App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

MatrixCare Home Health & Hospice Logo

Scalable, connected, cloud-based EHR for post-acute care

(4)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

MatrixCare Home Health & Hospice Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

267

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.2/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

alora-homecare-software
hummingbird
agencycore

Pros and cons

It appeared to have good work flow from clinical to office seamlessly. The billing features seem robust and user friendly as well.
What I like best about Brightree software is it is user friendly and the support staff is amazing.
The vendor is amazing, great customer service, listens to your needs and changes are made quickly, not years later.
We have had problems with OASIS acceptance and fatal errors for skip traces that the system does not automatically follow.
We were unable to bill for services for 3 months due to problems with the documentation because we were not taught how to use it correctly.
Do NOT use their program for documents. You pay a lot and when you leave Brightree it costs to get your documents back.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


267 reviews

Recommended

CB
AvatarImg

Cheyenne B.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Administrator

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Always updating for more ease of use and is on the ball with regulatory changes. In the last year there have been vast improvements in the software and our team can not wait to see what is coming next! This software has made our job much easier and we are glad to be as paperless as possible. Jain has been wonderful as an account manager. She definitely has our company's best interest at heart and gets the answer to any question that we may have. Support for clinical has been great and improved significantly in the last few months. Billing software support has improved as well and is more manageable for our small company.

Cons

I would like to see the fully functional interface with pharmacy soon, the ability to fax from the software, and the ability to look up providers from the CMS site and have their info flow over to reduce time in hand keying entries.

AL
AvatarImg

Amanda L.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best homecare software yet!

Reviewed 7 years ago

I've been using Brightree for a few years now (since it was called CareAnyware), with two different homecare agencies. I absolutely love how the staff seem to be up-to-date on rules/regulations and, as such, make sure our clinicians have the most accurate documentation as possible. Being able to document against a patient's Care Plan is definitely HUGE plus. Unlike some other homecare software companies,...

Pros

Compliance!

Cons

Personally, I don't like that we have to use Internet Explorer. I wish Brightree was compatible with Chrome.

BF
AvatarImg

Barbara F.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Training is Severely Inadequate

Reviewed 7 years ago

Our agency went live on Brightree the same day they rolled out a large upgrade of their program. The prior training we received (which was very minimal) was on the old system and not the updated system. Everything we learned was wrong. The company had Job Aides that were supposed to assist us when we were using the system but all of these job aides were very outdated and wrong. When we called for...

Pros

It's better than our old antiquated system - that's the only good thing I can say. And there was one really great clinical trainer that spent many hours on and off the clock helping us with our issues. It took a long time to get her but once we did, things got much better. I had to go all the way to the Vice President of the company to get additional help from someone who knew what they were doing.

Cons

The way MD orders are written are terrible. When the MD orders a new frequency, the old order remains unless you manually write another order to discontinue the original order. This results in a long list of orders, and many of those have been discontinued. However, you can't tell what date they were discontinued unless you go to the actual order that was written to discontinue that order. Confused?...

AH
AvatarImg

Amy H.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Overall Great Software for Hospice

Reviewed 7 years ago

Our Account Manager has been great! He's always quick to respond to any questions or to follow up on open ticket items.

Pros

Brightee provides an application for charting visit notes on the iPad, which allows for ease of charting in patients' homes. There are cost savings due to staff no longer using laptops that have to be maintained or serviced, and overall the system is fairly easy to learn and navigate.

Cons

There are occasional glitches in the software that causes the application to have to be deleted then re-installed, but this is not very frequent. The ability to access Brightree's AFO side in Safari is not yet fully functioning but we know eventually it will be. There can sometimes be difficulty with technical support staff understanding issues that you may be experiencing, but they will continue efforts to problem-solve until the issue is resolved.

SM
AvatarImg

Shelly M.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Everything you need in one software application

Reviewed a year ago

MatrixCare allows all of our home health care documentation from patient care to back office administration, managing employees and billing prep to take place in one system. The amount of time spent documenting has decreased, lower the stress and increasing work/home life balance for my clinicians.

Pros

Ease of navigation with documentation designed for point of service documentation . Customer service is responsive and knowledgable.

Cons

The cost is definately something to consider. With each new added feature there comes an associated cost. Training new staff or refreshing existing staff also has an associated cost. The jump in price from 99 patient - >100 patients was shocking.

CA
AvatarImg

Casey A.

Medical Devices, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

BRIGHTREE IS HUGE

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

User friendly, great support team, really good software for a large company.

Cons

Cost!!! These people will nickel and dime you to death! Every little "add on" is an add on to your bill. It's too big for a small company like ours. If they had a sister program that was made for a small company, that would be great. Do NOT use their program for documents!! You pay a lot and when you leave Brightree it costs to get your documents back. On top of that, you receive your docs in a way that they choose. Who knows in what form and they don't tell you.

CT
AvatarImg

Cathy T.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Brightree made my job so much easier!

