This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

Tourwriter Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Support at Tourwriter has always been fast and productive, helping to adjust it it suit our changing needs which is essential in business. Great system, great staff.

Gary G.

With Tourwriter you will be able to present you tour products in a nice and professional way which your customers will love. Tourwriter has a great customer service.

Anonymous Reviewer

The ease of use, the cooperation during implementation, their ability to recreate my wishes to a perfect itinerary that works with the industry quirks specific to my market.

Monica Z.

Cons

Overall, there are very few things we dislike/like the least about the software. Our biggest problem was the delay of the markup to gross feature.

William M.

Then their allocation system did not work, once again delayed by implementation team not reading and actioning emails we sent noting the errors.

Luke R.

Don't make the same mistake we did and cut your loses before you even start.

Luke R.

Overall rating

4.4

5

4

3

2

1

18

10

2

0

1

90%
positive reviews
85%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


31 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

After much research and years of use - THIS IS YOUR BEST OPTION!

Reviewed 4 years ago

I own a small travel agency called CostaRicaTravelMarket. Most of my decisions are mapped on a grid. I will research fully, select the market options and grade each value proposition. This is the same process I followed when we decided to upgrade our itinerary management software and we hit a home run! The software if fantastic, versatile and very easy to use. I have to say the production of itineraries,...

Pros

The ease of use, the cooperation during implementation, their ability to recreate my wishes to a perfect itinerary that works with the industry quirks specific to my market. Finally, the system is never down!

Cons

A few steps in the data entry process could maybe be simplified, but nothing that is big.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great implementation support! Easy to work with, full of helpful ideas and ways to improve workflow

Reviewed 4 years ago

Better workflow. Easier to train,cross train. All of my staff can see what has been sold or quoted so nor more confused sales agents trying to figure out what another agent quoted or booked. The tool is easy to learn, so when we hire new staff, it is faster to get them ready to sell.

Pros

Putting together an itinerary is quick and easy for our sales agents. Sending the booking request to the vendors is now a process that only takes a minute. Before TourWriter it was a very long process and there was a great potential for human errors. They are always willing to talk about a problem that may come up and offer a variety of solutions. This allows us to decide which solution is best...

Cons

If TourWriter had the ability to assign a task to a co-worker then it would be perfect! We would then be able to get rid of the steps we have to add to Asana for each booking we process. Currently, the tasks in the to do list can only be set up for the person assigned to the booking. But we have many team members doing differnt tasks on each booking, so if we could assign them to the person responsible, then we would not have to go outside of TourWriter to do anything!

Vendor response

Kathy, thank you very much for taking the time to review Tourwriter. We are delighted that you are already reaping the time saving benefits that Tourwriter provides. We are also thrilled to hear that you have been well looked after by the broader Tourwriter Team and that training new staff is quick and easy for all concerned. With regard to the item on your wish-list, we love customer feedback,...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

I have been frustrated with Tourwriter from the moment I transferred the initial payment.

Reviewed 3 years ago

The software is great my issue is with the implementation period

Pros

The software is great, exactly what is needed for my business however the whole setup leaves a lot to be desired. The whole setup process has been painfully slow and not designed with my business needs in mind. * From the moment I paid the setup costs I was expected to wait 2 weeks until tourwriter sourced an implementation manager. * Training is painfully slow, sticks to a script and in my experience...

Cons

* Again the implementation of the itineraries has been painfully slow. I purchased 5 hours for the implementation of the itinerary to suit my business needs, after receiving my requests I was told it would be a total of 8 hours, now the itineraries are created in (what looks like) PHP coding. Having some knowledge of HTML I have been able to change text, colours sizes and perform basic tasks and I...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Software for small to mid size tour companies!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall very pleased. Price is right, service is there, I like that they "stay up-to-date" or working on tools and services to be up-to-date with technology!

Pros

Service, customer support, the fact that they keep updating the software

Cons

Would like more functionality with regards to online presence.

Vendor response

Hi Stella, Thanks for taking the time to submit a Capterra review - your feedback is valued! We value Asimina as a customer and enjoy working with you and the team. We will be in touch regarding the online itinerary options, as have been working hard to develop more functionality in Minim! Thanks again! Sarah, Amanda and the Tourwriter team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

All in one place

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Keeps all my data in one place, can access online or offline.

Cons

The treatment of foreign currency as an 'inverse rate'

Vendor response

David, thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough Tourwriter review. We are sincerely delighted to hear that you enjoy working with us as much as we enjoy working with you. It is great to hear the keeping of your data in one place and being able to access it both on and offline provides you such a positive benefit. In regards to treating foreign currency as an inverse rate, we appreciate your input and are committed to enhancing our product where possible. Keep soaring! The Tourwriter team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Hard to set up, but extremely customizable. Saves time, prevents mistakes

Reviewed 4 years ago

It's a little hard to get this set up, probably because it is very customizable. Once it is set up, it works really well. Team is friendly and supportive and will work with your deadlines.

Pros

Very customizable with the help of their very capable programming team, helps save time and prevent mistakes in itineraries

Cons

Really hard to figure out most efficient way to use it at first- so many variables in travel!

