App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Figma Logo

Figma

Collaborative platform for UI designing and prototyping

see alternatives

(9)

Figma Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

575

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.1/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

Pros and cons

Figma is an excellent and user friendly application for UI designing absolutely free of cost. Best thing about Figma is that one can easy collaborate and prototype using this.
Helped get much clear and better wireframes and prototypes with extra great plugins to create great prototypes with beautiful layout in a very easy manner.
Figma is super simple to get started with, but is packed with tons of features should you need them. Its own UI is great, and the software feels great to use.
Designers has to read the documentation because there is a painful misused of the software in terms of poorly understanding of concepts in components and styles.
Undoubtedly the learning curve, I believe it is a little high compared to other similar software, I believe that the lack of translation into my native language (pt-br) is also a negative point.
The way the commenting works it is hard to keep track of what comments you should be keeping track of and which you can ignore.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


575 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Audrey B.

VP of Experience and Design

Design, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

The Industry Standard

Reviewed 7 months ago

Transcript

Audrey B.: Hi, my name's Audrey. I am a VP of experience and design, and I give Figma of five out of...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael H.

Product Designer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

The Best Tool for Collaborative Design Work

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Michael H: Hi, I'm Michael, I'm a UX designer. I give Figma a five out of five. For more reviews like...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Yulia L.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best for UX and collaboration

Reviewed 10 months ago

I was skeptical about switching from Sketch to Figma because Sketch worked just fine. However, when I saw how the collaboration works and how easy it is for the developers to build websites designed in Figma, I changed my mind.

Pros

Figma takes collaboration to the next level: our designers, project managers, and clients comment, ask questions, and correct layouts at the same time. In addition, you can limit the status of each participant without worrying that someone will disturb the harmony in the design. All versions and changes are stored in Figma and you can "roll back" to the right one at any time. I no longer need to store dozens of files on my computer and remember which file had the design with the element that the customer asked to remove and now wants to return.

Cons

Figma is great for web design, UX/UI, and even making presentations. However, it doesn't fully replace Adobe Creative Cloud, you will still need to use other design software.

RN
AvatarImg

Richard N.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

we use Figma for software prototyping

Reviewed 20 days ago

Overall, when it comes to software prototyping and designing, Figma is still the best

Pros

Software prototyping is so easy with this software becausee we are able to use drag and drop feature to save us time.

Cons

Sometimes fonts differ when you code, I just hope Figma can improve on there typography to help us have consistent designs

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

the best design tool for teams

Reviewed 3 years ago

As we are working on the same project at the same time the Figma cloud service it's really helping us being more productive.

Pros

The thing that I like the most about Figma it's the cross-platform support: You can use Figma on your Mac, pc, linux or even a browser. The second thing is the cloud service. Every changes you made it's updated automatically and every person on the team can see what you are changing in real-time

Cons

The thing that I like the lest about Figma it's the fact that it's not battery-efficient on the Mac compared to alternatives and it does not work well on browser. Moreover it's not very easy to use.

AB
AvatarImg

Ahmed B.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The only design tool you need for realtime collaboration

Reviewed 4 months ago

Figma changed the whole game and I advise all my colleagues and team members to use it to design anything and everything for it's unlimited features we need. It supports to design the whole product work process, brain storming, planning , designing and prototyping. It's the only app you need. Thanks for your effort Figma <3

Pros

- Realtime collaboration - Smooth & Neat prototyping animation - Supporting multiple platforms - Easy to use platform and interface - All files are stored on cloud system - Huge assets library - Easy to share files - Easy to import and export files

Cons

- Prototype not loading in some browsers such as Google Chrome - You cannot copy objects direct from Adobe into Figma - Exporting images quality is not that good, could be better - App restart is required in the middle of work process and sometimes it's annoying

DT
AvatarImg

Douye T.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Figma is Freedom

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Figma has a lot of features and is easy to use, a beginner can use it easily without any issues.

Cons

Figma requires an internet connection, due to bad internet in my country it's a bit of a problem. Would have loved it if they have an offline manner of saving works

AC
AvatarImg

Angie C.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

amazingly intuitive experience

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

The plethora of templates makes it easy to get started with Figma, even never having used it before. I wanted a way to represent opportunity solution trees and discovered that Figma had default templates. The UI is very responsive and it's easy to get lost in the work without needing to look at a bunch of documents.

