XWiki Reviews

XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

4.71/5 (24 reviews)

Charles Attlee

Flexible and reliable solution for knowledge and document management ... and more

Reviewed 2016-03-14
Review Source: Capterra

We were delighted to find XWiki several years ago and the hosted solution has provided a flexible, reliable and cost effective solution for our group's knowledge and document management needs for over five years. Key has been the ability to mix unstructured and structured data - and the ability to access the structured data quickly through LIVETABLES - 100s and 1,000s of records can be filtered and sorted with no delays. The security features mean we've been able to set up wikis for different parts of the group and control access levels properly. The platform is accessible enough for those with some amateur coding ability - but the XWiki team has always been there to support and refine our attempts in a professional way. More recently we retained XWiki to develop a tailored Document Management system using the Collaboration Suite. We are really pleased with the results - and the fact that the project was delivered on time and on budget. Over the life of our use the cost will be far better than purchasing other document management systems - and we have a system that fits our specific requirements. All of this is achieved on a variety of browsers without any material internal IS requirements or costs. We look forward to continuing our collaboration for many years.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Marc Lijour, OCT, BSc, MBA

The smart way to deal with text and data

Reviewed 2016-03-11
Review Source: GetApp

There are a lot of software out there to store documents, deal with live text, revisions, and collaboration... but most are just another bucket where information goes to die. XWiki is the programmable information management platform. As a platform, you can expand it with functions that make sense to input, link, display, report, and pretty much everything you need to do with your information to achieve your business outcomes. Plus, you don't need to be a hardcore programmer to get to use it efficiently.

Pros
Sits on top of a top-notch Java stack, ORM, with REST APIs, so you can virtually do anything from using it as a simple Wiki to using it as a back-end to a mobile app. The documentation and the core API is solid.

Cons
Not the Ruby on Rails approach, but why reinventing the wheel every time anyway?

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Angelo Cammalleri

Nice and stylish wiki for your org

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-01-04
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
We set up xwiki for a private project and really enjoyed using it. It has a sleek interface and offers everything you might ask from a wiki system.

Cons
We had a problem with arabic letters. But in the end the support was very helpful and everything got sorted out!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Patrick Masson

Quick, easy, great features and open source - everyone is happy!

Reviewed 2016-03-10
Review Source: Capterra

Quick: implementation was fast and direct, from the technical set up, to our content migration, and user training. Our organization transitioned from using three different wikis to just XWiki with no problems. Easy: The user interface, workflows, hierarchies, tools, etc. are straight-forward, intuitive and allows new users, as well as those coming to XWiki from other platforms (even non-wikis), to find their way and begin contributing. Great features: Simply put there are no features that we need that are not included. Open source: Most importantly for us, XWiki is open source allowing for a quicker pace of development, greater stability, broader features, etc. In addition, with the active XWiki community we can easily find peers to ask questions/find answers (in addition to the great support provided by XWiki.com). Everyone is happy: Our organization engages with a diverse community of technology experts from around the world and across industries--everyone has an opinion, and a favorite. I'm very happy that everyone is happy.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Anonymous

XWiki experience

Reviewed 2016-03-14
Review Source: GetApp

Using XWiki solution allows us (marketing department of a retail company) to communicate quickly and efficiently with our sales managers despite geographical distance. They have access to every information they need in real time ! It makes it easier for them to manage their shop daily and they can diffuse knowledge to their team really quickly.

Pros
User friendly, easy to handle Improve communication and knowledge sharing

Cons
Make sure that your internal network is adapted in order to make the best of the solution.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Thierry Prigent

Intranet

Reviewed 2016-03-18
Review Source: GetApp

We use this software as intranet to share information. Animate our franchise network . and we use it for sharing and preparation of commercial operations. 250 Point of Sales / 150 Franchisees

Pros
The customer support is responsive and easy to use and fast training

Cons
The software evolves regularly , new features are available

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Clémence FIGENWALD

Good solution for companies

Reviewed 2016-02-15
Review Source: Capterra

This system is easy to use and its interface is agreeable. Document management is easy to organize. The mailing list allows to connect each internal and external person of the enterprise. We also use dedicated spaces to talk about specific subjects. The tool encourage employees to communicate better with each other and stimulates the collaboration in the company. We wish to improve the communication between employees and encourage people to share information. The knowledge of each employee is now classified by subject and tidy. Each person with a question may look on the tool if the answer is there. The gain in time is very important. I strongly recommend this tool

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Christophe Trefois

Fantastic wiki for medium sized organizations

Reviewed 2016-02-14
Review Source: Capterra

We are using the Wiki after being disappointed with other open source wikis. Especially, the abilities to insert Markdown posts, link to LDAP, and fine grained ACL were one of the major reasons to switch to xWiki. We love the Nested spaces introduced in 7.3, and have since upgraded to all major release upgrades. The Cons were mostly a rather lengthy setup phase (couple months) to really understand all the Catalina / Tomcat performance options and to have a smoothly running instance. However, all in all we are really satisfied, and the Support on IRC is quite casual and very reactive. We never have to wait too long to receive an answer.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Doug Maynard

