This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Snowflake Logo

Snowflake

Cloud data platform for tech professionals and businesses

see alternatives

Snowflake Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.7

/5

46
96%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.72/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

I have an amazing experience using Snowflake. It is better than out previous Data Warehouse solution in everything I can think of (besides pricing).

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

This is a cloud database and warehousing service, the syntax of snowflake is like psql. They have a good community support and good documentations for all the queries.

MK

Mahesh K.

I almost used all the OLAP databases but this is what I loved a lot, less in price Great Performance & User Friendly.

DS

Dinesh S.

Script error messages could be more specific and helpful with identifying errors and troubleshooting.

AK

Andrew K.

Costly if data is too big. You can't own the data, you have to depend on the Data Engineering team.

TS

Tanika S.

A minute potion of the syntax of sql is slightly different from psql, which makes it hard to migrate the application from different psql service providers.

MK

Mahesh K.

Snowflake users...

Microsoft SQL Server-logocaret
avatar
avatar
listing-logo
+ 1

Microsoft SQL Server

Compare both
How would you rate Snowflake?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


46 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The incredible power of a cloud data platform

Reviewed 2 months ago

We use Snowflake to aggregate hundreds and hundreds of disparate databases across many different clouds and platforms into one single data warehouse allowing us, for the first time, to give customers visibility of all their data across all our products.

Pros

The concept of Snowflake is so clever - mass amounts of micro-partitions of data, with the storage and compute separated. It is a smart product that enables so much functionality and capability. It is more than simply a database in the cloud, it is truly a feature-rich platform that offers a huge amount of functionality. I also very much like that role-based access is a fundamental part of it. Its data sharing features are terrific too.

Cons

Some things are a little tricky to figure out, like row-level policies the first time you do it, or data masking. There are no triggers. Scheduled tasks are a little limited. Stored procedures are not as simple as I'd like.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A fantastic data warehouse solution that solved all our problems

Reviewed 18 days ago

I have an amazing experience using Snowflake. It is better than out previous Data Warehouse solution in everything I can think of (besides pricing). We are very satisfied with, and I feel very confident on having it as the backend of all our data needs. It is also important to notice that we had a very pleasent experience with Snowflake's sales and account managers: they were very helpful and not pushy at all.

Pros

Snowflake is exteremely stable and easy to setup. I was able to turn it on and have a reliable Data Warehouse that didn't require me having a lot of cloud knowledge to administrate. The database administration through the UI is intuitive and the Roles dynamic helps with implementing good data governance and compliance pratics inside the company. Snowflake also offers user security options out of the box, which was a huge improvement for us. The doccumentation is very well written and SnowSQL offest a lot of useful functions. The main improvement on this front was how Snowflake treats JSON, which helped us a lot.

Cons

If your revenue is not on US dollars, Snowflake is an expensive product, there is no way around that. It is indeed a very good service that charges accordingly. We are using the smallest cluster possible and it was necessary to do some convincing inside the company to approve it for our budget. That being said, the smallest cluster we are using is more than enough for our needs and will be for a long time, so it will take a long time for this cost to increase again, but it was a pretty big budget increase initially.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

How snowflake is different from other data warehouses present in the market.

Reviewed a month ago

Used for monitoring large amount and data and also use for analysis purposes for taking business decisions for the companies.

Pros

The best thing is snowflake is a cloud based Warehouse system.and it’s completely based on shares nothing architecture so its gives faster performance during analysis.one more thing i like about this warehouse that the amount of time that you use the main warehouse here for that specific period of time you have to pay other than the warehouse is off for normal queries.particularly in dml statement mainly its uses the warehouse.so its manage automatically weather to use warehouse or not so it is very much good for saving money That’s why now big giants company are shifting towards snowflake for cost effective purposes and the smarter and faster performance it gives.and it also provides a feature call time travel where you can back up your all deleted data in a period of 90 days.

Cons

There are two things I don’t like about the snowflake is it’s doesn’t support unstructured data loading it’s only support the structure and semi structure data. And other one is it’s only support the bulk loading files so it’s difficult for a small size files loading or adding some few columns on it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Snowflake has been a game changer

Reviewed 6 months ago

Snowflake has been a game changer for us. It has enable all kinds of new architectures due to it's fast and low-cost performance. It has eliminated the need for so many maintenance tasks that used to be such a hassle.

Pros

Snowflake is super fast, requires virtually no maintenance (no logs, indexes, tuning, etc.) and the pay per use price model scales perfectly with cyclical workloads which are common in data warehouse applications.

Cons

It does not natively support any real constraints such as uniqueness or referential integrity which requires the user to explicitly check all these things via stored procedures. The SQL worksheet GUI still has remove to improve but they have been rapidly enhancing it. It's not too uncommon to have brief outages but they are usually resolved within a few hours.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Snowflake, Unique just like Us

Reviewed 3 years ago

My overall experience with Snowflake has been a pleasurable one. Though there have been some frustrations at times I have learned and overcome and become a better programmer, and SQL developer for it. I feel like Snowflake is an old friend now.

Pros

The thing that I like most about this software is really if you can think it you can do it with Snowflake. I mean as long as it deals with data. I first started at my company using oracle and I didn't stick with that for long because we adopted snowflake. When we started using snowflake my knowledge of SQL just jumped sky high. Instead of just selecting from tables, I was using cte's and partitions and all of that fun stuff. Snowflake made it super easy to understand and learn. The ability it has to handle the amount of columns that it does is amazing.

Cons

There is a little bit of a learning curve to get the hang of it. But on the surface it is just like any other sql language and you just have to figure out the different quirks that it has. I wish it could give data instantaneously and read my mind on what I want but that is pretty much impossible so I'm going to stick with what I have.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Scalable Datawarehouse in Cloud

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Snowflake separation of Storage and Compute is a very important feature. It helps to segregate the compute based on the user groups. Some Reporting users might require high compute whereas others might not. The fact that we can automatically scale up and scale down based on the need helps to save cost but still achieving the business needs.

Cons

The costing is a little on the higher side. Also, there should be more AI ML packages in Snowflake like there is in other cloud platforms - GCP, AWS, Azure, etc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Solid Modern platform for EDW

Reviewed 25 days ago

Their customer service and training have been solid - I think MS takes the edge here for training but Snowflake wins for customer service (at least on non-business critical issues)

Pros

Exceptionally easy to scale up or out based on needs, and some nice cost-saving features like auto-suspend/resume for compute stuff. It supports ANSI SQL so it's not the end of the world to port over code from legacy SQL platforms. It also has a ton of integrations with your cloud provider of choice (as long as it's GCP, AWS, or Azure). According to their roadmap it will support Python eventually as well as their current SQL and JavaScript syntax for stored procs. Just a ton of functionality out of the box.

Cons

Pricing isn't the MOST transparent at first glance, but is fairly intuitive/controllable once you understand it . The current WebUI is absolute garbage. Luckily that's being deprecated for "Snowsight". Role inheritance and object ownership also has a decent learning curve compared to SQL Server, for example. This isn't a knock against Snowflake, but users should not expect this to have the same sort of OLTP-type performance and a typical relational DBMS. Just know the limits.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Cloud-Based Relational Database

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

The convenience of a single data lake that can be sectioned off in any way needed paired with a pricing model that encourages a high volume of data storage and ease of use make Snowflake an enjoyable tool to navigate. They've developed a solid community for knowledge sharing and have experienced, competent staff.

Cons

It can take a minute to remember which admin account needs to be used for performing specific actions. Sometimes pressure may be felt to save multiple queries and run them close together rather than sporadically to minimize computation costs, although after the first minute these are billed by the second and the pressure lessens.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great data warehouse software

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Snowflake is being utilized as a data warehousing system based on cans. We're utilizing Snowflake and additional tools like HVR and Dell Boomi to create a data lake. Currently, different business teams are using different systems for reporting and analytics purposes. We're now working on a centralized solution for the entire company.

Cons

Snowflake has its limitation when dealing with unstructured data

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

I really like the speed and the quality of the Snowflake UI. It is the easiest database tool I have ever used in my career.

Cons

It is costly to use Snowflake so as a company you always have to fight for the value it brings to the company as a whole.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cloud based database and warehousing improves performance and reduces cost

Reviewed a year ago

its a great experience, our API's have become faster in response time, we stoped worrying about storage size and computation power , now its scalable and decoupled

Pros

This is a fully managed cloud data-warehousing solution , or database as a service, the advantage of this with the traditional server based database is the performance boost, here the warehouse or the computing power and data storage is fully decoupled, this means , you can pay for what you need, your warehouse can be in sleep when its not in use so you save money, you can modify the size of warehouse...

Cons

we use to have some outages in the past, which was resolved quick, now a days i don't see those that's a good thing, if you are trying to migrate from a psql to snowflake then some query syntaxes will be different

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Data warehousing and computation as a cloud service

Reviewed a year ago

This really speeds up your sql computation, since we can use different computation warehouse on a same datasource, which distributes the load, it is a great experience with Snowflake

Pros

This is a cloud database and warehousing service, the syntax of snowflake is like psql, they have a good community support and good documentations for all the queries, they are faster than traditional databases, and the are charged separately for compute power and the storage space , which makes it usable in a flexible cost effective manor, good support team, always respond and try to resolve the issues if any was reported, and also helped us identify any cost saving scope

Cons

The System esoterically shows outage, these type of outages are informed to use by the support team, and they resolve it quickly, a minute potion of the syntax of sql is slightly different from psql, which makes it hard to migrate the application from different psql service providers

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Snowflake - Next generation cloud warehouse

Reviewed 4 months ago

Best cloud data warehouse platform at the moment. Love, everything Snowflake has to offer. Easy to build pipelines, data sharing from production to non-prod in seconds, 0-copy cloning in 0-seconds :), amazing time travel, robust security, near real-time data ingestions, flexible compute power, and all possible compliance and certifications we can expect (Hippa/PCI/sox etc) indeed "built for the cloud"

Pros

Snowflake is easy to onboard and adopt, implement, easy to use.

