This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

Snowball

Fundraising software for nonprofits

see alternatives

Snowball Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Snowball is a great product that makes it that much easier to raise money via text-to-give and other useful features. They provide a great customer and user experience.

Lachelle R.

Snowball tools helped Encuentro take our fundraising activities to the next level - super easy to use and set-up campaigns and I love the text to give feature and online auctions.

Julia C.

Adding items takes minutes and editing them is just as easy. I loved the simplicity of the auction itself and that it could be run by one person short on time.

Megan S.

Cons

My organization is still charged the processing fees. I would imagine this is "industry standard.

Joanna C.

Every once in a while, a purchaser has failed attempts at donating/purchasing a ticket. This usually leads to a double charge with the need to refund.

Joanna C.

Sadly, it just was not robust enough for our needs.

Julia C.

Overall rating

4.7

5

4

3

2

1

10

4

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


14 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It was intuitive and easy to use.

Reviewed 3 years ago

The ability to use a product that makes my life easier. Good product and very well developed.

Pros

I liked how it was very easy to find the information that you were looking for. For my team and I we like/want/need platforms that are easy to use.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Already Recommended to People

Reviewed 2 months ago

So easy! I've used other platforms that require six months of prep work before the event because the platforms are so convoluted and complicated. Snowball takes the basics of what you need to run an online auction and keeps them easy. You don't need to be incredibly tech-savvy to run this platform! It's quick and simple to set up a new event. Adding items takes minutes and editing them is just as easy. I loved the simplicity of the auction itself and that it could be run by one person short on time.

Pros

This software was such a blessing for our silent auction in February. I researched multiple options for our organization's first virtual auction and was blown away by how expensive everything has become. Other options are easily over $1,000, charge per "event", place strict limitations on the number of items/bidders, or charge insanely huge processing fees. Snowball was by far the most affordable choice and it offers unlimited items and bidders with a smaller processing fee. Additionally, the software fee is annual and we can use the platform as often as we want over the course of the year! We literally couldn't have met our event revenue goal if not for Snowball's affordability.

Cons

I'd like to see a "shopping cart" for bidders who win more than one item. We had multiple winning bidders who won more than one item and they had to pay for each thing separately. I've used auction platforms before that will take a winner's goods and put them into a cart for a quick, one-time checkout. Because we had winners with 3-5 items, a handful of them opted to send us a check for the entire amount since paying five different times was inconvenient. Being able to move the listed items would also be a great feature—we added items as they were collected/donated and then when we wanted to reorder the lineup, we had to delete every single item and re-create them to get them to appear in the order we wanted.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Snowball Review

Reviewed a month ago

The overall experience has been a smooth and efficient transition for the organization.

Pros

The go live feature that shows the donations as they are received.

Cons

Customers are not allowed to add different bank accounts for the different campagins.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Combined Remarks

Reviewed a month ago

We have had a very good experience with Snowball. These are the comments from our Board and donors. Thank you all!

Pros

It is simple. We like the ability to register for events, conduct auctions and solicit donations in one portal. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was phenomenal getting us set up! We appreciate [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] help too! The investment is substantially less than other companies. Your credit card fees are lower than other companies.

Cons

The text to give doesn't work for our donors. We wish the levels of giving would remain low to high after we set ot up. For the auction, our donors wish they received a separate email or text saying sorry you didn't win, make a donation, like other companies. Our board's biggest concern is we require our donors to pay the credit card fees. However, over 90% of our transactions do not. A $50 gift, for example, the donors may pay $52 but our organization only receives $49.76. We lose money and have to solicit more donations to reach our goal. Our previous portal allowed donors to set a time frame for reoccurring donations. We wish for event registration our QR code would be provided rather than yours per our donors request.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good Value - Nice Features

Reviewed 2 months ago

As I learn the software, I continue to find new uses for our organization. I believe this product is versatile and has a lot to offer for the price. Customer service is 5-star - quick responses and very helpful.

Pros

I really like the ease of use. The software is intuitive. I appreciate not only being able to run a fundraising campaign, but I also like the ticketing feature. Moving to virtual concerts and not needing assigned seating, this basic ticketing feature has been a great low-cost way to sell tickets. I also like the reports and filter option. I can easily export data. Having the option of "text-to-give" is a nice feature and is easy to set up.

Cons

Although the pros far outweigh the cons, I would appreciate an easier way to reconcile deposits. The deposit detail provided doesn't always reflect actual transaction activity in the case of issuing refunds. Customer service does provide the detail, thought, when asked. Every once in a while, a purchaser has failed attempts at donating/purchasing a ticket. This usually leads to a double charge with...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Snowball - Bombards the Bottom Line

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Snowball tools helped Encuentro take our fundraising activities to the next level - super easy to use and set-up campaigns and I love the text to give feature and online auctions!

Cons

Although we tried to use the 'simple CRM' for our purposes, even entered off line donation information for donors who did not give via Snowball, we could never extract a consolidated donor list and donor email addresses couldn't be changed or updated. Sadly, it just was not robust enough for our needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Customer Service for the Win

Reviewed 2 months ago

Good user interface.

Pros

What I love most about this product is its customer service accessibility. While the product may not have all the bells and whistles that some more expensive lines have, the team is always ready and willing to make modifications so it fits your needs well.

Cons

Some features you find with pricier competitors are not available.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Snowball is a great value

Reviewed a month ago

Needed a system with capacity that could process payments for major fundraising venture. It delivered with flying colors.

Pros

The payment processing via the Snowball system was seamless. Loved that donors were able to receive an immediate confirmation. Users felt the system was easy to navigate from screen to screen and the on-screen text made the process nearly error-proof. Also, it was easy to integrate Snowball into our existing system and processes. Snowball is a winner!

Cons

At the onset, the user needed to determine if a caller was providing a pledge or a donation and then select the initial process flow. It was not a major inconvenience, however, it might have been a tad bit easier if everything fell within a single set of screenflows. Perhaps there could be a dropdown selection of donor or pledge on the first page and the software would then direct the followup page flows accordingly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good Value

Reviewed 2 months ago

Good. My representative is very attentive

Pros

Easy to use. Lots of help with technical issues.

Cons

Not as many options as more expensive text to give options.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product, Even Better Customer Service

Reviewed 2 months ago

Our overall experience was great!

Pros

Snowball is a great product that makes it that much easier to raise money via text-to-give and other useful features. They provide a great customer and user experience.

Cons

I have nothing that I didn't really like about the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Easy to use. Intuitive software. Low costs and text to give feature.

Cons

Email field for donor database is a mandatory field. We receive checks and would like to track the donation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great experience with @pay. Easy process

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like how easy the 2 step process easy and the security provided. It can be very personalized and customized to the user which I like a lot.

Cons

Can be pricey but I feel good that it is secure and easy. Pricing is a lot priority compared to peace of mind and sanity of implementation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AMAZING

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Snowball was extremely easy to navigate and use. It was very simple to instruct others to use it as well. Everything was digital and that made it less of a hassle.

Cons

The only qualm I had was when visiting the multiple pages on Snowball, we always had to re-enter the original site.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features

Share this review:

Worked as expected

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software was super simple to use and my team and I really enjoyed the simplicity of the program training was also easy other than it took a little bit longer for me to learn then I thought

Cons

No cons were added to this review