Cons

Organization of files could be more intuitive. I would also like the ability to tag certain objects with comments and reference a team member. I'm hopeful that the Adobe acquisition won't have too much impact on the overall Figma product.

DB
AvatarImg

Damien B.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Greatest prototyping tool to date

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

I love Figma for how easy it is to build my design vision in a shirt period of time but what I love the most is how I can export all my assets as well as view the css code to apply it in my live design.

Cons

Having to pay for more seats. The price can start to get a bit steep.

Aa
AvatarImg

Aymen a.

Computer Software, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

best design software on the secondary stage

Reviewed a month ago

actual projects on food delivery service app

Pros

it's simple and easy to design and make prototype

Cons

if there were a kind of tool to convert the design to actual code

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Zainab B.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Figma App Review by Bodude

Reviewed a month ago

Figma has enabled me create designs for mobile applications, websites. The Fig jam feature helps in proper analysis, planning and creation of ideas. This software is the best for designers.

Pros

I like the design frame features for androids, IOS, tablets and social media platforms such as Instagram.

Cons

I like everything about this software because of its ease of use and all the amazing features made availabe.

LG
AvatarImg

Louisa G.

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for mockups

Reviewed 18 days ago
Pros

My team use it daily for prototyping while I mainly us Figma for mockups or interfaces. I've only been using it for a few months but it's fairly and easy to take on.

Cons

Nothing to note so far, but I don't use it as much as the rest of my team yet.

PS
AvatarImg

Paul S.

Design, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Figma finally grows into a suitable Sketch replacement

Reviewed 2 years ago

Figma has grown into a proper design tool rivaling Sketch and XD. It beats Sketch by being available on both Windows, macOS (and probably anything with a modern enough browser) and it definitely beats Adobe XD by having a logical and familiar UI and just working as expected (for some reason I've had troubles with XD every time I tried it).

Pros

Cloud-based, works on both macOS and Windows, very easy to collaborate and/or share design files across the team or to the client. Coming from Sketch, the UI is very similar and I was able to start designing with virtually no adjustment period. From what I understand, interactive components with independent animation states should be released soon in 2021 — that should make Figma a suitable replacement for the Sketch + Principle stack I use currently. Being able to share design documents, animated prototypes and specs within a single service would be a killer-feature.

Cons

Subjectively, on my 2012 Macbook Pro 15-inch with Retina the app may run slower than desired sometimes. Overall can't think of anything in particular that I wouldn't like.

CH
AvatarImg

Csaba H.

Design, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Figma should be the industry standard for UX/UI design

Reviewed 3 years ago

As somebody who deals with complex applications, the collaboration and design system capabilities Figma brings to the table is just awesome. I switched from Sketch which covers some of the functionality but it's very hard to create and maintain a design system which mirrors how developers build up interfaces. Figma enables and encourages you to think in components and build and scale a design system as oppose to individual screens. This approach is essential to any product-based business.

Pros

- Collaboration: follow every update in real time. Sharing designs with client? You don't need to worry if they look at the latest updates or not. Collaborating with others on a design? No need to sync or update - it happens in real-time and automatically. - Components: very easy to use components and start to apply an atomic design approach. - Design system-centered thinking: Figma nailed a bunch of tedious and cumbersome design tasks: for example, it was not intuitive to work with layer styles, text styles and colors in Sketch (before I switched to Figma in 2018). In Figma, you can apply a saved color to texts, vector objects - anything. Very easy to work with saved text presets as well - they all built in a way to help you re-use them.

Cons

- The design (UI) of the interface is not so nice :) After 2 weeks I stopped noticing it, but as a designer it bugged me at the beginning. - In some cases it takes time to load. - Figma updates the software regularly which in some cases means a completely new interface - and sometimes not all the updates are very intuitive (though they are iterating pretty rapidly so that's a good thing)

JH
AvatarImg

Jakub H.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Extremely flexible Sketch alternative

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am amazed by Figmas progress and ease of use. The auto-layout feature is ultra-fast in comparison to Sketch and even much more flexible. This paired together with an extensive API makes Figma a great tool for rapid building MVPs and generating sites (and even apps) directly from Figma.

