App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Drupal Logo

Drupal

Open Source Content Management Platform

(16)

Drupal Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

448

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.52/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

I heard about CMS in the early 2000"s and in 2004 about Drupal. It's more powerful than other CMS, beacuse not so fancy but powerful, secure and stable.
The flexibility this provides to continue growing a web site makes it priceless. The community around the project is amazing and has provided excellent modules to get a site up and running easily.
Mostly modern CMS have amazing features with good bootstrapping themes that can easily be fit in. Need a one off editor like a visual studio to allow simple edits.
One being no visibility on the road map of the product that makes it difficult to take investment decisions and second is lack of customer support on the go.
Overall, my experience with Drupal was terrible.
Lack of development knowledge to the resources. It lacks in the marketing.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


448 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Linda R.

Director of Digital Communications

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Great CMS - highly customizable

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Linda R.: My name is Linda. I'm a director of digital communications, and I give Drupal five stars. For...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Luke B.

Head of Client Services

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Powerful open source alternative to WCMS monoliths

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Luke A.: I'm Luke, Head of Client Services. I give Drupal five star. For more reviews like this, click...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kavindu Githsara K.

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Managing your content like a pro with Drupal

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, Drupal has been a valuable tool for our company. Its scalability, robust content modeling capabilities, and wide range of modules and themes have made it easy for us to create and manage our content and documents. While the software requires some technical expertise to fully set it up and customize it, the benefits of Drupal far outweigh the cons for our business.

Pros

As a user of Drupal in our company, I have found it to be a powerful and flexible content management and document management system. One of the biggest advantages of this software is its scalability. Drupal can handle a large number of users and a large volume of content, which is essential for our company as we have many different departments and teams that need to access and manage their own content....

Cons

One of the downsides of Drupal is that it can be complex to set up and customize. Other than that, there is nothing to complain.

IF
AvatarImg

Imad F.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great for multiple teams in different Regions

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, it gives me the peace of mind that I don't need to learn coding to update my website.

Pros

Once it's set-up, which I'm sure would be a complicated task, it gets very easy to modify things on the website. Even people who don't know website building, can easily update their websites.

Cons

Once the webiste is built, there is not much room to move around, be creative. The design layout is fixed and no place where you can modify them, as a user ofcourse.

PL
AvatarImg

Phillip L.

Sports, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Leaving Drupal behind

Reviewed 2 years ago

It makes building involved content a chore in many instances. Having used it for years, the problems and glitches have built up and left a bad impression. Moving on from the system next year and pretty excited about it.

Pros

Has provided a sturdy and decent website publishing experience for years.

Cons

Not sure the more recent versions have 'found a groove' when it comes to publishing various content formats. Seems inflexible and not easily customizable.

SR
AvatarImg

Simone R.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A serious and well supported alternative to Wordpress as a Content Management System

Reviewed a year ago

Drupal has been useful in my day by day work, when I needed to work with complex websites hosting a great amount of data. In this scenario, it is a valuable solution.

Pros

Drupal is an advanced Content Management System with almost 20 years of history. The content type management offers a better experience than Wordpress' custom fields, the user roles system is very advanced and multilingual is supported at the core, without the need to install external plugins.

Cons

Drupal is not as widely used as Wordpress, hence you will not find the same variety of plugins or documentation. The steep learning curve to become efficient in developing complex solutions with Drupal can be hard. The thing I like less in Drupal is its user interface (admin panel) which is really messy and based on the (wrong, in my opinion) concept that a CMS should be able to visualize the content like the frontend does.

TR
AvatarImg

Thomas R.

Food & Beverages, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Drupal As A Wiki

Reviewed 5 years ago

Installation and initial Drupal configuration is relatively simple. Make sure to put the right amount of effort into defining your taxonomy and define what features you want the system to have- this is key for a successful deployment!

Pros

Flexibility- Drupal is very powerful with regards to structure and capabilities.

Cons

Integration- It was a challenge getting the Drupal installation to integrate with Active Directory. This was the biggest challenge we faced.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Better Products Out There...

Reviewed 5 years ago

Drupal worked well in the past, but it just seems outdated now.

Pros

This product has been around for a long time so we've used it for awhile and it's worked for us.

Cons

As time passed, much better products came out that were easier to use. Drupal became an out-dated product that didn't work very well. It cost us more money to make changes to our website versus changing to something more streamlined.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

drupaml

Reviewed 5 months ago

a very powerful tool that allows me to manage large customer websites

Pros

a very powerful tool for managing all aspects of complex web site architecture, with advanced tools for automating the work.

