This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

OutSystems Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

The user interface is great and give a lot of opportunities. It is a great tool to examine for further developments.

Victor v.

Secure, feature rich, great support, great performance, easy to learn development environment.

Bruce J.

He helps us with the various projects we have in the Company, which is the most important part of my job. It perfectly supports project flow and helps us create flawless projects.

Jinal P.

Cons

Difficult to do an on premise implementation and dealt with disaster recovery.

Jane C.

The level of training and information for people with some knowledge is weak. They are either very confusing documents, or it is all very vague.

Nuno V.

At the beginning we had some doubts but now, we do have lots of apps including core business apps. Honestly, without Outsystems, I just cannot imagin how can we would face covid crisis.

Juan Manuel M.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

224

108

9

0

0

97%
positive reviews
99%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


341 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Outsystems Game Changer for the City of Shawnee

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent outcomes. Product was a game changer for the City of Shawnee by replacing our legacy applications in less than 2 years.

Pros

Rapid Application Development Model; Time to develop and deploy.

Cons

Costing; AO model. Currently using only 66% of AO's.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Low Code platform out there

Reviewed a year ago

Despite the pricing category, OutSystems get the job done in a oustanding way, It's really a fun and intuitive way to get your heads into programming.

Pros

What make us choose OutSystems was it's simplicity and the speed up, when you are developing new projects. The ability to use the same base code for both mobile platforms was a big thumbs up too. We also contacted a indenpendent code review company to check the generated code base and they liked what they saw, it's generated with good pratices and putting the performance in the right place.

Cons

Definatelly it's cost. It's a very expansive platform and it's only suited for big companies. They offer a free option but it's just for test purposes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best in Class Low Code Enterprise Class Platform

Reviewed a month ago

We have been very pleased with the overall results, we have found that once applications are built, they are extremely easy to update and push out new relieases.

Pros

The software has all of the Development, DevOps and Management capabilities all built into one single platform.

Cons

The software has so many features and capabilities that it takes a while to learn how to navigate and use effectively.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Suficient

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are using Outsystems to create insurance related apps.

Pros

You can build basic sw in little time SoC is easy to implement Easy to monitor issues

Cons

Search functionality isn't user friendly It "crashes" too many times, specially when detaching eSpace tabs(originating another instance of outsystems) Has the number of components grow inside, lets say an action, the "messier" looks

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the best low code Platforms

Reviewed 2 months ago

Many companies have used Outsystems to build web and mobile apps. I have worked on a project which create a high UI density , responsibe web app for a world famous investment bank in UK. For most business usecase, the Outsystems platform is a very good choice. The Outsystems team is also very talented and they listen to community feedback.

Pros

The intuitive development experience which makes developers highly productive as well as brings a joy working with Outsystems platform.

Cons

The pricing is slightly on a higher side and it's bit complex. Compared to Appian(another low code platform) the pricing is slightly complex. Also Outsystems used to have a way to target Java for code generation which was removed since Outsystems 10

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

TPM. S&OP and Retail Execution made easy

Reviewed 2 years ago

We've streamlined the whole Trade Promotion Management process, putting all into one platform, getting rid of e-mails and excel sheets and integrating all the info backwards towards production/demand planning and forward towards retail execution monitoring and compliance

Pros

Time to deploy, ease of adaptation, customer focus from 3rd party vendor, user interface and user experience

Cons

It's not cheap but if you consider that time to develop also adds a cost, then it's a fair deal

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

one of the best low code platforms in the market

Reviewed 2 years ago

overall, a very positive experience with the platform, the vendor personnel involved in the sale activity and also the community that was very helpfiul.

Pros

it is a very easy to get started product with very minimal or no prior programming experience. In addition, the platform is very intuitive and self guided and hence one can do very well on the platform if they know their use case and have a good systematic approach to leveraging the platform. There is also a very active community to help and the vendor personnel are also there to handhold along the way.

