This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Minitab

Statistical analytics software to predict and visualize data

visit website

Minitab Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

This was the first statistical tool that I learned how to use and I think it was very easy to learn. It has a lot of great features and is affordable for companies.

Anonymous Reviewer

I used MiniTab only when had a free trial and. I highly recommend it and would love to have a license.

Oliwia P.

I liked the fact that minitab is very user friendly and its very easy to use when learning the basics of data validation, analysis among other functionalities.

Tariro K.

Cons

I think the only trouble that I found was the fact that there are a few features missing that are on excel.

Carlos R.

Software had a few bugs in the software where it had errors or did not respond.

matt r.

The lack of wizard if you dont understand the tests thst you need to use to serve your purpose.

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

124

97

14

1

3

92%
positive reviews
99%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


239 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very easy statsitics softwares

Reviewed 10 months ago

Very good software and very worth of money. Highly reccomend it.

Pros

Most of the statistics software is burdened with instructions and how to use each tool. But Minitab 19 will get rid of that issue. You just need the software and the name of each tool. Virtually you will be able to do all analyses. No expertise is necessary to use the software. Just a basic knowledge of statistics is sufficient.

Cons

I do not see any drawback. Is supperior one compared to the similar software. It would be convnient if can be used online.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Suitable software for engineers

Reviewed 5 months ago

I have enjoy using this software for planing several optimal design and also regression modeling. I appreciate providing the predicted R-Square as an useful option in the output of regression analysis.

Pros

There are many statistical software in the market but Minitab is specially designed for engineers. It has a very advanced capability in design and analysis of experiment.

Cons

The design of this software user interface is so classic. So, maybe using another framework for making the user interface more attractive is needed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Graph Function in Minitab is helpful

Reviewed 14 days ago
Pros

The Graph Tab in Minitab is straight forward. I usually use scatterplot and histogram functions at the beginning of my analysis in order to capture the distribution of my data. Probability Plot and Probability Distribution plot are also helpful when you are looking for parametric distribution functions to fit the data. You can also overlap two distributions in one plot for comparison.

Cons

The graphs plotted by Minitab are generally clear. However, I hope they will be more aesthetic, such as the styles of labels, coordinates, and ticks. Also, I hope we can overlap more curves on one graph in order to highlight the differences between datasets.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Good tools for researchers, analyst

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have been using this software for more than 10 years in the company. It very helpful for our improvement projects. However, that was not easy when we think to use the output from Minitab to apply in our manufacturing information system or think how to apply the advantage of Minitab to our big-data.

Pros

- Very common tool and that can be used for root cause analysis, problem solver and especially in the project needs to work with data (6 Sigma projects) - The guideline and assistance function in the tool is quite helpful for the beginner - Customer support is great as you can call, email and they can work out with you for the solution quickly. - The output/report makes sense with all logic and statistics result

Cons

- The learning curve is quite long, needs to invest both time/money to know how to use the tool efficiently - The graph/report output is not perfect and sometimes it requires time to make it up - Big gap to integrate with other systems, meaning you only use this offline, no options to interface with other databases. That also shows the limitation when import/export file.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fantastic Software for Data Processing

Reviewed 3 months ago

I can define as fantastic due the flexibility and how easy is to handle, additional the graphical part is helpful to prepare report and make better business decisions.

Pros

The simplicity, interaction that help a new user to perform the data analysis and processing all the tasks related with Statistics, now they included the another tab option where you can handle several data sets in one project.

Cons

I understand that they can include dedicated graphic panel for every tab, because currently you have all on them together and increase the chance for mistakes, and see if someone have the opportunity to shift the dataanalysis where you want in the field of the left.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best program for charts and analysis

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Easy to apply formulas and analysis, very user friendly. Charts very easy to read.

Cons

Haven't found anything bad yet. This program is awesome.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Minitab's Power

Reviewed a month ago

Amazed by the capabilities of the software and the amount of valuable information you can obtain from it, definitely worth it, but expensive in comparison to other software out in the market.

Pros

It is breathtaking the ease at which the program provides valuable information for the user. When provided with quality data. The user can easily obtain simple statistics analyisis, correlation between variables, predictions for later outcomes, very clear graphs, many types of regressions etc. Information about the reliability (statistical residual analysis) of the results depending on the input data. You can develop a DOE (design of experiments) to find the most impactful variable(s) and manipulate it/them to obtain desired results in whichever process.

Cons

The organization for various sheets could be improved but in general it is a very friendly software easy to understand a few hours into its use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

BI/Analysts Go-to tool

Reviewed 2 months ago

Solved the problems with small data sets for Six Sigma thing. Benefits I realized is that it saves a lot of time for data processing and creating visualizations as few clicks makes it quick.

Pros

Incredibly valuable general libraries for linear models like statsmodels with functionality of using JSON equations helps create classic graphs and analysis for the Six Sigma projects. It automated the calculations and provided quick results. A lot of data processing work can be performed with just few clicks.

Cons

The UI is classic and can be more attractive. Can add advance analytics options in the UI and can expand the integration options.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Favourite Statistical Software.