Cons

this tool is not easy to use the first time, you need a lot of practice to understand how to use it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bill Laurel P.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Drupal Review

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

Drupal offers a wealth of themes and modules that make it possible to create almost any type of website, all backed by its robust and secure security system. Moreover, its scalability makes it ideal for growing businesses. Utilizing a content management system, Drupal easily keeps content up to date and displays it to any variety of devices; and as an open-source platform, Drupal enjoys immense support through an enthusiastic community of users.

Cons

I least liked the complexity of the administrative interface. It can take some time to get used to the sheer amount of options and settings within Drupal, which can be overwhelming and difficult to navigate. Additionally, Drupal's reliance on PHP can be challenging for those who are not accustomed to working with server-side technologies.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Ultimate Content Management Powerhouse

Reviewed 8 months ago

I appreciate the depth and complexity of Drupal, as it empowers me to tackle complex projects and implement advanced features. The supportive community has been invaluable, providing assistance, updates, and a wealth of knowledge

Pros

As a Drupal user, one of the things I love most about it is its unparalleled flexibility and extensibility. Drupal's modular architecture allows me to create and customize websites and applications to meet client needs

Cons

there are a few aspects that could be considered challenging for some users. One aspect that can be a bit overwhelming, especially for beginners, is the learning curve associated with Drupal's complexity. The system can be quite intricate and may require a significant investment of time and effort to grasp its full potential

KC
AvatarImg

Kenny C.

Consumer Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good system

Reviewed 8 months ago

It has given me very good results with the templates we have used and also with the development of web pages.

Pros

I love the way that it is customizable to templates and plugins, and also that it allows you to edit everything

Cons

I would like a little more adaptability in cell phone formats

DL
AvatarImg

Diego Luis M.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The most complete to create an excellent content portal

Reviewed a year ago

Using Drupal is a great experience, because it allows you to really be in control of what you want to create. It is very stable and if the goal is to have a CMS that really stands out and looks professional to clients, Drupal is ideal.

Pros

*It allows a wide variety of possibilities over all if you are looking to create a robust and attractive CMS*It has integrations with many critical and important modules that allow us to greatly expand the possibilities of our CMS*Personalization is very easy*It has a good community where templates, security reports, support and answers to questions or problems are shared.*It is very scalable. You can use it both if you just want to create a blog, or if you need a portal at a professional level.

Cons

*Can be a bit overwhelming at first with the amount of customization options and settings*It has many blocks and modules, this will take you a bit of time to learn how to navigate between the different sections

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Stephen U.

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Drupal is a CMS that can do it all.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The best part about Drupal is that you can do anything and the best functionality is either in Drupal core or a free module at Drupal.org. There is a misconception that the learning curve is difficult. In comparison, achieving the basic needs of a brochure website are the same in all of the top CMS solutions. Aside from comparisons, the best tool within Drupal is Views. You can create lists and grids of data that can then be sorted, filtered, and altered in so many ways without adding any additional modules. Of course you can extend views and provide even better data lists or different view types but the ability to display and work with items that reside in the system is unlike any other system.

Cons

With so many options available to you, the learning curve comes with learning how to best use the best module for the job. There may be 5-10 modules that achieve a result, but in the end, there may only be one module that does it exactly how you want it. So the complexity is in the trial and error of having multiple options. So you may waste time working through the complexities of a module and realize that was not the main intent of the module or it doesn't quite do everything you wanted. This is worth it to me though as I will then be able to understand how different modules can be used in different ways to perform different functions.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great software made by a great community that uses and enforces best practices

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

With Drupal, you can make almost anything you can imagine even (and mostly) complex sites/apps without the need for starting from scratch. This is possible because of its great (in terms of quality and size) community and contributed modules. Some features I like the most of Drupal: - Myriad of contributed modules - Security - Possibility to work with several environments and replicate a site/config/contents from code - Great documentation, repositories, issues... everything you need in one place - Backend allows managing most of the tasks using a great user interface - Multilingual - Community - Encourages and enforces best practices - Possibility to perform most actions from command line - ...

Cons

It has a steep learning curve Last 8.x version requirements are quite elevated

AR
AvatarImg

Anita R.

Internet, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Drupal – a cozy platform for websites creating

Reviewed 5 years ago

Drupal is a great opportunity for non-technical users to publish content to website on their own. There is an uncountable number of themes, which you can use for your website. Drupal updates each month, so you can be sure that each day people work on improvements. I recommend using Drupal. It is a reliable and flexible platform. The level of security is pretty high. But the most important thing is that Drupal will help you to create a professional website without coding. Do not doubt. It worth using it.

