Moodle Reviews

Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

4.16/5 (1,254 reviews)

Dianne Volek

Superb solution but difficult to set up

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-10-29
Review Source: Capterra

I consult to clients who have tried to implement Moodle and recognise it's value but are struggling to get a practical, organised system. There are human issues of acceptance and the system isn't used, or the opposite where they have "created a monster" that is unwieldy. Once the system is structured correctly, and staff are trained in the right way to get the most benefit, it is always beneficial. Expensive paid systems force the client management team to go through a formal process of implementation including culture and planning, but a free system is often simply installed without strategy planning about how it is going to be used.

Pros
Moodle is opensource, and therefore inexpensive and low risk to test. If a company is considering eLearning, this should be your first option as a pilot. No pre-planning is as good as actual experience. The difficulty does not lie with the software, but that an eLearning system is a complex activity and is expected to meet the needs of very different users - different education levels, different technology capabilities and with different learning methods. Moodle shows if your company is ready for eLearning, and quickly gets you up and running. A lot of older training materials are in PDF, powerpoint and other formats, and Moodle allows "drag-and-drop" and importing of zip files or SCORM files.

Cons
This is difficult to set up, particularly if you want to make use of the assessments. You need to define your users and your strategy up front or it can become a muddle with different departments adding "courses". In a way it is almost TOO is easy to use, and individual departments create a "course" and add new categories, and dump hundreds of file with no categorisation. Most Moodle systems will need to be reorganised and "cleaned up" regularly if allowed to grow organically.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Michael de Raadt

The ultimate toolbox for educators

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-27
Review Source: Capterra

I have been involved with Moodle for many years as a user, administrator and developer. Be careful about the hype you hear from commercial vendors, they will often understate the prevalence of Moodle around the world, which dwarfs other systems many times. The community involved with this product have a common aim: to help educators; money is rarely their driver.

Pros
Moodle is, hands-down, the most functional and malleable learning management system available. Moodle can do everything we want it to do.

Cons
Sometimes you have to reduce functionality to make it useful for some people. It is possible to turn off features to achieve that.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Aman Saraswat

Moodle up the way

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-09-20
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience with google is under satisfactory as compared to Blackboard and Canvas. It is the least help application I have ever used.

Pros
The software is an online education learning module software. It is mostly used by universities and other educational institutes. Overall the software is very decent, it offers a variety of features, plagiarism checker, and other variety of features. It does not have any option of predicting grade which is offered by Canvas. As a T.A. I would as it is a decent software but there are better softwares than moodle.

Cons
The software does not have a fully functional mobile appliation which is offered by Blackboard and Canvas which are other learning management systems. Moodle is also sluggish and courses appear later and from time to time there are bugs in the application.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Anonymous

A complete solution for blended learning!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-16
Review Source: Capterra

I have implemented Moodle LMS for many industries including Colleges, Universities, Manufacturing, Retail, Career Development Centers, Online Training institutions, Information, Media & Entertainment industries. Except the product is an open-source, I do not see ANY issues. This can be hosted in Amazon Web Services or in Azure cloud, it can be hosted in client environment. Moodle can be integrated with any 3rd party (both inbound and outbound) applications as long as their APIs are exposed. This has lot of in-built plugins/tools to manage ILT Events and Sessions, Chats, Virtual Learning Environment tools, etc. I highly recommend this low-cost solution for any type of industry.

Pros
Moodle is a complete e-Learning platform for many industries. It is well-suited for Education Industry. I have implemented Moodle in the large universities and colleges in the world. Most inspiring features are - the course section which can be grouped based on customized categories and sub-categories - forum which can be associated with the topics at course level or at organization level - Cohort which helps the institute to manage the batch-wise students group every year and can be promoted to next level without much manual efforts - Question Bank which can accommodate more than 12 types of assessments and can also be integrated with other assessment management systems or plugins

Cons
There is no limitation on the features, since this is an open source application, we cannot use it for GxP contents in Life Sciences and may not comply with Banking/Insurance industries.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Anonymous

An easy and practical virtual way for distance education

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-07
Review Source: Capterra

Moodle, allows to offer an exchange space in activities for learning, these can be online or as a support for content management without using the web interface, also through the platform you can create private forums to stimulate discussions online or used as the main interface to perform exams and assessments.