Very Powerful and Versatile Collaboration Software

Reviewed 2016-03-10
Review Source: Capterra

XWiki is an extremely powerful tool that is easy to use right out of the box. It is extremely versatile but does require a fair bit of programming/scripting knowledge to get the most out of it. The 'out of the box' configuration will work well for many small organizations. The permission controls are extremely versatile and secure, providing for public, private, individual or group permissions of all content at a very granular level. The XWiki.com SAS model for hosting and support is the perfect companion to the open source software. Service is prompt, and support staff have always been very knowledgeable.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Anonymous

A collaboration app for all kind of teams

Reviewed 2016-03-11
Review Source: GetApp

I'm working mainly in outsourcing in an international company. We have a lot of member interactions and I was thinking of using the application for our activities. I was happy to see that you can get all sorts of extensions and that you can customize your instance to look exactly as you please. As a second job I'm dealing with commerce, stocks and invoices. With app within minutes I was able to build a nice app that would help me track all movement.

Pros
- Mobile view - Customisation - Multilingual

Cons
- Not sure which extensions are 'official' or community

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Andrea Cristina Bittencourt Moraes

Content management / Knowledge in one tool

Reviewed 2016-03-10
Review Source: Capterra

The Wiki platform has brought our company "Energisa" the union of several units throughout the country and generating synergy among them. The simplicity and ease of access, integrated areas and processes and provided us improve our knowledge management. Today we have Wiki Energisa published in the world, providing external access colabodores, which further added in platarforma, beyond the time gain. I recommend its use as it is a platform that unites the management with the ease of access to any and all content published on the Wiki.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Alix Lerouge

XWiki experience

Reviewed 2016-03-14
Review Source: Capterra

Using XWiki solution allows us (marketing department of a retail company) to communicate quickly and efficiently with our sales managers despite geographical distance. They have access to every information they need in real time ! It makes it easier for them to manage their shop daily and they can diffuse knowledge to their team really quickly. Pros: User friendly, easy to handle Improve communication and knowledge sharing Cons: Make sure that your internal network is adapted in order to make the best of the solution.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Juliette Fonvielle

Powerful tool to create a knowledge base gathering all our documents and procedures

Reviewed 2016-03-24
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using XWiki since 2011. We are using it to manage our documents and procedures. We decided to grant access to the knowledge base to all our collaborators. We are also using the XWiki SAS support service and we are really satisfied with it. We recently implemented the deprecated documents archive feature and our users are happy about it. The user interface could be improved but this has been polished in the newest version of XWiki. Keep up the good work!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Sébastien Guarnay

Tested your products

Reviewed 2016-03-24
Review Source: Capterra

It is brilliant to simplify things for the end-users, that is why I once applied to your company. If I can suggest an improvement in very basic simplifications: - Giving more clarity about whether XWiki is a company, a product, a framework, an ensemble of products (I know the answers). - Minimal clicks before installing a demo. Clarity about each step before using it (extracting files, opening which one, etc.). Keep going! Best regards.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Joshua Marks

XWiki more then a wiki, a platfrom

Reviewed 2016-02-15
Review Source: Capterra

XWiki is a powerful development palftfrom for colaborative apps, It takes the concept of a Wiki and extense it from text collaboration to code and funtionality collabortion. Curriki.org was able to build an innovative and arawrd winning Open Educaitonal Resource (OER) community platfrom and hosted service quickly and evolve it while in production.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Camille Gaboriau

Powerful software for collaboration and knowledge management

Reviewed 2016-03-11
Review Source: Capterra

I'm using XWiki as a knowledge base for my e-shop project. I particularly enjoy the file manager application and the Application Within Minutes feature that I'm using to create page templates. I'm using it to work with my co-founder as we are working from different areas. This is easier to follow up our actions and progress.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Lerouge Aliénor

Great Wiki for entreprise

Reviewed 2016-02-12
Review Source: Capterra

XWiki has progressed very nicely over time, I've been continuously impressed by the breadth and depth of its feature set. The latest release comes with nested spaces, which let users organize their content even more easily than before. It's also easier to use specially for non tech people!

Response from XWiki


Thanks! We're glad you like it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Philippe Franck

Excellent support for an online product documentation

Reviewed 2016-02-10
Review Source: Capterra

We use Xwiki to publish our product documentation online. We moved from PDF and print to online. Our documentation is always up to date and available 24x7 from everywhere. The infrastructure is hosted by xwiki. Availability is excellent and customer service is very reactive whenever we have questions.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Thierry Prigent

We use this software for 5 years

Reviewed 2016-03-18
Review Source: Capterra

We use this software as intranet to share information. Animate our franchise network . and we use it for sharing and preparation of commercial operations.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Celine Odo

XWiki makes things in your head possible

Reviewed 2016-02-10
Review Source: Capterra

Very versatile and powerful, but please become more user friendly. Fortunately support is extremely efficient

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Guillaume Lerouge

Rating only

Reviewed 2016-03-14
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Nicolas Lemoine

Rating only

Reviewed 2016-03-15
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Russell powell

Rating only

Reviewed 2017-11-06
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

Elenkovan Subramanian

Rating only

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-04-25
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform