App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Salsa Engage Logo

Salsa Engage

Cloud-based fundraising & supporter engagement solution

see alternatives

(0)

Salsa Engage Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.0

/5

133
79%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.36/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

DonorPro is a wonderful, user-friendly product that is the best fit for our organization's current needs. We love the customer service.
Customer support, and our Success Coach, are key reasons for our success too. And, we are able to direct more resources to our projects, thanks to a real savings.
Salsa was good for making secure notes about participants/donors and tracking relationships and touches with the participant/donor.
Moving from multiple specified tools into an all in one, we did loose some details and specificity that a tool designed specifically for 1 purpose serves.
There are so many problems with both the software and the service. The software is completely unintuitive.
Just pop on someone's laptop & login to the GO version losing very little functionality from the desktop / laptop version.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


133 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Blake P.

Operations Manager

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

The "favorite child" of the Salsa family

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Blake P.: Hey, my name is Blake, and I'm an operations and programs manager. And today, I give Salsa...

JH
AvatarImg

Jackie H.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Salsa Review

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The multifaceted approach to communications + donor tracking system.

Cons

The donation reports are difficult to pull, and hard to create. I have to pull them out and put them in Excel to make them functional.

DP
AvatarImg

Danny P.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review of Salsa

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The product helps to connect multiple facets of a non-profit's online activities under a single umbrella.

Cons

Sometimes the product can be complicated to use, however the Salsa team is always ready to help when issues arise.

SR
AvatarImg

Sarah R.

Environmental Services,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Salsa is da bomb!

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Not only is this an effective tool for outreach and data management, but the support you get is amazing!

Cons

Sometimes some of the reports can be a challenge to create.

KS
AvatarImg

Keith S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Comprehensive Tool that is not user friendly

Reviewed 6 years ago

We used Salsa for a number of years. We really appreciated the large number of tools under one roof. Also supporting an up and coming tech company located here in DC was an added bonus. However, a couple of recurring problems forced us to switch to Neon CRM and One Click Politics. First, the interface for creating emails and webpages is glitchy and inconsistent. Unless you know HTML, the user tools...

Pros

Large number of tools, powerful query and reporting capacity

Cons

Glitchy, poor spam reputation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jessica F.

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Not My Favorite for Email Marketing

Reviewed 3 years ago

I use Salsa to send monthly newsletters and occasional standalone emails to supporters of a non-profit I do marketing consulting for.

Pros

I like that it integrates with Salsa CRM. That's about it, though.

Cons

Pretty much everything. The user interface--while greatly improved recently over what it used to be--is clunky, outdated, and not user-friendly. It looks like a drag and drop editor, but it's far less intuitive than one would hope. Everything is 10x more complicated than it needs to be. Having used other email marketing platforms, this one is definitely my least favorite.

AS
AvatarImg

Alison S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

In my experience, DonorPro is the best!

Reviewed 11 years ago

Highly recommend!

Pros

I have used Blackbaud's Raiser's Edge and Results Plus, but have found DonorPro to be the most user friendly. And it does everything you need it to do! And most important to me, the Help Desk has been WONDERFUL. The next best thing is that they listen to you if you make a suggestion for an improvement; and they let you know whether it is something others are requesting and if and when they are working on making the change or addition. I wasn't with the Sisters when they did the conversion from Results Plus to DonorPro, but I understand it went very smoothly. I recommend DonorPro without hesitation.

Cons

I have no "cons" to report!

SS
AvatarImg

Stephany S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WE love Sals!

Reviewed 4 years ago

LOVE it!! I have incurred a few hiccups here and their - they are generally user error and the Salsa team is quick and kind to help us resolve!

Pros

The ease of use and customer service during and post onboarding has been a dream! As a small non-profit we have been able to streamline and focus on growth with the ease of operations!

Cons

none - with constant updates to the software there are always improvements underway!

EN
AvatarImg

Erika N.

1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

SalsaEngage is awesome.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Really glad we switched! Perfect for our non-profit organization.

Pros

We have loved the functionality and ease of use of this software. We first tried a competitor and are grateful we made the switch. Once implemented it has been a great time saver.

Cons

There is always a learning curve, as this software has one as well, but the support staff is excellent and helps you through without nickle and diming you to death.

FM
AvatarImg

Frederick M.

Fine Art,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Perhaps the worst decision I made in the last five years...

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

It's slightly less expensive than other options...

Cons

It's not worth it... There are so many problems with both the software and the service. The software is completely unintuitive. Nothing makes logical sense. It seems to have been designed by field organizers for political campaigns, not by customer friendly coders in the IT world. The service is hardly better. It's very difficult to get a live person on the phone. It's easy to get someone via...

TB
AvatarImg

Terri B.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I would definitely recommend this program!

Reviewed 14 years ago

I would definitely recommend this program!

Pros

This program is very, VERY user friendly. Not much training is necessary. I love the idea of having the User's Manual available online. And if you do have a program, customer service is excellent. Someone always gets right back to you within a timely manner. They welcome feedback from the users of the program which shows they are constantly looking for ways to improve their program!

Cons

Not really a con, but more of a recommendation. 1) having a place on the main constituent screen for an alternate e-mail 2) for the contact of the organization, it would be nice if it were broken down to 3 entries: title, first name, and last name.