Cons

very honestly speaking, there is nothing that I dislike about the platform. It is very intuitive and one can learn to use and leverage the platform very easily and quickly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Quick development and Quality Deployment

Reviewed 2 years ago

Outsystems has allowed our team to very quickly develop and release a production application in a matter of months with the inclusion of business units testing each feature along the way. It allows us to really adapt to an iterative development approach.

Pros

Outsystems uses the latest UI designs so we can focus on building out the business process. We are able to deploy in on environment and then quickly send it over to a test environment for our customers to be engaged in the SDLC. Code changes and security enable quality deployment into our production environment and minimizes any breaks in our application.

Cons

You can sometimes reach a roadblock and the customer support might take a bit longer to answer your questions if you did not purchase the higher SLA support package. Certain bugs can occur when using the Service Studio but patches usually fixes it in a timely manner.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

OutSystems is a nice platform to learn how to make applications in less time with less people

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The ease of use. It is easy to use this platform, but hard to master.

Cons

The license model. We made choices regarding the licensing model (application objects) that were bad architecture chooses we had to fix later on.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Implementing with outsystems

Reviewed 2 years ago

very good, it has the ability to solve a lot of our business problems once we have upskilled

Pros

the speed of delivery the ease of scoping our project from vision to reality the look and feel the functionality

Cons

the licensing model and the cost of application objects, hard to justify future projects

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good system but not perfect yet

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good learning curve, the mobile part is evolving rapidly.

Pros

1.Ease of use, tutorials and learningpaths, mobile part, it resemblance coding more than for instance Mendix which makes the transition back and forth more easy with OutSystems, when coming or want to go to real coding. 2.You can educate people faster to become a developer, but still finding the right person with surten qualities is important, not for everyone, but low coding definitely enlarges possibilities in finding personnel. 3. Mobile part becomes better and easier works charming and straight forward.

Cons

The pricing which makes it impossible as a small entrepreneur (enterprise focused pricing) to afford it or start your own business as a developer with it. For me that's very important, because if possible i could build some useful/ profitable things in my leisure time for my future, which will improve my motivation to become better and pays off at work as well. The free account deletes your DB after...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best RAD (Rapid Application Tool) available in the market

Reviewed 2 years ago

I was core .Net developer but when i learned this tool development become fun for me and you feel craving for learning more n more every day. Community is so helpful and full of experts who always motivates you to achieve the best. In few years, i am become tech lead in this technology and passed the professional certification as well. we are in a position to deliver the enterprise level application in few months & customize any feature in few hours. It's flexible enough to implement your ideas into reality.

Pros

You don't need to be technically expert to work on this tool, its easy to learn, if you are logical & having development experience in any technology - all tutorials with practical implementation & study material are available online over the Outsystems Portal. Easy to implement the responsive design with complex features using ready made template & tools available over the forge library. Community...

Cons

There are few restriction while using Outsystems Platform like you cannot play with systems entities or core platform components. Sometimes, it become challenge to migrate data or application from one platform to Outsystems. Performance & scaling can only be achieved only if you are expert in Outsystems otherwise it's difficult to achieve the bench mark for large application.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The software delivery platform that is all about BUSINESS VALUE!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been in the low-code/RAD space for over 16 years, even developing and selling a RAD tool that was targeted at a specific vertical, and nothing checks all the boxes like OutSystems. It is a large system, and it needs to be. When I read how people identify Price as a Con, I felt that they had missed the point. Sure, OutSystems is not inexpensive but the value provided far outweighs the cost, especially to the business users! The time saved by the platform solving your IT problems will most likely cover the cost of the OutSystems License. Simply put, OutSystems takes care of the IT problems and allows you to spend a lot more time with the business solving real business problems!

Pros

I want to talk about the platform! Organizations spend millions of dollars trying to maintain information such as master data, application lists, component usage (jQuery) etc., or the developers and architects must pull this information together in a mad scramble, while interrupting many projects. In seconds, OutSystems can not only identify which applications are using any object, it will also...