Pros

The speed which Figma is operating is incredible and the possibility to have it working in any browser is great. The best feature at this point the the very advanced auto-layout function and the benefit of seeing fonts rendered actually in a browser - so there come no surprises later at development time.

Cons

Shortcuts and plugins are a bit of a pain. You can not remap shortcuts at this point and plugins can be installed and used, but there is no way of "hiding them" or "deactivating" when not used and the menu list gets way too long.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ganesh Shankar V.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very Intuitive to Design Product Wireframes

Reviewed a year ago

Figma is an essential part of our product building workflow. As a product manager, I convert all the ideas to wireframes using Figma and the designers expand upon it to create the UI prototypes for the engineering team to work on. The key benefit of Figma is that it is a one place tool for all our design activities - UX prototyping, Idea Wire-framing, UI assets & guidelines etc.,

Pros

Figma has a large community that built a variety of plugins, templates and design formats that make the job a lot easier for both wire-framing and prototyping. The product is extremely intuitive with a good exponential learning curve that enables a new user turn professional in a very quick time. It is the best in the market when it comes to integration with businesses. It's strong API support help us connect with a variety of tools including Bravo Studio that help us launch small apps with zero-code.

Cons

While the community plugins are huge, discoverability of the plugins can be improved a lot from the existing version. The default tools in the app are too abstract that a new-user might find it difficult to create things from scratch. As far as integration is concerned, Figma should have a marketplace for all the interesting integrations that a user can go through and pick the ones he/she is interested in.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Eric R B.

Research, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Figma is an essential part of our design process

Reviewed a year ago

Figma is an easy to use design system for collaboration. I love how easy it is to collaborate on design elements and store them in the system. Figma is a great way for me to stay organized and productive with my designs.

Pros

Figma's great sharing tools are a top reason to use this high-quality app. We all go there to get anything that has been created and know it will be on-hand for reuse throughout our apps and dashboards. We use it as a DAM in that way, too.

Cons

Sometimes the folder structures can be a little confusing but it's manageable.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best of the best

Reviewed 2 years ago

Figma helps us prototype and design much more quickly than ever before. It's extremely helpful in creating results that can be reviewed by stakeholders and legal without much fuss.

Pros

Figma builds off what other similar solutions offer in providing a very simple, easy-to-use interface with both an web-based and app experience that makes it more versatile and useful in my day-to-day work. I also like that Figma does what a lot of other tools don't do: It factors in the importance of content within design.

Cons

Content within design relies on 3rd party plug-ins for Figma. It would be nice to see this functionality built into the app itself.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent design tool for wireframing, UX and UI designing.

Reviewed 5 months ago

Its a great collaborative design tool which works seamlessly and streamlines the design process. It will definitely make your designing experience productive and enjoyable.

Pros

I have been extensively using Figma from last 3 years as a preferred design tool to create wireframes and UI mockups along with the design teams. If you need multiple team members to work on a design board simultaneously (in a real time collaborative way), this can be your go-to tool. It also provides in-app comment features, so business stakeholders can easily share their feedback on specific design component and design/product team can see those comments directly in Slack. For development teams, even though we often used 'Zeplin' to get corresponding CSS code snippets for design components but Figma also directly displays the CSS code for developer's ease. It's super intuitive and productive tool.

Cons

One big challenge of using Figma is that there is no offline functionality. Meaning, it requires an active internet connection while using this application and it makes it harder to work from remote locations where you might have internet connectivity issues.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Adriene M.

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

the software that changed my collaborative work

Reviewed 9 months ago

With Figma, we were able to create more collaborative design critiques, more productive developer meetings, and broader file organization.

Pros

The best thing is being able to open Figma ANYWHERE and have all the files synced. In addition to being able to edit everything thru the browser. It is easy to use, similar to what we've always had in Graphic Design. Also, it is the perfect software to work collaboratively with team designers, product managers, and developers. Prototyping is fundamental for the project's stakeholders. Being able to do all this (and with animations) without changing software is amazing.

Cons

It could have more image editor options like removing backgrounds and changing colors, for that I need to use another software and then go back to Figma. It seems that some non-solved problems are left to the community to solve with plugins.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jitender K.

Writing and Editing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Figma makes it easier for you to create, prototype and collaborate.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Figma has a minimal learning curve and feels really good to use. It's packed with features and it's only getting better with frequent updates.

