This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Fonteva for Associations

The Future of Association Software - Built on Salesforce

see alternatives

Fonteva for Associations Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Fantastic product that captures some of the best features of salesforce all in one spot. Amazing customer service; fast friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Erin F.

On top of free Salesforce Training, Fonteva has their own training which is great for Admins or average users. With that training it becomes easier to build and expand your environment.

Jeremy W.

It has been a positive one. The product is great and user friendly and the staff is awesome.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

Sometimes our donors complain of spam. I don't know if this is true or not, but it is a perception.

Janette S.

ECommerce engine fails to meet standards for SEO and basic eCommerce structure. Emails and integration with platforms either don't work or require excessive labor.

Anonymous Reviewer

It’s very difficult to make decisions based on the various software updates that occur throughout the year.

Mary Rose R.

Overall rating

4.6

5

4

3

2

1

60

19

2

1

1

95%
positive reviews
98%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


83 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Top Notch Association Management Software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We conducted an in-depth search and review to evaluate and select an Association Management Software (AMS) for our medium sized Association. There are a variety of reasons as to why we selected Fonteva, but to summarize here are our main reasons for selecting this product. 1. User Experience - The SF Lightning and Fonteva user experience for our end users is clean, simple, and easy to learn. The flexibility...

Cons

No negatives have been found yet. Of course, you'd love for it to be cheaper. Keep an eye on the size of your environment.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

This is one of the best cloud based CRM out there for Membership Management.

Reviewed 10 months ago

The product is the best out there and has lot of options to customize. The staff is very supportive.

Pros

Software is easy to use and has lot of flexibility to tailor it as per the association needs.

Cons

The software has some room to improve. We have soem issues with Join process and renewal proceeses which can be improved. We also think finance side of Fonteva can be made better by improving schedule payment and lockbox functionality.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Decent but has limitations for us

Reviewed 23 days ago

Great AMS for a simple membership model.

Pros

This is a generally easy system to learn and has a lot of functionality however we struggle with having to develop a lot of customizations because it doesn't have functionality that aligns nicely with our needs. This makes upgrades more difficult.

Cons

There is no ability to track membership retention. Emailing through the database is flawed as formatting gets screwy. We are exploring using more features and functions such as campaigns but at the surface level, its a little complicated to figure out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Fails to deliver on many promises. Lots sacrificed with little payoff.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I like that it's built on Saleforce CRM.

Cons

Implementation took much longer than anticipated and cost much more than forecasted. Elements of each part of the software fail to meet expectations. Core competencies such as invoicing, events set-up and managment, reporting, renewals, and eCommerce have been faulty. Support does not include support for the whole system. Their business model changed to using 3rd-party companies for setup, configuration, and advanced support. Upgrades are not free, and fees are not controlled and predictable. eCommerce engine fails to meet standards for SEO and basic eCommerce structure. Emails and integration with platforms either don't work or require excessive labor. Renewal and invoice automations can fail.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Six months in and loving it

Reviewed 2 years ago

Platform user - we use Fonteva for membership, events and e-commerce. We had a great planning and implementation process. The Fonteva team is honest, transparent, good partners (they tell you when you are trying to do something that doesn’t make sense in the system), and highly responsive.

Pros

Users can adapt functions in meaningful ways to fit their business needs without a lot of admin or other support

Cons

Reporting is not always intuitive and does often require admin support to do higher level reporting

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome Product!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Fonteva is a fabulous company but the Fontevans are are absolutely the greatest group of folks to work with!

Pros

Ease of use. We needed a product that would work with our business model which is unlike regular membership processes.

Cons

I think its a great product so far. I have no cons at this time!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Out of the Box Customer/Membership Management Works Fantastically

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

As a developer / technical consultant, when a customer is mentioning use cases involving "customer engagement" or "organize our member base" the first product that comes to mind is Fonteva. This product easily saves me months of development for a product that I couldn't even compete with. Just like you don't want to build your own cloud based CRM product, why build your own customer engagement Salesforce functionality, when someone already did it cheaper, better, less buggy, and with a technical support team. Choosing Fonteva's software is often a no-brainer for my team and my customers. As a bonus it fills in the (many) gaps left behind by the Service Cloud that Salesforce hasn't built yet. And it saves me on the budget for when customers have big ideas.

Cons

Custom development on top of Fonteva's platform can be difficult because in addition to the usual Salesforce quirks you have to take into account, you also need to learn and understand how Fonteva's platform is built.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The best Association Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Fonteva help us making easier the reports of accounting through their Dashboard and Reports tool, with this module we can saw how we are spending our money and in which direction we have the put the organization for the best future of it.