SS
AvatarImg

Sarah S.

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I have found it very easy to make four different websites for four different purposes. Each turn out looking great with minimal time and financial commitment!

Pros

I enjoy how accessible this software makes website building! The templates they provide are a great starting point and very easy to customize to meet your organization's needs.

Cons

I disliked the reports on the back-end. They seemed to be hidden and difficulty to navigate. They are still usable, but could be easier.

Vendor response

Thank you very much for the review! We work hard to make sure that our tools are easy to use, and are happy to hear that you have had a good experience. Thank you, especially, for your comments about our reporting. Input like this is incredibly valuable as we make decisions about product changes and updates.

BS
AvatarImg

Betsy S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Behind the Times

Reviewed 2 years ago

Negative - we switched to Kindful and are thrilled

Pros

I can't possible write 40 characters about what I like about this software.

Cons

It's hard to rate Salsa Engage without rating Salsa CRM as we used them in tandem. Having these two "sides of the house" made me insane.

MS
AvatarImg

Max S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Review of Salsa

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Automatization and centralization. Your website, donations and newsletters are all in the same place. The personal service from Salsa is truly excellent.

Cons

Limited customization. Not well suited to integrating with other software.

DG
AvatarImg

Dixon G.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Salsa Engage

Reviewed 4 years ago

We upgraded from Salsa Classic to Salsa Engage and are happy with the added features, layout, and user-friendliness (both on our end and for our members).

Pros

Frequent updates and responsiveness to user requests. Very user-friendly. Easy to set up action pages in particular.

Cons

Could have stronger membership features, and better ways to limit access for certain users.

SY
AvatarImg

So Yeon K.

Civic & Social Organization,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Organizational Messaging Streamlined

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

User-friendly and customer service to ensure that we can all use the program with no difficulty

Cons

Complexity with the website platform; often there is confusion on how to simply this process

JC
AvatarImg

John C.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

You need to have a dedicated person to build, manage and run it

Reviewed 4 years ago

You need to dedicate a person in your org to run this. Customer service will help you, but it's up to you to make it happen.

Pros

It has some good features like custom donation pages that you can design as you want.

Cons

The CRM is uninspired, difficult to learn and use, run of the mill.

DC
AvatarImg

Daniel C.

Civic & Social Organization,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Incredible potential to expand reach of an organization

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The support site ticket process is fast and helpful, so is the forums. Support is important because many of us aren't tech savvy. The many trainings available are a huge help as well!

Cons

It has been hard to figure out using the platform with more than 1 language. Would be helpful to have easier system for multi language support

JS
AvatarImg

Jennifer S.

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

For a non profit on a budget, Salsa Engage fit our needs!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The drag and drop functionality of designing a fundraising form or an email. Even people with limited technical experience can design an email with ease especially with their templates.

Cons

Limited amount of form field to ad to forms. This hinders the ability to capture additional information especially with tributes.

VM
AvatarImg

Vaughn M.

Civic & Social Organization,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ALDF E-Appeals

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

It's easy to use and gets great results with each mailing.

Cons

The store section could be better. Many people have a different shipping address and credit card address and Salsa doesn't account for that.

FB
AvatarImg

Fatemeh B.

Environmental Services,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Use it to tack membership donations and use as part of our website exp

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Easy to use and great customer service - no complaints

Cons

Everything is wonderful, there is not an aspect I like least - trainings are great, interface is stellar

KS
AvatarImg

Kathy S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great data base, iffy editor

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The ease of setting up and using advocacy actions, campaigns and petitions. Customer support has a very fast response, which is appreciated. The number of fields is great.

Cons

WYS is NOT WYG. The editor is so hard to use that our staff refuses to use it. I would like to see more information easily exportable from a query, specifically state districts and ideally groups. I have found the custom report generator clumsy to use.

KM
AvatarImg

Kelly M.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A new user here to tell you: this is exactly what you need in your toolbox!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Seriously, if you have plans to include advocacy software in your budget, Salsa is the way to go!

Pros

The ability to reach elected officials via social media, phone calls, emails, etc. is so key for an advocacy organization. Salsa makes this process SUPER easy! I looked high and low for software I could integrate into our current advocacy plans and Salsa was the perfect fit. I wish I had found them sooner!

Cons

So far, my only complaint about Salsa is all the steps you must go through to see an individual sender's letters to an elected official. I don't need to do that often enough for it to be a big pain to me, but I can see where that COULD be easier.

ZS
AvatarImg

Zane S.

Religious Institutions,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

OLOW Review

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Email, online donations, events, supporter tracking all in one system.

Cons

The design of donation pages could be better. Email design could be more robust.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Chemicals, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great external communications platform!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Salsa engage is the external marketing and communications product that offers great drag and drop designs for email blasts and event pages alike.

Cons

The integration of events to its online CRM software is a bit messy and confusing. This could use some improvement, particularly for ticket sales.

KH
AvatarImg

Kalyn H.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

External communications and donor interactions made easy!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Salsa Engage is the external communications portion of Salsa softwares and allows you to write and send mass emails, create donations pages, event pages, peer to peer fundraisings. There are creative templates or easy drag and drop design that allows you to customize your messaging.

Cons

The peer to peer functions are not super simple. It took quite a bit of training for our users to understand the concept and the design options for these pages are much more limited.