App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Docmosis Reviews

Overall rating

5.0

/5

28

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.46/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

jotform-4-0

Pros and cons

Was cheap to purchase, and super fast with local servers around the globe. Was incredibly easy for us to integrate into our SaaS solution as the API is simple but VERY comprehensive.
The web console interface made it easy to test template designs and layouts with various JSON payloads. Docmosis support is responsive and you get good technical help.
Docmosis allows us to programmatically generate documents exactly how we want them. We love the fact that we don't have to compromise on what the end documents look like.
I also recall a situation when we received a signal from Docmosis that there may be something wrong on our end as they've started to receive noticeable amount of errors.
One stop shop for document generation using any platform.
We've been using it for about two years and not found anything we don't like.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


28 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Steve S.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Docmosis - You WON'T need any other document template producer - Its brilliant

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Was cheap to purchase, and super fast with local servers around the globe.Was incredibly easy for us to integrate into our SaaS solution as the API is simple but VERY comprehensive.The nested embedding of tables in templates is a HUGE benefit as the conditional statement ability for including or excluding template portions.It has saved us THOUSANDS of dollars and dropped our rendering speeds from 30 secs to around 3 to 6 seconds.

Cons

There are no cons.The product is the best we could find and we looked and tried over 5 others.

RB
AvatarImg

Robert B.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Template flexibility at your fingertips

Reviewed a year ago

My clients require customized, professional documents and reports for their business needs. With Docmosis I've been able to provide them with a fully customizable experience, delivering to them documents better than what they had expected was even possible. Honestly, I think the only way I could get a more flexible document is to write custom PDF scripts myself. Docmosis makes rapid development of templates possible, and gives you the power to create exactly what you're looking for every time!

Pros

The scripting language in Docmosis is simple, yet powerful. It is easy for me to send all of the data I need and have it displayed exactly where and how I need it. Being able to utilize Word Documents as the source gives me the power to paginate documents effectively, while still being able to conditionally show or hide certain pages where necessary. Other services I've used have limitations, such as building block templates, which can lock you into their specific style choices or force you to display information in a way that might not fit exactly what you're going for. With Docmosis, it's your template, and it's your design.

Cons

Honestly it's hard to pick anything I dislike about Docmosis! If there was anything problematic, it's that on rare occasions a template does not render exactly as I would expect, causing issues within the document I receive.

VV
AvatarImg

Vinod V.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Docmosis cloud is an easy way to generate PDFs via REST API. Great Support!

Reviewed 4 years ago

We are using Docmosis cloud service as part of our cloud offerings to generate secure, trustworthy and easily verifiable documents. We do this by adding a secure QR code generated and placed in the PDF. The relevant and key information of the document is secured within the QR code with a private key. Users can easily verify the authenticity of the information via an app , browser and other means which...

Pros

Docmosis provides an easy way to generate PDFs using templates and with data sent via REST APis. The templating system allows for complex logic to be embedded in MS Word or Libre Open Office files. The documentation is comprehensive and is easy to get started. The ability to have nested tables with iterative logic made it powerful to generate tables from variable arrays of data. The web console interface made it easy to test template designs and layouts with various JSON payloads. Docmosis support is responsive and you get good technical help. They were able to suggest ideas on the template logic to achieve our PDF generation goals.

Cons

There were limitations in the availability of fonts in Version 2 of Docmosis Cloud. That has now been addressed in Version 3. The rendering engine in Version 3 has been upgraded to support backgrounds and even international languages!

MS
AvatarImg

Matt S.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and intuitive software that we had working in minutes

Reviewed 3 years ago

We initially looked into this kind of software for being able to easily produce consistent proposals from ours sales department. As a programmer, I had issues on our back end with how our records were being printed (Quotes, Sales Orders, Purchase Orders, etc.). Docmosis solved both of these issues and in a hurry.

