App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Amazon S3 Logo

Cloud storage service for developers and IT teams

(4)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Amazon S3 Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

1K

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.76/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

idrive
enigma-vault
zoho

Pros and cons

This software was very useful to store my files that can be accessable from anywhere in the world. It has brilliant security.
We love that its scalable and that the pricing is very friendly. The speeds are also very impressive.
I love using Amazon because it is very safe, practical and interesting in everything it promises.
If you click in the wrong button, your data might be exposed to everyone in the internet. There are several companies the suffered data breaches because of misconfigured s3 buckets.
The UI of the console is very bad. It has been updated recently but it still very rough.
There has been times that it is down causing issue with other software. Functionality can be frustrating at times.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


1,088 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Justin S.

DevOps Engineer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Your go-to resource for hosted object storage

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Justin S.: Hi, I'm Justin, dev ops engineer, and I give Amazon S3 five out of five. For more reviews...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Greg G.

Operations Fellow

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Storage & Static Websites for Cheap

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Greg G.: Hey, I'm Greg. I'm a front end software developer at a large software service provider, a SAS...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Parth P.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple Storage Service: Amazon S3

Reviewed 3 years ago

Amazon S3 is appropriate for facilitating any kind of item. Energetically suggested assuming previously utilizing with some other AWS administration since combination becomes simpler. It is useful for any association that has a committed IT Department. Not suggested in case the organization doesn't have a group with experience in AWS administrations that screens it since it could wind up being a wreck or costly.

Pros

Exceptionally accessible and repetitive; we don't stress over the assistance having vacation Basic utilization from various structures utilizing Amazon's SDKs, or roll your own An enormous number of container approaches and security changes in accordance with tailor use to client needs Solid reconciliation with the AWS biological system, particularly concerning access consents. It's astoundingly steady you can believe it'll remain on the web and accessible for anyplace on the planet. Its static site facilitating highlight is a secret jewel - it gives maybe the least expensive, generally steady, most high-performing static web facilitating accessible in PaaS.

Cons

The entire AWS environment has a great deal of confounding and unintuitive arrangement choices, and S3 is no special case. Fortunately it's entirely comprehensively utilized, to the point that you can dependably observe arrangements on outside destinations like StackOverflow. Getting IAM consents perfectly for Static Website facilitating require somewhat experimentation since S3 defaults to security rather than open access.

CS
AvatarImg

Chirag S.

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy data archiving and data governance

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use S3 for several things such as archiving unused data from fileserver, storing backups, storing logs and more. I love the storage classes offered by S3. We can store data in standard or save costs by storing it in Glacier automatically using easy-to-configure lifecycle management rules. Some of our database backups get stored in S3 in a write-once-read-many model and can't be removed until a certain date has reached. We also enjoy creating rules to move unused data in S3 to cheap Glacier storage. We also have been replicating S3 data to different regions and accounts for additional data safety.

Pros

The most impactful feature of S3 is its immutability. We can put expiration date on stored data and nobody can delete that until the expiration date has passed. That allows backup data to remain secure.

Cons

Amazon doesn't make a desktop client like FileZilla but specifically for S3. While there are desktop clients available, a product from Amazon would be appreciated by non-technical users.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Amazon S3 for Big data

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Amazon S3 is the best file system in the space that deals with Big Data. Amazon S3 is able to host big files in an elastic way without worry about out of space. Amazon S3 assigns user roles to each individual bucket. The administrator can define read and write access policies for the entire bucket.

Cons

The first issue in Amazon S3 is that it does not provide email notification to the users in case that a bucket or a sub-directory has been changed by adding/deleting files. Also, integrating S3 with SSO is really challenging. Regardless the fact that Amazon S3 deals with Big Data, the Amazon S3 client API has many problems when a file size is greater than 5GB. A lot of workarounds should be done to split big files into parts and merge them successfully.

LG
AvatarImg

Loiane G.

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

S3 is still the leader in cloud-based distributed storage

Reviewed 4 years ago

S3 has, truly, changed the world at least when it comes to distributed storage. To call an API, push data to it, and then forget about maintaining the datacenter that houses with is a concept none of us would have believed in the recent past but here we are with monumental amounts of businesses depending on S3 and succeeding with it. Amazon has aggressively developed and released features steadily...

