment setup.

Cons
The hard issue that the user interface requires knowledge of how to navigate and setup the systems. This can be difficult if you have no prior training or experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Nick Thompson

Best Network Management Software

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-10-22
Review Source: Capterra

It has drastically helped us manage our network and assign privileges to students who need to be further restricted.

Pros
Meraki is easily the best way to manage Access Points and switches. My favorite feature is the tagging system so I can tag a whole group of clients or AP's and assign SSID's, privileges and anything else I want to anybody who falls into that category.

Cons
It is on a licensing deal. I would rather buy the application and devices and be done with it rather than worrying about figuring out licenses for everything as well.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Anonymous

Free tier is great

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-13
Review Source: Capterra

It makes it much safer and simpler to deploy mailboxes.

Pros
The software can be used for up to 100 devices without charge making it very good value for money. It monitors our devices very well and can even deploy policies to individual devices that have certain tags, such as mailboxes.

Cons
As soon as you go 1 license over the 100 free, you have to pay for all 101.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Anonymous

Love this product

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
We converted over to Meraki about 2 years ago and it was the best decision we have made. The features and functionality of the dashboard are outstanding and being able to work from anywhere and make changes as needed is great.

Cons
Dashboard can be cumbersome at times and do think some of the items could be laid out a bit better visually.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Justin Whitson

Such a great interface

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-10-03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The depth of security and surveillance power meraki offers is incredible. So many layers and levels of applications and details you can configure to your network to make it exactly how you want or need it.

Cons
The home page to each location always goes to the last page you had open on it which can be annoying but also niche.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Tim Miller

A highly satisfied new user moving from Sonicwall

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-07-25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Our company recently moved from SonicWall devices to Meraki for firewalls. The cloud software that runs the system is pretty user-friendly and straightforward to use. You don't need to be a rocket scientist to configure the standard settings in the device. If you need help with something that is beyond your personal knowledge level, the support team is great! They are in SanFrancisco, so there isn't a language barrier. They are extremely helpful, and never make you feel like an idiot. The smartphone app for monitoring is also pretty nice. The hardware and licensing are a little more expensive, but I find enough value in the product that this isn't an issue.

Cons
I wish that the smartphone app came with a little more functionality for changing settings on the devices, but this certainly isn't a deal breaker. Most internet browsers that I have tried on smartphones will work just fine anyway.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Anonymous

Meraki Systems Manager for MDM needs

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-12-11
Review Source: Capterra

This was the perfect solution to help us manage company issued iPads, iPhones and Apple TV's. We can now track, secure, wipe or unlock any of these devices from the console. Best of all, pushing apps and settings to those devices is simple and can be done remotely.

Pros
We liked that it was a breeze to setup and managing devices can occur the same day you have a license to use it. We had a free trial and got to test all features of the tool before committing.

Cons
It could use a customizable dashboard. The reporting side needs to be a bit more robust as well.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Anonymous

Simple and easy to use, however lacking in some features.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-10-06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Its ease of use, anyone can use this software

Cons
Sometimes we find the software abit too basic, lacking in some features that would be useful. However the features it does have work really well.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Will Crenshaw

Meraki Systems Manager

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The think I like most about Meraki Systems Manager is that it is very user friendly and easy to use. It makes easy to track which APs are up and running or having issues. Also, I like that you can see which users are using high bandwidth on certain sites or services.

Cons
The thing I like least about Meraki Systems Manager is that there is no function that I can find to create an AP map for our devices. It would be nice to have a interface that shows where are APs are located with graphs and measuring statistics.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

John Moberger

Easy to use but limited systems manager

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-10-01
Review Source: Capterra

This is helping us keep track of our ios devices, manage the devices, lock them down, update and more

Pros
Easy to use, easy to setup, tools I use were pretty easy and straight forward. Clean interface and originally had great support

Cons
The support has gone down hill, not tons of features and hasnt really added many new feautres since I first implemented 2 years ago. Tech support is pretty much all outsourced and pretty useless.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Jewitt Bradley

Cisco Meraki

Reviewed 2017-02-09
Review Source: GetApp

I use Cisco meraki everyday to monitor APs in different locations across the state. The cloud interface allows me to see how many devices are connected, if the APs are down, and how much bandwidth is being used. Cisco merKi makes it easy to see the most common bandwidth users and which devices is accessing the most. From the cloud interface you could setup multiple SSIDs and create custom splash pages.

Pros
The cloud interface allows you to customize your network to your settings. Remotely update APs, mobile devices, and desktops

Cons
When remoting into devices it uses java.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Blake Gillan

Love this systems manager tool

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-09-30
Review Source: Capterra

It has been great and the support that comes with the warranty is fabulous.

Pros
I use this to monitor our WiFi network, it makes it tremendously easy to spot issues with in the network and to trouble shoot things.

Cons
The price of meraki over other products is a bit steep, but you get what you pay for a really high quality product with a great software management package

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Robert Aznar

Fresh and Easy deploy without Support

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-03-18
Review Source: Capterra

Really good, I love it!

Pros
One of the most powerful thing for Meraki is their visibility, you have a lot ! I mean, you can see what is happening in your network in real time, clients with or without policy. Security Notification for each user and so on. Auto-VPN its another pretty good feature to configure without difficult for any kind of network engineers IPsec tunnels easily and remote access as well.

Cons
Support really sucks, they have access to every single device in their cloud but unfortunately is not a responsive team.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management

Eric Banaga

Fine if you lack JAMF or Fleetsmith or another MDM for Macs

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Free with cisco meraki Easy to add and remove users Interface is easy to identifiy users Decent security policies in place to manage devices ie block Siri etc Easily apply network settings to devices

Cons
Not nearly as robust as JAMF to deploy software etc Extremely basic and littly functionality for IT managers, maybe okay for inventory purposes

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Cisco Meraki

Mobile Device Management