Pros

The templates being designed in Word were extremely easy and quick to get working. I have things like conditional line items in tables and all sorts of fun stuff, and I got the harder stuff working first try. The API was great - I had it working from my front end React app and also Zoho Creator back end pretty much immediately as well. I can't say much beyond that... super easy templates that you can customize to your heart's desire and very quick implementation within code.

Cons

We have a marketing guy who asked about using an Adobe software to make a more flashy template, and I don't think that would work since docmosis works off of plaintext keys. The Adobe software produced a file extension that was converted into a format that was kind of like CSS/HTML. I personally could care less about that since we don't need our Quotes and Purchase Orders to look THAT good. I'm perfectly happy with just using Word and keeping it easy and simple.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review of Docmosis

Reviewed 4 years ago

We've had a very good experience. Here are a few examples of how we resolved some of our challenges related to speed and infrastructure setup with help from the Docmosis team: 1. We were using docker very early on, so they were very cooperative in helping us get our infrastructure working during the early evaluation phases, and went above and beyond to help with some of our template processing efforts. 2. When we were looking to improve the processing speed due to our complex large number of dynamically inserted templates, Docmosis was helpful with ideas. We were able to improve speed quite significantly with Docmosis' help by managing some dynamic aspects of our templates and including them inline vs. having them loaded dynamically.

Pros

Excellent support and response to update and provide resolutions to complex scenarios that we have to handle. Docmosis is a very flexible solution that has many features of which we are using a subset, but are very happy with the ability to handle various formatting and bullet scenarios that are quite complex with conditional lists, bullets.

Cons

Due to our use of multiple layers of nesting of our templates, which optimizes our component based templates, and due to our large document sizes, the speed at which our documents render could become costly for our infrastructure. This may be a common scenario no matter which document generation tool were used, so could be just an inherent situation based on large multi-nested template architecture in general that we use.

FL
AvatarImg

Frank L.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Product and extends Netsuite's Capabilities for PDF Files.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Docmosis does provide great customer support and they give you guidance in all aspects. They do truly care about their product and help customers.

Pros

We utilize Docmosis to render complicated PDF files. We tend to utilize this product due to functionality and the ability to render templates for numerous subsidiaries around the world. Once setting up the ability to upload templates and customizing the needs becomes simple. Docmosis has an Open library so we can customize it to our needs as some applications are locked down within Netsuite. Docmosis gives you the ability to customize however you see fit. Uploading to Docmosis is also fairly simple aswell

Cons

It's a fairly new product to me so It took a bit of a learning curve just like any other product but customer support does help assist you through out out the process.

DB
AvatarImg

David B.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Intuitive and extensible document generation with excellent documentation and support

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Integrating the Java API into our SaaS offering was simple, and allows us to provide a robust and flexible document generation capability whilst remaining very cost-effective. The templating API is extensible via custom functions, and both the integration guide and the templating guide are excellent resources that are routinely updated to include new functionality as it is released. Docmosis support was responsive and very helpful on the few occasions when template authors had difficulty with specific formatting issues.

Cons

There have really been no issues with Docmosis in our project. The main technical challenge we have is ensuring that the version of OpenOffice used in production matches that of the version used by template authors, which is really not a Docmosis problem.

CL
AvatarImg

Colin L.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Flexible and easy to use

Reviewed 4 years ago

We need to create pdfs, generated from a combination of text and custom images and multiple pages, some of which are repeated. We had a proof of concept up an running in a morning and were fully integrated ahead of our time estimates. Since deployment we have had no issues, the services just works! Docmosis replaced a in house solution and at the time of implementation we had a choice of reworking our in house solution or using a third party solution, Docmosis was the best of the available options.

Pros

Easy cross platform implementation, no complicated templating system, just word documents.

Cons

Nothing to not like, it works exactly as you would expect, the documentation is only needed for syntax and everything is intuitive.

