App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

JMP Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

50

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.39/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The results displayed are very good graphic display, easy to save and copy graphs other documents. The profiler component of the JMP is very useful to share analysis and reports using web interface.
Highly recommend to taking the time to master JMP Statistical Software if there is a real interest in having the best statistical software for your personal or company use.
My overall user experience in JMP is good because it provides an interactive Graph Builder function, and the graphs from JMP look better than Minitab.
For example, JMP sometimes fails to recognize the difference between number and a string.
However, it can be a little overwhelming and difficult to learn at first.
You have to know a lot about statistics criteria in order to use this software, because you have a lot of options in one experiment. In some occasions this makes difficult a experiment development.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


50 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

SHRUTI S.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

JMP software for academic purposes

Reviewed 5 years ago

JMP has been a commendable companion for statistical problems whether in class or with research problems. Initially it does take some to learn the stuff with JMP but later that it is worth it!

Pros

It has a huge array of statistical functions that you can perform in minutes and obtain very catchy curves and graphs. It is an excellent tool for academic teaching and research. It has great tutorial links on learning how to use the software for one's specific purposes.

Cons

There is no option for Overlaying Gaussian/Normal plots while it is quite a useful feature. Also, even though you can copy the graphs staright up, you cannot copy the tables as they appear in the software.

NM
AvatarImg

Nanditha M.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

JMP is a useful software

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have used JMP for design of experiments and statistical analysis during my masters and PhD and the software has been very accurate in my analyses.

Pros

JMP is easy to use for experienced users, and is relatively easy to learn. it is a very comprehensive statistical software.

Cons

although it is easy to use for experienced users, it is slightly challenging to learn (not difficult to learnt though).

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Prathamesh M.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A statistical tool for everybody.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall JMP is a very good statistical tool in it features and functionalities. For statisticians who are involved in industrial applications, JMP is a option for them. JMP gives full control and flexibility over data manipulation and analysis. Easy to operate method mechanism and drag and drop function through dashboard is a plus. Reports are very interactive and easy to export. Overall, recommended for statisticians.

Pros

JMP comes with lots of feature and functionality. It is very easy to use and requires no prior experience. It is is one of the statistical package software which doesn't require coding skills. Anybody with no experience and training can use JMP with ease. It has a dashboard which is easy to navigate and feature enabled. Data mining, data cleaning, and descriptives statistics can be very easily performed...

Cons

JMP doesn't provide any tools to analyze data using high level simulations. The available simulations are basic simluations which are capable to produce certain amount of data predictions. Variable value designation is a big problem in JMP, the software fails to recognize the type of data when it comes to numeric value. For example, JMP sometimes fails to recognize the difference between number and...

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

All-in-one No-code Platform for Data Analysis!

Reviewed 2 years ago

JMP have helped me in quickly performing exploratory data analysis in my local system on the data to gain insights on customer data and also have allowed me to apply predictive analysis as per the use cases .It have enabled me to quickly deliver presentations from visualizations generated from dashboards.

Pros

1.Easy to use and user friendly UI 2.Allows you easily load your data from database or csv files,etc 3.Support for algorithms for data analysis and modeling 4.Comes with good data manipulation and visualization features 5.The application is installed in your local system, allowing it to be accessed anytime. 6.Good Documentation support

Cons

1.Lesser Features available in free trail had to upgrade to pro version for complete experience 2.Cost is a bit high as compared to other similar tools 3.More data sources support can be added

RN
AvatarImg

Riazuddin Nawaz M.

Biotechnology, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

JMP review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience is good

Pros

Jmp software is very easy to learn and very Intuitive. Some of the best features which I use and play around mostly are Graph builder, various statistical analysis support, SPC tools, PCA and PLS MVDA

Cons

Would have been good if they introduce more advance functionalities like Batch evolution models control chart in MVDA similar to the one's provided in SIMCA tool

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Research, self-employed

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Menu driven statistical software from the prestigous company of SAS

Reviewed 3 years ago

I like this software and have good experience in using it for statistical analysis. As I mentioned before I could recommend this software for industrial use but for academia, there are alternative options that are free or less expensive.

Pros

JMP provides the power of SAS-Stat in an easy menu-driven manner. It has four versions: JMP® Live, JMP® Pro, JMP® Clinical, and JMP® Genomics. The first two versions are for statistical modeling, the third is for pharmaceutical industries (facilitate hard works that previously need coding using SAS-Stat) and the last is for Genomics analysis. JMP live lets to collaborate using a web interface. JMP Pro is an advanced and easy-to-use statistical modeling software that supports novel high-dimensional statistical methods for example Functional Data Analysis which is not provided in other common menu-driven statistical software. Last but not least the JMP provides the advanced adaptive design of experiments which is needed in the optimization of products in industry.

Cons

JMP is expensive so I do not recommend it for academia but I highly recommend it for industrial use where getting fast and accurate result paly a role in the benefit of companies.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Biotechnology, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product for statisticians and non-statisiticians

Reviewed a year ago

It's a great software to use for new and experienced professionals in the manufacturing and biologics industry.

Pros

I like the functionality and ease of use for both statisticians and non-statisticians. There's point and click and scripting that you can use to make data visualizations, models, and more (such as simulations). I like that you can make your own templates with the use of the scripting language and modal windows for yourself and your clients to use.

Cons

The scripting language is not flexible as R; it is a lot like SAS with not much syntax overlap.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Siew Kheong W.

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

One of the most common statistical analysis software that I used frequently.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I am quite satisfy with JMP but if there is an option to choose which feature to be included in it which can help to reduce the price, the software will become more attractive and competitive compare with similar products.

Pros

It is user friendly and able to integrate to our company database which is quite convenience especially when I want to extract real time data to perform some statistical analysis.

Cons

The layout is sometimes a bit confusing to use if I compare with Minitab. Relatively speaking Minitab has layout and feature which is easier to access compare to JMP.

SF
AvatarImg

Shahna F.

Research, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easiest data analysis application

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

It's easy to use for data analysis and obtaining publishable visualization

Cons

For students, you don't understand what's happening behind the scenes

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Research, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best data analysis tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

Good software for novice learners to be excellent in analyzing data. Overall easy to use software

Pros

Can create quick addins to plot graphs in different formats. Scriptable to automate tasks. Options for analyzing the data using different algorithms and properly documented help files to understand the functionality of the algorithms.

Cons

Little expensive for individual user license. So having a data analyst career with only JMP software knowledge will not outside our Work organization

HC
AvatarImg

Hannah C.

Education Management, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Graph Builder function is amazing

Reviewed 3 years ago

My overall user experience in JMP is good because it provides an interactive Graph Builder function, and the graphs from JMP look better than Minitab.

Pros

The "Graph Builder" function in the "Graph" tab is one of my favorite functions in JMP. The user interface of Graph Builder is very intuitive. You can visually choose your Y-axis and X-axis, and you can also group X and Y data directly by dragging your data to the plot. Also, there are Map Shape, Frequency, and Wrap functions on the edges of the interface. At the same time, on the top of the user interface, you can easily switch plot types. This can help me find a proper visualization approach. Currently, I see 15 types of plots available in this Graph Builder, which are very useful in my daily work.

Cons

Comparing to Minitab, I feel it is a little more difficult to learn JMP. I hope JMP could prepare more training materials online. For example, in Minitab, in every functional interface, there is a "help button" that can connect me to Minitab's official website to learn this specific function by going through the examples provided by Minitab. I hope in the future, JMP could also consider this "Help" function.

GT
AvatarImg

Gary T.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very powerful but not intuitive

Reviewed 6 years ago

Very capable statistical analysis

Pros

JMP is an extremely powerful statistical subscription based software package. Every analysis that I have wanted to do is there, nothing is missing. They really listen to customer feedback and continuously improving be releasing new versions. You can install and run multiple versions if you like. The graphics looks professional, the calculations are fast, and the statistics are top notch. The makers...

Cons

It may be a little too powerful for some users. The menu structure is somewhat complex and the scripting language can be quite intimidating at first, but you can get around fine without scripting anything if you don't want to. It does take time to learn how to use it properly but once you get the hang of it, you'll accept no substitute.

PB
AvatarImg

Peter B.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

JMP did all that I needed it to do

Reviewed 5 years ago

For the statistical calculations that I was running JMP was more than adequate.

Pros

This was my go to software in university during my Biology degree. This software was relatively easy to learn as a total beginner and was able to easily handle all basic statistical operation that I required (t-tests, ANOVA, Chi-Square etc. etc.). The video training that is available on the JMP website was very useful to mastering the software. Also it is available for Apple and PC to I was able to use the same software on my personal laptop as in the Lab.

Cons

The software license is quite expensive. I was able to use it while I was working in the university lab setting, but since that point I could not afford to continue with JMP. JMP can also be a bit of a resource hog depending on the operation that you are asking it to complete. You will need to ensure that you have adequate RAM if you are working with larger data sets. If you are doing very advanced statistical work something like R might be a better bet.

IA
AvatarImg

Irfan A.

Biotechnology, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Highly recommended

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been using jmp for design and analysis of experiments. I have been using it for statistical process control. It's a very good and simpler statistical tool.

Pros

Custom design for DoE Predictive data analytics Generalized regression Functional data explorer

Cons

Data visualization could be improved. Batch evolution model could be brought into jmp for process control

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Biotechnology, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Saving time, saving money

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have solved a lot of business problems with JMP, from reliability studies of new instruments considered for business acquisition or partnership, for optimization of processes in bio-detection technologies, and chemical formulations for bio-assays. I can no longer imagine carrying out scientific investigation without the use of JMP Statistical Software. It has been a blessing to use it.

