App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Altaro VM Backup Logo

Altaro VM Backup

Virtual machine backup and replication for Hyper-V & VMware

see alternatives

(3)

Altaro VM Backup Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

188

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.21/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Super easy to setup! super easy to use! rock solid software with outstanding support. This is by far one of the best backup&recovery products since years.
Cloud management console makes it easier to manage and receive alerts from anywhere. Support is great and always very helpful in resolving issues promptly.
The user interface is a very nice place from which to work. The integration with Hyper-V has been extremely reliable.
Too sensitive with error codes from storage devices. In cases that other products complete the backup and restore, Altaro fails due to minor errors reported from storage devices.
I have never heard ot attended to any complaints about the product just the process of invoicing and processing an order is time consuming.
I tried my best to find something to dislike but we've never had any serious problems or flaws with the software.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


188 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alan M.

Verified reviewer

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Backup bang for buck

Reviewed 4 years ago

I've been using it for over five years to back up my virtual machines. It's a great product and I only wish I could back up my branch domain controllers with it. It's never let me down.

Pros

Easy to use, easy to setup Regular updates Ability to replicate entire servers to Hyper-V host in hot site Very space efficient Exchange mailbox item level restore Competent support Priced competitively

Cons

Doesn't do physical machines: if it did physical machines to tape libraries as well as disk I'd use nothing else for backup Support doesn't cover all time zones: there's sometimes a delay in getting assistance

Vendor response

Thanks ever so for your review of Altaro VM Backup. We appreciate it. I wanted you to know that we will soon be providing backup of physical machines and will notify our customers and followers about this in due course. We're also now starting to provide 24/7 support.

MS
AvatarImg

Michael S.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good Software that fits most needs.

Reviewed 5 months ago

Overall a great software, we use it as our Main Backup software

Pros

Pro: Easy to use, fast to implement and fits almost all needs.

Cons

For high complex Systems its not the best suited since it does not has the most options. Deleting/purging older backups is painstaiking slow and needs to be improved.

LR
AvatarImg

Lloyd R.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Altaro Hyper-V Guest Server Backup

Reviewed 5 months ago

Reliable backups and the support in excellent when needed

Pros

Quick and easy to install and configure.

Cons

Not much, but being unable to shrink backup-set files after removing data is becoming a problem.

BY
AvatarImg

Bevan Y.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Reliable and well supported

Reviewed 4 months ago

Reliable product that we have used to recover data within expected timeframes and under pressure. Always test your restore functionality to make sure it works... and this one does.

Pros

Restoring VM's and also Microsoft 365 Data is granular and easy. The single dashboard for both products makes it easy for our engineers to use.

Cons

It would be nice to have more detail regarding current and past operations

SC
AvatarImg

Steve C.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good backup solution for VM's

Reviewed 4 months ago

The product is simple to use and reliable. I've used it for quite a few years, and it has definitely made my life easier when things have gone sideways.

Pros

The software is easy to configure, quick and does a good job backing up the VM's. File level (including single exchange emails) restores are easy and quick. Restoring an entire server is equally simple. It has definitely saved me on several occasions.

Cons

The offsite facility could use some work, specifically with regard to using the offsite server. If you do get corruption in the offsite server, you've pretty much lost your offsite backups and need to start from scratch.

JB
AvatarImg

Joseph B.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Altaro is a fantastic product at a reasonable cost and does just what we want in a solution.

Reviewed 4 years ago

The any issues we have with our backups using this solution are almost always a problem with Microsoft shadow copy or something similar interfering with Altaro. Everything else is golden.

Pros

The speed of backups and compression/de-duping are phenomenal and the features available are fantastic. I love being able to send my backups to an offsite location and not having to worry about data volume, and I love being able to pull files at will, and spin up backed up clones to test for or locate issues. I've also come accustom to great new features being developed for nearly every new release.

Cons

-having to start the backup chain over again between version upgrades -having to rely on Microsoft's shadow copy, which fails every now and then

AW
AvatarImg

Alexander W.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Flawless operation in a breeze

Reviewed 4 months ago

Super satisfying - especially the world-class support - be it chat or phonesupport.