Cons

Limited monitoring capability and data analytics features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great SQL interface, especially for novice users

Reviewed a year ago

Overall it's been very easy to get onboarded and up to speed using snowflake. At my last company, their SQL platform was so complicated I was too intimidated to use it, so I would always have to ask analysts for help getting the data I needed. With Snowflake, I feel that everything I need to do is straightforward, or easy to figure out with some trial & error and reading the documentation. I've even gotten several complete SQL-newbie colleagues to begin using Snowflake and they've had a great experience as well.

Pros

Snowflake's Worksheets interface is easy for SQL novices to figure out because it's simple and straightforward, which is exactly the opposite of many competitors. On other platforms, novices are easily intimidated because of the complexity, but Snowflake does a great job of keeping it simple and clean. Their documentation is also good, but it's not as novice-friendly as I would like.

Cons

Script error messages could be more specific and helpful with identifying errors and troubleshooting. For example, linking directly to the relevant section of their documentation, based on the type of error. Again, this is something that advanced users probably wouldn't mind too much, but for novice or even intermediate users, this can be the difference between spending a few minutes troubleshooting versus hours of head-scratching.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Impressive product with a promising future

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, Snowflake has made managing, processing, aggregating and sharing data easier across the organization. It still has some work to do in terms of UI to make the user experience smoother, but the underlying technology at its core is solid and solves many issues with backups, data retention and overall user error in working with data.

Pros

The "Time Travel" aspect of Snowflake, being able to pick a point in time and see the state/contents of nearly any table is astonishing. Very useful and impressive feature. What is equally as impressive is the overall performance of the platform. I've worked with Oracle, DB2, MySQL, Vertica, Teradata, ParAccel, and others. Maybe not always in the most optimal configurations, but Snowflake's performance has been overall the best in my experience.

Cons

As a newer platform, there are certain convenience elements that Snowflake lacks. - No auto-complete of object names. - No "easy" import wizard to import data. - Some bugs with the browser-based interface (worksheets did not properly save). - Limited customizations to filter out the tables or objects you don't work with regularly. Always shows full list, oftentimes very large.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Snowflake Boosted up our performances

Reviewed 2 years ago

its quite a good experience, and performance is not a issue anymore

Pros

The computation power and storage capacity in decoupled (pay for what you want) it provides a good query history and query analysis feature, and also query metadata help's us in understanding the performance issues if any the support team responds quick and good, they have a good web UI workbench to work on and it auto stores our work, the provide a snowflake outage dashboard which can show the down time of snowflake if any

Cons

some syntax's are different from psql, could have been the same so that the migrations wold have been easier the web UI workbench is bit slow in initial page load time, some times we face some issues not frequently , but the support team tries to resolve it immediately, and the support team notifies us if there are any known outages that are about to happen

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Skip Redshift, Snowflake scales reliably

Reviewed 2 years ago

Snowflake supports both our analytics (dashboards and ad-hoc queries) and machine learning, including PySpark clusters. Our data scientists have found it a pleasure to work with, with rich analytics query support. The cloud-based technical architecture provides significant advantages over other offerings, including the critical ability to segment usage patterns and scale reliably.

Pros

We switched from Redshift to Snowflake for two primary reasons: 1. Snowflake's virtual warehouses allow scaling reliably, whereas Redshift becomes unstable; 2. First-class JSON support. Having switched to Snowflake, data warehouse administration has gone from nightmare to almost nothing. We continue to scale our data and analytics, and Snowflake handles it easily.

Cons

Snowflake's approach to sales and support is a blend of on-demand cloud offering and enterprise tool. They could improve certain aspects, such as simplifying the set up of Snowpipe to stream data from AWS. But these are minor features involved in initial setup.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A Promising Solution Marred by Poor Support and Pricing Structure

Reviewed 2 years ago

From the tech support side, some of the engineers did not know the product well. It took several conversations to resolve simple issues.

Pros

The ability to load data in using tools like Alteryx is a major plus. Snowflake also integrated well with our data science platform. The management of users and access was very simple to use and understand.