Reviewed 4 months ago

A highly recommended software for all the engineers out there.

Pros

Minitab has made it so easy to analyze the data. It was one of the first statistics software that I had used and found its features and interface so user friendly. From creating graphs ,statistical analysis and forming reports it is the best thing an engineer can ask for. One more great thing about it is that you don't need to be an expert to use it.

Cons

I think the interface can be made more attractive and different from how it looks by bringing some modifications except for this everything about it is great!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Minitab has quirks

Reviewed 6 days ago

It’s simple and useful but definitely has had its issues.

Pros

It is a great way to store the data we need to track. It has a lot of features we do not use that could be very useful to others.

Cons

Easy to make mistakes, sometimes doesn’t save. Isn’t visually appealing or interesting (for what we use it for)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I use this analysis software with my AP Statistics students and have used it for many years.

Reviewed 4 years ago

The program allows my students to work with very large data sets and allows me to assess their analyses very easily.

Pros

I liked the package because it was a professional use package (not just deigned for classroom use) and it was still easy enough for my students to use. There is a small learning curve to overcome, but my students adapt to the package very quickly. The iterations I have used started with version 12 and I am now using version 17. They product has become more streamlined over the years and more user friendly as well. The support I have received from Minitab has been excellent and utilizing the license server for my lab allows me to deploy the package to more computers. That is a real plus when one machine goes down and I need to use all my licenses.

Cons

Some of the graphical outputs are still not as good as MS Excel, but they have been improving over the years. I wish it could do a back-to-back stem plot, but that's a minor inconvenience.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very good for descriptive and inferential analysis

Reviewed 3 years ago

I use minitab 18 very often to analyze process variations of food production plant, also it is used to report the improvements on any process based on any change.

Pros

Minitab offers a very good end user experience for descriptive and inferential analysis. Also minitab product help tutorials are very good and well explained that cover most of the possible doubts. The interpretation of results that minitab provides on integral analysis like Capability analysis or hypothesis testing is very useful for sharing with management.

Cons

*Developing scripts on minitab is not as intuitive as it should be so doing repetitive task can be a headache. *Also querying data from an external data source could be easier, at this moment requires a well defined DSN file and adjusting filters on data to retrieve could be also easier. *There are not enough modeling methods on minitab

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This is an excellent product for statistical-based analysis.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

What I like most about this product is all of the functionalities available for performing statistical analysis on both real-world data and theoretical studies. The built-in functions and graphs are absolutely excellent and save a lot of time by automatically doing computations on data sets that would otherwise require additional software for computation. It is very easy to input the data and then have so many different options for essentially "auto-analyzing" the data through the large variety of statistic tools made available with this program. I am yet to hear of another program geared to this level with statistical analysis tools.

Cons

What I like least about this software is the way that some of the graphs are generated. Sometimes graphs with many data points may come out very messy and crowded and I feel that steps could be taken to improve the aesthetics of such graphs as essentially the point of graphs is to allow the reader to have a good visual with the behavior of the data or whatever it might be which is being presented on the graph. As such, I feel that better aesthetics are critical for communicating this information.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Comfortable if you have knowledge in the field.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Minitab is helping me to analyze my customer details specifically on each categories. Name, district, etc.

Pros

Whatever the data, we can easily manage it and get the statical analyze through this minitab software.

Cons

If the project is closed, some time its confusing which is saved, Weather the project or worksheet on the default name. Its occurs only the system power goes unexpectedly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Analyse the data with Minitab easily.

Reviewed a year ago

It is actually a reliable statistical package I have ever used. I can remember how I learnt Minitab lessons eagerly during my undergraduate period and how I recalled them and analyzed thousands of my research data.

Pros

During the four years of my university life, among all the other statistical softwares Minitab is the easiest and versatile statistical package I have ever used. Specially it is very affordable package for academics and requires less disk space as well as can be easily installed. It provides a comprehensive set of statistical features including; Analysis of Variance (ANOVA), Hypothesis tests, Design...

Cons

Actually I haven't experienced any kind of issue while I am performing Minitab yet.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Statistical quality control, such as philosophy and practical tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Minitab facilitates processing, very quickly for data analysis and the clarity of the graphics are better than those of SPSS. Its statistical tools are precise and easy to use, allowing us to access a better knowledge of the information contained in the data, with an important saving of time in the collection, analysis and interpretation cycle. You can work something basic starting with the descriptive statistics to statistical methods for predictions such as regression models, ANOVA, Time Series and experiment designs.