Reviewed 7 years ago

I appreciate the excellent service we get when calling in for assistance, thank you.

Pros

The ability to see visits and coordinate services so much more quickly than when they were on paper. Not having to wait for papers to be turned in to process payroll and billing. My not having to enter those visits manually. Less paperwork for patient files and employee files due to being online. A quicker turn around for claims. Less hands handling information insuring accuracy.

Cons

As an office staff I work mostly on a desktop so what I see and what the field see sometimes is in a different format therefore causes a communication stall. That is the only thing I can think of that is a challenge.

SM
AvatarImg

Sherri M.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Brightree eases the stress of EMR's

Reviewed 7 years ago

The overall program is truly wonderful, i am pleased our entity uses it

Pros

Brightree is always updating the program to keep up with the latest regulatory requirements. It is easy to follow and flow through the charts

Cons

Sometimes it is difficult to get a response from the IT department... they are all very kind, but if it is not a easy find, then it can become a long period of time before one may get resolution to their problem.. usually if i am waiting on a call back, i am the one who usually calls.. i have gone weeks without responses.

CB
AvatarImg

Chauna B.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Customer Service

Reviewed 7 years ago

Brightree customer services representatives are very helpful in explaining the product and how to operate the system more effectively. They are always very pleasant and friendly. If issue is beyond their capabilities they always escalate the issue to a higher tier.

Pros

Simplicity of the software. Very basic step.

Cons

Careanyware messages, unable to be saved and can only have 50 at a time. More info should be listed at the top. example: Patient name, MR#, Cert period, address, contact and MD would be very helpful. Moves a little slow some days.

NB
AvatarImg

Nazzi B.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Brightree is a friendly and inhanced system and help to proper documenttion

Reviewed 7 years ago

Providing seminars and in-service for customers, lunch and learn, and presentations can help customers to have better understanding of the system. Thank you

Pros

User friendly, detailed, easy to navigate. Also, access to i-pad and mobile devices help with the field nurses

Cons

There are some area still needs to be improved such as reports and dashboards. Some updates, such as visit notes and other documentation which effected by due date needs to be released sooner to give users time for training and adjustment

JL
AvatarImg

Jenny L.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Room for improvement

Reviewed 8 years ago

We have been with Brightree since April 2015. I was one of the original "super users" and have been very involved with the troubleshooting and education aspects of the system.

Pros

There are thorough assessments available and the iPad makes it convenient for clinicians to document at point of care. There is a focus on compliance and keeping up with changes in billing and regulations that makes Brightree a quality product.

Cons

There are multiple issues with reports, both clinical and billing, that make it difficult to trust the data. This means increased tracking of things like infections, wounds, admissions, etc. via other methods, costing time and money. There is some inconsistency with where buttons are on the iPad app which can make it unnecessarily confusing especially for new staff. From the office perspective, there...

CM
AvatarImg

Carla M.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Brightree software helps with documentation for patient specific issues.

Reviewed 7 years ago

My son works as a software engineer and I have asked him about the above issues- he explained it to me why things are different - but if the engineers would know what we prefer as users that maybe a simple fix.

Pros

Documentation is quick and easy to use. Really like the way it flows as in head to toe assessments. Pain is always required to be assessed.

Cons

Consistency with how the software looks from AFO and C-POC- would be nice if it was more consistent with how it looks. Also- The calendar for documentation please use calendar views - not scroll calendars and to be consistent- it is nice to see the days of the week. ie for what day nurse will be coming again.

DL
AvatarImg

Deena L.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Pros and Cons

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Support is excellent, always available and follows up wonderfully. Implementation Clinical Trainer was excellent and very knowledgeable.

Cons

The reports are too extensive, hard to find what you are looking for. Should be grouped in more detail and the top reports should be flagged somehow. The AFO side needs to be updated. It is old and outdated as compared to Brightree I-pad software. Some of the reports dont' populate correctly, are very hard to read and print. It should have more tracking ability to graph or report on FAST, PPS, etc....

CM
AvatarImg

Carla M.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Brightree user for several years.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Good system, easy to use.

Pros

Very good for ease of getting reports to manage care and for management needs. Assessment is very good.

Cons

Inconsistent with calendars in system- would prefer the calendar view not the roll type calendar. When pulling new patients or schedule changes to I-pad synching can be just too much. Even when getting several things done between synching. When training new staff they usually comment about this being excessive. Would be nice to be able to put comments into the wound assessment.

SB
AvatarImg

Slade B.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Business Intelligence

Reviewed 7 years ago

Our hospice agency started using Brightree Hospice software in November 2014. I like how the software takes an interdisciplinary approach to care that hospices require. It also drastically reduces the amount of time spent preparing for our IDT meeting. The interdisciplinary care plan is clean and easy for the clinicians to add or make changes. I also like the scheduling component as it does not allow a visit to be made without an order. This helps keep our agency in compliance.

