This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

HackerRank

Skills assessment and interview management platform

see alternatives

HackerRank Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Great platform for beginners to advanced developers. Recently featured certificate programs have made the portal more competitive, thus influencing everyone for happy coding.

Avijit D.

Preparing for interviews is extremely important for me. I like that HackerRank aims to do exactly that, and also helps when you don't know the answer to a question.

Corine T.

Also, in terms of ease of use, the site works great. It's easy to use, and easy to learn how to program in.

Anthony A.

Cons

The only downside to HackerRank is when it's used in the interview processes of companies. It tends to be like a badly setup exam, erratic in nature.

Gareth N.

Inaccurate coding exercises and unstable connection during interviews.

Christopher G.

The interface where user codes is not smooth. I have seen a lot of time that the system takes a lot of time in order to identify mistakes in code.

Aditya K.

Overall rating

4.5

5

4

3

2

1

22

11

3

0

0

92%
positive reviews
96%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


36 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Start For Beginners

Reviewed a year ago

This helps me teaching and giving tasks to the students as there are problem sets already available for all kind of students, thus a wide option for me to learn and make others learn. Also the facility of making online contest helps me to pick best of the students. Thus making things simpler and reducing tedious works.

Pros

Ease of access and interactive interface with enough resources for learning. The best thing about this community is that you can easily start learning programming from scratch. It has well upgraded compilers. It makes you available for competitive programming. Great platform for beginners to advanced developers. Recently featured certificate programs have made the portal more competitive, thus influencing everyone for happy coding.

Cons

There are some problem statements on the advanced level where the results produced by your program are correct and matches with the expected results but seems that you dont get points. And their response to suggest edits didnt happened.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Filter before we talk with candidates !!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Definitely in the right direction and one should always go for it without a second thought . A piece of advice - Do code on other platforms too as it will be wise not to invest all your eggs in one basket .

Pros

The coding tests in HackerRank are very difficult and have been the best way that we have found to screen the suitable candidates on deep technical skills, it helps to eliminate first couple of tech interviews. The tests are very similar to the type of thing that you will find in a coding competition. And these are real coding test in that they compile the code and evaluation the solution automatically....

Cons

I would say that one of the issues is that to make it work effectively I think you need to either create your own coding tests or get them to create a custom test just for your company. Get a custom test developed by the HackerRank team, It costs something to do this. The tests that are public and available to everyone on the HackerRank site are probably searchable on Google which makes it a bit too easy.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best for practicing technical Interviews

Reviewed 8 days ago

HackerRank provides you a great platform if you want to improve your skills, target companies through interviews and develop as a great software engineer

Pros

If you want to prepare for technical interviews then hackerRank provides different sections which you can use for preparing interviews. This sections have different levels. An amateur can start from beginner level and advance further. There are a lot of different sections for giving exams and studying different technologies. Its a versatile software

Cons

There are some things which could be improved. The interface where user codes is not smooth. I have seen a lot of time that the system takes a lot of time in order to identify mistakes in code. Its not as smooth as leetcode.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Straight forward interviews with minimal setup

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Provided a straight forward way to set up interviews without much hassle

Cons

The play back feature was not as refined as some of the other interview administering software's I have used + this is a feature I use very often.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best site to improve your tech skills

Reviewed 3 months ago

I challenge myself to resolve 1 problem per day, and I certainly improve my programming skills and the way I resolve problems in real life. The sing up process is easy and you start right away to browse through the challenges. It's indeed a good preparation for a technical programming interview

Pros

I love this site, it allows you to learn and challenge yourself at your own pace, and during the process, you will catch up with the top-ranking developers that write incredible code and algorithms. It has a nice code editor and an online compiler. The challenges are great for every skill level They manage a diverse set of programming languages

Cons

The only thing I didn't like is that sometimes when you try to lookup for hints you realize that the community on your preferred language is small and only the most popular languages get more feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great way to learn coding basics and improve your reputability

Reviewed 3 years ago

Coding reputability, practice, and a great coding community.

Pros

- Free, fun way to learn a lot of different important coding concepts. - A great next step from Codeacademy. The challenges appeal to people of all skill levels, the lessons help beginners, and the forums are a great place to learn more. - Online code processing is fast, allows for own user input - To be honest, the design is also quite good. A lot of how a "challenge" goes is dependent on how the author writes it, but I find a lot of them to be designed well.

