This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

LogDNA Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

I didn't have any searchable log solution before, so it was the main benefit it provided us. The nice ui is good too.

Saulo T.

It's very fast, always working and the feature-set makes it so great to find bugs and see status. The meta search and time filters are superb.

Jacob C.

It is a very robust software, allows to easily view the logs for debug complex applications. It has good functionalities like seeing the context of the logs.

Sebastian Alejandro S.

Cons

They need to be mindful about pushing out changes that could affect someone else's logs. Be weary and keep another copy of your logs just incase things go awry.

Jorgen P.

It was a little difficult for us to set it up on elasticbeanstalk initially.

Anonymous Reviewer

Sometimes, it is hard to navigate with lots of defined views without the option to group them if I don't remember their titles.

Miroslav K.

Overall rating

4.7

5

4

3

2

1

31

9

1

0

0

98%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


41 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best product for logging in market

Reviewed 3 years ago

I would recommend logdna to everyone. It's pricing, feature parity and support are best.

Pros

We have tried many logging solutions out there in the market, but logdna was the cheapest, simple and best solution out there for logging. It has good support for different platforms like cloud, kubernetes and hosted machines. The setup is very simple for even a beginner and UI is very intuitive. It has all the required features for logging. The search and tags functionality has reduced a lot of pain of debugging. The support channel is very active. I have got the solution to all my problems quickly. The alerting feature is very useful in case our service goes down or misbehaves. It supports mails, slack and webhook which we use to automatically restart our server.

Cons

We can't set per service based logging limit. There are not many colour options for different logs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best tool I've ever used for logging. It just makes sense!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We've used a few other logging tools before, and still struggled with debugging our webapp on multiple servers. Then we found LogDNA, and decided to give it a try. Wow! It's so simple to install, we were up and running within a few minutes. The user interface is clean and intuitive. It's really easy to search keywords (even excluding terms), and jump to timeframes in your own local timezone. You...

Cons

You can't customize the colors for log levels. Although they have a few preset themes to choose from, you can't fully customize it. For example, it's easy to see the Error level highlighted in red, but for the remaining log levels such as Info, Notice, Warning, Fatal, etc., the colors are the same so you can't quickly skim the logs without reading it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

We loved how easy it was to get started, but we hit some pain points as we used it more heavily.

Reviewed 3 years ago

We were able to get up and running logging centrally from Kubernetes, and it got us through at least one software MVP. Kudos to the team, there just were too many rough spots to move our entire logging infrastructure over to LogDNA.

Pros

- The Kubernetes integration was fantastic, it was easy to get set up - The pricing was very reasonable

Cons

- We wanted a single account for our team to make billing easier, but we had no way to segregate "Views" on the left sidebar. We needed some way to have per-cluster views/searches, otherwise it would be very difficult to navigate. - We found we could not trust the "Live" view after clicking around in the UI for a little bit, or leaving it running for a while. We couldn't pinpoint what made it stop updating correctly, but we often had to do a full refresh of the page to see the latest logs, after which we would be inundated with logs that we had missed and it was hard to find our place again.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

easy and powerful software

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

It is a very robust software, allows to easily view the logs for debug complex applications. It has good functionalities like seeing the context of the logs. The dark theme it's awesome. Easy to use a search

Cons

You cannot block the live button, when you try to see old logs it keeps updating with new requests which makes debugging difficult. You should implement expotation to formats like cvs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

LogDNA makes logging fun and easy!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

After struggling for years with tail-ing the logfiles of our servers, some genius told me that I should have a look at LogDNA. With their low pricing, I could hardly imagine that they offered quality software. But they do! Once setup at the server, it's easy to create filters (based on server, process, tag or level) to create custom views. So, for example, you can set a view to show all log entries from an error level for a certain process. On top of that, you can also create alarms for views to receive notifications at a certain treshold.

Cons

For 99% it does what I expect it to do. The only downside over the past years was that occasionally it was a bit slowish with realtime live updates. But most of the time it's pretty fast.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DNA of your product!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

1. json log ingestion. We were logging our application logs in json formats and when we were looking for the application it fit into it. 2. S3 back up. Sometime we need to search for the older logs and it helps to get it from there. 3. Search. The advanced search really help us to get what we exactly want it. And we go the context quickly(using switch to context) and it really a cool and handy feature to use. 4. Dashboard. Some time out applications misbehaves and flood the logs. It is super easy to find the service using the dashboard by seeing the log ingestion rate. And we use 50s of services.