PR
AvatarImg

Pablo R.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Too good

Reviewed 9 years ago

Docmosis makes it terribly simple to generate PDFs, HTML, DOC, ODT or text files. It is like JasperReports but instead of having to use iReport, you can use LibreOffice to generate the template forms and customers can tweak the templates themselves with LibreOffice (or word, if they are still in the better pay than open source mindset). Generating templates is just the fastest thing in the world,...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ole Christian B.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

High quality and quick deploy

Reviewed a year ago

We have been able to deliver customer value for reporting quickly and in an efficient and user friendly way.

Pros

Our developers got started really quick with the implementation of Docmosis and made us keep up the speed in our projects. Our developers enjoyed the fact that this product could help us deliver customer value quickly.

Cons

None specific aspects of Docmosis that we think is mentionable.

DN
AvatarImg

Deniz N.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Document-Generation Software and Customer support

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The document generation process can be set up extremely simple and dynamic with Docmosis. Many functions are provided within the templates. The Java implementation is very simple and all functions from data insertion up to the converter work optimally together. The support team was always able to offer us an alternative solution for more difficult topics and supported us effectively.

Cons

Due to our complex structures, the amount of data is very large. A lot of HTML texts and images are inserted, so the rendering process takes a little longer, but this is probably the case with any other template engine. Docmosis is always working on optimizations for such special cases like ours. For the future, it would be nice to be able to work with a template designer or perhaps a plugin implementation in office software, which could possibly provide suggestions/solutions for template creation.

RM
AvatarImg

Ron M.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product and Even Better Support

Reviewed 3 years ago

Docmosis is a great product but their support is simply amazing. We recently had an issue with integrating Docmosis to a Google AppSheet application. To fix our issue, the Docmosis support staff built an enhancement into core Docmosis and had it deployed in less than 10 days. This is one of the very best examples of a software company’s support team going above and beyond that I’ve seen in over 20 years in the software industry.

Pros

We've been using Docmosis for over three years and it is a great product for many reasons. I really like the fact that the document templates utilize Word and can be set up by business people that are not software programmers. Docmosis allows us to programmatically generate documents exactly how we want them. We love the fact that we don't have to compromise on what the end documents look like.

Cons

Nothing stands out as something I don't like about Docmosis.

MR
AvatarImg

Marc R.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Docmosis is a sensational product we couldn't do without

Reviewed a year ago

The speed & ease of document generation has enabled our users to make significant productivity improvements while delivering high-quality professional documents.

Pros

The professionalism & quality of document generation

Cons

There are some features that are intended for use by developers & although technically minded some features can be a little tricky to use. Rest assured the support the Docmosis team have provided us is nothing short of brilliant, super responsive & they have always been able to help.

JK
AvatarImg

Josh K.

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Docmosis is sophisticated and cost-effective software that can generate pretty much any document.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

We were building an online legal document generation platform which could be used by small businesses to create the Terms and Conditions, and Privacy Policies for their websites. To do this, we needed a document assembly engine which would take the responses from an online questionnaire form and create documents in either Word or PDF format. The real challenge was finding a document assembly engine...

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JM
AvatarImg

Jesper M.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Intuitive template design and stellar support

Reviewed 8 months ago

All in all we are very happy with the product and their support.

Pros

- As the templates are built on well-known products (Libre Office Writer and Microsoft Word) even users with little to no programming skills can design them. - The support department has been incredibly helpful. For example: our use case required us to adjust the compression percentage of images in the PDFs that was generated. This was initially not an option in Docmosis, but after describing our need the Docmosis team had a new release ready with the necessary option within a short time. - The PDF generation speed is, in our opinion, very good and more than good enough for our use cases

Cons

- Unfortunately, there is no PDF generation method available to include/merge multiple templates while maintaining the header and footer of the sub-templates, as well as updating the table of contents and page numbers. - The Docmosis Tornado admin portal is a bit outdated

LS
AvatarImg

Larry S.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An excellent product with a strong support culture and ongoing development investment

Reviewed a year ago

I have used Docmosis in 2 companies that I co-founded (a legal tech platform and a compliance automation platform) and in both cases it has performed excellently.