Pros
This tool is also designed in free software is a multimedia program that explores the way to generate virtual ways of quality distance education through its virtual environments, the tool is one of the most used for this type of tasks or activities one of its positive elements is in creating private virtual environments where a group of students with their teacher interact online, which after defining the role of administrator capable of creating subjects and administrator, with the role of teacher with permission or without permissions allows to generate the educational base necessary to fulfill a course. Another positive aspect is the ease of making or creating questionnaires by subjects to facilitate the teaching-learning process and the different evaluative uses necessary to assess the student's progress.

Cons
The tool presents standardized content which prevents differentiating the treatment between advanced and regular students, as well as presenting differentiated content since when the group is created a signature and the access role all share the information according to the profile held by the participants, as to the interface this is not very friendly with the students since it does not have an iconography that facilitates the identification of the different options besides the menus are not intuitive that does not generate a pattern of habit on the actions within the program. layout is similar to a normal blog something that in my opinion could be improved to take more advantage of the online application.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Anonymous

Flexible for designers, teachers and students

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
As an online learning designer, Moodle is a fantastic tool because it integrates multiple options for learning and collaboration between both on and off campus students. It is incredibly flexible with a plethora of both simple and advanced features which can be integrated at a teacher’s preference, and the entire teaching experience can be run through the system. It’s agile enough to integrate with multiple external software systems so is less restrictive than some LMS systems. The interface can be configured to suit individual institutions or teaching and allows a teacher to monitor all activity. As a course designer, Moodle Analytics are extremely valuable because I can see exactly what parts of the course are being accessed, how often, and if they are being completed. This allows me to know if individual components of the course are beneficial to learning or if it needs changing or replacing, without the risk of violating student or institution privacy. When working for an institution that is a Moodle partner, I like the opportunity to help shape Moodle’s future by offering submissions direct to the designers.

Cons
Whenever updates for Moodle are released (six monthly) there are always some problems with existing content, especially with non-standard features that have been designed exclusively for a course or institution. Sometimes they are not immediately evident and can cause issues during the teaching period. Moodle is a very large, powerful system, so it can take considerable time to understand it well enough to be confident designing and teaching courses. Also, if support staff are not on hand it can be difficult to resolve issues or find ways to integrate special requests from teachers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Anonymous

Moodle has been one of the best tools I have ever implemented in my high school courses!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-30
Review Source: Capterra

I think I stated most if not all the benefits in the "pro" section. It's a great time saver once courses are set up. I can see the stats on my students' involvement with the various parts of it. I can cut down paper work by having files submitted electronically. I can use rubrics of my own design to quickly grade programming assignments I can mark up PDF submissions on the screen to give feedback. I can moderate discussions and teach students how to speak in a forum setting. I can provide more opportunities for students to think and produce more creatively. I can enjoy creating my own materials!

Pros
Moodle allows me to provided a blended learning environment for my students. I use it for AP Statistics, AP Computer Science A, AP Computer Science Principles, and Integrated Math 1. I can post assignment schedules, additional readings, links to off-site materials, etc. just as I did in my web pages in the past. However, it also allows me to assign "lessons" that my students do interactively online, discussion boards where they have to write their thoughts coherently, and assignments where students upload files for me to review and grade. It has become an important communication tool for me to use with both students and parents outside school hours. No student can say they forgot their book at school or don't remember the assignment because texts and assignments are online in Moodle. Parents can see what their students are doing in my class academically and not just the grades they receive. Moodle has become more important to my teaching than the textbook. All resources can be found in one place and students can interact with the materials, each other, and me in class and outside class. We have even implemented a computer lab and device reservation system for teachers in Moodle which has saved our librarians a ton of hours of work each week.

Cons
Moodle is not intuitive to the novice. It took some time for me to learn how to use its many features and implement them well. I have been doing this for at least 8 years, but I am still learning more about the system and its capabilities. As the server administrator, doing upgrades has always been problematic. I don't think an upgrade has ever gone smoothly. The reason I stick with it is because I haven't found a LMS that can offer me as much as Moodle. Plus, it's free and we can run it in-house.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Vashi Teeps

Moodle as a student and administrator

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-03-03
Review Source: Software Advice

There is not really any cons about Moodle. It is a highly satisfying product that is worth a try.

Pros
First: It is free! As a student: it has easy navigation, provides a dashboard with all the related courses currently enrolled, it has a calendar on the right highlighting all the upcoming submission dates. It also notifies us about the upcoming events the lecture has set. All the information are arranged in a neat format. It shows the online users. It has portfolio option, makes it easy to keep track of all our works. It also has email facilities so we can email other users. As an administrator: There is so many features incorporated in Moodle! The teacher has the power to design the moodle course in however way they want: It integrates SCORM packages, documents, videos, links, quiz, different grading systems (average/individual) and the grade history of the students on the platform. The teacher also has the flexibility to program when to make one lesson visible (by presetting the time and date), when to close assignment submission past deadline automatically, or to create specific forums and events. One can use moodle to run a class or to act as a learning repertoire. There is also the option to add a chat room for a particular lesson. What I also appreciate is the feature to monitor course participation and activity log report of students. By including keys to the lessons, we can control who we give access to the contents on the forum. Thus it can either be open contents or private. The power lies in the hands of the administrator.

Cons
The chat feature should be an in-built feature rather than a pop-out screen available only when the administrator adds it as part of a lesson.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Pamela Akins

Moodle LMS - Administrator and Trainer Point of View

Reviewed 2015-02-26
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
There are lots and lots of resources for help. Almost every page on the Moodle site has a link at the bottom of it taking you to the specific documentation of what you are working with. Moodle has a huge community of worldwide users that are extremely responsive to user forums, so help is literally a couple of clicks away. Moodle is easy to figure out, even if you have never used and LMS. The site I currently administrate is at http://classes.ala.org. As you land on the homepage, you will see the list of our different divisions who offer online courses. We do this using the categories feature, allowing each of our separate divisions to be represented on the single ALA site. What you might also notice is that the login for the site is a convenient eyebrow link. If you click it, there are a variety of options for setting up your own guest credentials in addition to signing in with your official credentials granted by one of the administrators. Most user issues are simple to troubleshoot. Moodle's no nonsense layout and intuitive interaction makes it pretty straightforward to figure out user issues. Error messages tell you specifically what a problem is in plain English (or whatever language you want to set up). Most user problems are rights related in the system. Moodle allows you to restore previous courses into new courses. The backup and restore feature pretty much does everything for you. Take out the user data from a backup and you can restore the previous version of a course into a brand new course with very little downtime.

Cons
Version 1.9 requires an older version of Java running in order to use the wysiwyg html editor (something that comes in handy for the introduction to the course and each section/Topic for the course) -- a version of Java is required, that if you are on Windows 7, has security issues that your Network Admin is probably blocking. The workaround not having an html editor is to open your web content editor (we have Drupal and Dreamweaver) and then paste the code into the setting fields. It is not difficult to do, just inconvenient. I am sure the current version 2.6 has this capability and more that we are waiting to upgrade to. You have to dig a bit to get to the settings and permissions for specific activities. For example, a common user issue is with Student access to a forum. It is not obvious that some forums are specifically for teacher announcements (meaning that students aren't able to respond, just read the announcements). By the time I get issue, the course creator has a dozen or so forums setup with participants already subscribed, which means that it is easier for me to go into each forum and override the native rights. When you have scores of courses running each containing a dozen or more forums that each need to have permissions touched, it is a lot of work from the admin point of view. The lighter side is that with the proper training, or sandbox playing, creators can discover this nuance before its' too late. The native chat activity doesn't really work in version 1.9. We use FlashChat by Host123 when our course leaders need a course chat room. In version 1.9, there is not a lot of wiggle room in changing the look and feel of the courses. You can add, subtract and move blocks around, you can assign a theme, but it is not the most modern look and feel.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Candace Offman