Pros

When I started using Drupal, I understood why so many government agencies used it. It is really robust. I like that Drupal propose a lot of different modules like video, membership, commerce. Thanks to them you may add new features to your website. What is important – each module have submodules, which help to add only those blocks which you need. But the best is that you may combine different functions of different modules.

Cons

I wish Drupal admin panel was more modern. Everything is too sharp and “grey”. When started using it for the first time, it did not seem to be very intuitive, but I got used to it quickly. Also I dislike that there is no simple drag-and-drop builder. It still takes not little time to create a new layout. I worked with WordPress for several years and must admit it was a little bit easier to navigate. Maybe the reason was that WordPress has fewer features than Drupal, but still.

SM
AvatarImg

Shannon M.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Drupal is the most secure and feature-rich CMS on the market. We love Drupal!

Reviewed 6 years ago

I always recommend those that are serious about creating websites that scale build on Drupal.

Pros

With a world-wide collective of active developers, Drupal is the developer's dream. There are a variety of installation profiles to give you a head start. Unlike Wordpress 99% of amazing modules are FREE. Companies like Sony and the White House use Drupal. If you can dream it you can do it in Drupal. The open-source community is helpful and always contributing new models. Because it is database driven you can create complex data sets that can connect with your current tools. When we build sites that need to scale we use Drupal. Great CDN module that works with Amazon AWS for super fast load time. Drupal allows you to build Enterprise level sites without custom code.

Cons

The only con to Drupal is the steep learning curve. It takes some time to become an expert. It is also helpful to find a host that understands Drupal or get some help. A server tweaked for Drupal is the best way to go and not always easy to find. If you know what you are doing you will have no issues.

OS
AvatarImg

Omar S.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

very capable, extensible web framework, sort of beastly under the hood

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Can format/present/lay-out a website in almost any imaginable way. Perms and auths allow for easily varied professional/enterprise workflow (versus something like Wordpress that seems intended for SoHo sites). Lots of good features for optimizing complex pages. Scales up well for high-volume. Large community, lots of support options. A whole ton of contrib code offers multiple ways to do most things you might want to do within the context of Drupal.

Cons

Very steep learning curve. relatively heavy system requirements. Abtruse jargon/mechanisms. Out of the box, it's not even vaguely ready to use. Newer releases have emphasized gee-whiz features and change-for-change's sake, making internal APIs increasingly complex without adding a lot of value. Drupal8 is a lot more top heavy than Drupal7, and abandoned much of the contrib code base for little practical gain. The common PHP name space combined with many contrib authors can make for code instability, though the community is better at that than it used to be.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Drupal is more for advanced users/developer

Reviewed 2 years ago

Initially great as I built the site out, I had to utilize more resources than I wanted or intended. If that was not an issue I may have stayed there but as a smaller company that became an overhead beyond the initial scope of just a time investment.

Pros

It was super fast (which I loved) it was very advanced lots of tools. Customization was fairly straightforward. I also felt like at the time is was very flexible giving the me the ability to integrate other content modes (images, video's etc.) with little effort.

Cons

The initial learning curve was hard. It's not operate out the box system like other CMS programs. As fast it was initially without constant tweaks as you add to site the load becomes a separate job itself. That fact there forced me to find a pay and developer. Not what I had in mind.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Powerful but can be tiring

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It's very, very flexible and ultimately enables you to use it for a wide range of applications. There's a very strong community to back it up which means that instead of having to write your own bespoke drupal modules, there's normally one already waiting for you on drupal.org. With very configurable permissions, you can allow regular users to have sessions with varying levels of access.

Cons

There's been a lot of security advisories for this software over the last year. Most weeks, I've had to support some issue or another and they just keep coming. Drupal 8 is an entirely different beast to Drupal 7 too so there's a whole lot to learn if you'd previously developed on 7. In addition, the APIs underneath the hood of Drupal often make it quite a long process developing with Drupal. There are a lot of quirks to learn about before you can really get stuck in.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sean P.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Drupal is a Beast!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Drupal gets us up to speed on projects quickly. Even though it can be a pain to learn, the effort is well worth it. It's flexibility is remarkable, and the API/de-coupled movement is well represented in Drupal 8. With this framework in place, it allows us to grow and build custom apps without having to upgrade for the foreseeable future.

Pros

Comprehensive CMS. Powerful, can handle a lot of requests quickly and efficiently. Great user management. Consistent upgrade life cycle with clear goals. Easily create and manage multiple content types. Crazy customization options for content types and users. Huge community with a lot of active support and plugins.

