Tourwriter Features

Tourwriter

Automate tailor-made travel itineraries

4.42/5 (31 reviews)

Competitor Feature Comparison

360 Degree Feedback
API
Activities Booking
Activity Management
Ad hoc Reporting
Affiliate Management
Alerts/Notifications
Booking Management
Booking Notes
CRM
Calendar Management
Calendar Sync
Central Reservation System
Channel Management
Client Management
Conversion Rate Optimization
Conversion Tracking
Credit Card Processing
Customer Database
Customer Support
Customizable Fields
Customizable Questions
Customizable Reports
Data Import/Export
Database Conversion
Discount Management
Dynamic Content
Electronic Payments
Employee Database
Employee Management
Event Management
GDS/OTA Integration
Group Reservations
Inventory Management
Itinerary Creation
Online Booking
Package Creation
Payment Processing
Point of Sale (POS)
Pricing Management
Promotions Management
Quotes/Estimates
Rate Management
Real-time Updates
Reminders
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
Reservations Management
Resource Allocation & Planning
Resource Management
Room Booking
Sales Pipeline Management
Supplier Management
Third Party Booking
Third Party Integrations
Vendor Management
Waiver Management
Website Integration
Website Management
eCommerce Management
Learn moreCompare App
360 Degree Feedback
API
Activities Booking
Activity Management
Ad hoc Reporting
Affiliate Management
Alerts/Notifications
Booking Management
Booking Notes
CRM
Calendar Management
Calendar Sync
Central Reservation System
Channel Management
Client Management
Conversion Rate Optimization
Conversion Tracking
Credit Card Processing
Customer Database
Customer Support
Customizable Fields
Customizable Questions
Customizable Reports
Data Import/Export
Database Conversion
Discount Management
Dynamic Content
Electronic Payments
Employee Database
Employee Management
Event Management
GDS/OTA Integration
Group Reservations
Inventory Management
Itinerary Creation
Online Booking
Package Creation
Payment Processing
Point of Sale (POS)
Pricing Management
Promotions Management
Quotes/Estimates
Rate Management
Real-time Updates
Reminders
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
Reservations Management
Resource Allocation & Planning
Resource Management
Room Booking
Sales Pipeline Management
Supplier Management
Third Party Booking
Third Party Integrations
Vendor Management
Waiver Management
Website Integration
Website Management
eCommerce Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App
360 Degree Feedback
API
Activities Booking
Activity Management
Ad hoc Reporting
Affiliate Management
Alerts/Notifications
Booking Management
Booking Notes
CRM
Calendar Management
Calendar Sync
Central Reservation System
Channel Management
Client Management
Conversion Rate Optimization
Conversion Tracking
Credit Card Processing
Customer Database
Customer Support
Customizable Fields
Customizable Questions
Customizable Reports
Data Import/Export
Database Conversion
Discount Management
Dynamic Content
Electronic Payments
Employee Database
Employee Management
Event Management
GDS/OTA Integration
Group Reservations
Inventory Management
Itinerary Creation
Online Booking
Package Creation
Payment Processing
Point of Sale (POS)
Pricing Management
Promotions Management
Quotes/Estimates
Rate Management
Real-time Updates
Reminders
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
Reservations Management
Resource Allocation & Planning
Resource Management
Room Booking
Sales Pipeline Management
Supplier Management
Third Party Booking
Third Party Integrations
Vendor Management
Waiver Management
Website Integration
Website Management
eCommerce Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App

Tourwriter Feature Reviews

25 reviewers had the following to say about Tourwriter's features:

Mario Z.

Great software for Tour management

2014-11-24

Deeply customizable itineraries.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
William M.

Tour writer is very easy to learn and use. It has allowed us to do more work with fewer people.

2017-11-10

The largest benefit has been the dramatic reduction in labor hours needed to produce a finalized itinerary.

Pros

There are numerous things we like about the software, but some of the major items: -Ease of itinerary building -Data analysis -Report flexibility & generation

Cons

Our biggest problem was the delay of the markup to gross feature. This has recently been added.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sebastien M.

Key software for our DMC

2017-04-17

We have been using TourWriter for 10 years now and the software is at the core of our business, enabling us to efficiently store customer and supplier data, match all in itineraries, process book keeping, create custom documents, extract reports, etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from TourWriter


Thank you for such a great TourWriter review Sebastien. It's great that you have embraced the full functionality available in TourWriter, particularly the accounting offering and the custom documents. The way you utilise the data extract reporting tool, to learn from 10 years of business experience, and to make meaningful business decisions, gives you an edge. Frogs New Zealand truly is an inspirational Inbound Operator, making it a niche travel operator TourWriter is very proud to work alongside.

Read more
Karen J.

Ahipara Luxury Travel

2014-05-06

Our experience with TW remains excellent on all fronts - the Database functionality works well feeding suppliers through to specific itineraries.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from TourWriter


Hi Karen, Thanks for the positive review. Fantastic news... we are developing stronger online functionality in the not too distant future. I will be in touch with more info.Cheers, Jason

Read more
Monica Z.