Pros

I never thought that i'll be able to have a backup up and running in under 15 minutes. The GUI is neat and tidy and self-explanatory in most parts that it is very satisfying working with Altaro VM Backup. It doesn't take much to convince customers into choosing Altaro - most of the time a trial is more than sufficient. There's just so much Altaro has to offer - sandbox restores, boot from backup even replication and offsite storage ...

Cons

The only, minor thing i'd have on my wishlist would be better reporting capabilities like: "storage used per VM backup", "Error reports" etc.

AL
AvatarImg

ANTONIO L.

Mining & Metals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

VERY HAPPY WITH THIS BUY

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are using it in a offsite backup system recommended by our it supplier NEWLIME CONCULTING

Pros

It's very reliable and easy to deploy and use.

Cons

I cant remember any downturn to this cool backup software.

DT
AvatarImg

David T.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Server Backup - Would recommended

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Easy of use and transparency on the backup process is a huge benefit of this solution.

Cons

We would like a version which can backup Windows 10/11 endpoints

SB
AvatarImg

Sven B.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy and reliable to use

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Easy Installation, Reliable Usage, very good Customer Service

Cons

In case of failing Backups, sometimes it's only possible to reconfigure the whole routine

SB
AvatarImg

Shannon B.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Reliable Easy to Use Altaro

Reviewed 5 months ago

Excellent

Pros

I liked the Ease if of use and easy management of this product

Cons

It is very strict with disk errors, which mean it will not backup.

MY
AvatarImg

Mohamed Y.

Machinery, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

review by ICT Manager and Altaro administrator

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

1-ease of use 2-stability 3-support performance and respond

Cons

integration with other apps support of one drive as backup destination

RB
AvatarImg

Ricardo B.

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Poor Support and issues with disk space

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use Altaro to backup our hosts with hundreds of VMs. We are now migrating to a different plataform, due to the lack of support to ReFS and the other limitations stated above.

Pros

Easy of use. It take some time to learn the software schema, but after that, it is very easy to use on the day to day experience.

Cons

Support is almos informal. There is a ticket number, but the follow up is poor. Chat is almost always offline. About disk space, the backups keep groing indefenitely, even if the VM has not much updates. The optimization tool to recover space does not work properly, takes too long to execute, while it runs, it blocks ALL backups funcionality and at the end there is almost no space freed. There is no limit for backup space per VM or per storage. You need to always keep following up the disk usage. There is no support for ReFS, what is a shame for a software that runs on Windows Servers and ReFS has been around for a while already.

Vendor response

We are sorry that your experience with our support team has not met our usual high standards. Our support team prides itself on the great feedback it receives from customers, so feedback like this really does stand out. We answer support calls within 22 seconds on average and follow up email tickets within 2 hours on average. Our customers have the option to use chat or phone for quicker responses,...

VK
AvatarImg

Vivek K.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Virtual Server Backup

Reviewed 5 months ago

Very satisfied!

Pros

Easy to setup, easy to use, and easy to configure

Cons

No cons, very satisfied with the product

JV
AvatarImg

Jason V.

Mining & Metals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent product with ease of use

Reviewed 5 months ago

Overall and amazing, robust product that works very well, highly recommended!!

Pros

I've been using Altaro VM Backup for many years now on both of my servers and it works very well. Fortunately i've never had to restore a VM, however I'm pretty confident how to restore and I hope it would work just as advertised.

Cons

A little complicated when using more than one physical server (I have 4 VM's total, 2 on each machine), and I am running two different versions (v7 & v8). I'm not 100% sure whether both are needed or not and it is most likely user error.

AG
AvatarImg

Aaron G.

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best VM backup

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We have been using Altaro VM backup for about 4 years now and our experience has been exemplary. The compression and deduplication feature is phenomenal, I never imagined I would be able to keep 3+ weeks history retention and still have my backups take up less space than my VMs themselves. The offsite server is also a huge bonus, absolutely free, just pay 3rd-party hosting and storage fees and put the server wherever you like. Their support is top-notch.

Cons

Cost can get a little high if you have a lot of hosts, but still worth it and still less than most other options

PM
AvatarImg

Patrik M.

Animation, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Altaro review: small business, 2-4 hosts

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very good. Have been able to restore objects very easily when needed.

Pros

Stability and high amount of good features.

Cons

Hard to diagnose errors as an end user. However, the support is easy to reach via chat at most office hours.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review of Altaro VM Backup. We are working on more detailed error messaging, and we are putting efforts into publishing additional KB articles which error messages can link to so as to provide a `next step¿ for each error scenario. However this is not always possible and sometimes we simply do need to look into further logging to provide further recommendations and solutions -- in those cases you will of course find our team ready to help, quickly!

AG
AvatarImg

Alexandre G.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great and reliable backups so I am happy with the product.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Peace of mind that my backups and my client's backups are well executed.

Pros

Ease of use of the product, it is not a problem to use it for the first time and figure it out by yourself. Quick and reliable backup Possible to backup locally and externally. Quick support team.

Cons

Limited database and active directory recovery fonctionnality. There is not version of the product that can be used for a physical machine to back it up completely.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review of Altaro VM Backup. We appreciate your feedback. We are working on backup for physical servers and look forward to rolling that version out shortly.

RH
AvatarImg

Russ H.

Verified reviewer

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Integral part of our Data Protect Program

Reviewed 4 years ago

Meets our business needs perfectly. Highly recommend..

Pros

We use a layered approach to both Security and Data. Using a Hyper-v environment we have all our assets immediately available through an emergency Hyper-V replica server. Both the main and replica get backed up regularly using Altaro Backup. That is THREE extra levels of protection! Now the LATEST BEST edition they can give a FIFTH layer of another Replica Hyper-V/Altero Backup Server!

Cons

Licensing is a little bit of a pain point, no the cost, just how to maintain licenses.

BP
AvatarImg

Blue P.

Computer & Network Security, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

No better software for the money

Reviewed 4 years ago

From day one I found this so easy to use compared to other products. Right out of the gate it worked and did its job with no issues. When the time came to need it to save me it did not fail. You will not find a better product for such a good price point.

Pros

From day one this software just gets better and more features added for a great price point. It is easy to use and reliable. When an issue does happen support is a great help and it too just gets better over time as this software and company have evolved.

Cons

I have none this does everything I need it to and more.

AH
AvatarImg

Alex H.

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great all around, easy to use Backup Software.

Reviewed 5 months ago

Overall Altaro Backup is a great product. We switched from BackupAssist years ago and have never looked back. Altaro has met all of our needs and they offer great support!

Pros

I like how easy it is to navigate around the GUI and how quick and easy it was to deploy.

Cons

I feel like the remote backup tool needs some work. I can think of a few features that could be added to would make it more useful.

DJ
AvatarImg

David J.

Entertainment, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Altaro VM Backup makes backup proceses easy and is quick to learn

Reviewed 4 months ago

The support desk is really good and the dashboard is easy to learn.

Pros

The dashboard is easy to use and if you do get stuck, you can have instant access to the chat to resolve any issues with Altaro support desk.

Cons

Sometimes you do get stuck and would like Altaro staff just to remotely connect and resolve the problem rather than requiring you to resolve the problem yourself.

SB
AvatarImg

Simon B.

Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Reliable & Robust

Reviewed 4 years ago

We've been using Altaro for 3 years now and it has been very reliable so far. Support is first class. When I had a problem with it not backing up because of an mistake i made with my Virtual Host, they would have been within their rights to pass this back to me. but their tech support spent the best part of half a day remotely helping me getting that resolved. I'll always be grateful for that.

Pros

It Runs Reliably & Is very easy to use. With very few failures. You get Notified immediately if there.

Cons

The Only Small complaint is that the licencing section isn't always clear and easy to understand.

AA
AvatarImg

Andrej A.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best backup for MSP, mainly in SMB

Reviewed 4 months ago

Very satisfied

Pros

Easy for use, install, administer, manage

Cons

Everything works fine for us, we are using product daily

ES
AvatarImg

Eugen S.

Computer Hardware, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

KMU Switzerland

Reviewed 4 years ago

Backing up VM's is essential in a hosting enviornment. You need to be able to go back were you have been before a problem occured.

Pros

The value it get for the price is very good with Altaro VM Backup. Restoring VM's is very simple and quite fast.

Cons

Offsite replication is not always working.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you ran into issues, our tech support team is ready to help and very easy to reach with a 30-second average response time! Please contact us (https://www.altaro.com/support.php) with details of your issue and we'd be more than happy to help you investigate further!