App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Buildxact Logo

Buildxact

Bid more, win more. Quote 5X faster with digital tools.

see alternatives

(16)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Buildxact Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


155 reviews

Recommended

JF
AvatarImg

Jeff F.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Streamlined and revolutionised

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are all now accountable for work now that everything can be traced and accurately recorded. It showed us the holes in our business prior, and we have streamlined all our processes off the back of shifting to BX.

Pros

The ease of tracking costs when integrated with Xero has made administering projects ever so simple. To follow a project from conception to completion is priceless.

Cons

The profit & loss and work in progress could be a little easier to understand.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great feedback and for using Buildxact.

JM
AvatarImg

Jim M.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Finally I found some suitable software in my 33rd year of building

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am combining many areas into one. I used to write my quote detail for my manager and she would produce the quote on a template - now this is built in. Having invoiced pre-populate in Xero and the Variation process is very handy and a big time saver too.

Pros

The video tutorials and the rapid response of the Australian support team

Cons

I like Team Gantt how it gives you options to colour code the gantt chart. I used to have all of my carpentry labour a single colour which allowed me at a glance to see if all positions were full each week etc.

Vendor response

Thanks for such great feedback Jim.

JI
AvatarImg

Jane I.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great all round software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Love using the software and makes my job as a builders wife significantly easier and would highly recommend the software to all looking for an al rounded building software that does, quoting, takeoffs, job management and job tracking etc.

Pros

Takeoffs are a breeze, proposals look and present well. The costing and profit and loss is also great

Cons

Needs to have a good app that we can use easily on-site, the portal needs works before I will start suing as this would be a more site friendly/ ie app for messages etc and photo upload

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review Jane.

MM
AvatarImg

Melissa M.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Buildxact

Reviewed 8 months ago

Great tool to use

Pros

Easy to use, good support, Purchase Orders are done from Estimates

Cons

There isnt anything i dont like, i cant think of anything

Vendor response

Thanks for such an awesome review Melissa!

GA
AvatarImg

Gary A.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Bx

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The set out and ease of use is good. The take off allows for basic functions and calculations. Job control is good

Cons

Bx Has some annoying traits Take off is slow when a decent template is used. You have to go in and out of the take off for every item. The program basically shuts down by8:30 , 9pm and is useless. the email functions eg emailing Po's from the system are so unreliable that we don't use them. We save and email from outlook. The client portal is not very good and we are not using it. POs cant be ordered by supplier which is very annoying. Invoices get scrambled if you try to move the order.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback Gary.

RJ
AvatarImg

Rob J.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple & Effective software for Builders

Reviewed 5 years ago

Buildxact has been an extremely effective business support tool for our network of builders providing them virtually one place to run their business.

Pros

Buildxact is a comprehensive estimating and job tracking software package for builders and building companies of all sizes. It's simplicity of use yet effectiveness to cover nearly all aspects relatable to a construction project has made it the number choice for our network of builders which has positively impacted their businesses and lives.

Cons

Buildxact lacks a detailed CRM tool but this can be covered by other additional applications. However, I do believe Buildxacts version is in production phase for release soon.

Vendor response

Thanks for the awesome review Rob!

JI
AvatarImg

Justin I.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good Potential

Reviewed a year ago

Good potential but has transitioned from developing a good product to marketing the product to make money.

Pros

Good concept - does the fundamentals that are required for Custom Residential Building.

Cons

They rarely implement functional improvements. They are quick to 'expand' however they do not seem to be interested in improving the product - only increasing its marketability. Many new features are for show rather than function. A number of really practical design implementations have been suggested by users on their 'feedback' page however many of these have been sitting idle for years.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback Justin.

SM
AvatarImg

Scott M.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Buildxact has become integral to the success of my business

Reviewed 3 years ago

Love it. Enjoyable to use, simple to develop a tender, and build up pricing and to know what you have made at the back end of a project

Pros

The ease to develop a new project each time is a great tool. Even allowing the copy a similar project from previous tenders saves so much time. The ability to have separate categories for each trade, and to individually add margin where required is such an integral tool to use. The ability to use existing formulas from historical jobs creates and ease and confidence when pricing. I love the take-off options, that can be used on-site and for others to price,

Cons

Nothing really but think the tender letters could have more options aesthetically

Vendor response

Thanks for the great feedback Scott.

CC
AvatarImg

Chris C.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

BX user from 2016

Reviewed a year ago

good

Pros

once you. have learned how to use it is very effective an as its cloud based it will allow mobility from one workplace to another an saves time each day.

Cons

Sometimes the effectiveness of the actual connection cab be slow and cause issues.

Vendor response

Thanks for the quality review Chris

FT
AvatarImg

Fasi T.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Positive feedback

Reviewed 3 years ago

when i was introduced by my employer to this software i loved it from that first time. im not too flashy on pricing & setting jobs up but BXT has helped me alot. so easy to use too. what i love most is how itemised my quotes are & how clear it is to clients.

Pros

love providing clients with tasks lists & gant chart schedule. they always want to know whats happening & when its happening.

Cons

to be honest, nothing. i havent experienced anything negative. i am still learning everyday how to improve my knowledge & skills using this software but other than that, its been a dream.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great feedback.

JK
AvatarImg

Jamie K.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

JAK Build

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great after sales services , and follow you up. Always looking to improve and up grade, asking for our thoughts and also testing some new ideas.

Pros

The integration with email, suppliers and other products is great. The client Portal is another good add on, you can also make suggestion for up grades

Cons

Some better training for the the more experienced users, look a t the schedule side of the program. Some subbies and rated the request quote side of things.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review Jamie

JC
AvatarImg

Jade C.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jade Buildxact review

Reviewed 3 years ago

very good and usefull program. i love that you can speak directly to developers

Pros

ease of use. price pointed very well. Australian company.