Pros

The thing that makes Figma great is that it is browser-based and the files are saved in the cloud. I can continue working on any of my computers, when and where I want, as long as I have an internet connection. Sharing designs with Figma is simple and I really like what they've enabled with the real-time collaboration functionality. Another great thing about Figma is its variety of plugins which make the workflow even faster, there are plenty of plugins available you can do basically anything with them: typography, graphs, collaboration, etc.

Cons

Sometimes takes a really long time to load up the files. Even if it doesn't run smoothly sometimes as compared to other programs, I still prefer Figma because of its features and large component libraries.

AA
AvatarImg

Amit A.

Consumer Goods, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Design in style, that too affordably!

Reviewed a year ago

I would rate Figma 8/10. It has been a wonderful experience with Figma until now. Highly recommended!

Pros

Easy to use, with a clean UI. It has everything that you need to design stuff in a hassle-free manner. Cheery on the cake is its easiness of Collaboration. The team can work together in real-time on Figma, making life very easy. Value for money!

Cons

Prototyping & Mobile App experience can be made much better.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alec V.

Design, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I was opposed to Figma, but then I tried it

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Being in the industry for a decade, we were using a variety of tools for UX/UI Design. But Figma has conquered our minds with the next most impactful features: collaborativeness, ease of use (thank you components), cross-platform approach.

Cons

Managing files could be significantly improved by adding folders and tagging. Projects are not enough.

BJ
AvatarImg

Bhavik J.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A great collaboration design tool

Reviewed a year ago

Our overall experience with Figma has been really positive and we will recommend it to organisations of any size.

Pros

The things we liked the most about Figma has been the variety of plugins which improves the productivity and improve on design workflows. Also, the availability of offline mode is really helpful and makes it really easy to continue working from anywhere.

Cons

The thing we like the least about Figma has been the learning curve required to get up and running with most of the features. User onboarding can be improved. Also, plugin improvability and recommendations should be improved.

ST
AvatarImg

Sebastian T.

Sports, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A really nice tool, with a little bit of a learning curve

Reviewed 10 months ago

Figma is a great tool for graphic design, product design, prototyping and everything else in between. I really enjoy

Pros

Figma is a very powerful tool for prototyping and managing design systems. It is quite user friendly and the fact that it is a browser based application makes it usable more or less anywhere and on any computer. I think that this is extremely positive for the age old PC vs Mac debate (particularly for designers). Figma is also updated very frequently, so there are always new features in the works and it seems that there is no limit to the amount of improvements and upgrades that they make. A really great tool that you should try out if you haven't already

Cons

There is a little bit of a learning curve to learn the software, especially if you had previously used tools like Sketch or Adobe XD. It isn't difficult at all, but you just have to learn Figma's way of doing things. Often you realise that this is actually a better way (especially the way text styles are managed). Aside from this Figma has a little few quirks, but you stop noticing after a while

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Interactive prototyping

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

In my organization, Figma is used for wire-framing, prototyping, and conceptualizing functionalities and features for enterprise services and web-based applications, among other uses. Throughout the process of developing solutions to delivering the designs to developers, Figma is a tool of choice for all of us. Commenting and collecting client feedback is a breeze, and it is also easy to track client approvals. It is possible for multiple users to edit at the same time and it visually differentiate the users if they already signed-in.

Cons

Importing the images as per the various needs improvements since when I try to import the images to Stores, they will end up being incompatible. It would be nice if they offered an offline editing option, similar to Google's offline extension.

PG
AvatarImg

Patrick G.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy and quick mockups

Reviewed a year ago

I use Figma on all of our projects, mostly websites but also apps, software and printed materials (books, posters, etc). It's super-easy to change things around when the client asks for modifications, and the mockups are always extremely realistic of the final product. I highly recommend Figma to any designer or product manager that needs a mockup software.

Pros

I first started on the free version and found it to be more than excellent, everything from image editing to creating design elements and then putting them together to create a complete mockup, was easy and intuitive. I mostly use it to design website mockups, but it can be used for anything visual (software, posters, books, etc). I also often collaborate with other designers, managers and clients so I can attest that the sharing features are great, work is immediately synched and saved automatically.

Cons

Some advanced features needed to be researched, like animations and interactions, but this is to be expected. Overall though, in my opinion, the interface and functions are really easy to use.