Vendor response

Kimberly, thank you for the kind words! One of the most pleasant clients our team has had the pleasure of working with. Glad we could help with automating all of the tedious manual processes that were obstructing efficiency of the business. Looking forward to more years of continued mutual success!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Artsy and efficient

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I loved using such an efficient software that allowed me to bring my tour packages to life for my clients. You could add photos and maps or videos to really draw in clients attention. A lot of the information you needed or wanted about a hotel or a restaurant or destination was already in the software to use

Cons

There were a few kinks with formating when we would save our finished version of our travel documents but they were easy enough to fix

Vendor response

Thank you Melissa for your review of Tourwriter. We are delighted you are able to bring your itineraries to life through Tourwriter and are seeing the benefits of the software. We are also pleased we were able to resolve the issues mentioned with ease and provide a solution for you. We really enjoy working with you. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review. Amanda and the Tourwriter team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool for our company

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Is easy to use due our company needs to have very good explain our products

Cons

Sometimes we can issues with uploading images into the system

Vendor response

Hi Andres, many thanks for taking the time to post a Tourwriter review. We are delighted to receive your feedback. It's great to hear you are finding Tourwriter easy to use and keeps your products in one place. We will reach out to you to give you some support on the loading of your images - as this should also be quick and easy for you. We also have a super awesome data loading team that could be of some help here. We look forward to working with you further. Thanks, the Tourwriter team!

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Shamrock Vacations Quoting Software

Reviewed 7 years ago

Since beginning researching and comparing the range of software that could best fulfill our current and future needs, we quickly determined that the Tourwriter significantly outshone the others in terms of reputation, affordability, and support. After testing Tourwriter, and with one to one support we began using Tourwriter in Jan 2013. In fact, in addition to fulfilling the requirements of our current situation, the product offers a number of supplementary capabilities that could prove useful down the road. We have access to additional bespoke reporting, at anytime. It is continually being developed, and developers are open to listening to what we as customers need from the software.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Isabella, Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to working with you as you continue to grow. Cheers, Jason

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great so far

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We have just recently started to use Tourwriter to see if it is a fit for our business. We have only been using it for a few weeks so far but are very impressed. It definately saves us time in creating the itineries for our trips in a clean and professional style.

Cons

We have not encountered any set backs in the software yet

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Terrible - More hassle than its worth

Reviewed 2 years ago

Terrible. I cant believe i'm still trying to deal with them but once you've invested as much time and personal hours as we have its hard to go back. Don't make the same mistake we did and cut your loses before you even start. Find another system.

Pros

It works after many many many hours of implementation. I'm talking 12 months +

Cons

The product knowledge of the implementation team is terrible. It has taken us over 12 months to try and get the implementation complete and we were always timely in getting our tasks completed. The problem stems from an itinerary template we signed up for as one of their standard available simply did not work. Then they would not read emails or action them until weeks later this took almost 3 months...

Vendor response

Typical implementations take 12-16 wks. Occasionally, customers have requirements that differ from a typical tour operator business. In instances like this the intricacies are not fully understood until implementation is underway. Sail Ningaloo run a cruise company with allocations by sail date; this unique quality required a different way of managing allocations compared to all of our other customers. Delays...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tour writer is very easy to learn and use. It has allowed us to do more work with fewer people.

Reviewed 4 years ago

The largest benefit has been the dramatic reduction in labor hours needed to produce a finalized itinerary.

Pros

There are numerous things we like about the software, but some of the major items: -Ease of itinerary building -Data analysis -Report flexibility & generation

Cons

Overall, there are very few things we dislike/like the least about the software. Our biggest problem was the delay of the markup to gross feature. This has recently been added.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

broken promises and poor service

Reviewed 5 years ago

My company purchased the software almost a year ago, and were told we would be up and running in 6 weeks. We are still waiting to be able to utilize the software to help us. We felt that the person training us on the services was rude and impatient with us, but continued to interface in hopes that the software would come together quickly. We have had nonstop contact with the IT team at TourWriter,...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

The reviewer was only partly involved in the Implementation process and didn't go on to be a TourWriter user. Our most successful implementations are when the owner of the business is driving the change and adoption. Two major factors were; the main people who were trained by Tourwriter left the company just as we were completing their training program and custom reports. The new person that took...

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

the ideal product for any size tour operator

Reviewed 5 years ago

Surpassing a six figure revenue stream and still keeping our manual processes was becoming extremely cumbersome and error prone. I never realized a perfect software existed, that was tailor-made to fit a tour operators needs. Tourwriter is extremely efficient, familiar (looks just like MS Office) and easy to pick up. After everything is set up and implemented, the return comes in almost instantly....

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Key software for our DMC

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have been using TourWriter for 10 years now and the software is at the core of our business, enabling us to efficiently store customer and supplier data, match all in itineraries, process book keeping, create custom documents, extract reports, etc. The essential tool for inbound travel companies and DMC in our opinion...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you for such a great TourWriter review Sebastien. It's great that you have embraced the full functionality available in TourWriter, particularly the accounting offering and the custom documents. The way you utilise the data extract reporting tool, to learn from 10 years of business experience, and to make meaningful business decisions, gives you an edge. Frogs New Zealand truly is an inspirational Inbound Operator, making it a niche travel operator TourWriter is very proud to work alongside.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Ideal for real travel agencies

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great experience customizing tirps.

