App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Keygen Logo

Keygen

Product licensing & distribution management API

see alternatives

(0)

Keygen Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.8

/5

21
100%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.52/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

There is very little (if any) bloat which really helps cut down on complexity. It works like a train and the developers are super responsive to questions and feedback.
As licensing is a highly important topic for a commercial product it's super nice to have somebody available listening to your questions and helping out with good ideas and suggestions.
Simple to implement, super strong security and multiple licensing models supported. I've never been so happy to find a new product/service since I discovered Amazon.
Especially all the crazy concepts like Node-locked, Floating etc. You're for sure gonna get it wrong in the begin and will have to experiment a lot.
As we though that thousands of other companies required software licencing too, there had to be a generic solution out there that addresses the problem.
But finding Keygen was really difficult. Maybe because the word Keygen is too generic for search engines, or maybe because we were not using the proper tags.

Keygen users...

listing-logo
Zentitle-logo

Zentitle

How would you rate Keygen?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


21 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Never being so glad with a 3rd party critical infrastructure provider!

Reviewed a year ago

Overall they are a great partner to trust all our licensing needs to. If you need to send them a support email, a senior technical staff member will answer back in no time. I can only hope that the Microsofts, Googles and AWS of the world would be as responsive and pro-customer as KeyGen is!

Pros

Integration with our product was fast, all the licensing requirements that we needed were easily implemented with KeyGen. Support to get this done was superb, documentation is clear, and they keep on adding features that we found appealing and thus allow us to improve our licensing model on a regular basis. Pricing is very reasonable and the platform is super reliable (HA)! We could not ask for more from KeyGen!

Cons

The built-in reporting tool could be more configurable, maybe have filters to see which licenses are due each week/month. But we can do those queries through the API, to feed a dashboard of our own, so not a real issue. When we started 3+ years algo implementing customized feature activation on a license and off-line licensing were not available. But all these have been addresses and now it rocks!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Keygen is tremendous, being easy to work with, flexible, and well documented.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Using Keygen saved me the trouble of building and maintaining my own licensing server and strategy. It is easy to work with, reliable, and affoardable.

Pros

Keygen is one of the rare products that is legitimately satisfying to work with. It's obvious that the creator cares deeply about the quality of the product. From my own experience there are so many things that work well: - the interface is well designed - the API is flexible, logical and easy to work with - the documentation is clear and comprehensive - there are a wide array of well documented...

Cons

Since Keygen is billed monthly, it's most viable for services that also have some sort of recurring billing, or that have a reliable revenue stream. Hobbyist developers will probably have a hard time justifying the cost, despite how good the product is. I mention this more as a heads-up to those investigating than as a negative, as I don't think there would be any other way for Keygen to make money that would also be useful for one-time-purchase software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Review for Keygen

Reviewed 3 years ago

I use this software to take serial num for civil3D . Easily I can do it using keygen

Pros

Keygen is serial key generator.Using this software we can manage our license key easily. also it does not take long time for that.

Cons

There are not least thing about this software. But,There are not free trail for it. We do not use always this software. This use for when we want serial number. So that there should be free trail.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Keygen is highly recommended

Reviewed a year ago

I found Keygen to be incredibly comprehensive and reliable. The documentation is extremely detailed and provides all information needed to implement a licensing solution. The product is dynamic and allows flexibility and customization in implementation. All features documented behave exactly as described, and the code examples for every single action are very comfortable to work with. Customer support is excellent. I highly recommend it.

Pros

The documentation. The node-based approach provides many solutions to a single problem. The control panel is very user-friendly, intuitive, and easy on the eyes. The entire product is very consistent in approach, which makes implementation very intuitive.

Cons

The only thing I found to be a disadvantage is the lack of batch-processing ability. There isn't a way through the control panel to perform actions on multiple objects at once. Also, I think that maybe the metrics dashboard would have been nicer if there was full history data as well as an ability to search/customize graphed data according to needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Software licensing made simple, professionally and at a reasonable cost

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have a great product for a specific market. We did not want to develop an entire licensing solution from scratch. As we though that thousands of other companies required software licencing too, there had to be a generic solution out there that addresses the problem. So we can invest our time developing our core software, and not the licensing for the product. Keygen resolved this problem beyond our expectations. Allowing us to have even more granularity that originally thought possible.

Pros

Keygen has a price point that works for our business model. Flexible thanks to metadata fields for each object that you can use to customize your product features and requirements. Credit card integration to automate sale workflows. Simple to implement, super strong security and multiple licensing models supported. I've never been so happy to find a new product/service since I discovered Amazon!

Cons

I spend weeks Googling for software licensing solutions on the cloud. I was only finding very expensive solutions, some of which try to charge you a percentage of the price of your product. Just ridiculous, it's more like a VAT charge proposition than anything else. But finding Keygen was really difficult. Maybe because the word Keygen is too generic for search engines, or maybe because we were not using the proper tags. But we found Keygen on a forum comment, not on Google. First time ever that this happens to us!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Vertizan review of Keygeb

Reviewed a year ago

Excellent!

Pros

Easy to use, very flexible and excellent value for money to secure our software user access

Cons

User Interface is quite basic but can quickly get used to it. Provides IP address of user and would prefer to have location filtered rather than having to look it up manually.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Keygen makes software license management easy

Reviewed a year ago

Keygen has made it very easy for our small team to manage different software license types automatically, including trial licenses.

Pros

Easy to implement, good tracking features, flexible for different license types. Easy to administer.