My school has used Moodle for as long as I can remember, and it works well within our district!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-19
Review Source: Capterra

Using Moodle has been--and continues to be--incredibly convenient for students and teachers alike in my district. Teachers can easily create online tests/quizzes that don't require the hassle of printing and making copies, then grading an entire stack of papers. Students can take the tests and quizzes with ease, and see the immediate results of the automatically-graded multiple choice questions (which saves teachers time, too!). Also, videos can be implanted into lessons, which is very convenient for pausing or rewinding at one's own pace if they zone out or don't understand the topic and need to hear the explanation again. My life as a student was made simpler with the use of Moodle, and I cannot recommend it enough!

Pros
Moodle makes online classwork incredibly easy to create (as a teacher), as well as simple to do and turn in (as a student). All the classes a student is enrolled in are clearly displayed, and classwork within each class is organized well. In addition, being able to immediately see how one did on a quiz/test (the multiple choice, at least) is very convenient.

Cons
When posting in a discussion/forum (my teachers called them "journal entries"), all students can see each other's responses. While this could be good for class discussion, it also makes it incredibly easy for a student to see another student's response, then copy and paste it as their own. (This happened with myself and another student, as she was copying my responses.) In smaller classrooms, this may not be much of an issue as it will be easy to spot, but in larger class sizes it can be easy for teachers to not remember every student's exact answer, and give the cheater the credit.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Mitchell Baker

Moodle from a Helpdesk Perspective

Reviewed 2015-02-27
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I have been supporting faculty and students for over four years on Moodle. One of the best features is the friendliness of the LMS environment. It is fairly easy to take an adult learner with minimal online experience from the login page to submitting assignments. The second aspect on my scale is usability. The LMS is simple enough to learn without a manual. To learn some of the advanced features may take sometime to discover unless you are utilizing the user guide and then it becomes a jumping point to enhance a course even more. Working and playing with the environment with a "seek and find" approach provides a great foundation for supporting various clients. My institution uses the hosted environment, Moodlerooms. It is a great time and budget saver as we really cannot afford a full-time position and pay what should be paid to an individual and expect the environment to be up 99%+ and 24x7. One other advantage is planned updates every 6 months. Moodlerooms is typically one version behind which gives the Moodle community time to finish shaking out all the bugs.

Cons
The one thing I dislike about the vendor is the minimal number of add-in modules provided to the institutions. There are numerous add-ins out in the Moodle user world that could be an asset to our students but are not there because of the locked down environment provided by Moodlerooms.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Chamath Nimantha

The e-learning platform for 100+ students

Used occasionally for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-06-27
Review Source: Capterra

In the beginning, I would say it's a bit harder to learn but after I read their documentation and refer some guides I become a master of Moodle. There are a good amount of helping documentations with Moodle you can find almost anything on their documentation. I’m happy to say that still our students using it daily. If you have a small budget this is a great choice. I’m very satisfied on Moodle and I can recommend for anyone those who are looking for a good LMS platform

Pros
I have used Moodle for an organization to implement an e-learning platform. I have searched for may LMS and finally, I selected Moodle because it’s open source and very customizable for our requirements. While I am using the Moodle I can list down some pros according to my experience - Moodle has Multilingual capability that allows users to use multi-language it was a great feature for me. - Manage user roles and permission, You can define roles to users and manage user access - Bulk course creation and easy to backup - Customizable or create our own themes - Very useful calendar to track course deadlines, meetings and many more - Admin user can Install and disable 3rd party plugins

Cons
Though Moodle offers many features there are some things that I don’t like much. I can list a few cons of Moodle - The learning curve is a bit higher for administration and building Moodle courses for First-time users - If you need to customize some functionalities requires a Moodle programmer - The look and feel a bit outdated even if you use a theme it feels like bit older - I faced some upgrading issues it’s not that easy for me

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

MARIA RENEE RADA

Moodle helping e-learning

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-06-10
Review Source: Software Advice

Moodle is a very useful platform for e-learning. It has everything to teach online. I can recognize 3 levels of users for this software. - The administrator who is in charge to set up the environment and moodle experience for other users. - The teacher who is going to use tools to make an online course exciting, and - The student that will enjoy the course and participate in it though the collaborative tools. If you can do the work of the 2 first levels, congratulations, you are a Moodle expert.