Pros

With a big set of modules which can perform virtually everything you need to manage in the right way the customer support and the relationship with clients and costumers. Fonteva for Associations present a big range of features: members, events management, communities, estores, committees, accounting, online fundraising, mobile, education, collaboration, dashboard and reports. All these features allows you to perfom and set your bussines in the best possible way and get the most of every inversion or event you do.

Cons

Like happen with other Fonteva tools like Fonteva Events, with this tool you have to know every detail of you want to with your organzation and in which way do you want to improve, if you do not know what really you want you cannot tak advantange of this great tool for your organization.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Membernation is very user friendly!

Reviewed 3 years ago

My experience at first was rough but only because I was making it harder that it was. Once I got the hang of it, it made it so much easier and faster.

Pros

What I love about memebernation is that is was so user friendly. Made business run so much more smooth.

Cons

Nothing I didn’t like. At first it was difficult but only because I was expecting more steps in the the process but this software simplified my life.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Ease of Use and Configurable

Reviewed 10 months ago

We have worked with some great staff at Fonteva who have made my experience good so far.

Pros

The product is very user-friendly and easy to navigate. On top of free Salesforce Training, Fonteva has their own training which is great for Admins or average users. With that training it becomes easier to build and expand your environment.

Cons

Your Fonteva environment does require a lot of maintennce. So plan to have dedicated staff to take care of those weekly, monthly, or quarterly tasks.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fonteva's latest platform provides major enhancements for association management

Reviewed 5 years ago

The most impressive thing about the MemberNation Platform is that it does an exceptional job of thinking through the business cases you'll encounter as an Association, and then streamlining those processes for you. Once you've completed the initial configuration working with the Fonteva team (special thanks in our case to Dagmar and Sundeep for their work) everything just works. There's a good amount...

Pros

The most impressive thing about the MemberNation Platform is that it does an exceptional job of thinking through the business cases you'll encounter as an Association, and then streamlining those processes for you. Once you've completed the initial configuration working with the Fonteva team (special thanks in our case to Dagmar and Sundeep for their work) everything just works. There's a good amount of flexibility in terms of being able to customize and adapt a lot of features right out of the box, which makes our lives so much easier! They also have a great documentation center and training videos already created, which makes it easy for staff to get up to speed on the platform.

Cons

There's really not much to dislike. The only thing that I'd recommend for folks, is to take advantage of the training they provide, and to make sure there is a member of your team truly taking responsibility for owning the project. As with anything, if there's no one from your team really invested in making sure the platform will be a success, it won't matter what software solution you use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A solid Salesforce based AMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

I would highly recommend this to any organization that is looking for an AMS. The ecosystem I mentioned above is the reason that will sure your organization is in the good hand and win in the long run.

Pros

The first and major reason is MemberNation by Fonteva is based on Salesforce, no chance it will be bought out or merged by another company. Second reason is Fonteva provides the bridge that makes it easy for nonprofit organization to use Salesforce to handles its membership, events, community and other functions of a modern organization. Third reason is Salesforce, like Apple, has its own AppExchange...

Cons

Because AMS by its nature is one size fits all, so some more or less customization might be required. Fonteva has its own Join Process, it is flexible enough to match 95% of our existing membership process, we have deal with that 5% by changing our business process.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent Product & User-Friendly

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Reporting is very intuitive and easy to use. It is easy to find member information and transactions in the system. We were able to configure the system to record member renewals consistent with our actual renewal process instead of changing the process to fit the system. Looking forward to upgrading to the new release this fall!

Cons

This software can do so much; it takes time to learn all the ways it can improve efficiencies and reporting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Great for professional associations or societies, but not a good fit for trade associations

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

There's some really robust functionality right out of the box and Fonteva support will work with you initially in getting some features customized (there may be a fee). We tried to use this for a trade association using a lot of custom programming. It really just didn't work. It's really designed for individual membership and does not offer the parent child relationship.

Cons

It's really designed for individual membership and does not offer the parent child relationship. There are a number of gooes that provide various functionality, which is always a risk.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MemberNation Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Fonteva is great for associations using Salesforce, or want to get Salesforce. This integrated system combines all our needs into one place. It also keeps us linked to other vendors, systems, etc, so everything is in touch with one another. For a more fluid process, this is highly recommended.

Cons

It can be a bit limiting in design, as customizations can be a bit tricky to accomplish.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Team and a Platform With Endless Possibilities

Reviewed a year ago

We are a newer Fonteva customer and recently completed implementation. The team at Fonteva has kept us a priority throughout the whole process and has worked hard to find solutions for all of our business needs. Whenever I need their assistance, I know I can count on them. Now that we have gone live, we are looking forward to further enhancing our business with the many tools Fonteva Membership and Events has to offer.

