App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Smile.io Logo

Smile.io

Points, VIP & Referrals. Attract & retain loyal customers.

(8)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Smile.io Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

22

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.52/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Customer support at Smile has been super friendly and helpful throughout the process of setting up and maintaining our loyalty and referral program.
Smile was an amazing partner for us, suggested Smile to couple of our clients, lauched our reward program and there was no turning back.
Smile offers some excellent features for VIP programs such as discounts, free gift with purchase, and contest entries you can offer customers.
It is limited to very few POS systems. I left because it is not compatible with Lightspeed.
Unfortunately, this service is not practical for smaller or starter businesses because they charge $50 per month and up.
For example, if I want to have a chat features, now I have two widgets floating around. No API unless on the Enterprise version.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


22 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bianca L. P.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

No API unless Enterprise

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like how simple it is for our team and our customers to use. The UI is very nice and intuitive.

Cons

1. The widget is annoying and confuses customers, I don't like having a widget floating on our website for the sole purpose of rewards. For example, if I want to have a chat features, now I have two widgets floating around. 2. No API unless on the Enterprise version. I always detest software that doesn't allow access to their API because you're blocked out of creating anything useful that's custom to your needs. 3. The pop-up widget is confusing to customers. We should have the option of choosing a widget design, or a design that embeds itself into a page like LoyalyLion which is much more intuative for customers to use.

SC
AvatarImg

Srikanth C.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The only loyalty program app you will ever need for your e-commerce store

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Smile was an amazing partner for us, suggested Smile to couple of our clients, lauched our reward program and there was no turning back. Just 4 months into deploying Smile.io, our client store started to witness improvements in their returning customer rate.

Cons

No cons, they had got a wonderful team that's supporting us as in when required

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Denise Nicole G.

Education Management, self-employed

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

What is good about Smile io?

Reviewed 3 years ago

As customer, I enjoy purchasing products as I can redeem points, rewards, and avail discounts. The app also notifies me about my earned coupon and use it instantly.

Pros

For business owners, smile io will help them to attract and retain customers by creating a unique earning programs. You can give out coupons, rewards, points, and discounts that the customers are looking for as they also want to earn as much as they spend.

Cons

It is not advisable for starting businesses to use this app as they charged 50$ monthly. It is a bit pricey but I think it is still worth to try. When I am using the app as a customer, a bug occured that alter the redeemed points I want to make but it only happened once and I think most of the apps experience bugs that is even worst then this. So, I still recommend this!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Molly G.

Consumer Goods, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great loyalty program app

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Smile.io was very easy to set up and use! A lot of basic customizations at lower tiers making it more on-brand with our site. Customer support at Smile has been super friendly and helpful throughout the process of setting up and maintaining our loyalty and referral program. Reasonable price given the capabilities and features of the platform as well.

Cons

Not necessarily the easiest for customers to use and wish they had a separate page - not just a widget - for the program. Wish there were more notification options as well to remind customers of points, etc

TN
AvatarImg

Tobias N.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Checks all the boxes and then some

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

There are some rare occasions where you get to interact with true greatness. Smile is one of those companies where I got that feeling. They've kept it simple and understandable, but as you dive in you understand that they also are insanely powerful. What adds to the experience is the feeling that they really got your back through the support content and a knowledgeable and empowered customer support team. We're growing our customer loyalty like crazy with Smile.

Cons

We're missing multilingual support or an integration with Weglot/Langify.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Membership got easier

Reviewed 4 years ago

It's an easy feature to use and set up for memberships or referral programs. I use this every day to solve customer's inquiry regarding their points and this software is really easy to navigate.

Pros

-Adding and removing way to get points and redeem rewards are easy. -The simplicity of managing each members/customers on their membership. -Easily tracked transactions through points and referrals.

Cons

-Sometimes a bug would occur where points got redeemed automatically.. -There's also a bug where points are redeemed, the discount code would not appear on Shopify. -Location of way to earn points and rewards can be more visible on website.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Arts and Crafts, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very good referral programs

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We used Smile.io for almost a year at our company. It works very well with both Shopify and Shopify Plus. The out of the box functionalities are enough to create a very good and engaging Referral and Loyalty program. , and you can even customize lots of features. We eventually migrated to a different platform that provides more advanced features, but I recommend Smile.io to everyone who owns ​e-commerce and aims to launch a loyalty program in a short time.

Cons

The APIs are a bit limited if you want to set up an ​advanced configuration. The customer support is pretty good, but sometimes they don't really solve​ your problem.

SS
AvatarImg

Somi S.

Consumer Goods, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best software for customer loyalty and rewards

Reviewed a year ago

It has been great. We strongly recommend every one to try this software

Pros

There are many customer loyalty programs but this is perhaps the only one which offers so many features for FREE. If is extremely easy to use, setup only takes couple of minutes.

Cons

There are very limited options for customisations in the free plan

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Elias M.

Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome Loyalty APP

Reviewed 5 years ago

Just awesome, really great tool for any ecommerce store on shopify.

Pros

I was able to create a full Loyalty program for my Shopify Store in a couple of hours, even more powerfull than multi-million dollar retailers. A lot of funcionalities and automations, really easy tu understand and setup.

Cons

My store is in spanish and they still haven't translated the whole app... neither allow you to manually translate all the labels and strings, just a few. But still awesome and they told me that they were working on that.

CW
AvatarImg

Chris W.

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Helps to increase sales through loyalty rewards

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to set up and is visually well-designed. There are a lot of helpful articles that they have and send out to best set up and utilize this app. Provides a helpful way to give your customers more incentives to make repeat purchases.

Cons

The ability to customize this app is limited, even on the more expensive plans. The initial sales rep that I spoke to made it appear to be a lot more customizable than it actually is.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Sporting Goods, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Less expensive but less effective

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Easy to set up and easy to operate. Recent changes to the platform have improved the backend experience.

Cons

Because they design the app to be plug and play it limits the customization which causes issues for branding and user experience.

HT
AvatarImg

Heather T.

Apparel & Fashion, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Started Product

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It really helped build the foundation of my loyalty program. We started using the free version and it caught on pretty quickly! The retention factor of having a loyalty program has been huge.

Cons

It is limited to very few POS systems. I left because it is not compatible with Lightspeed.

KN
AvatarImg

Kamal N.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Loyalty Program

Reviewed a year ago

Great

Pros

It can be set up in less than 5-10 mins. Very suitable for fashion stores in shopify. You can track and manage loyalty programs and referral programs.

Cons

Would be better if it has affiliate marketing features and its tracking system

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael J. M.

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Really Great Platform, Nicely Evolving, Great Support

Reviewed 5 years ago

It's been easy and fun. I highly recommend. Nice new features always in development.

Pros

Our rep is incredible. It's easy and intuitive to use. It looks pretty good out of the box too.

Cons

Couldn't have a custom logo for the launcher that would resize correctly. But that's pretty minor.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great reward platform for our customers

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Such a great tool! The UI is fantastic and the functionality of the software enables us to stay in contact with our most loyal customers.

Cons

It should have come out much sooner! I had to suffer through other providers that were far less superior for too long.

MB
AvatarImg

Mahantesh B.

Apparel & Fashion, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best customer loyalty tool for ecommerce

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's a very user-friendly tool and definitely gives a good ROAS

Pros

- Seamless integration with Shopify and Klaviyo - Has an easy drag & drop editor to create emails - Provides in-depth loyalty stats about the email subscribers and customers

Cons

- It does have an inbuilt integration with Attentive for SMS Marketing - The email builder is basic and we will need to have the emails built on our ESPs

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Shamaia V.

Apparel & Fashion, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Viral hack

Reviewed 5 years ago

Personal recommendation will forever trump paid ads! Lol trump! Giving people incentive to share your business with thier friends creates the opportunity for viral success. Make it make sense for your business but make sure you give people the credit they deserve for sharing your businesses content!

Pros

Being able to create referral program is priceless!

Cons

I use the free option so I'm limited to fewer options of sharing. I don't think the overall price is fair

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Great option for bigger businesses

Reviewed 4 years ago

Smile provided a great service and was really easy to customize and highly engaging for customers. I just wish they offered the service at a lower price point.

Pros

Smile offers some excellent features for VIP programs such as discounts, free gift with purchase, and contest entries you can offer customers. Another thing I like are the milestones they allow you to set so you can create tiers in your VIP program.

Cons

Unfortunately, this service is not practical for smaller or starter businesses because they charge $50 per month and up. This is just too expensive for smaller businesses so a free application is a better option if you can't afford it, but the free ones won't provide you with as many features.

CH
AvatarImg

Charles H.

Retail, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent

Reviewed 6 years ago

Have really enjoyed using this in the store and look forward to having this software continue to grow business.

Pros

Easy to use. Love the idea of rewarding customers on purchases.

Cons

Haven't found anything to complain about yet!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mansi M.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

#1 software for increasing customer retention

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I like the best that their software is easy to use and understand. The UI is very intuitive, and one of its best features is the Rewards Panel. I was able to build a personalized rewards experience for my regular customers, and it helped me gain more traction on my website. Its intuitive design integrated very easily with my shop, and its rewards panel was also very easy to use and understand for the customers.

Cons

No cons identified so far. Excellent software

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Almost perfect!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Super easy to set up and lot's of awesome features - if you're willing to pay a price that's slightly on the expensive side.

Pros

It's very easy to set up - anyone could do it. Functionality is great - there's a lot of ways you can go for incentivizing customers for giving refferals.

Cons

If you want to customize some things such as referral program messages, you need a version of the tool that's priced higher.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jose D.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review