Pros

Objects are globally available but can still be geographically "homed" to a specific region. At-rest encryption can be configured for storage of all objects in an S3 bucket. Cost savings can be achieved by selecting the desired storage class that matches the type of data you're storing. Object life-cycles can be configured that will automatically take certain actions on an object when it reaches a certain age. Object versioning in S3 prevents a lot of anxiety around object corruption in multi-user applications. Object attributes can be set through headers that can facilitate intelligent hosting natively through S3 or through CloudFront CDN hosting. Full-featured static websites can be hosted using S3 and CloudFront.

Cons

Presumably due to the number of press pieces on corporations having data compromised from S3 buckets due to their own negligence, Amazon has invested a lot into preventing unwanted public access to S3 buckets. These extra layers can be a bit cumbersome to those of us who "got it" from the beginning and already know how to secure and S3 bucket.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Logistics and Supply Chain, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Reliable cloud object storage

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, we're able to store our datasets reliably and inexpensively thanks to S3.

Pros

I like that S3 is a cost-effective storage solution. We're able to store large datasets reliably at a reasonable price.

Cons

Scaling usage of S3 for a larger team which aren't necessarily devs is quite challenging. Managing many users in AWS in general is a fragmented workflow.

RR
AvatarImg

Robert R.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software for some businesses

Reviewed 3 years ago

Amazon S3 helps us share important video files with clients directly as well as through embedding. It's great that we have 100% control over what people can view and what they can do with the file. Streaming speed is good, buffering issues being an exception rather than the norm. Overall it's a great product to use if you have video courses for example.

Pros

I like the fact that after the initial setup, the day to day usage of the product is easy. The software adapts to the IP you are uploading from to optimize the speed of the process. Rest of steps needed to be done to an uploaded file are processed at great speeds and no time is wasted using this tool.

Cons

I dislike the fact that if you need assistance and you don't have a high tier package, you are left with a forum that is not that helpful nor fast in resolving the issue. Some processes that you have to set up are complex and sometimes their FAQ or Knowledge Book does not contain the entire picture needed to understand how to set up a particular feature if you happen to need a feature that is not in popular demand.

FA
AvatarImg

Felicia Ann K.

Higher Education, self-employed

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Amazon AWS

Reviewed 5 years ago

Okay .. it is worth the price. I would seriously paid double the cost for this product it offers so many tools and more. Between AWS and azure . I could never decide ... Both very useful products for anyone who wants to setup their own server.

Pros

How much tools you have at hand to be able to make and create designs and programs. Totally worth the cost

Cons

I setup a secret code on my account that failed to login to access my account and still have had no support to fix this issue.

sN
AvatarImg

shana N.

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Amazons S3

Reviewed 4 years ago

It was easy to set up, but it was rather hard to debugg. Make sure you are aware of the configurations anf limitations before you star setting up because fixing things later on can be dificult.

Pros

Its very easy to set up and it merges well with a wide variety of AWS and third party solutions. Plus it has a very good price

Cons

S3s functionalities can be somewhat slow and limited. You are bound by a 300 items when looking through them, and the seatch function is also very limited. Lets Say I have automaticaly created 1000 reports and the naming convention for my reports al star the same, if I want to too look at the last 300 files, ill probably have to skip 2 screens until I reach the last one. If this happens with 10000, its gona be a pain. Also, using the search bar can take quite a while if there are more than 100.000 items in that bucket. I'd like it if there were a more advance search function or more filters when going through an S3 bucket.

GC
AvatarImg

Grant C.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Review Needs a Title?

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Primarily, I like that it is in the AWS ecosystem and therefore allows me to integrate very seamlessly with the other AWS services I'm already using.

Cons

I'd love to be able to see previews of image files while in the S3 UI.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Scalable - Easy to Use Dashboard - Automated and Simple Process Storage Solution

Reviewed 2 years ago

So Far, great as it is highly available and productive and we currently using our solution weekly checks. Like the automated reporting capability and dashboards.

Pros

Easy to use, simple and flexible in the type of disks you can choose from. Also the cost is transparent

Cons

Need to know and learn a bit about some of the options. Hence required a bit of training more than the average application.

JK
AvatarImg

Jaydeep K.

Human Resources, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazon S3

Reviewed a year ago

Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service) has consistently proven to be a reliable and versatile option. This cloud-based storage service offers a wide range of features that cater to different data management needs, ensuring high data availability and performance. Amazon S3 is designed to handle the ever-growing demands of today's data-driven world. Its storage architecture is built to scale, allowing users to store and retrieve any data anytime. This flexibility is crucial for systems engineers, enabling us to adapt to changing requirements and accommodate various data types. Amazon S3 offers a comprehensive suite of data management tools that simplify organizing, securing, and analyzing your data.

Pros

Amazon S3 is just one part of the wider Amazon Web Services (AWS). This infrastructure as a service (IaaS) platform is a one-stop shop for all your IT requirements. AWS provides over 70 services including analytics, networking, mobile, database, and more. Tools and features you can take advantage of include versioning, which allows you to roll back to previous versions of a file or recover deleted...

Cons

Unfortunately, one of the main disadvantages of Amazon S3 is that AWS limits resources by location, so some areas may have fewer resources than others. It can also be challenging to find out how many resources you've used, although you can request a resource increase if needed.If you store your data on your MacBook but are considering moving your data to the cloud, it’s normal to be worried about common...

BP
AvatarImg

Binujaya P.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazon S3 – The best collecting information platform

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, Amazon S3 is amazing software if you are looking to input a large amount of data in storage and be perfectly secure that your files won’t be used anywhere or by any chance deleted by mistake. The software was tested and there are a lot of satisfied customers that are using Amazon S3. Plus it’s not that expensive to use. Everyone can afford it.

Pros

Amazon S3 is an amazing software tool that provides data storing and keeps the data intact. You can input a lot of data into Amazon S3 without any problem. You can add everything starting from some spreadsheets, pdf, and finishing with some large size images and videos. The data will be one hundred percent safe and no one can ever use it except you. This is a very reliable and inexpensive tool to use. This is the main reason why I like this software. Because of the security settings that they have and a large amount of data than you can enter without any restrictions.

Cons

The one disadvantage that Amazon S3 has it’s the interface. It works very slow and sometimes if you are uploading a bigger amount of files that might take a while. Also, some settings like CLI are a bit complicated to use. One more thing that I dislike is that there is no way to rename a folder in Amazon S3. You will need to copy all of the files and then paste them into a new folder that you will have to make and then delete the old folder. It’s just a waste of time doing all this when you can simply rename the folder, but you have to do it.

MS
AvatarImg

Maha S.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Amazon S3: A Needed Object-Oriented Storage Platform for the AWS Cloud

Reviewed 10 months ago

Great experience testing the S3 storage capabilities and features. High compatibility with OOP constructs.

Pros

I really like the free-tier offer by Amazon which provides a 12-months free S3 storage with a capacity of 5 GB and over 20000 access requests. This is really generous and allows a developer to test the full AWS features mainly the interaction between the VM processing in EC2 and the storage in S3 to stand on the actual performance and throughput of different application classes. I used Amazon S3 in testing the storage of sensor data from a test-bed home automation application. The object-oriented bucket architecture in S3 made it very easy to store sensor data using probabilistic sketching data structures such as Bloom filters and Quotient filters. Very efficient even with large data streams which gives an indication on the sophisticated algorithms supporting the S3 storage architecture.

Cons

No major drawback in S3. Would definitely be happy to see more free-tier support especially for educational purposes.

AK
AvatarImg

Ankush K.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

S3 cloud storage review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall S3 is economic and reliable cloud storage which I'm using everyday. Introducing some more features like mentioned in Cons above could make it outstanding and it would be a win win over other products.

Pros

- It's fast and probably has cheap options available for you based on your need, like if you just want cloud storage but with less feature you can chose accordingly (Glacier or S3 bucket). - aws cli client/commands are really helpful which makes life easy and fast to list/analyze objects recursively. - you can easily set permissions to your buckets/prefixes/paths using cloud formation templates which is great to grant specific user specific permissions. - easy to set up versioning/auto deletion policies on your data so you don't have to worry about storage cost.

Cons

- The UI is not as helpful as it needed to be sometime. like the filtering/listing of object within your S3 bucket is sometimes weird, it only shows 300 objects per page and you can't control them to list more or less. - you can only visualize an object/file within the UI using sql if it's < 128 MB. If it exceeds 128MB there is no way to visualize this object within the UI and you've to create external table to visualize it or you download it local.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Abhishek P.

Computer Networking, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

AWS Bucket a solution for everything

Reviewed 2 years ago

We can use s3 so that we don't have to rent out a server only for hosting a static website which obviously costs us more. Anyone should first do some R&D on it because there are various types of buckets that can help them.

Pros

its best feature is that by storing our static website we can host it with the help of it. Not only that we can host the frontend and connect it with AWS lambda for backend purposes which helps in the reduction of the cost.If you want to host the site use it as it provides security by using the IAM bucket policy defined by us.

Cons

Its cons are that the AWS charges for not only storage but as well as the fee for data transfer outside the was environment which increases the cost. AWS UI lacks sometimes as when we delete or create something it shows a banner below the header not in the notification bell-like Azure.

SF
AvatarImg

Scott F.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Top Cloud Tech Company

Reviewed 5 years ago

I needed a cheap alternative to storing my ever-growing data sets in-house, and also needed to expand my web server storage for backups and daily file usage. Amazon S3 allowed me to do all of that, and more, saving me hundreds of dollars per month in the process. Integrating S3 into my websites was simple itself because the protocols were already built into CPanel and the web apps I use, so it was just a matter of setting up S3 and then activating! Configuring the finer details and security was a bit trickier, but for the cost savings, I'll deal!

Pros

I don't believe I have found a single thing that the S3 platform CANNOT do when it comes to cloud storage. I needed a cheaper alternative for both long and short term data storage, and S3 delivers with it costing PENNIES PER GB to store files online. I love how configurable the storage platforms are, and how you can loosen and tighten security at will to allow exactly what you want, and nothing you do not.

Cons

Like most cloud tech, setting up S3 isn't for the faint of heart. I really wish these guys would build a wizard that would help folks who just need one of a few simple setup options rather than jumping through a hundred sections.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Krishna C.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

S3 - Low cost cloud storage and best for static content

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use S3 with Athena to parse data we receive from our customers. Using S3 and Athena, we were able to build a model which can automatically populate a set of tables from the CSV files.

Pros

Simple idea, so easy that any one who uses a PC can easily understand the buckets, navigation, sharing of content. Behind the scenes there will seamless redundancy, 99.9999999% availability and so on. Best of all it is not expensive

Cons

Literally nothing. The cost is cheap and we cannot complain about that. Ideal for static website content where you dont even have to spin up an Application server.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bruno A.

Industrial Automation, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best cloud data storage service.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Now we are organizing all our data and documents in Amazon S3, to facilitate its location and quick access. Its benefits that it offers us are stability when uploading our documents, speed, security.

Pros

This service helped us a lot in the company, since we can access our data and documents quickly from anywhere we are. This service offers us a lot of security, confidence and, above all, performance to upload and download our data. The service is very easy to use, it has a very simple interface that makes it easy to learn quickly. Its integration in the company has been very easy since now we can upload our documents and show them to our clients quickly and easily.

Cons

This service is very good, at the moment we are doing it excellently and it is helping us with our data and documents. The product is easy to use, since our collaborators have learned to use it in a single training. Its integration was easy to be able to develop our commercial activities.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jesica B.

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazon S3 is the great software for storing the data.

Reviewed 5 years ago

The best thing about the Amazon S3 is that it really helps in our business. It provide the best option to store and receive the files and documents in a simply manner. This software is so easy to use and learn for the new users. It is also great for the security purposes, so it provide the complete security all of our important files. Hence, it is the best cost-effective storage software.