Cons

The variety of statistical analysis that Minitab can perform, It Is Not As Wide As SPSS And SAS. What It Means That For Research Fields Applied With Specialized Techniques, for example, it is not the ideal option for neural networks in the field of artificial intelligence or in the case of geostatistics, Since this type of analysis will have to be programmed through the macro system. While Macros Language is Powerful, it is a Long Time Investment for Complex Procedures.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Software accesible en términos de costo y facilidad de uso

Reviewed a year ago

Muy positiva, es el software que recomiendo para fines didácticos. Y a menos que se estén realizando análisis estadísticos a un nivel profesional más avanzado, suficiente para uso profesional

Pros

Utilizo MINITAB en mis clases y es muy amigable y sus aplicaciones cubren bien el contenido para cursos de Diseño de experimentos e ingeniería estadística a nivel licenciatura y maestría

Cons

No hay opción para utilizar contrastes en diseño experimental y dadas las nuevas tendencias en métodos ya es necesario incluir redes neuronales y otras aplicaciones. También sería conveniente extender la opción DOE más allá de la series 2k y diseños Placket-Burmann

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

The Best statistical tool ever

Reviewed a year ago

I used Minitab for the analytical part of the research project. It has been very simple to use and has a range of tools and you can analyze your data, graph, and map with the Minitab easily.

Pros

For my last year, and also for my four years as a teacher, I used Minitab 19 for statistical analysis. Minitab 19 is one of the most strong DOE, Regression, Hypothesis, Graphical, Process Capacities, and System Analysis measurement applications. I saw no easy, productive program except Minitab. It must be accurate and optimistic for any type of data professionals and Minitab 19 is the resource that simplifies your work. You just need to provide the data in sheet form and pick the analytical type, provide control limits and limits, and in a couple of milliseconds, you can get more than you want.

Cons

Some concepts to perform regression and other analysis of the options make me confuse.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best statistic tool

Reviewed 10 months ago

Really good software to be used as a student or as a professional. It helps you to analyze your data and interpret them leading you to the right decision-makers.

Pros

This software is really easy to use and gives you enough information about your input data to help you make the right decisions. I used this tool during my undergraduate course and didn't stop since then. You have many analytical options in the same tool and can even make graphs using the software, that can be used in presentations. Everything can be done using the tool and if you don't know how to use any analytical tool, it is easy to find explanation about it.

Cons

Sometimes when you are working in an analysis that has a lot of data the software closes and you lose all your work. Would be nice if the software automatically saves progressive work, so if something like this happens, you won't lose your work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Statistics Software

Reviewed a year ago

I've used several versions of Minitab for the past few years and I've noticed considerable improvement. It offers a wide variety of tools that allow you to work with data and build charts and graphs for data analytics.

Pros

Even if you don't have too much knowledge in statistics, you can get started using it very quickly. First time users won't have a hard navigating the program since its menus are well organized and clear and they allow you to find what you're looking for very quickly. It has a lot of data visualization features, like scattered plots, histograms and probability density functions.

Cons

Although it is easy for first time users, it will take you a lot of time to actually take advantage of every feature in Minitab. Also, even tho it is a great software, it is not as complete as other programs like JMP and SAS

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for data analysis as a student and in the working world

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, this is great for data analysis as a student and alright in industry. I have not come across anything in industry that I couldn't do on Excel, but I prefer Minitab since I have been using it for longer.

Pros

I have been using this software since back in my college days, and it was a serious competitor to Excel. Obviously both have their perks and benefits, but I find Minitab to be better most of the time. There are a lot of tutorials in case one isn't familiar with it, which is great for first learning the software or improving over time.

Cons

I have had a hard time in the past importing data, and have had issues getting plots that I need. There should be a wider variety of models. Some graphs, especially ones with lots of data, can be difficult to read. I have experienced this across most data software I use, but it is still a con.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Use for day to day data analysis

Reviewed 8 months ago

It really helps me to expedite my daily office work without errors.

Pros

Any person who does not have a statistical background can easily use this software for data analysis purposes like simple mean, median, mode, standard deviation to complex analysis like anova, t-test, the correlation coefficient, and principle component analysis.

Cons

When compare with Microsoft excel data feeding and editing (copy, paste) is difficult.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Powerful Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, anyone who is employed performing statistical analysis on data sets should be familiar with Minitab. This is tool that holds the basis for all commonly applied statistical analysis techniques.

Pros

Minitab 19 is a major leap from previous versions. This tool has significantly improved the usability of more complex statistical analysis functions by improving the in-process teaching of correct application as well as background selection based off of data types. From simple to complex, Minitab is a powerful tool to gain accurate and rapid stochastic interpretation of your data.

Cons

Minitab is still stuck on this tabular Excel-type format. They need a UI overhaul of the data input screen vs the data analysis screen and should treat the two separately. The analysis tool is undersold in the current format.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MiniTab is good

Reviewed 2 years ago

I used MiniTab for statistical analysis of my experiments during my MS and PhD. It was very easy to use and got my job done!

Pros

MiniTab 19 is very easy to use and does not require an experienced user (unlike JMP and SAS). As a first time user, I found it very helpful in doing all the statistical analyses that I needed.

Cons

Although it is really really easy to use, it is not as extensive as JMP and SAS. Once I was adept with MiniTab, I found that JMP and SAS offered more options like design of experiments, not available in MiniTab

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Minitab for six sigma

Reviewed 8 months ago

I'm using minitab for virtual DOE in six sigma projects and also in improve phase in optimalization

Pros

The most I like in the Minitab software is the assistant and a lot of blog and help files. I use it for six sigma projects including DMAIC or DFSS.

Cons

In old revision help files were difficult