Pros
- You can manage a whole school or university in the academic area with Moodle and for the administrative help you have a big list of choices to get plugins or ERPs compatible with Moodle. - If you know how to use it is a wonderful experience for the teachers and students. - Once that you have the course online, it is a beautiful tool. - There is a lot of documentation and forums about Moodle that can help you to solve almost every issue that you will face using it.

Cons
- It's a free software but is difficult to install and maintain for a person who is not related with IT. So a good option is get it as a SaaS (software as a Service) paying for hosting and upgrades but having the experts doing it, so you can focus in the academic area. - You have to learn how to use it properly and it takes time. - Prepare a course is heavy and a hard work, there are some functionalities that could help us to do it easier, like be capable us to erase or move multiple objects at the same time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Anonymous

Good for students

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-06
Review Source: Capterra

I have used it for years to upload assignments and track my grades. I like the instant feedback of grades if the professors are prompt in grading.

Pros
I like that I can track my grades, submit assignments in the drop boxes and take quizzes. this is a good program for keeping track of assignments weekly. I like the check box feature which allows me to check off files I have viewed or quizzes I have completed which allows me to not keep clicking on powerpoint files I have already downloaded.

Cons
I dislike how if you have an administrator of the page such as a professor who is not savvy with technology or does not keep up with the moodle page, it looks like you have a bad grade if certain things aren't entered correctly or if they haven't corrected things. It also has limitations of any online platform where the administrator doesn't make the file or quiz visible and then they have a hard time seeing why the students havent done the assignment. I only used canvas briefly, but I think it was slightly better in its ease of use, but I am not very familiar with moodle so it is hard to compare ease of use from the student prospective. The alerts and messaging system is a little clunky and I prefer to use email instead. you have to change your preferences or you will get way too many email notifications every time someone comments on a massive discussion post.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Larry Johnson

I built the server, installed the software and moodle runs flawless for many years.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-11-08
Review Source: Capterra

Its Free, powerful and user friendly. It constantly get updates and improvements.

Pros
When installed on a good server and once it is setup, then leave it alone and it will run flawless. I update moodle every 6 months for security and feature improvements. It has not ever crashed on me. You have to follow the installation instructions exactly. Always create backups. I use supermicro motherboards with xeon processors and lots of ram. We have a little over 200 college students and they like using it. Some teachers say that Blackboard might have a few more features. Moodle is free and can do anthing we want. The only extra apps we install in moodle is the attendance and collapsed topics. No problems with these. We mainly use the default settings on the server install and also on moodle. We use one of the skins that come with it. We have one person that creates the classes each semester and helps the teachers if they need it. Once your classes are setup, you can copy them over for the next semester.

Cons
None that we have. Basically stick with the basic setup. Do as little experimenting as possible with different addons. Then just let it run. Ours only goes down when I install updates or a large power outtage.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Anonymous

From a Teaching Assistant point of view

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-02-13
Review Source: Capterra

Personally I really enjoy Moodle because it eliminates a lot of the excuses that students made in the past (losing papers, not writing stuff down). We provide them with the material and they are responsible for it. It also allows us to encourage discussion that we can then see the result of, allowing us to monitor how well students are understanding the course material.

Pros
I used Moodle from a TA point of view for university level courses. I liked it because I was able to upload powerpoint presentations, documents and other handouts for students to download on their own. This made material distribution easier because students can't lose handouts. Further, I like that students are able to refer to notes that are prepared by me, allowing them to pay more attention in the classroom, rather than madly writing everything down. Further, it allows students to interact with each other through discussion forums where they can ask questions to one another or have discussions about class content. I can monitor these and step in if students need a nudge in the right direction.