After much research and years of use - THIS IS YOUR BEST OPTION!

2017-04-18

I wanted my itinerary in a very specific way, I also wanted two other documents to create quotes and area suggestions.

Pros

The ease of use, the cooperation during implementation, their ability to recreate my wishes to a perfect itinerary that works with the industry quirks specific to my market. Finally, the system is never down!

Cons

A few steps in the data entry process could maybe be simplified, but nothing that is big.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Tourwriter

A software is 50% of the product. The implementation and support team is the other 50%. Tourwriter provides 100% satisfaction.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laura N.

Happy Customers

2017-04-25

This includes managing inventory, reporting, client contacts, suppliers and production of itineraries.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David F.

All in one place

2019-05-14

Pros

Keeps all my data in one place, can access online or offline.

Cons

The treatment of foreign currency as an 'inverse rate'

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Tourwriter


David, thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough Tourwriter review. We are sincerely delighted to hear that you enjoy working with us as much as we enjoy working with you. It is great to hear the keeping of your data in one place and being able to access it both on and offline provides you such a positive benefit. In regards to treating foreign currency as an inverse rate, we appreciate your input and are committed to enhancing our product where possible. Keep soaring! The Tourwriter team.

Read more
Isabella O.

Shamrock Vacations Quoting Software

2014-04-30

We have access to additional bespoke reporting, at anytime.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from TourWriter


Hi Isabella, Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to working with you as you continue to grow. Cheers, Jason

Read more
Deepak B.

Review of TourWriter

2013-10-08

No fear of losing data. if initial set up is done properly, can save you heaps of time later on.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kathy C.

Great implementation support! Easy to work with, full of helpful ideas and ways to improve workflow

2017-07-26

All of my staff can see what has been sold or quoted so nor more confused sales agents trying to figure out what another agent quoted or booked.

Pros

Putting together an itinerary is quick and easy for our sales agents.

Cons

If TourWriter had the ability to assign a task to a co-worker then it would be perfect! We would then be able to get rid of the steps we have to add to Asana for each booking we process. Currently, the tasks in the to do list can only be set up for the person assigned to the booking. But we have many team members doing differnt tasks on each booking, so if we could assign them to the person responsible, then we would not have to go outside of TourWriter to do anything!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from TourWriter


Kathy, thank you very much for taking the time to review Tourwriter. We are delighted that you are already reaping the time saving benefits that Tourwriter provides. We are also thrilled to hear that you have been well looked after by the broader Tourwriter Team and that training new staff is quick and easy for all concerned.

With regard to the item on your wish-list, we love customer feedback, and you will be excited to learn that the ability to assign tasks to a co-worker is on our Product Roadmap, for release at the end of the next quarter. In addition to this we plan to enhance the feature further by allowing you to optionally set default due dates for both your tasks (e.g. send a follow-up email 7 days after the client returns home), and task reminders sent to your team.

If there is anything else you can think of, that will help us make Tourwriter your one stop shop for all your Tour Operator operational needs, please let us know!

Read more
Casey D.

Excellent itinerary writing tool

2013-10-09

The only cons are the cost which has gone up significantly since we bought it and the fact that it's not an online model so it can only be accessed on the computers it is loaded on to.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nick B.

the ideal product for any size tour operator

2016-05-16

We have no problem sticking to the current export into QB method that's available here.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Melissa N.

Artsy and efficient

2019-10-05

Pros

I loved using such an efficient software that allowed me to bring my tour packages to life for my clients. You could add photos and maps or videos to really draw in clients attention. A lot of the information you needed or wanted about a hotel or a restaurant or destination was already in the software to use

Cons

There were a few kinks with formating when we would save our finished version of our travel documents but they were easy enough to fix

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Tourwriter


Thank you Melissa for your review of Tourwriter. We are delighted you are able to bring your itineraries to life through Tourwriter and are seeing the benefits of the software. We are also pleased we were able to resolve the issues mentioned with ease and provide a solution for you. We really enjoy working with you. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review. Amanda and the Tourwriter team

Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer

Great Tour Operator Software

2018-03-10

It makes it easier for me to present my tours.

Pros

With Tourwriter you will be able to present you tour products in a nice and professional way which your customers will love.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kim B.

Hard to set up, but extremely customizable. Saves time, prevents mistakes

2017-04-21

It's a little hard to get this set up, probably because it is very customizable. Once it is set up, it works really well.

Pros

Very customizable with the help of their very capable programming team, helps save time and prevent mistakes in itineraries

Cons

Really hard to figure out most efficient way to use it at first- so many variables in travel!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Tourwriter

You need to give a lot of thought to how your itineraries work to be able to automate them.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from TourWriter


Kimberly, thank you for the kind words! One of the most pleasant clients our team has had the pleasure of working with. Glad we could help with automating all of the tedious manual processes that were obstructing efficiency of the business. Looking forward to more years of continued mutual success!