Pros

The great advantage that the Amazon software provide us is that it is so easy to use and it is the well integrated tool. By using this software is that we can stored the data, documents and files in a more efficient way. The great advantage of this software is that it is the more stable software rather then its other competitors software. It is really very good software for handling the large amount of data and documents in a perfectly manner.

Cons

Amazon S3 software is so expensive and small size business companies cannot afford this efficient software. This storage software is not more usable and it just because of its high price. Moreover customer support is so poor. But I really must say that Amazon is an incredible software for the storage and organize the any hind of files in a more efficient way.

GR
AvatarImg

Gajendra R.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

S3Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am very happy with this this solve many of our client problem specially the archive backup and it’s give us a lot of saving.

Pros

It’s provide practically unlimited storage and very fast and access from anywhere any time. It support bulk upload and each object have its unique address.

Cons

The only limitation is this can not be used as a block storage and it do not support formatting and can used for object purpose.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sanchita A.

Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazon S3 - Amazing Simple Storage Service

Reviewed 6 years ago

Amazon S3 service is helping us in expending object storage on the go. It's helping us to save the money as Amazon S3 is very cost efficient. With the help of this we are also provide the security level that our customer need at the time joining or working with us.

Pros

Amazon S3 is a Simple Storage Service by Amazon Web Services to store the objects. Best thing in it is that it is highly scalable and no latency (except Glacier). It's extremely low cost service. You don't have to worry about security, durability and flexibility once you jump to Amazon S3 service. Best part in it that you don't have to end-up buying your own hardware storage space which need professional IT support. In Amazon S3 we should be paying for that service only that you are using it.

Cons

As it's a object storage space you can not install the OS or some dynamic site on it. managing the firewall is also a challenging part. We can not handle the file system of Amazom S3 service. You should be intelligent enough while selecting the S3 options or you should be getting extra load in your billing dashboard.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ramindu D.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

S3 is where the Internet stores its stuff

Reviewed 5 years ago

Amazon S3 has proven to be the best tool to use when storing application-related artifacts, with great programmatic integration through its powerful SDKs.

Pros

S3 has become the go-to standard for online artifact storage. It provides a great deal of options, from simply storing and receiving files, to hosting websites to programmatically maintaining application storage. Through effective and highly advanced security policies, S3 allows you to ensure no one else gets access to your data. The amazing integrations with different programming languages and frameworks via client SDKs allows programmatic integration with practically any software application that you may build.

Cons

The various options and configuration settings associated with setting up a simple S3 bucket can sometimes be overwhelming, and it may be hard to find the best fit for each situation unless you're an AWS expert.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Utkarsh S.

Public Policy, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

S3 - Simple, straightforward and superb

Reviewed 5 years ago

My experience with S3 has been really good apart from the bucket deletion and name problem. I would really suggest developers to give s3 a try but keep in mind the configuration. Its easy to expose all files to others.

Pros

S3 screams simplicity, be it the Web UI or the AWS api/cli usage. Some of the pros include: 1) Support for versioning of files stored 2) Static website hosting 3) A convenient data store for super cheap 4) Good amount of security and encryption options available

Cons

Deleting and creating buckets with same names takes pretty long time, which means that you have to change the dependent services. I am not really sure why this is the case but this is pretty annoying. Amazon hit a bit of a speedbump with S3 when the bucket sort of leaked files, but I think that was more of misconfiguration on users' end. Over time amazon has started to show the yellow 'public' label which should alert the users.

AP
AvatarImg

Anna P.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for hosting websites and images

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is easy to upload photos to be able to use the url in applications and other projects.

Cons

Set up and pre-requisites can be a little burdensome. However, enough individuals use this tool that you can easily find a solution by googling.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Government Administration, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Easy and Simple Configurable Cloud Storage

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use AWS S3 for hosting the Statics websites of different departments as well as storing the software and documents.

Pros

First thing I like the most is S3 is very simple to configure and use. It is very highly secure, reliable, durability at a highly cost-effective price than other competitors. It is very easy to set up static websites and has faster load times. You can share your documents with just a single click.

Cons

Copying the files onto the server is little confusing as we need to install the command-line software (aws cli) to access the files on S3.