Pros

Customizing and adapting the tools Fonteva has to offer gives us endless possibilities to streamline our business practices. More often than not, there is more than one way to meet our needs and it is just a matter of choosing the solution that works for us. I highly enjoyed working with the Fonteva team throughout our whole implementation process.

Cons

Nothing that we have found yet. We are a newer customer and so far every obstacle we have run into, Fonteva has assisted us in resolving.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fonteva for Associations that want to use Salesforce

Reviewed 3 years ago

Using an AMS based on SFDC allows us to integration much more easily with other vendors and systems. A huge win for our association

Pros

Our association has been using SFDC for about two years and we tried to integrate our old AMS with limited success. It made sense for us to move to a SFDC based AMS and now our AMS and SFDC data share the same database so no integration necessary! I highly recommend moving to Fonteva

Cons

We now have less control over our AMS as we are at the mercy of SFDC but the advantages outweigh the cons

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy for a non-IT person to learn

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I've been using Fonteva for about 5 months now. As a membership professional (non-IT person) I've found it fairly easy to pick-up. I love the ability to customize our join process (a luxury we've never had). The online training and customer support is always helpful as I try to learn new things. I'm enjoying all the features of the reports and dashboards to help better utilize our data. This is much better than our previous AMS!

Cons

With any software, I think there is a learning curve and I look forward to continuing to learn and find out how we can be more efficient and utilize all the ins and outs of this software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Product meets our business needs with out of the box functionality

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great app built on Salesforce. Streamlined manual processes.

Pros

MemberNation (MN) has proven to be an excellent AMS. The product is customizable, which allows Admins to configure the system based on their origination's needs. MN has allowed us to streamline processes that were once done manually. The Fonteva team worked diligently to help us reach our target go-live date. Our Business Analyst was crucial to the project's success, as he used his expertise to understand our business processes and guide our internal team on configuring MN.

Cons

Salesforce does have limitations on editing their managed packages which limits the Admin on certain configurations. However, we have found a work around solution for each of these limitations.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing AMS with expandability due to the Salesforce platfom

Reviewed 4 years ago

A solid platform for associations to manage and improve their processes from.

Pros

Solid well laid out financials to rival the best finance systems Extebsability of all objects - ability to add fields and formulas

Cons

Member portal is not quite as flexible as a full CMS No VAT inclusive pricing Not completely written in lightning yet

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good Experience powerfull software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Flexibility on creating solutions. The software is very user friendly. Allowed us to setup a portal for our members so that they could login and manage their accounts without calling our membership department. Also like the mobile app. I can login to the software from my phone and check or trouble shoot many problems remotely

Cons

View screens need ability to search in specific object. For example I created a screen for all of our batches. As the object grows it becomes increasingly difficult to locate a batch. The alpha search by letters is cool but all of my batches begin with the same name

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Association management out of the box!

Reviewed 2 years ago

10/10 so far!

Pros

Fonteva extends an already great product, Salesforce, in ways that make sense to me. Membership management is build in, as well as a store, and very robust event builder. Honestly, Fonteva is my first experience with Salesforce so I can't contrast it with vanilla SF that well. What I CAN compare it to is Dynamics, which is very clunky in my opinion. My role is mostly administration so what concerns...

Cons

I can't think of a single detractor. Maybe a year or so after we've fully implemented Fonteva I can update this review.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Choosing Fonteva was a very smart decision for my Association

Reviewed 4 years ago

We recently upgraded our AMS, CMS and LMS. We decided on Fonteva for our AMS. From the very first meeting with my Fonteva team I knew that I was in good hands. We worked together, as a team, to develop a system that would work well with our Association. My project manager and she was a joy to work with. I worked closely with rep in both learning MemberNation and in developing the product to suit our...

Pros

As it sits on the SalesForce platform the software is very powerful and adaptable.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Membership

Reviewed 3 years ago

NA

Pros

The user friendly experience... and the ability to explain to our members functionality

Cons

Time to lean capability and bandwidth we have to teach users in our office

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

So far, so great

Reviewed 5 years ago

As you know, migrating to a new membership database is tough! We were excited about the features and usability of MemberNation but nervous about the switch. Fonteva put two very capable data experts on the job, gave us access to applications, finance and product experts and walked us through a complicated SSO jungle. It was hard work but provided great reward. The training we received helped us to...

Pros

I like the flexibility and the ability to make changes/ configurations as needed with or without assistance from Fonteva.

Cons

The report writer