Cons
Moodle takes a bit of time to learn from the user/student perspective. They need to spend some time playing with it to figure out what tools are available and how to access different areas.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Umaash Nallainathan

Moodle Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
From the view of a student, Moodle is an excellent way to find class materials such as lectures, notes, homeworks, practice tests, and other forms in an easily accessible way. Within specific classes, the materials are often organized by date making it easy to find what you're looking for. The software also displays grades and can help you keep track of class progress. Additionally, online homework can be submitted through the website, minimizing the amount of different softwares students need to download per class. From the point of view of a teaching assistant, Moodle is user friendly when entering grades for individual assignments. Graders can comment on a student's performance which is helpful and the grading page is easy to navigate and straight forward.

Cons
When participating in forums through Moodle, there were sometimes issues viewing other students' posts or writing posts yourself. Additionally, the website is only as useful as the professor makes it, so without professor involvement, many of the site's features are not utilized. Additionally, the mobile version of the software could be improved for better ease of use.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Joshua Farrell

Moodle has been a game changer in organizing, delivering content, and facilitating learning

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-03-28
Review Source: Capterra

Great features at low cost!

Pros
I've been using Moodle for 6 years in my practice as an educator. It has been a total game changer for me in organizing units/resources/assignments, assessment, and making it possible to teach effectively in a 1 to 1 environment. From facilitating online forums to creating end of term assessments, Moodle has made it easy to move the classroom into the 21st century through an intuitive, customizable, and easy to master, open source platform. I've used blackboard, desire2learn, and sampled other online class formats, but Moodle is easily the most cost effective and offers similar capabilities. There really is not much you can't do in terms of managing curriculum and assignments in moodle.

Cons
The one con of Moodle is feedback and creating assessments. While these features are possible and I do use them, I often have found other programs which do this better. However, they also cost considerably more which is something to consider. While some of the ease of use is lacking in moodle, and certain features can be a headache, I feel the benefits often outweigh other programs which do similar things at higher cost.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Anonymous

Virtual Aula, with some limitations

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I'm preparing a virtual aula for my students, and after looking for a while for different options, I decided to use Moodle, The main reason is that it offers almost everything that I need for my classes while its use is totally free. You can create multiple kinds of accounts for different purposes, such as the administrator role, teacher role or student role. Each of them can only access a limited number of options. Also, the variety of activities that can be included are more than enough to cover all the needs your students may have: from filling gaps to sending their own writings. Each student is given a personal account where they can keep record of their progress and contact their teacher privately.

Cons
What I like less about it is that it is not intuitive at all, you will need to either hire a professional or dedicate long hours to figure out how it works. On the positive side, it is a very popular software, and therefore you will find a lot of tutorials and help online. You cannot rely a lot on its official customer service as they seem to have a lot of users it is not very easy to contact them.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Brayan Agostinho De Freitas Gomes

good web portal oriented to distance education where you can educate and learn from home or work

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-05-13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Moodle is a good web education portal, where students can study and learn from home, work and much more ... Moodle adds a large number of educational administrators where students can participate in a group or alone. among them we have: glossaries, lessons and it allows us to buy files like word, excel, pdf .... It also includes a tool where tutors can share and add information on the website so that students can interact with it. It also adds a chat function, both group and individual.

Cons
Moodle should integrate tools such as: video chat, real-time chats and a wider integration of files such as videos and audios. At the time of uploading a file we also find the problem that should not be very heavy in terms of memory. since we have a limited amount of megabits (MB) to upload a file depends on the activity that is developed. Moodle should also improve its interface and make it more comfortable for the user, it can be a bit difficult to use for some users. Moodle continues to grow and I hope it will improve all your problems as several universities have adapted their service to teach distance learning.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Kenatu Bruce

Swiss Army Knife

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-12-16
Review Source: Software Advice

I can say that as a free lance ID I love this platform. Its open source and It has a lot of support. so much so that there are hundreds of plugins developed by third parties that make it a match for more commerically branded LMSes on the market. When I say support, I mean the community, there is no 24-7 support but there are so many users out there that any problem you may have has already happened to someone else and there is a solution just waiting in the right forum. I do work in Camtasia and Movavi and I have not had any trouble getting my content to function within moodle. This along with Articulate Soryline and Rise is my swiss army knife to tackle any e-learning project.

Pros
Easy to use More than hafl the cost of other platforms Hundreds of Plug-ins No problems with my own video content

Cons
Requires more than average techy know how. I really don't see this as a con but it is what it is. I believe tech knowledge is a requirement for every modern day educator, instructor, movitar, life coach or whatever you may call yourself. the level of tech expertise required should be required for everyone. The simple UI is a plus for me but can be also considered a con. however moodle is so customizable you can deal with that too

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Enrrique Perdomo

One of the best applications for instructors.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-04-23
Review Source: Capterra

Have at hand an educational application that allows me to prepare courses and complete classes for work groups or students, where I can evaluate them and keep track of each class or team, knowing what are the strengths and weaknesses to improve the group every day.

Pros
Every professional of the instruction that has knowledge of the technologies of learning to used moodle, is par excellence one of the favorites to the hour of teaching, be it at university or professional level, this application is very flexible and complete, it allows you to create courses, evaluations, create forums, classes, upload videos and more, much more, when you need to prepare new staff or improve the resources you already have, you can always count on moodle for this task, plus it's free, but, you will need a development team to customize to suit your company.

Cons
Maybe the wide application can hinder the development for a specific task, or if you want a simple course, it can take a long time to customize for a small session where example you just need a course or evaluate something, maybe in these cases is better another option.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Anonymous

The best software for students and teacher for education

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-17
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using Moodle in the University for almost 4 years. And it is just an incredible way of submitting projects, communicating with professors and other students.

Pros
Moodle is the best software for learning both on and off campus. The applications is full of unique features allowing teachers and professors to adjust the system to their preferred way of education. Instructors are able to run the whole teaching experience through the software and to monitor the activities of their students. I am a student who has been using the software for about 4 years and it is the easiest and most convenient way of submitting my projects and checking the deadlines of the submissions. The Moodle also provides an easy way to communicate with your professors, and the forum system is an incredible way for starting discussions with other students of the same course. Using Moodle is also very convenient when it comes to resources as professors can easily share all the required materials with students.

Cons
As a student I don't have any complains concerning the Moodle.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Ama Bandara

Learning platform for everyone

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-17
Review Source: Capterra

Moodle class was the main learning platform which i used to complete my B. Tech Engineering degree very much successfully in the open university, Sri Lanka (OUSL). The main preferable feature was that with the distance learning concept i was able to clarify my doubts and get touch with the other class mates and the lecturers when ever i needed without coming to the university premises. Also the platform was very helpful to know about main announcements , what happens within the course and how could i engage in studies successfully. Additionally it provided the necessary facilities to engage in online quizzes and keep track of all my academic records as a student. In overall perspective, introduction of this learning system is very much helpful to the students who engage in jobs and studies simultaneously. Also for the students who live far away from the universities could study the courses simply being at home. In academic instructor`s perspective , the platform provides him/her easy access to the students and could contact them easily and provide necessary information on the course matter.

Pros
Being easy to access, use and collaborate with the academic institute whenever necessary.

Cons
The software could function with less speed when a lot of users try to access simultaneously.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

Anonymous

Useful backbone to online learning offerings

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-04-18
Review Source: Capterra

Our University uses Moodle at the heart of our distance learning program. Alongside a few other initiatives I think it has improved the experience of distance students markedly and I think that as it develops further, Moodle has the potential to offer even more to these students.

Pros
Moodle requires very little technical knowledge to get something up and running and then, if you have a little skill in that area, it can accommodate that to allow for a little shine to be added to an offering. This means that one of the key drives to using it, blended teaching offerings, is actually achievable and easily so for a range of teaching staff.

Cons
While it enriches distance learning offerings, the simplicity of moodle (such as an abundance of drag and drop implementation) does also bring its own set of quirks. It can be a little clunky and resources intensive on old servers and while it provides a lot of advanced features to complement the simplicity they are not always immediately obvious and sometimes not particularly well labelled. Some of this is down to the technical staff that customise and implement the offering but that is perhaps the drawback. That Moodle is so flexible and customisable that one offering of it may look and feel very different to another.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Moodle

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners