App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Pony Express HQ Logo
Pony Express HQ

Text message marketing solution. Group texting no reply all.

visit website

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Pony Express HQ Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

50

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.1/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pony Express hq has great customer service. Quick response time, super helpful, friendly, and professional.
I also like that the owner is quite responsive when replying to the introduction emails I really didn't expect a human response, that was pretty awesome.
A very great way to get a short message to my customers at once. Easy to understand platform and very user friendly.
I disliked that you are charged even if a message fails to send and cannot resend a message to individual subscribers.
Inability to sort/search by zip code/geographic region.
Automatically assigning a random phone number to the account is regretful. Would rather be allowed to use a number recognized by recipient.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


50 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Christopher B.

Automotive, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 6 years ago

Overall, I like the software and I see myself continuing to use it as long as my customers give me positive feedback. The main concern I have, and a reason that may keep me from continually using this software, is the no short code option. My customers can remember a 5 digit number MUCH easier than a toll free 10 digit number.

Pros

Offers everything that I need for sending mass texts. I like that my customer can subscribe via keywords and that I can add them as a subscriber without having them text first!

Cons

I do not like that I can't use a short code instead of a 10 digit.

Vendor response

Hi Christopher, We are so glad you like our service and the Pony Express HQ dashboard, also thanks for the kind and detailed review. When you sign up Pony Express HQ, you'll get a free dedicated local phone number or a toll-free number. A ten digit number simply feels more authentic, economic and your customers can respond in a more personal way as opposed to just texting ?STOP? to unsubscribe. Plus, if you activate Forward Incoming Calls feature (which you should), it makes it easy peasy for a customer to call you back whenever they want. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Support Team

KS
AvatarImg

Katy S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and responsive support

Reviewed 10 months ago

Great

Pros

The ease of use, responsiveness of your support team, and the scheduling of messages are what we like the most about your product

Cons

So far I have not found anything that I am unhappy with

UZ
AvatarImg

Umair Z.

Computer Hardware, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Repair Pros Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall it is ok, not the best i've seen. Definitely could use a lot of improving

Pros

The dashboard and the csv import process

Cons

Limitation on daily receipts to send message with local number, also having to pay credit per response back to the messages.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Efficient effective and inexpensive way to communicate with any group

Reviewed 6 years ago

I will be able to effectively communicate with my target audience whowork remotely and do not use email regularly.

Pros

I like the fact that when a person responds to the text, I immediately get an email with their information to be able to follow up.

Cons

I have not found any cons with this software thus far and I have referred this to many of my co-workers

Vendor response

Hi there, We are so happy that your organization loves Pony Express HQ. Your review of Pony Express HQ and SMS- text messages, in general, is spot on. People are so busy that they would much rather get a text message than a phone call or email. Glad you like our service and thanks for the recommending Pony Express HQ your co-workers. That is very kind of you. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Sports, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Mass Text Program!!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I love how easy this program is to work and how it keeps all my contacts and groups super organized!

Cons

I do hate that the app isn't as easy as the website, but it still works perfectly fine for me.

Vendor response

Hi there, We are so glad you like our service, and the Pony Express HQ dashboard, also thanks for the kind and detailed review, and choosing Pony Express HQ is the Best Mass Text Program! We are so sorry that you feel not easy to use via mobile. We are always looking to improve our services, and we are committed to doing whatever we can to help better your mobile experience. We look forward to hearing back from you! Thank you, The Pony Express HQ Team

RC
AvatarImg

Rohit C.

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Superb!

Reviewed 6 years ago

I usually prefer text than phone calls so when I host event Its hard to give a phone call reminder to each of my members rather than using pony express it solve my problem so that I can invite to my guest using SMS. So, being a community manager its definitely handy tools for me and my company.

Pros

Reaching out to my community members. I don't have to remember whom to invite next event. Once they have subscribed to our event list #keyword than we can reach out to our members so easily. I totally love using Pony Express for any event I organize either company wise or independent wise.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Rohit, We are so happy that your organization loves Pony Express HQ. Your review of Pony Express HQ and SMS- text messages, in general, is spot on. People are so busy that they would much rather get a text message than a phone call. Glad you like our service and thanks for the kind and detailed review. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

PH
AvatarImg

Peter H.

Consumer Services, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

love it

Reviewed 10 months ago

love the use and ease of it

Pros

ease of use, can reach alot of people in a short amount of time

Cons

your list goes back to the beginning after each contact is initiated

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Justin H.

Arts and Crafts, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Finally! What Ive been looking for

Reviewed 5 years ago

I run a choir in Salt Lake City, UT, and I love that this tool allows me to send out quick reheasal updates and reminders in a matter of moments instead of getting on the phone for hours, or sending emails that will inevitably go unread.

Pros

I love how easy to use the product is, and that my users can subscribe on their own.

Cons

Sometimes the pricing can be a little confusing, somethings cost credits, somethings are a subscription. I know ill master it soon though!

Vendor response

Hi Justin, We are also so happy that you did find Pony Express HQ! Thanks for recommending Pony Express HQ that is very kind of you. We don't have a subscription. It is a Pay-As-You-Go. You buy text credits when you need it, that's simple. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mike G.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SMS Service Winner

Reviewed 5 years ago

Gives me a new tool to communicate in the method my clients use most. Very valuable!

Pros

Easy user interface and high quality deliver service. I've tried others and had failures and hassles. Not so with Pony Express! This tool delivers.

Cons

I wish it had a RSS to text message setup so that I could text subscribers automatically when I have posted a new blog post. Maybe it's in the works?

Vendor response

Hi Mike, We are so happy that you loved Pony Express HQ and choose us the SMS Service Winner! We are always looking to improve our services. Loved your feature request, we'll work on this and let you know very soon. Thanks for recommending Pony Express HQ. That is very kind of you. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

RS
AvatarImg

Ryan S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, self-employed

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect for our purpose

Reviewed 13 days ago
Pros

The ease of use. Pony Express makes setting up an account and getting a number approved easily.

Cons

The waiting process for registering the phone number to be used. Although that is not their fault, it was something that gave us pause initially.

KE
AvatarImg

Karen E.

Entertainment, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Absolutely Easy to Use

Reviewed 4 years ago

By using this service I am now able to follow up with my leads faster.

Pros

This is super easy and simple to use. This service is of great value.

Cons

You are only allowed to upload 200 contacts per group.

Vendor response

Hi Karen, It is not true. You can add unlimited contacts in your group. Also, you can create free unlimited keywords on your account. The support team already emailed you. Details are also on our website here; https://www.getponyexpress.com/pricing Thank you for the kind and detailed review. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

DK
AvatarImg

Douglas K.

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Johnson Grove Church of Christ

Reviewed 5 years ago

The messaging service has been much more reliable than our previous service!

Pros

The cost and the convenience of having multiple people in our office set up multiple groups.

Cons

The of 9am to 9pm message sending limit. I understand Pony Express wasn’t designed for churches, but there have been a few times it would have been nice to send out a late night or early message.

Vendor response

Hi Douglas, We are so happy that you mention Pony Express HQ is more reliable than your previous service! You can definitely send text messages, emergency notifications, and last min. updates with your audience. We don't have the 9 am to 9 pm time limitation. We recommend that text marketing text messages should be in the business hours, not after 9 pm or earlier than 9 am. We have lots of Chuch organization in our Pony Express HQ family, definitely designed for your Church needs. We are also proud to support non-profit organizations with additional 1000 bonus text credits. Thanks for recommending Pony Express HQ to other Church organizations. That is very kind of you. We are happy to have you for over than a year. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

CJ
AvatarImg

Caleb J.

Pharmaceuticals, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed 4 years ago

My overall experience has been extremely well, its helped us bring in more patients. The patients also love the ease of access and the fact that they can message us back and ask questions.

Pros

The thing that I liked most about this software is how easy it us for consumers to sign up via texting the key phrase to the number attached to this account

Cons

I feel that one good feature would be to include a way to have the mass text say the name of the person we are messaging individually

AK
AvatarImg

Audrey K.

Sports, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Service We've Found!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our overall experience has been great. We were thinking of dropping the service to our members and exhibitors because of cost and technical glitches that we encountered with other providers. So glad that we found Pony Express HQ last year and took advantage of the pricing for non-profit organizations and gave this service a try. We have recommended to other horse show organizations and will continue to do so.

Pros

Pony Express HQ is easy to use and we need a platform that is easy and intuitive for a range of admins. Customer service is stellar and we have had no technical issues whatsoever. We did a lot of research before choosing Pony Express HQ and they were also the most cost effective option with the most flexibility -- that's important for us as a non-profit organization that has heavy use followed by periods of no use.

Cons

I have suggested that an "account review" and credits usage option be added -- it would be helpful to be able to see our purchase history and cost and to plan ahead for future purchases knowing exactly how many credits were used to support each event.

Vendor response

Hi Audrey, We are so happy that you loved Pony Express HQ and choose us the best SMS - text message Service! We are always looking to improve our services. Loved your feature request, we'll work on this and let you know very soon. Thanks for recommending Pony Express HQ to other horse show organizations. That is very kind of you. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

AH
AvatarImg

Amanda H.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Connecting Supporters

Reviewed 5 years ago

Pony Express HQ has provided me the opportunity to more personally connect with my non-profit's supporters on a weekly basis. Thank you!

Pros

As the director of a small non-profit, I'm able to easily connect with supporters on weekly basis. I can see how many people have subscribed. It's easy to edit templates to include weekly details of happenings here. This is a great way for our supporters to have a more intimate connection with our ministry.

Cons

It's hard for me to know how many credits each message uses. I'm sure if I take a closer look, I'd be able to figure it out. I just haven't yet.