Cons

Minor features, like calendar functionality, found in other CMS's simply don't work. Drupal 7 and 8 both have this issue. Drupal's reliance on nodes can be difficult for a newcomer. Not the best solution for small sites.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alma B.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

A CMS for Coders

Reviewed 4 years ago

Worked in agencies that chose to build on drupal and all I saw was linitations, endless bills to the client and a platform that was not agile, responsive or up to date with modern web standards.

Pros

The ability to build in house native software applications with a CMS is incredibly attractive and drupal makes it possible.

Cons

Nodes, taxonomy, I could go on. The language used is intriniscally made for coders, which makes it an incredibly difficult website platform to train people on especially clients.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Versatile but with a steep learning curve

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's endlessly versatile, but that versatility comes with a steep learning curve.

Cons

Drupal's versatility comes with a steep learning curve. I create websites for clients, which they then manage themselves. Drupal can be daunting or simply to complicated to use for untrained staff, and for a developer it's tricky to lock down so they're forced into a set pathway, without losing that versatility. Also, there are far fewer plugins etc available for Drupal compared to WordPress.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Cristian V.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Want to use an unnecessarily complex CMS? Drupal is for you

Reviewed 4 years ago

Painful at least. There are several times where we have been affected by bugs that, after digging in a little, we found that had been there for 5 or 6 years with no solution. If you are starting out a new project, I don't recommend using it unless you require some specific feature. For example, drupal permissions management is excellent. If you don't require something that you know only drupal can provide, go with something else. You will save a lot of frustration.

Pros

Some of its design choices make sense, and actually help you set up a complex site without diving in too deep.

Cons

Unnecessary complex. The software cannot evolve at the same rythm of the web. Some packages that were crucial in Drupal7 are still in Beta in Drupal8, and several years have passed. Basically if you choose to go with Drupal, you are on your own.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

201-500 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

this CMS is very flexible, and the inclusion of modules you can do different things in the portals

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

1.) It is a very complete CMS since it includes many features by default, so you do not need to install extensions or modules to create any type of web (blog, store, discussion forum, corporate, etc.) in very few Steps. 2.) While other CMS are very oriented to a type of web, for example Magento is a specialist in large online stores, or WordPress is optimized for blogs, Drupal offers the possibility...

Cons

1.) Although its functionalities are multiple, its installation requires a little extra knowledge, especially when compared to its competitors WordPress or Joomla !. 2) It is a very modern CMS, so if you are from the old school, it may be difficult for you to adapt a bit to your structure. 3.) It is not prepared for the management of big data. In the event that our website has a lot of content or is a great blog, or an online store with hundreds of Drupal articles will leave us a little thrown, because it generates too many requests to database and does not manage the information in an effective way. 4.) It also does not support much traffic. If your website starts to have many visits be careful, since you can suffer constant drops from the server.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great CMS - highly customizable

Reviewed 5 years ago

Drupal is great! It's best-in-class when it comes to an open source web CMS. I'm a huge fan!

Pros

Super customizable, love the features available, love the development community overall, and I really enjoy the updates in Drupal 8. We recently updated from D7 to D8 and everything about D8 is better, from its mobile-first design to its back-end CMS functionality.

Cons

It's hard to use Drupal if you don't have developers on staff or if you don't have the budget to retain a development shop that specializes in Drupal. Some of their app integrations aren't super friendly either and require a LOT of development time (read: money) to make happen

GG
AvatarImg

Gaurav G.

Food & Beverages, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Intuitive and Low Cost CMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

My internal development team wanted to spin up a quick website for internal communication. And, make it secure so only authenticated internal employees could login to see confidential company information. Drupal open source CMS was able to do this implementation at low cost using developers who had the experience in using CMS like Drupal. For ongoing maintenance or upgrades of our company website, we had to refer to online documents provided by Drupal. So, additional human support can help lift its value more.

Pros

My web development team uses Drupal as their coding platform for our internal communications website. Since that website has limited requirements such as posting news about company performance, new employees hired, update on payroll, comments from employees, share and so on, our developers are able to leverage an open source CMS to maintain or update the site. They don't need the bells and whistles of an advanced CMS. We are also able to implement basic survey and analytics, without any issues.

Cons

Due to gaps in Drupal caching process, old content continues to persist on some web pages. Image or PDF file upload buttons in administration don't always work. Drupal domain and site hosting set-up is complex. When a site needs to be upgraded for mobile optimization or other reasons, Drupal makes developers almost rebuild the site. CMS is not very intuitive for newbies. It supports templates but not drag and drop features for files which is a common feature now a days in most advanced content management services.