Cons

- There is definitely a learning curve if you've never read from stdin. That isn't a big deal, but is definitely a weird concept to grasp if you've only done Codeacademy tutorials. - Certain algorithms are hard to figure out to the point that I stop learning and would prefer to view the answer (as to actually learn how it works). This is difficult at times - which is not always bad, but definitely has its downsides

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for Practicing and Interview Prep

Reviewed 2 years ago

I think that overall I've had a really good experience with HackerRank. Preparing for interviews is extremely important for me. I like that HackerRank aims to do exactly that, and also helps when you don't know the answer to a question. HackerRank lets you see other people's solutions so that you can compare your own to see if you answered the question correctly.

Pros

What I like most about this software is that it really puts in the effort to prepare users for the coding tests given at job interviews. There are so many questions from easy to hard so there's always something new to learn. I also like that companies use the software rather than make the interview tests themselves.

Cons

What I least like about this software is that sometimes it will recognize small things as errors even though they are not really errors. Sometimes I felt like I was answering the question correctly, but the software was not acknowledging that because of a small detail that the software uses, whereas regular IDEs do not notice it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best site to learn about data structures and algorithms

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Questions are present for all level of candidates. They are also sorted according to various categories for easy access. Also, the competitions are good way to get to know one's current skill level with respect to coders all over the world.

Cons

Sometimes, the editorials are not easy to understand. Other than that, the site is amazing and is of great help to students and job seekers, particularly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best platform to prepare and test your coding skills

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's good and always fun to practise on HackerRank.

Pros

It has different sections, each section has many problems to solve which categorize according to the difficulty level. Rank and badge progress, it really encourages to open this platform and start coding. Each and every problem makes you read a concept (DS, Algo or core maths), but you are not solving a single problem, actually each roblem makes you read a single concept.

Cons

Opportunities, the platform makes you able to compete for any hiring challenge but lacks to provide any. However one's profile page with good badges is able to tell any techie how good you are in coding and concepts.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Beginner friendly for new programmers

Reviewed 6 months ago

Overall, it is a great platform for students starting to learn different programming languages or to become proficient in them.

Pros

I have been using HackerRank for the past 1 year. I like the different paths it offers for different programming languages. And it also offers free certification on many skills like algorithms and data structures.

Cons

The number of certification tests can be increased apart from this there are no issues I have faced while solving problems on the website.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

HackerRank Review from a Small Start Up

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We used HackerRank as a first step screening process for all the candidates that applied. As a small startup, we don't have the resources and bandwidth to give everyone a technical interview so we built unique tests on HackerRank that help test candidates on skills they would need to know to work here. When we get the results, it's easy to filter out the candidates we want to pursue. HackerRank has helped us narrow down 400 applicants to 30 qualified candidates.

Cons

HackerRank is a bit on the pricey side. The only have two plans so the range between features in the two plans is very vast.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Hackerrank review from a Recruiter POV

Reviewed 3 years ago

It has been plesant and they have a great support team.

Pros

I like how it is easy to use and navigate as well as to make edits.

Cons

It is a bit on the pricey side and does not have the ability to make an app test inside of hackerrank.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Way to Assess Tech Talent for Non-Technical Recruiters

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

HackerRank has a huge bank of pre-set questions (both multiple choice and coding) to choose from. We like this software because in addition to assessments, they also offer a sourcing platform and a live coding option. It's 3 different products in one to give you an advantage in a very competitive war for tech talent. The best part is that you don't need to know how to code to assess talent. You will, however, get your engineering employees involved and they will appreciate being part of the process.

Cons

Some of the questions are worded confusingly but you can always edit any preset questions. Your success with the platform is only as good as how you select your assessments so involvement from your organization is important.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great platform to practice coding

Reviewed 3 years ago

The platform has good variety and number of problems to practice which are at the same time very competetive

Pros

The HackerRank platform supports almost all the programming languages that you can imagine. The interface is really neat and code editor has basic features

Cons

Formatting code in certain languages is a nightmare, especially in python if you have not setup the editor configuration correctly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome website for practising coding skills

Reviewed a year ago

Overall its great for every kind of programmer with so many problems and challenges for them to practice. The platform can also be used for hiring programmers who do well in the online challenges and have good overall rank in HackerRank.