Read more
Petra S.

Tourwriter - fantastic!

2014-11-27

It saves time and money and ensures we can provide our clients with quick, thorough itineraries and travel quotes. I have used a few systems over the years and Tourwriter is the best software for travel itineraries.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stella G.

Excellent Software for small to mid size tour companies!

2019-06-05

Overall very pleased. Price is right, service is there, I like that they "stay up-to-date" or working on tools and services to be up-to-date with technology!

Pros

Service, customer support, the fact that they keep updating the software

Cons

Would like more functionality with regards to online presence.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Tourwriter


Hi Stella,
Thanks for taking the time to submit a Capterra review - your feedback is valued! We value Asimina as a customer and enjoy working with you and the team. We will be in touch regarding the online itinerary options, as have been working hard to develop more functionality in Minim!
Thanks again! Sarah, Amanda and the Tourwriter team

Read more
Claire R.

I have been frustrated with Tourwriter from the moment I transferred the initial payment.

2018-02-07

The software is great my issue is with the implementation period

Pros

The whole setup process has been painfully slow and not designed with my business needs in mind

Cons

To be fair to tourwriter stated they would not charge however I do feel that the coding came nowhere close to 8 hours so again it has made me question tourwriter, Also it is now 10 weeks since I bought tourwriter and I STILL do not have an itinerary designed especially for my business.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laia B.

A good help to organize travel information

2014-12-10

Tour Writer allows you to register all the traveller information, from the clients' wishes to the flight schedule and the description of the tours.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Luke R.

Terrible - More hassle than its worth

2019-09-13

Terrible. I cant believe i'm still trying to deal with them but once you've invested as much time and personal hours as we have its hard to go back. Don't make the same mistake we did and cut your loses before you even start. Find another system.

Pros

It works after many many many hours of implementation. I'm talking 12 months +

Cons

Then the API would not send all the data they said it would.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Tourwriter


Typical implementations take 12-16 wks. Occasionally, customers have requirements that differ from a typical tour operator business. In instances like this the intricacies are not fully understood until implementation is underway. Sail Ningaloo run a cruise company with allocations by sail date; this unique quality required a different way of managing allocations compared to all of our other customers.

Delays were incurred due to the development of a custom API and specific allocation requirements, which proved to be complex bodies of work. Had the complexity of the customisation been clearer at the outset we would have been able to set more accurate expectations.

In recognition of the longer than expected process Sail Ningaloo received a discount of 80% on their original report quote; hours of costly development were also provided free of charge.

We have now delivered all items Sail Ningaloo have requested and they have recently renewed their Tourwriter Licence for another year.

Read more
Carmen M.

broken promises and poor service

2016-01-26

We felt that the person training us on the services was rude and impatient with us, but continued to interface in hopes that the software would come together quickly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from TourWriter


The reviewer was only partly involved in the Implementation process and didn't go on to be a TourWriter user. Our most successful implementations are when the owner of the business is driving the change and adoption.
Two major factors were; the main people who were trained by Tourwriter left the company just as we were completing their training program and custom reports. The new person that took over decided not to be trained and didn't follow our advice to apply best practice. We offered to retrain their staff and fix up the incorrect changes they had made in their custom reports, for no charge. Tourwriter staff spent around 30 hours of retraining, 30 hours of database loading, and 40 hours of correcting their continuous requests for changes to their reports, for NO charge. We eventually got Tourwriter to a stage where it was ready, they then decided to stick to their previous processes.We wish them all the best

Read more
Samuel R.

Wonderful software

2015-07-24

It took us a few months to implement the software and start working with it BAU but thanks to the training and support service this process has been easy. Thank you so much for making our work easier!!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from TourWriter


Thanks Samuel, it's great that the TourWriter Implementation went smoothly, and you're enjoying the ongoing support. Most importantly we love to hear that TourWriter has transformed your Spanish travel business. and given you the platform to grow profitably. We love to hear that our clients are growing with us!

Read more
Hannah B.

Excellent software

2014-11-29

Of course the product is only as good as the data you load into it and loading hotel and touring information, rates and photos is a big job (which TW will help you with).

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David B.

Great for FIT's

2014-11-21

After searching lots of products to make our Receptive business easier, we partnered with TourWriter a year ago.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andres P.

Great tool for our company

2019-05-14

Pros

Is easy to use due our company needs to have very good explain our products

Cons

Sometimes we can issues with uploading images into the system

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Tourwriter


Hi Andres, many thanks for taking the time to post a Tourwriter review. We are delighted to receive your feedback. It's great to hear you are finding Tourwriter easy to use and keeps your products in one place. We will reach out to you to give you some support on the loading of your images - as this should also be quick and easy for you. We also have a super awesome data loading team that could be of some help here. We look forward to working with you further. Thanks, the Tourwriter team!

Read more