Cons

Lacking the ability to encourage highest quality apps in the Forge App Store. Many of the apps in the Forge App Store are easy to use, very helpful and well documented. However, many of the apps lack documentation or examples, making them very difficult to get full value. Compounding the problem, this often results in having to ask the community how to properly use the app, which is now impacting...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the most efficient Mobile device application development environments

Reviewed 3 years ago

Outsystems was chosen as a platform to rewrite a legacy product developed over 30 years and bring it into the cloud. It has been a really good choice for an organisation that had no web or cloud experience and has helped avoid many of the basic mistakes that could otherwise have been made. Whist there are some limitations on flexibility and price the benefits and speed to market far out way these.

Pros

The Outsystems development environment it very easy to use for anyone with previous development experience as well as being a great place for those with little or no development experience to come up to speed quickly. • Allows fast prototyping whilst keeping good consistency and a polished appearance • Provides a good balance between continual deployment and traditional dev-qa-prod staging • Enforces inter module dependency integrity • Enabled good UI-Business-Data separation whilst still allowing for RAD • Good merging and conflict detection when multiple devs are working within the same module • Projects and applications are rock solid and stable once released • Easy to bring non Outsystems developers up to speed • Realy good certification and training material

Cons

• Priced at the high end and not cost effective for small scale development • Shows some signs of instability in the publishing process with very large and complex projects • On the PaaS version you are heavily restricted on access to the infrastructure and cannot get access to simple functions such as SQL replication or database maintenance options. • Lack of skilled developers with pre existing Outsystems knowledge.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A really slick RAD tools with some particular strengths

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've actually had occasion to make RAD-style tools in the far-flung past. This is the sort of platform I would have made if I could. Some of the initial steps are a little harder than you would expect, but once you are used to where everything lives, it's easy to find it again. Coding is done via flowcharts, and these are pretty easy to use, not to mention fairly easy to use straight up as diagrams...

Pros

The hard things made easy - the BPMN capability, the tree editing and republishing of data entities, the Responsive Web design. Also, the fairly intelligent guessing about properties, the rather speedy resolution/propagation of name changes, deletions, etc. The monitoring software is pretty good.

Cons

If you're developing an extension, it's a four-step manual publishing process to update. No try..finally. The licensing model per certain kind of object encourages bad coding to try to save costs. The visual editor for interfaces goes crazy far too often, making the widget tree the only consistent way to edit them. The lack of built-in data migration is my biggest sticking point right now.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Development Game Changer

Reviewed 5 years ago

The business landscape has rapidly moved to digital operations. To be successful your business needs not just to be resilient, but also to embrace a resilient culture. The technology that supports business operations should be agile enough to embrace the continuous changing market landscape and enable business to move at the speed of change. The Outsystems platform reduces development time by up to 75% and accelerate time-to-market by a factor of three. This provided our organization to cost effectively implement locally developed solutions and other businesses in a significant shortened time. Our main focus is now more on the user interface and interaction, which provides the value expected.

Pros

The speed to develop and making changes to applications developed Development is done logically with very limited hard coding Ease to develop mobile applications and submissions to the app stores Ease to use the native features of devices Built in change management and control of the development and release process with a one-click publish feature Built in security features in the platform Excellent...

Cons

Cost in South Africa is expensive due to weak currency and exchange rates Difficult for developers used to hard coding to change their way of thinking to grasp how the platform works. However, this is not a flaw of the platform, but rather a change required in the mindset of traditional developers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review of OutSystems Platform

Reviewed 5 years ago

I was able to start use ServiceStudio though I have a little knowlege of Database and SQL. OSP allows us to get pleasure and fun by starting developing applications first, and then we are interested in the back architechture such as SQL sentence, server and client structure, and so on and start learning. It will be good tool to start learning of developing web application, and fill the requirement of professional developer.