Pros

Great website for learning and building upon you software coding skills. The IDE's support almost all the languages and the coding problems range from beginner to advanced levels. Its a must for any programmer who wants to enhance his competitive programming skills.

Cons

Not much to dislike about the website, since there is almost everything for each level of programmers ranging from beginners to advanced, including problems from easy to very complex.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great site to keep your skills up

Reviewed 2 years ago

I really enjoy HackerRank. I like how it's a go at your own pace learning tool with down negative side effects to use. I suggest you use it if you are looking to learn, get new ideas, or just keep up skills in languages you don't often use.

Pros

I like that it is free of course, but also that you are able to keep your skills up on languages you do not use regularly, or give yourself new challenges and ideas. Also, in terms of ease of use, the site works great. It's easy to use, and easy to learn how to program in. Sometimes they'll even email you a challenge. Such a great site!

Cons

I don't really see cons in this software. I haven't had anything go wrong with the site.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HackerRank Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Practice for coding interviews. Take coding challenges on HackerRank. Competitions available. Simple to use interface.

Cons

Doesn't have as many problems available as Leetcode for practicing for software interviews. Seems more geared towards competitive programming.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It really helped me evolve as a programmer.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The best user interface among all its competitors there is. Good set of questions properly seperated by tags.

Cons

The questions in the graph theory section are a little vague. I will struggle to find any other faults in this site as it is so much perfect.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The best platform to code on. Helped me take my skills to the next level.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The coding tracks are of very high quality. The UI of the website is very nice and keeps me interested for long hours.

Cons

Please add more language tracks like java c# etc. Also server crashes when conducting private contests.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A good tool to gauge your skill set

Reviewed 2 years ago

My experience has been good. It serves multiple purposes and with some minor tweaks it could be even better.

Pros

I liked the UI/UX of HackerRank. It's quite simple to use and it also has a wide variety of exercises. It's a good tool to use to practice for interviews as well as to test your knowledge and rehash topics that you struggle with.

Cons

The only downside to HackerRank is when it's used in the interview processes of companies. It tends to be like a badly setup exam, erratic in nature. It's also not that useful if used incorrectly. I'm not sure if they provide guides to companies that want to use it for interview related purposes but it would definitely provide a better experience if used correctly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A platform for identifying skilled programmers

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This website makes beginners to enhance coding and problem solving skills. A good platform for employers to identify skilled rather than looking for people on resumes and interviews

Cons

Some of the challesges are imperfect and test cases are not always completely well organised

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for coding practice

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I found hackerrank quite useful for my interview preparations and liked the difficulty of the problems on the website. It helped me clear some fundamentals and brush up my skills.

Cons

It's sometime hard to find best solutions or if i wish to only do a short course on a particular area instead of problem solving.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

If you wish to learn a new skill then "HackerRank"

Reviewed 3 years ago

As a software engineer I have to keep my self updated with new programming language with trend and I can simply learn it from HackerRank also it's coding challenge is useful as well.

Pros

HackerRank has large number of tutorials available for different languages and technologies. Also it has a good number of challenging questions set to test our skill. I have learnt many things from HackerRank.

Cons

The only thing I dislike about HackerRank is it's online compiler for some languages it is outdated because during one competition I wasted some time to learn that the compiler has no library file which I was trying to use. Though I got support and resolved my problem.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A platform to enhance programming skills

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The questions are categorized in such a way that any level of student can participate and improve himself/herself.

Cons

The test cases can be improved better since some questions fail to test a few exceptional cases

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very useful tool for training programmers skills

Reviewed 4 years ago

I train my programming skills in free time, because my current work is about management not coding.

Pros

1. Hard but interesting challenges for training skills. 2. Contests, where you can see your real level of knowledge. 3. Good gamification - scoring,ranking and leaderbords. And, sure, opportunity to find a job of your dreams!

Cons

As for me, there are too low pushing level. I'm very busy man, but sometimes have a lot of free time which I can spend for training my skills. But often I forget about this. So more agressive pushing would not be superfluous