Cons

Building out incremental loading was difficult and did not save us time in comparison to our incumbent solution. The pricing structure for usage was nebulous. We did not fully understand the pricing model until that renewal period at the end of the year which included fees that were not mentioned during the sales process.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Did a proof of concept for my company comparing Snowflake to other databases that we use.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The three features of many great features that stand out are: -The REAL separation of compute and storage gives the ultimate flexibility. You can match workloads to the proper level of compute without having one workload collide with another. You can optimize what you spend by only using what you need with the ability to change the size of your compute multiple times a day and the ability to...

Cons

One of the positives above can also be a negative. Snowflake is a service and not software that you can run in your own data center or your own cloud VPC. This CON can be overcome with end to end encryption where you own the key and other Snowflake features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Review for Snowflake

Reviewed 8 months ago

Snowflake is very appropriate assuming your association needs to begin little with negligible speculation, and afterward develop at any speed. It is additionally useful for groups that definitely know SQL from chipping away at another stage, like MS SQL Server. It matches all around well with incorporation errands on account of its local capacity to deal with JSON information, for both import and questioning. In the event that your instruments can just associate by JDBC (no local Snowflake connector) you might have a few issues with enormous informational collections. This is actually a restriction of utilizing JDBC, not Snowflake, but rather it is something to know about.

Pros

This is a cloud-based application that gives me a safe stage to the simple sharing of information with my customers. I feel sure to associate with my various colleagues as a result of its high level security and successful programming. Through this instrument, I am equipped for incorporating, dissecting, and the whole information in an exact structure and with investigation also, because of which I generally have a straightforward thought regarding the information extraction and its exchange from numerous mists.

Cons

Security jobs and access are difficult to comprehend and oversee Rollout of new components appears to intensely support US West coast, every other person needs to pause Visual interface doesn't permit you to oversee custom capacities and schedules. For those, it is code as it were. The board of tables and perspectives is visual

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fast, Secure easy transition from sql

Reviewed 10 months ago

Overall the speed is ready incredible and I don't mind opening the csv and getting my results. Would've loved to have the option to view multiple outputs.

Pros

Processing is very fast, as someone who switched over from Microsoft Sql server this works very fast and has the same documentation. The documentation library is also very helpful and the forums are always readily available to compare commands from SSMS vs Snowflake

Cons

It doesn't let you customize column order after the results have been generated. It also downloads a csv everytime you want see the output which just creates more work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Snowflake - Speed in the Cloud!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Maintaining on-premise database systems is expensive and maintenance heavy. Moving to a cloud database like Snowflake cuts down costs and is easy to maintain also. Since Snowflake supports a variety of flat file formats as sources, it becomes easier to bulk load data as flat files in storage spaces like AWS S3. Migrating data from cloud storage to Snowflake becomes much more easier.

Pros

Snowflake is a database and a storage warehouse on the cloud. Since it's scalable on demand, retrieving data through Snowflake Warehouses is lighting fast. All the computing power required to run the SQL queries are taken care by the Warehouse size we choose. If a query is taking too long to run a quick switch to a bigger warehouse does wonders. Migrating and loading data into Snowflake is a breeze too via Snowflake Stages and COPY TO commands.

Cons

Snowflake doesn't enforce constraints, especially primary keys. So, care should be taken while doing INSERTs and UPSERTs to maintain data integrity. This lack of this feature is understandable since it's projected more as a storage warehouse.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Vipul Chona - Snowflake Review

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

very easy to integrate with all our other tools

Cons

Honestly having a tough time coming up with what I like lease. Maybe some of the UI

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Snowflake - The next generation cloud data warehouse

Reviewed 9 months ago

It's really great, Snowflake offered a lot of flexibility which parallel cloud-based warehouses could not offer the same. Snowflake can scale both vertically and horizontally to cater all needs.

Pros

Snowflake is very easy to use and scale. It provides helpful features like merge, JSON flattening which are very handy options. Snowflake cloud SQL editor is very fast and helps easy developments.

Cons

It can be a costly solution if optimizations are not planned accordingly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Snowflake is an affordable solution that enables analysts and non-technical folk to build DWs.

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have a lean team of data engineers and as a result cannot automate as many data sources as we'd like. In the interim, our analysts utilize Snowflake to incorporate data into our multifaceted reports.

Pros

We use Snowflake to capture some of our larger third party data exports that won't fit into Google Sheets. The process of uploading data is straightforward and keeps our business reporting streamlined despite lean engineering resources on our end. There is a SQL interface to make modifications to data before final exports and data viz.

Cons

The UI is clunky and not the most intuitive. The error messages could be more detailed and expanded. The support for Mac seems to be more limited. Encountered issues with data produced via Mac and support took months to fully resolve.