Pros

Amazing software that makes you saving times and customizing trips.

Cons

Price, if you are a small company price is maybe an issue, but even that it really saves time and work, worth it.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent software

Reviewed 7 years ago

This is a great piece of software for those looking to create smart looking itineraries in an efficient manner. The team in New Zealand are very dedicated to getting the product just right for each client - tailoring it where necessary, and the support team in India are highly responsive to problems and really do help in fixing any snags which come up. Of course the product is only as good as the data you load into it and loading hotel and touring information, rates and photos is a big job (which TW will help you with). It's also an ongoing process to keep updating and refining the material, rather than a "one off" and it's done. In summary, I would highly recommend this industry specific piece of software to other tour operators.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Ahipara Luxury Travel

Reviewed 7 years ago

Our experience with TW remains excellent on all fronts - the Database functionality works well feeding suppliers through to specific itineraries. The new publishing reports work well and the support that we have received from TW in creating new reports and customising TW for our use has been very good. Our main disappointment with TW is its limited online capability - we feel TW needs to move forward in making itineraries and data available online and also incorporate a map functionality so that clients can get a visual of where they are going in New Zealand

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Karen, Thanks for the positive review. Fantastic news... we are developing stronger online functionality in the not too distant future. I will be in touch with more info.Cheers, Jason

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Wonderful software

Reviewed 6 years ago

TourWriter is a wonderful software for travel agencies. It has changed the way we do our job helping us saving time and being more efficient! The support and training has been wonderful. It took us a few months to implement the software and start working with it BAU but thanks to the training and support service this process has been easy. Thank you so much for making our work easier!!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks Samuel, it's great that the TourWriter Implementation went smoothly, and you're enjoying the ongoing support. Most importantly we love to hear that TourWriter has transformed your Spanish travel business. and given you the platform to grow profitably. We love to hear that our clients are growing with us!

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great software for Tour management

Reviewed 7 years ago

Pros: Works great for creating and editing itineraries for people or groups. Deeply customizable itineraries. Great and attentive Customer Service The webinars and videos for explaining features are helpful Report creation feature is great and the TourWriter team will customize your reports so they are as you need them (our suscription entitled us for 2 free customizable reports, yours may vary) Cons: User interface could be a bit more polished, but it's been improving constantly. Adding contact information / PAX information could be a bit more intuitive and comprehensive, especially for larger groups. Currency conversion could be a bit more customizable

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features

Share this review:

Happy Customers

Reviewed 4 years ago

All Blacks Tours has been a client of Tour Writer since the business started in 2012. All Blacks Tours utilises Tour Writer software for the day-to-day management of our tour operations. This includes managing inventory, reporting, client contacts, suppliers and production of itineraries. Tour Writer has enabled All Blacks Tours to alter and improve its use of the software as the business has developed and needs have been recognised. Continual improvements of the Tour Writer software means that we are always finding ways of improving our business processes. We recommend Tour Writer to any similar businesses.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Transition with Ease

Reviewed 5 years ago

When taking over a business such as Hospitality Plus ,which has a long standing reputation for delivering very good service, you tend to feel you need to exceed the standard for your clients to feel confident to continue doing business with you. TourWriter made it possible for me to focus on the level service we delivered because they took care of the technology which made operations feel like a walk in the park.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks for a lovely review Sharon. Great to hear the transition to TourWriter was easy and you have already increased sales thanks to the focus on your service levels! We look forward to helping you grow into the future.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great for FIT's

Reviewed 7 years ago

After searching lots of products to make our Receptive business easier, we partnered with TourWriter a year ago. After a pretty steep learning curve for setting up our 100 or so vendors with what seems like countless options, all is going really well. Their was lots of setup time involved but the TW staff was there to help along the way. They helped us train our staff with one-on-one instruction and the videos are helpful to refresh memories. We recently added a staff person and training on TourWriter was easy and our new employee is up and running with little effort.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Review of TourWriter

Reviewed 8 years ago

This is fantastic software for travel companies: i just love few features which not only saves time but are very handy in day to day operations. like: 1. Client location report 2. itineraries and vouchers are created while you are costing an itinerary 3. group costing (saves you a lot of time) 4. make bookings with press of a button 5. send itinerary and vouchers straight from the system 6. Cloud based system so accessible from anywhere. i can hire staff in India and save cost. 7. No fear of losing data. if initial set up is done properly, can save you heaps of time later on.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Tourwriter review from Exploring Ireland

Reviewed 8 years ago

We have been using Tourwriter for the past 4 seasons which has proved to be one of our most powerful tools. This has been able to increase our volume, speed of bookings and even distribution of suppliers across the country, helping to avoid funnels into some suppliers while leaving others less used which speeds our bookings. Support at Tourwriter has always been fast and productive, helping to adjust it it suit our changing needs which is essential in business. Great system, great staff!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review