Cons

In the recent release, there is some problem with the search it seems. Getting irrelevant logs

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy log management for Kubernetes

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

- Very fast search over terabytes of data - Easy to integrate with Slack and other tools - Easy to get up and running overall, especially on Kubernetes. Only two lines of code to implement and start seeing it on the LogDNA dashboard - Lets you control what is being stored, and filtering on ingest means you don’t get charged for filtered data, even if you’re still sending it in for tailing. Pretty fair way of doing pricing. - The overall developer experience is good, and quite intuitive to build graphs and dashboards.

Cons

- Takes a while to dig in and figure out all of the features - Alerting is nice, but could use more customization

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

LogDNA is the perfect tool for someone who just needs to aggregate all of their logs into one place

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Not only is LogDNA incredibly simple to setup and use, but it doesn't overwhelm you with features. It does one thing really well: logging. Also, LogDNA is very affordable compared to the alternatives (most of which have lots of features I don't want). LogDNA is a simple product, but it fills a niche that no one else does as simply or elegantly.

Cons

Nothing! LogDNA is exactly what I want it to be. The only thing that's slightly annoying is that their search doesn't do partial string matching very well, but it's really not that hard to type out the whole search string :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is really a fantastic service.

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use LogDNA to send meaningful logs from our many microservices. It gave us the ability to look through historical error events and check the status of the workers. For critical services, we are able to receive notifications when errors occur. It's really superb.

Pros

It's very fast, always working and the feature-set makes it so great to find bugs and see status. The meta search and time filters are superb.

Cons

We have many microservices and it's hard to manage more than a few saved views. The ability to organise and create collections of saved views would really be the final polish for our use-case.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

good product

Reviewed 3 years ago

very good. already moved lots of our product to LogDNA

Pros

- i like the S3 archiving - the search is fast

Cons

- sometimes, the search part is not powerful enough. - it will be great if can have a local parser for reading archived data.\

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Title for my review? Huh?

Reviewed a year ago

We make software robots/chatbots. We don't store conversation transcripts inside of our primary database because we don't want to store those transcripts forever nor add the load to our primary database and app. So we use LogDNA to store all of those transcripts and when errors occur we can pull them up via LogDNA and debug what happened.

Pros

The interface is quite nice. It is also priced well for high volume. Lastly, it integrates well with other platforms, in particular the Heroku setup is really nice.

Cons

* The indexing lag lately has been a bit high. Sometimes we get alerted to errors in Slack from our apps and it takes a few minutes before we can read the logs to see what happened. * The search is a little finicky. It'd be great if we could toggle between full text searching and searching using special characters so we didn't have to escape special characters all the time. * It's awesome that LogDNA serves as a single store for all app logs. However the UI for selecting which apps to display and switching between them feels clunky.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great, except for repeated issues with log ingestion (remote syslog)

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

User interface is top notch. So much better than most competitors I've evaluated (which is quite a few actually). Saved views, quick searches and view context functions makes this a joy to use.

Cons

Two things are blocking our expanded usage of LogDNA for our much bigger product & team: 1. Reliability. The repeated issues with the remote syslog log ingestion is just not acceptable. I've contacted support about it before, but I won't bother again until it seriously improves. We have to restart at least one logspout container each 1-2 weeks. And there ARE NO ALERTS that things aren't ingesting...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

LogDNA is a must have for any tech company

Reviewed 2 years ago

LogDNA has been helping us managing logs since early days (when our company was just 5 people). It helps us pro-actively identify bugs/crashes before our customers even had a chance to log support ticket.

Pros

- LogDNA is very easy to integrate - takes 5min to setup - LogDNA saves disk space - you dont need to store logs in your server anymore - LogDNA views makes it easy to organize logs based on environment, service, filter, etc - LogDNA alerts enable us to pro-actively identify bugs/crashes before our customers even had a chance to log support ticket - LogDNA makes it easier to expose logs to everyone in the team without having to give them access to the production servers

Cons

There is nothing i like least about this product. Maybe the fact that it gets more expensive as your system and users grows, but thats fair and expected

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to setup and use, and with the best pricing out of all logging services.

Reviewed a year ago

Great product at the best price in the market with a true pay-as-you-go usage model. Installs and works without issue on every cloud and platform we've tried it on from Kubernetes to VMs to local laptop.

Pros

Very quick setup on all platforms, especially Kubernetes. Solid UI, fast tailing of real-time logs, structured logging and good search capabilities.

Cons

Dashboards and metrics based on logs is rather basic. Could use more features and dashboard/charting functionality.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great logging

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Really easy to send logs from our servers to LogDNA. We run our workloads on AWS and use the CloudWatch to LogDNA lambda to ship logs to LogDNA... Works like a charm. Love that I can aggregate all my logs from multiple AWS services (a large fleet of EC2 instances and thousands of Lambdas) in to a single log stream. Also really love how I can set alarms for specific strings in the Logs... I get notifications when certain strings appear in the logs which allows me to react to specific events much faster than normal.

Cons

Searching logs can be cumbersome. It's not simple booleans, which can make things a bit challenging with complex queries.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software, helps to keep an eye on business, simple, beautiful interface, fits all needs

Reviewed 3 years ago

"One Ring to rule them all" - helps with monitoring cloud environment with many nodes - alerts helps fix a problems.

Pros

Simple interface, great user experience. Feature-rich: it fits all my needs regarding log monitoring. Multiple integrations support many OS, using dedicated agent makes integration easy. Dynamic development brings new features. Reasonable price.

Cons

Sometimes there are lags in log processing also I've spotted some missing logs (migrate from syslog to agent integration doesn't fix a problem). Linux agent consume to much memory - it's an issue on cloud VMs with small amount of memory, where overhead on monitoring/logs should be as small as possible. Graphs looks pretty - but should have more interaction with logs filter - eg. filter could map on graph - changing filter conditions change graph conditions as well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy Logging

Reviewed 3 years ago

Being able to see key activity on the site has really helped with support - as we can identify the actions a user has taken and any errors for bug fixes. Sure, you get this with any logging software, but LogDNA had easy set up, a good free plan, and just seemed really clear compared to the others we tried. I am really happy customer and plan to use LogDNA when I launch more online services.

Pros

I love how easy LogDNA was to set up on my NodeJS server, and the web-based display of my logs. It makes tracking user actions and errors really simple, and I have been able to quickly identify problems and fix bugs.

Cons

For a logging service, this ticked all the boxes for me. When there has been an issue (I was getting duplicate logs) - support quickly fixed it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great product with a great team

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like the fact that is super easy to use, easy to apply filters and configure. Better yet, I like the fact that the development team will listen to us customers in regards new features or specific troubles.

Cons

The box for entering the filter queries could be slightly bigger. Some of my filters are extremely big because I have a need to see specialized errors and throw alerts when they happen. Often I have to copy the filters to a text editor so I can paste them back.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

LogDNA review

Reviewed a year ago

It's one of the essetial tools for us in debugging the issues

Pros

The search engine is super user friendly and easy to use. It was a simple process to integrate with the existing code base. Adding context object to each log message is very usefull for us.

Cons

Sometimes need to refresh the page to see the latest messages. And even then it looks like there is a delay to see the latest.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

LogDNA is Essential!

Reviewed a year ago

LogDNA has become an essential part of our support and debugging processes. It is easy to use and easy to implement, and is an instant value add to our logging infrastructure.

Pros

Ease of integration and ease of use are the software's primary advantages.

Cons

I wish that when you expanded a line and clicked 'view in context', you could expand the lines in the resulting window to see their metadata.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We define our overal app overview as pre-LogDNA and post-LogDNA

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It keeps me well informed of what is really happening in my software products. I can very easily search and get notified of any problems that are important to me. LogDNA is very simple to integrate and use with a great pricing options.

Cons

Sometimes, it is hard to navigate with lots of defined views without the option to group them if I don't remember their titles.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy installation. Great Support. Infinite Usefulness.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ease of getting started with LogDNA is fantastic. In Kubernetes, just run a single command and LogDNA will install as a daemonset and send your logs in. Giving my developers easy access to real-time logs was game changing.

Cons

Looking to do more with summarizing and analyzing data, and they've been adding these features at a rapid pace.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to Install, One place for all your logs, Easy debugging

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Best features I always use are saving the frequent searches, drilling down to pod level logs ( in k8s ), being able to tag and search against a time frame.

Cons

There has not been much of cons for our use case but once I did feel there has been an issue with log ingestion where we missed some logs. It just happened once.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

LogDNA made life much easier for us!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We use LogDNA almost like a remote terminal. When we deploy to our development servers, we run QA tests and check LogDNA to see if the tests worked or not.

Cons

It was a little difficult for us to set it up on elasticbeanstalk initially. We've also had instances where LogDNA didn't update, but that was resolved by support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Customer support was very fast and accurate for what was requested.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Detailed insight to specific log items.

Pros

I like that you can filter quickly and get to the specific pod, time, filter, app. I also like the statistics and is integrated well w/ python logger library w/ the filters. I like that I can access the logs from anywhere.

Cons

Limit of 30days history for our account. Timestamps need to be converted and not as user friendly. I would like to more visibility on all it's capabilities like ContextFilter was interesting and discovered recently.