Cons

not all the features of larger program. sometimes slow to add new features. not able to measure drawings once converted to job. not able to mark up drawings to send to contractors. no ability to run TPAR report does not send material credits across to accounting software needs to have the ability to have multiple scales on 1 single page of plans for take off. when marking a customer payment on an invoice sent from buildxact it does not send the payment across to accounting package

Vendor response

Thank you Jade for the great feedback.

rh
AvatarImg

rod h.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Buildxact - Estimating made easy

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have had no issues with buildxact and now have futile licences and users

Pros

Its very quick and easy to generate professionals looking quotes, You need to do all the estimating to get your pricing and in the click of a button you have a quote

Cons

I feel there needs to be some more client notes tracking ability, Its not quite a one stop shop for construction businesses

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback Rod, and for using Buildxact.

SP
AvatarImg

Sera P.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Buildxact is the game-changer we needed in our business

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We found it very easy to use and easy to teach our employees. We all use it daily!

Cons

Aspects of workflow could be better. We came from using on-site companion software, and believe that check-lists would be beneficial.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review Sera.

PO
AvatarImg

Phillip O.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Most Practical Builders Estimating and Quoting Software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Since Using Build Exact i have won more work. my business management has improved and able to stay on top of my estimates, its ease of use. professional quotes which make you stand out to others. Overall its the best Estimating/takeoff cloud based system. i highly recommend it to all business in the construction industry.

Pros

Ease of use Fast and easy to get the hang of it Simple takeoffs Makes Fantastic Automatic Quotes for your clients which make you stand out. Job Tracking and Management what else can i say its the all rounder package that has given me the advantage in winning more work

Cons

I haven't had any issues with the system, they are constantly upgrading and making it more user friendly.

Vendor response

Thanks for the fantastic review Philip

NP
AvatarImg

Natacha P.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great programme and much more user friendly than others.

Reviewed 3 years ago

We like it. It works well for our proposals/quotes and something we will continue using for this purpose.

Pros

It's very easy to navigate when it comes to the basics and the proposals you produce look great for clients.

Cons

Probably like most programmes, it has a lot of functions that we have to pay for, but do not use. Also annoying when you are putting a proposal together and you enter an item, hit TAB and if there is a receipe it autofills and if it's not what you were wanting, you have to delete the line and start again.

Vendor response

Thank you for the awesome review.

AW
AvatarImg

Andrew W.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Buildxact is easy to use and set up

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Buildxact is easy to use and set up. The support team are great and are also following up to see that you are okay, even after the problem has been resolved.

Cons

The purchasing process could be a lot better

DC
AvatarImg

Dan C.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed a year ago

Pretty happy, customer service where you can speak to someone straight away to resolve issue, you could do that a couple of years ago but the last time I couldn’t speak to anyone and needed to resolve an invoice that couldn’t be done.

Pros

Take off is easy and keeping track of cost is handy.

Cons

Actual costs could be intergrated better rather then doing it all manually. Can site management, ohs requirements be introduced.

Vendor response

Thanks for reviewing Buildxact Dan!

LH
AvatarImg

Luke H.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Buildxact Review

Reviewed a year ago

Very Happy to have the support and a company that is keen to develop the software.

Pros

I love how it is secure in the cloud with no concerns of back-ups being lost. Also that we can have two uses at the same time.

Cons

That it can be a little hard to keep up with features that are added and things changing just as you get use to it.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review Luke

RT
AvatarImg

Robbie T.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Customer service

Reviewed 8 months ago

Fixed a technical issue fast and clear instructions

Pros

Fast service easy to use and practical

Cons

Some things fail to sync properly hard to use it to full potential

Vendor response

Thanks for such an awesome review Robbie!

BW
AvatarImg

Brenton W.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Making life easier

Reviewed 3 years ago

They have been fantastic to deal with and we love the software

Pros

To have all in 1 software to manage everything from estimates and take-offs through to project management has revolutionised the way we work

Cons

There needs to be a 2 way integration created with accounting software (currently it only pushes data over to accounting software, it doesn't bring any data back)

Vendor response

Thanks for using Buildxact and for the great review.

BA
AvatarImg

Blake A.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Buildxact

Reviewed 3 years ago

Pretty good. Limitations have been picked up with complimentary apps. Needs iOS asap.

Pros

Great estimating tool. Quick, easy, intuitive take offs

Cons

No iOS app. Very restrictive on site. The recipe tool is very powerful for quoting but not transferred to the job for variation management.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback Blake, and for using Buildxact for your business.

BR
AvatarImg

Barb R.

Construction, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Happy so far!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is easy to use and has many features to streamline our construction process.

Cons

The take-off feature is a little tricky

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review Barb

JE
AvatarImg

Jordan E.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

All in one tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Buildxact is more than a way to produce professional accurate estimates quickly and easily. We have integrated it into our day to day operations using the jobs scheduling and construction management. Its great to be able to track a job from start to finish comparing estimated and actual costings and applying the results to future estimates.

Cons

Would love an app for the onsite staff to be able to use with limited capabilities

Vendor response

Thank you for the great feedback Jordan.

JB
AvatarImg

Justin B.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

dsb

Reviewed a year ago

Buildxact has been great for us as a building company.

Pros

Copying estimates to fast track the next similar estimate

Cons

Employees/subcontractors portal - This would be handy like the client portal to sheer plans, documents for each project so employee's can see all these's documents on the job.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review Justin