Pros

I have used JMP for all types of inquiry from popular statistical analysis such as T-Test, analysis of variance to more exciting and very informative design of experiments. The custom design is one of my favorites, the first "go-to". It has saved me a lot time, provided valuable information for the optimization of processes and chemical formulations.

Cons

Discrimination between the ordinary package and the Pro version, and the cost associated with the Pro version.

JF
AvatarImg

John F.

Biotechnology, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic statistical analysis tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

Highly recommend to taking the time to master JMP Statistical Software if there is a real interest in having the best statistical software for your personal or company use.

Pros

The capability to script and automate so many statistical approaches is a powerful tool that allows for users to really delve into repeated datasets. JMP can handle any size of a data set and does a great job in keeping all of your work organized. There are many functionalities that allow users to reorganize the data, customize the analysis of the data, and build really neat graphs to display the data.

Cons

The learning curve to using this software can be large. While scripting requires a different subset of knowledge, using the program takes a lot of practice and understanding of statistical approaches.

SP
AvatarImg

Sandeep P.

Semiconductors, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Feature-rich Statistical Analysis package

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I use JMP very frequenctly for DOE, Statistical Analysis, Process Capability Analysis, grapg building etc. Once you understand how to access different menus, it's very intuitive and easy to use. The best part is the sample library and help. The library and help menu pretty much cover all the topics. JMP experts are also very responsive on their websites on answering questions and providing custom scripts. DOE & Graph Builder platforms alone are worth the price. JMP is a leader in creating new DOE techniques and adding state of the art DOE methods to the library.

Cons

The software is loaded with features which new users can find confusing at first. Minitab is more user-friendly in that regard.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Need to improve many functions within the tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The tool has options for data visualization and reporting which is good

Cons

The tool is very slow it gets stuck a lot when coding and the visualisation part can be improved and can be made more easy to use adding drag and drop options

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback, we are always looking to improve! If you have specific feedback or examples where you've run into performance issues, or where you think we can add more drag and drop functionality, please share on our JMP Community Wish List at https://community.jmp.com/t5/JMP-Wish-List/idb-p/jmp-wish-list.

XL
AvatarImg

Xiang L.

Research, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Ease of use, but can be costly

Reviewed 4 years ago

It is a great tool for statistical analysis, and it is a mature software. I think their software instruction/help website can be more detailed though.

Pros

1. It's easy to use if you are just starting your statistical career 2. It can be powerful if you know how to code in it. 3. I can easily find most of the functions I need for my research.

Cons

1. The pro version has a lot more functions than the basic version but it is also costly. 2. It provides a lot of different statistical results after each modeling, however, it was not always clear what each one of them means in the instruction. 3. It was hard for me to adjust 3D graphs in JMP. They are not in high resolution nor pretty.

AD
AvatarImg

Angela D.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

JMP Statistical Software is must have in any laboratory environment.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Helps create quality control graphs, as well as calculate any and all data needed in our laboratory.

Pros

The ability to create charts and graphs, compare data, and easily calculate statistics that are pertinent to daily laboratory work, as well as clinical research.

Cons

Not easy to navigate when using for the first time. Need to figure things out or even be trained on how to use it.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Packaging and Containers, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect for sharing technical results with any audience

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The ability to quickly analyze multiple variables, create models and generate lovely graphics that tell a story for non-technical audiences is so valuable!

Cons

Some statistical techniques are so easy to use and then misinterpret, but that is an issue with most statistical software!

YC
AvatarImg

Yuan C.

Semiconductors, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

JMP user experience

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

JMP Live is a powerful tool when I need to share data and graphs with my colleagues. The graphs plotted by JMP look good compared to other similar software.

Cons

The user interface can be more friendly. Hope there will be free trail for beginners.

AF
AvatarImg

Adi F.

Semiconductors, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Recommended for data analytics and statistics

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

UI Functions Ease of use great for data analysis

Cons

As an excel fan, I needed to learn and get use to use this software, but when you do you can not replace it.

AG
AvatarImg

Abhinav G.

Semiconductors, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Better than most other statistical software out there

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have been using this software to trend and keep a tab on the process variables and this software has excellent GUI and thus I can get my data in any form for analysis. It can do calculations for the data entered which also helps a lot.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AG
AvatarImg

Abhinav G.

Semiconductors, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

JMP is always there for your data processing needs!!!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Overall my experience has been very good. I dont really know too many software out there which can do simultaneous data processing and making them into presentable dashboards.

Pros

I have used this software for more than 5 years now and I have found this to be awesome with large volume data handling. You can make the software spit out graphs, tables and whatever you want it to.

Cons

It is a bit less intuitive and you really need to know the exact commands. A bit of better GUI would have been more useful like one of those word processing softwares.