Pros

I like how we have been able to get rid of our paper charts and now everything is in one location - in Brightree.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

CD
AvatarImg

Cassandra D.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review of Brightree Hospice software

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like that I can initiate my charting at my visit with the patient.

Cons

I wish there was more of a separation between Hospice and Home Health, as several things that are required for Home Health are not relevant to Hospice.

DP
AvatarImg

Danei P.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Brightree is fairly easy to navigate

Reviewed 7 years ago

Overall, probably the best EMR I've used so far. Also, I've had good experience when reaching out to customer support.

Pros

the fact that it will not allow you to submit documentation that's missing mandatory information. Easy flow when navigating through the note while documenting. For the most part, customer support response is very good and helpful

Cons

For iPad users - Inability to delete or error information entered by mistake (orders, medications, dx...)

PD
AvatarImg

Patricia D.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Volunteer/Bereavement Coordinator

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have used this product for the past year and 1/2 and it truly has been a blessing. I have worked at my agency for 15 years and before I filed all medical records in paper charts with my prior job title. I would spend numerous hours sorting filing and organizing charts. Now with this system, everything is right there in front of me easy to access.

Pros

The pros of the system are having everything you need right in front of you and not having to spend hours documenting, organizing or filing, also having easy access to an end of year reports.

Cons

The only thing I dislike would be when the system is taking too long to log into a file or report

TG
AvatarImg

Theresa G.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Really great EMR - best in functionality and overall operational/financial needs for the price!

Reviewed 7 years ago

Overall, LOVE Brightree as a partner with our home health agency. It's truly a partnership and our account manager exceeds expectations with responsiveness to needs and professional support.

Pros

Reports, ease of use for staff Brightree support much improved over the years and genuinely interested in meeting your needs.

Cons

Scheduling component for staff on iPad and AFO. Limitations . Slight clinical documentation limitations to meet optimal compliance areas

SH
AvatarImg

Sacha H.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Brightree for Homecare

Reviewed 7 years ago

I've been using the software for about 7 years. It's much more comprehensive than the prior software we'd used, so it was kind of tricky to learn, however, it's much easier now due to improvements made & the training is now much more in depth. Once I got a feel for it, I liked it. It makes my job easier.

Pros

Built-in compliance everywhere, almost everything can be customized. Tons of reports.

Cons

Glitchy sometimes when there's an update, but issues generally resolve quickly

NB
AvatarImg

Nazzi B.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

How good is this sofware

Reviewed 6 years ago

It is a great software, however, for hospice needs more developments and upgrades

Pros

It is user-friendly and easy to navigate. I like using BT because for each specific finding there is an area marked clearly.

Cons

There some areas does not give a clear report and dashboard. As hospice provider, it is important to make sure we can have access to the collected data and have the ability to analyze them.

MG
AvatarImg

Mary G.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Brightree changed our documentation for the better

Reviewed 7 years ago

I will honestly admit that I was apprehensive about learning a new computer program and trusting that confidential information would be saved. I am not a computer geek, but I have been surprised at how easy and practical this program is. In addition, I can easily access information about patients when I am on call. Another benefit is that our paperwork has decreased! Once you start using the program you will easily learn the benefits. Initially, I used the support /tutorials which I found helpful but using the program and learning its benefits was probably the best seller for me. I think it has changed the efficiency of our documentation for the better!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

SB
AvatarImg

Shelley B.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Use this site everyday!!!!!!!

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The ease to enter patients is one of the best features for this software. I secondly like how it is linked to the insurances and I can check eligibility via Brightree.

Cons

Duplicate Patients!!!! There are so many duplicate patients and you can not delete them once you put in a note. There should be a way to merge these patients.

SN
AvatarImg

Stephanie N.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very user friendly software

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

How to enter a new referral. Before it was pretty difficult, but now it's pretty plain and simple. I also like the task list, I am able to keep up with things using that feature.

Cons

The scheduling tab. It takes a lot just to drop someone on to a schedule. I think the process can be shortened.

DT
AvatarImg

Debbie T.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Administrator

Reviewed 8 years ago

I use Brightree every day in my job. I usually use AFO more than CPOC. I thought it was pretty easy to learn compared to hospital EMR systems, but I was new to the home health and hospice field when I transferred my position.

Pros

I like the iPad capability. We are getting ready to use iPads in our office and during the training I see many benefits to the program. I do like that it is web based so I can be at home and sign into Brightree and complete work. I like the updates and how Brightree continues to improve on their products. I do like the support we receive from tech side and clinical side. I believe the are sincere when trying to help me figure out issues.

Cons

Don't like that we cannot print from CPOC. I feel the reports could be more user friendly and they seem to be "down" when I need them the most. I feel we are being forced to change to iPads and CPOC is being fazed out. Did not like that I am charged a monthly fee for Brightree to interface with my hospice PBM company.