App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

netTerrain DCIM  Logo

Comprehensive DCIM software

(1)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

netTerrain DCIM Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

10

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.33/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

manageengine-opmanager
manageengine-applications-manager

Pros and cons

The support offered on any issue it utterly astounding. They are so involved in the good of the company at one point the president of the company actually came out to train our team.
I like the grid option in addition to custom backgrounds to keep diagrams tidy. Easy routing of cables on a floor plan using quick bend point shortcuts.
As our group uses NetTerrain, we come up with things that would be nice to have the ability to do in NetTerrain. Graphical Networks listens and looks to see if it can happen.
Some functions can be a little confusing from time to time. Some diagrams with a lot of objects can slow down the client a bit.
No 'UNDELETE' function, as of yet in the application.
I don't like the way of designing and mapping expansion cards in devices.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


10 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sean B.

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Knowledge is Power

Reviewed 3 months ago

Exceptional from the support team, to ease of use, to the reporting availability. It checkmarks everything I need, to see what is happening at the physical layer in our data center.

Pros

I have been a data center professional since 2011 and inherited an in house Access database of all our connections. Steep learning curve to know how to search and find what you are looking for. Our company did an RFP for a DCIM and picked Graphical Networks, for ease of use, meeting our requirements and cost. Our needs follow with an explanation of what NetTerrain provides. NetTerrain provides a...

Cons

No 'UNDELETE' function, as of yet in the application.

ER
AvatarImg

EMILIO R.

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The only DCIM tool you need

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

It's a very visual and interactive tool. Easy to use, one can get started very quickly. netTerrain can be integrated with virtually anything. Very important are the customization features, such as reports.

Cons

The search needs to be tuned when surpassing 50,000 devices. Apparently a new search is coming up in version 10.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniel G.

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent software for documenting the network.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Network and device information related to in a unique place and system.

Pros

* The layers feature is very useful to filter objects and not get lost in busy diagrams * Drag and drop to the diagram for easy data entry and rack mounting * Drag and drop of links makes the creation of connections easy * I like the grid option in addition to custom backgrounds to keep diagrams tidy * Easy routing of cables on a floor plan using quick bend point shortcuts * Exports to PDF, Visio and others directly from the client, without having to rely on server exports * Improved look and feel and usability with the latest version including ribbon menus

Cons

* The OSPF feature to find shortest paths is only available on per diagram basis. Since netTerrain supports Inter diagram links and cables, it would be nice if OSPF would support that too. * The excel bulk import functionality is not as intuitive because the column mapping uses generic labeling. I would like to have a drag and drop mapping functionality like the Integration Toolkit has. * The tool is packed with nifty functions and tricks but some of them are buried in the documentation or need to be clarified through support

KW
AvatarImg

Keith W.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Net Terrain DCIM

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Net Terrain has been very easy to use when compared to the old excel worksheets and tabbed rack elevation diagrams we had been using. The collector function of the software is outstanding when rolling in new Data Centers, or network closets. The support offered on any issue it utterly astounding. They are so involved in the good of the company at one point the president of the company actually came out to train our team. I highly recommend the product, as well as the people.

Cons

There have not been any cons to this product that I have been made aware of to this point. They work with the admins as well as the developers on a totally equally level.

DA
AvatarImg

Dwayne A.

Airlines/Aviation, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MAA PDS Admin

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Ease of entries and quick views. Click and drag feature is a plus along with the support

Cons

I can’t think of one thing, this software does exactly what I need it to do in order for me to make entries and changes

MS
AvatarImg

Mark S.

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Just What I Was Looking For

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

I was having trouble finding a solution to do what I wanted. After hours of research I found Netterrain. Ease of use. Ability to get granular with documentation of fiber and data racks.

Cons

No Cons that I can think of. Overall good experience.

PD
AvatarImg

Pasqualino D.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Software is very user friendly. It's a joy to be able to work with such ease.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Easy to ask questions

Pros

Software is wonderful, able to view cabinet layout, equipment, and connection at a touch of a button. Also use it for Power monitoring in cabinets, link to link connections and also view CLR

Cons

Work order management should be revamped!!!!! Doesn't fix our progress, the way it is now, it is useless in its certain state!!!

AN
AvatarImg

Artur N.

Broadcast Media, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ok

Reviewed 5 years ago

We document the infrastructure. Employees in the branches make online documentation. The documentation is current.

Pros

What I like most is visualization, reporting and the ability to design my own patterns.

Cons

I don't like the way of designing and mapping expansion cards in devices.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Joseph H.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This app has the best support I have seen

Reviewed 6 years ago

Network tracking ease of use.

Pros

Easy to use and very comprehensive. Easier to use then trying to document with visio or excel. I like the point to point connections that can be hidden when not actively in use. Great for diving down or high level look.

Cons

That we aren't buying more enhancements and licenses. Otherwise a great product. Keep up the good work.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Quality software for documenting your environment.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

-Highly customizable, plus the software is getting better with every version. -Customer service is top-notch.

Cons

Some functions can be a little confusing from time to time. Some diagrams with a lot of objects can slow down the client a bit. Note that we haven't upgraded to the newest version yet.