Cons

Keygen is a little earlier on, the website UI could use a little work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very good documentation & support

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have an up & running licensing system for our dekstop application (https://storepilot.com) with minimal work thx to keygen.

Pros

Documentation & support is really nice. Rest api documentation lives up to the newest standards, just like Stripe and WooCommerce. Easy integration with almost any type of software.

Cons

Reports endpoint is not yet available at this time, but developers said they collected data and would make available later & that was good news for uss. Also the website dashboard could need a better look & feel, but api is most important to uss & works well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best tool ever

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

- Great Dashboards - Easy to integrate - Allows you to bootstrap and increase base easily

Cons

- nothing working with from the beginning was a blast

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

- Ease of use - Ability to integrate it with most important programming languages - Great support - High security

Cons

Documentation can be further enhanced and new programming languages should be added to the documentation (e.g. Python)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Licensing the way it should be

Reviewed 4 years ago

If you're building a new product, the last thing you want to think about is licensing. Especially all the crazy concepts like Node-locked, Floating etc. You're for sure gonna get it wrong in the begin and will have to experiment a lot. Keygen's flexible API and seemingly endless configuration options exactly allowed us to do so. Licensing was planned to make up at least 25% percent of planned dev time for our product so it's awesome to see that we've been able to cut it down to 2.5% with Keygen.

Pros

This product comes with great documentation and an extremely helpful support. As licensing is a highly important topic for a commercial product it's super nice to have somebody available listening to your questions and helping out with good ideas and suggestions. Thanks to the representatives. By far the best part though is that Keygen in the end of the day is nothing else than a Rest service. As such it is possible to integrate it with whatever technology you're using, as long as you can make HTTP requests. Moreover it was the only offering we found to suite our Electron based app.

Cons

Being located in US the server speeds and CDNs for EU and Asia aren't the best but it gets constantly better.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The easiest way to implement a license server

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Keygen excels in its simplicity, it does exactly what it's supposed to and nothing else. There is very little (if any) bloat which really helps cut down on complexity. It works like a train and the developers are super responsive to questions and feedback.

Cons

Ready-made SDK packages for popular programming languages would have made it easier to integrate into our systems. Also I would have happily paid a premium for a super-tight Stripe integration, there is a lot to build from scratch that presumably everybody has to build from scratch, like handling expired subscriptions events.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Keygen has flexible license management options backed by great customer support

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall a great product that enables quick license integration with a very easy to use API!

Pros

Keygen is enabling us to very quickly get licensing off the ground for a reasonable price and with great customer support to answer any questions. It is easy to use with a well documented API and great examples, particularly for web applications. The documentation is available with examples for multiple programming languages and clearly walks through getting set up. The user control panel is very intuitive to use and manage users and licenses directly!

Cons

There are a few more web application examples than desktop examples. This is not a problem as the documentation is very easy to read for a desktop developer! Do not be afraid to dive into it!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic solution all-round. Highly Recommend it

Reviewed 4 years ago

Saved time, money and made our customers happy. My staff are able to manage licenses with ease

Pros

The sheer simplicity of it brings to licensing software. We were issuing licensing and validating them in minutes

Cons

I can't really say I've experienced an issues with the solution. I would like to see more features like the ability to add metadata though the UI, however it's already on the roadmap!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Highly recommend for software license management

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

It is very easy to implement and is very user-friendly. The product is very consistent and integration with all of our product was quick, simple and easy. The support for the software was great and they are very quick to assist with any concerns.

Cons

The price can seem pretty expensive especially for a small company. I do wish there was a trial to see if we as a company is compatible with the software. At times, I need feel like documentation could be better improved upon.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Keygen saves us time and headaches in selling licenses to our product

Reviewed a year ago

The API is easy to use and flexible to cover many licensing use cases. Make sure you understand all the options and reach out if anythingg is unclear. The price is appropriate.

Pros

Keygen allowed us to easily distribute and maintain licenses and see their activation status. Support for air-gapped activation is imperative for our use case. There are templates that cover most use cases and usually get you 80% of the way.

Cons

While generally easy to use, some concepts can be tricky to understand. There is an OK amount of documentation, but not always in quite the detail to make it clear. However, whenever we reached out we quickly received help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Keygen

Reviewed a year ago

My whole experience with keygen has been good and accurate to get an activation of certain softwares

Pros

This software has a lot pros because is form to get an activation for certain softwares that you can afford

Cons

This software has cons like windows can be detect it like a virus or you can use it but the serial generate could recognize like a virus in your computer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Finally!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

For small & fast moving teams, licensing & user management has always been a pain - especially on multiple platforms. I was thrilled to archive our internal license management tools once we discovered and integrated keygen.

Cons

We still need to provide our own web application/interface for our customers to retrieve their license keys. It would be awesome to see Keygen solve this as well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

easy to use keygen

Reviewed 4 years ago

easy use

Pros

easy use of wording to find product serial codes

Cons

not known yet waiting to try out the program that is available for trail

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Keygen is easy to use, inexpensive, and the support is great

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It was simple to use, even for someone not from a computer science/programming background. Without it I would not have been able to get trial versions out to potential customers. The pricing structure is also very reasonable especially for our company where we are pre revenue.

Cons

I would be great to see some Youtube videos explaining the various terms and setup.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very easy to implement!

Reviewed a year ago

License activation and usage of our software products.

Pros

Very easy to implement and very user friendly dashboard.

Cons

Would be nice if there were a bit more flexibility in the licensing.