Pros

VIsual Modeling, Beautiful Screen Design with default theme, free design with javascript and CSS, SmartPhone and Smart Device support, Cloud/OnPremise support, Auto-implemented performance logs, robustness of application, real time bug detection, auto-versioning of application, no-lockin architechture, multi-language support, etc.

Cons

- Localize problem - many of Japanese developers are not good at English, therefore it is difficult to increase the number of OSP developers easily. So it is expected that all documents and videos are translated to Japanese. - Need cooperation feature with printing format like Excel diagram and PDF. - Need cooperation feature with accounting system. - To get the approval to purchase subscription license in Japanese companies, it will be better there is many license structure not only with AOs and Users but also type of purpose such as "For create Portal Site", "For create internal attendance and leaving system", and so on. - Need product loadmap which describes wchich version of OS will be supported in the future and how many years current version of OS or Java will be supported.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Built-to-change

Reviewed 5 years ago

After spending some time working with other web technologies, such as .NET, python and Java, it's difficult not to feel some enthusiasm while developing a brand new web app with the OutSystems platform. But why? ... some may ask. Well, if you spend 5 minutes looking at its IDE (Service Studio), you will quickly understand. The way the fundamental concepts are organized on it - Data Model, Business...

Pros

Well, the motto is not mine, but I surely have to apply it in here: "The IDE of my dreams!" This is certainly a good reason to drive the adoption of the platform. Any developer keened to fulfill the business needs on time will surely understand the advantages of using it for development. The simplicity allied to the legibility of the written code in this IDE, reduce the gap between the business requirements and its materialization into lines of code. For last but not least, the built-in application Lifetime - which is part of the platform - is surely a gem for any DevOps team, providing them a powerful mean to control and to revert any deployment between environments.

Cons

Knowing that the road to perfection always ends up in the horizon, there are definitely two points that should be mentioned: the first concerns the lack of legibility of the application's Javascript and the second one, the lack of built-in Unit Tests. If your application is mainly a client-side application, written in Javascript, the platform may not be the right solution for it. In the other hand, if it's intended to execute all the business logic at the server-side, you should definitely spend some time evaluating it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Outsystems Platform for Agile Development

Reviewed 5 years ago

I was hired for a project to help convert a license and permit system from a legacy mainframe system (my expertise) to a web based system. The original plan was to use a Common Off-The-Shelf (COTS) product to do this but realized that the legacy solution was so specific to this organization that it would have taken many millions of dollars to customize the system. When looking for alternatives I found Outsystems and was able to quickly put together a prototype and plan that would give them all the capabilities they needed at a reasonable cost and time.

Pros

1) Learning curve is very quick - after watching the videos I was productive within two weeks. 2) DevOps is built-in - many developers never think about the additional issues and concerns related to deploying fixes and improvements to a working application. The DevOps capabilities of the Outsystems platform removes these concerns. 3) Extensibility is a huge issue with any platform and Outsystems delivers completely in this area. From the Forum components that are available to the ability to write your own extensions in .Net or Java, there is nothing you cannot do with the platform. 4) No lock-in - many enterprise customers are concerned with being committed to a platform 'forever'. The Outsystems no lock-in capability eliminates these concerns.

Cons

1) The built-in menu system is weak - while it's adequate for simple menus it can't do anything complicated. For example, implementing a Mega Menu type of menu is challenging though anything can be implemented with some work. 2) Outsystems is very receptive to ideas from the community but there's no way to know when/if those ideas will ever get implemented - some of the best ideas have been around...

Vendor response

Thanks you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review Curt - it's because of users like you that tell us what is working and what should be improved that our product and company continue to grow and evolve. Thank you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Reduce Time To Market

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are totaly involve, and we are migrating a lot of the organizations solutions into the plataform, our POS solution, delivery hand held solution, our transportation manager application (Oracle TM), and we also create a custom CRM levaing behind the SAP CRM solution.

Pros

The plataform enables us as a company to colaborate and implement agile solutions, innovations all across the organization, IT is not longer the bottleneck to promote that innovation, we are now a strong arm that the company relay on to create new technology, solve company issues and bring agile solutions to our customers (internal and external)

Cons

We are using de Paas solution and that by definition "retrict" the core in depht administration of the infrastructre, but we are working with Outsystems in order to have more control or visibility of the complete infraestructure, we need that 'cause we have core company solution on the plataform and need to monitor in depth the transactionability and guarantee as much as we can the availabilty

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent software and very well thought about the end to end process of software development

Reviewed 3 years ago

Eliminates lot of issues encountered in traditional software development. Helps to build really quality applications. Piece of mind after deploying to production.:D

Pros

-Easy to use and built in ui and template gets people up and running in few mins. -Structured development -Built in widgets prevents developers from developing the same components again and again (like pagination, menu bars, navigation and many more) -Focus on solving business problems instead of technical challenges -Code reuse is encouraged as AOs are tied to licensing -Deployment is nothing to worry about. Database scripts, versioning of code and migration all taken care by the platform -Refactoring is piece of cake with TrueChange. -Developing CRUD applications is a breeze but complicated applications can also be developed with ease. -Monitoring and logging taken care by default no setup is needed.

Cons

-Although custom code can be written via integration studio, it would nice if we could write code inside of the service studio itself. -Some features like event based programming or reflection or looping fields of an object could be supported as out of the box features -Updating shared extensions will result in all the applications (that are using the extension) being redeployed -For the mobile apps, it will be good if the apps converted to purely native. (only an opinion) -Could have licensing for individuals (free lancers) :D

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I am happy to have this perfect system!

Reviewed 7 months ago

It does not require a large learning curve. Developing applications quickly and easily is very enjoyable with OutSystems.

Pros

The OutSystems platform is a state-of-the-art product developed to accelerate development for our core applications as well as provide flow flexibility, allowing developers to implement and develop as business and technology trends evolve. In addition, it does not need a large learning curve and is very simple to use. I like that they provide quick solutions to the business needs of users without technical...

Cons

There is nothing I can criticize for not having a bad experience.I am very satisfied with this product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Outsystems for End User Developed Applications

Reviewed 2 years ago

Certainly a great experience, its benefits, easy of use, quick adoption made Outsystems our go to solution for end user developed applications

Pros

Outsystems has a short learning curve, allowing non-technical users to quickly develop solutions for their business needs. Also provides a consistent user experience, where different solutions look and behave the same.

Cons

There were some development roadblocks to create workflow based solutions, while the platform provides workflow design capabilities, it may be cumbersome and complex for non-technical users. Also there are some limitations to generate standard printed reports, with column values, grouping , subtotals, etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

How we Survived and Then Thrived Through the COVID Crisis with Outsystems

Reviewed a year ago

It's been really good experience. We have been working with Outsystems for more than 5 years. At the beginning we had some doubts but now, we do have lots of apps including core business apps. Honestly, without Outsystems, I just cannot imagin how can we would face covid crisis. The market in Mexico changed dramatically, and we needed to create 8 Apps from the scratch in just a few weeks. We were able to do it and Release them to Production. Right now, we are still being market leaders in our Industry.

Pros

Is extreamly easy to: write or reuse code, integrate with different sort or services or platforms, develop a single mobile app and submit it to different platform stores, review Architecture and code best practices and. Also, it has a wide learning portal in which you can find all the training courses COMPLETELY FREE. Because of that, is really easy to onboard rookie developers with not knowledge in Outsystems .

Cons

At the beginning, I did not feel very comfortable with Support team but, now, they got really better. We have a weekly meeting in which we can follow up all of our tickets and issues. The response time is very good.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Simple and Powerful!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Build applications fast powerful, change them even faster, accelerating the development with existing resources, simplify the process of change Integrate with all existing systems and data sources and maintain order with the management and analysis The cost to make a change to an application during development increases exponentially with time, complexity and versions With agile methods becoming...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review