Vendor response

Hi Amanda, Thank you for your candid feedback about Pony Express HQ. We are always looking to improve our services; all feedback is appreciated. Pony Express HQ is designed and loved by non-technical teams and organizations. Our support team has reached out to you already, and we are committed to doing whatever we can to help better your experience. For your question; before you send a text...

AA
AvatarImg

Amber A.

Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Its a good company

Reviewed 5 years ago

Its okay. The customer service leaves something lacking and I wish there was a direct phone number to a person.

Pros

I used previous companies, and due to the nature of my business they terminated the contract without warning. I appreciate this company's policy.

Cons

The cost of the credits is a little high.

Vendor response

Hi Amber, We are so glad you like our company, the service, and the Pony Express HQ dashboard. Pony Express HQ is the best affordable group texting platform! We offer Pay-As-You-Go pricing, a simple prepaid bulk SMS - text messages for any marketing budget, for any company/community size. No monthly fees, no subscription fees, no additional keyword fees. You send text messages as low as 1 cent per text message, and no one can't beat this. Take a look at the pricing details via this link; https://www.getponyexpress.com/pricing All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

DR
AvatarImg

Dianne R.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easiest Program

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

This has been a great source of communication for our agency. We have been able to sort by groups and send notifications to the applicable parties and staff.

Cons

There's no too much we don't like about the program, but would like to add another person to the notification system when needed.

Vendor response

Hi Dianne, We are so happy that your organization like our services, and thanks for the review. Actually, you can add a sub-account in your account. We will reach out you and show you how to add another person in your account, so we'll make sure that you use all the features of Pony Express HQ. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

RE
AvatarImg

Richard E.

Entertainment, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

software for the small user as well as mass marketing

Reviewed 2 years ago

great for the small use as well large corp.

Pros

ease of building different groups and using templets for repetitive emails.

Cons

automatically assigning a random phone number to the account is regretful. Would rather be allowed to use a number recognized by recipient.

MV
AvatarImg

MONICA V.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Pony Express Review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like that it is easy to use. It is also inexpensive compared to other services

Cons

It would be helpful if there was an option to directly insert the template instead of having to copy and paste it to the text

AM
AvatarImg

Angel M.

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

User friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago

Pony Express hq has great customer service! Quick response time, super helpful, friendly, and professional.

Pros

After doing a lot of research on other messaging platforms I found that Pony express hq had everything that we were looking for and more to keep our Church family connected. The other thing that I really like about Pony Express hq is that it is extremely user friendly.

Cons

There are no Cons to share at this time.

ET
AvatarImg

Elizabeth T.

Insurance, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great fit for my small business

Reviewed 5 years ago

Because I only need to receive image files, this works well for me. I do not send PDF or other attachments via text. Since my text usage is low volume, the price works well for my budget.

Pros

The price is really good for my needs. I do not use bulk mass texting or send non image attachments. This software does allow IMAGE attachments, 1 to 1 conversations, receives texts initiated by anyone using the dedicated text line #. Love the fact that I can drag and drop attachments once received.

Cons

Not much. But, wish the Conversation List (Inbox and Sent) would also show the contact's Name not just their phone #.

Vendor response

Hi Elizabeth, We are so happy that you liked Pony Express HQ. Thank you for your feedback about Pony Express HQ. We are always looking to improve our services all feedback is appreciated. And yes, we are listening. Loved your feature request, we'll work on this and let you know very soon. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

MC
AvatarImg

Marian C.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

New to Pony Express, but liking it.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am inclined to move forward with it.

Pros

Understood this App in about 15 -20 minutes. Had my first broadcast message out to a group of 20 within 20 minutes.

Cons

I had a little trouble logging in on the phone portion of the App. But, connectivity could have been the issue. I sent a help request via email and got a response within the hour.

Nc
AvatarImg

Naomi c.

Apparel & Fashion, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Finally a low-cost texting service!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The low pricing, and a free local number.

Cons

The online format isn't the most user-friendly, and there is no apple app.

Vendor response

Hi Naomi, We are also so happy that you did find Pony Express HQ! Thanks for recommending Pony Express HQ that is very kind of you. You access the Pony Express HQ dashboard, send and receive SMS - group text messages online from your computer, desktop, tablet, or mobile phone at any time to your audience, that's simple. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

SS
AvatarImg

Shmuel S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 6 years ago

They've been great. Every time there's an issue or I would like a new feature they programmed it in just like that. Simply amazing!

Pros

The most simple and cheap system I've found so far

Cons

I don't have any complaints. You guys are great!

Vendor response

Hi Shmuel, You are the best! We are so happy that your organization loves Pony Express HQ service. We also love to work with your organization. Glad you like our service and thank you for the kind and detailed review. Thank you, The Pony Express HQ Team

KC
AvatarImg

Kris C.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very convenient!

Reviewed 3 years ago

So far, it has been a great experience.

Pros

A very great way to get a short message to my customers at once. Easy to understand platform and very user friendly.

Cons

does not have an app that I can access by phone. But not too much of a setback for my use.