Pros

Docmosis is easy to configure and use, and has proven very reliable. Its cloud infrastructure is excellent and their support team are highly responsive.

Cons

It would be helpful to have a wider range of options where generated documents can be stored / exported to.

PD
AvatarImg

Paul D.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Docmosis - a great product and company to work with.

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Great features, fantastic support and sensible pricing models. It's been a really positive experience all round.

Cons

We've been using it for about two years and not found anything we don't like.

PS
AvatarImg

Priyanka S.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great document generation software

Reviewed 4 years ago

we are using Docmosis cloud service in our custom application to generate pathalogy reports for past 6 years. The requirement was to generate detailed reports to display the results from internal testing of the diagnostic products. The reports have multiple tables and layouts and we were able to accomodate all the requirements in Docmosis template and generate PDF report. With the Docmisis template based approach we were able to generate multiple reports very quickly.

Pros

ability to create complex templates with different types of tables and components flexibility in report designs ability to use Microsoft Word to create the report templates and to lay tables out in the way they will appear in the finished documents Easy API integration for rendering of repots

Cons

we found docmosis features adequate enough for our report generation needs.

MB
AvatarImg

Michael B.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent support!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We've been using this service for over a year and it's a joy to use. The few times that we've had a question, we've had incredibly quick responses from friendly staff who are always happy to help - special thanks to Verona! I'd recommend this service to anyone. For us, using a solution like Docmosis is much more attractive than spending weeks/months building our own service and then having to maintain it.

Cons

We haven't found any missing features as yet

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic tool for document generation

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The document generation process is very flexible yet robust. The possibilities are pretty much endless. With the cloud option you do not need any internal server structure and you can start small while still obeying GDPR standards. With MS Word or libre office you can use standard word generators for templating.

Cons

Although there are many help docs the variety of possibilities can be a bit overwhelming at first. While the templating is not hard to understand it could be made easier by having a small UI in Word at least for the most common commands. That would make the barrier of entry smaller.

SP
AvatarImg

Sanjeev P.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Perfect for our use case and a really simple setup

Reviewed 4 years ago

Loved it! Perfect fit and easy to get started!

Pros

It was really easy to get set up and the documentation was clear enough to get started right off the bat. It fit our business use case perfectly and was priced much lower compared to alternatives we were looking at.

Cons

Nothing really! The product works as expected. It would be nice to have some sort of logging so we could monitor specific requests.

AL
AvatarImg

Annemarie L.

Professional Training & Coaching, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Review from Sensory Intelligence Consulting

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It escalated our online product to a beautifully, well presented and easy to comprehend tool.

Cons

Nothing has been difficult. It integrated easily into our current system, my developers found it easy and the support has been great.

Md
AvatarImg

Mark d.

Building Materials, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great and easy way to create and maintain document templates.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

When you get the hang of it, it is easy to use. It connects great with our Mendix environment.

Cons

Nothing to tell hear for now. We are still learning about how we can make great templates.

KG
AvatarImg

Kacper G.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Recipe for successful & problematic integrtion

Reviewed 8 years ago

2 years have passed since we integrated with the Docmosis service as our document templating, converting and rendering engine and those were very successful years. No problems during integration phase and no major issues later on make me say it was one of the easiest integrations we made so far. One only thing is better than a quality of Docmosis services: quality of customer support. I must admit...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AD
AvatarImg

Atul D.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One stop shop for document generation using any platform

Reviewed 3 years ago

So far so good for us.

Pros

It is very easy to configure the system. User can easily update template and have letters changes instantly. We have also been able to put lot of conditional texts and been able to create common pages as sub-reports on the letter template with the help of Docmosis's knowledge base.

Cons

including more informative articles with examples would be very helpful for beginners. It would be nice if DocMosis can offer print and ship services also (similar to Quadient).