App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Xakia  Logo

Xakia

Your In-House Legal Toolkit. Simple. Powerful. Affordable.

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Xakia Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

54

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.4/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Good matter management tool with excellent analytics. Easy to ingrate into business systems and good support.
This tool has been great to help our team track our responsibilities while having powerful reporting that can demonstrate our contributions to the rest of the organization.
Graphical and built in reports are excellent and constantly improving. Customer Service is very responsive with issues and feature requests.
The reporting, while there are several options, were mostly useless to us as a team that needed a contract-lifecycle management system.
From admin perspective, building the structure was quite difficult. This is also due to our complex corporate structure.
The only thing I can think of is more customization of fields in matters and e.g. lawsuits.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


54 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jerry S.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Xakia provides a lot of value and is easy to use successfully.

Reviewed 10 months ago

Xakia solves our matter and task management needs, and provides excellent, highly responsive customer support to answer any questions that may come up.

Pros

The features I like most about Xakia are its matter, task, and dashboarding features.

Cons

Xakia is still developing its ebilling features, so I look forward to seeing additional features in that area released. Xakia's task management features are excellent, but its task reporting could be improved.

MJ
AvatarImg

Marc J.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simply the Best Matter Management Tool for Small and Medium Sized Law Departments

Reviewed 5 years ago

The legal department is able to allocate resources better and respond to demands/challenges of modern business in a proactive rather than reactive matter. This benefits the entire legal ops function and legal teams because we are able to improve processes, improve knowledge management, improve financial management as well as support talent acquisition, retention and development. We have immediate, real-time visibility for the team and management about "who is working on what questions which benefit the whole department and company at large. We also are able to eliminate inefficient manual reporting process fire drills with clear, concise reports that give fuller understanding of legal department.

Pros

The software is very easy to use and purpose built for modern law department workflows. Due to its ease of use, the change management lift was much less than all other legal matter management, workflow management and business intelligence platforms in the legal industry. The off the shelf reporting features are amazing and continue to expand. The real time dashboards are fantastic and interactive and project card view are major productivity enhancers. Integrations with other platforms also lead to wonderful efficiency and productivity gains.

Cons

The only thing that has ever come up has been bugs which are typical in software development. These have all been fixed and team is receptive to feedback and implementing customer ideas. So, no real cons.

WY
AvatarImg

Wendy Y.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Looking for Contract Management? Look Elsewhere

Reviewed 3 years ago

The program is not all that well designed. The UI is not exactly intuitive, considering there are two separate sections in the settings to find the list of users, and only one of these pages has the ability to add or change anything regarding users. The Internal Client Portal is a mess. I haven't been able to log into the company test account for months, and I get about 1-2 internal clients coming...

Pros

It's kept matters from falling through the cracks over time, something we didn't have something set up to help before. Keeping track of smaller matters such as research felt more fit for the whole thing, but only marginally. There's a calendar system for due dates that works fairly well, making me think this might be better geared for smaller law offices.

Cons

A little buggy at best, and a borderline useable as a contract matter management system at worst

Vendor response

Everybody has a bad day but it sounds like you're having a terrible time with Xakia - we take this seriously! Your Customer Success Manager will contact you about your concerns but let's start with: 1) It sounds like you're using an old Internal Client Portal & don't have SSO turned on - let's address it. 2) Xakia provides 2 places to manage users as global companies often separate out geographies...

KS
AvatarImg

Kristin S.

Pharmaceuticals, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is how matter management should be done

Reviewed 3 months ago

We have had white glove service. Whether it is our account rep or the support team, someone responds within about 2 hours (seriously!).

Pros

Ease of use; detailed data collected without hassle of filling out too many fields; integrations with SharePoint and e-billing software; excellent support; very fast and easy set-up; highly configurable, but usable OTB; internal client portal for legal service request management; beautiful OTB reporting

Cons

Sometimes it is glitchy, but this is offset by its usability; Matter creation templates are cumbersome to create and update

DA
AvatarImg

Danielle A.

Wine and Spirits, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Such a simple tool to use that gives such great insights

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Tracking your matters is so easy, but the data you receive back in the dashboards and reporting is immediately insightful and impactful. The ability to pull a report for our Executive within seconds of the request is invaluable. We are already seeing trends appearing, that in our gut we knew were happening, but needed the data to back it up. Being able to integrate it with document management and other legal operations software will also be useful. The customer service is also excellent. Any issues are dealt with and fixed within the day. There are constantly improvements to the software adding added benefit for no additional cost.

Cons

None that we have noticed so far. However, I'm sure if we find any, Xakia will work with us to improve.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Maggie P.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An excellent tool for in-house teams, I would highly recommend

Reviewed 4 years ago

I could not speak more highly of [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] with Xakia. They make a great team and despite us being a fairly small Legal department/client, they are always willing to listen to us and answer our questions. Their investment in each client truly exhibits how they strive to make this platform better for all of their clients, and we have enjoyed being a part of this.

Pros

Implementation with Xakia took just minutes, and the system is extremely intuitive and easy to navigate. Our legal team needed a platform where we could track and manage our responsibilities, but also provide useful and reliable data to analyze and share. We are just three full months in to using Xakia, and have already recognized numerous benefits from using the platform. It was easy to transition...

Cons

One of our current, biggest needs in a matter management solution is on the roadmap, so no cons at this point into the platform. If anything, Xakia has filled the gaps for shortcomings we had with our prior matter management tool in a short amount of time. There is the occasional glitch, but the Xakia team is always highly responsive and we are kept up to date during what is always a very fast resolution.

AS
AvatarImg

Amber S.

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Total Game Changer

Reviewed 9 months ago

Xakia consistently and continuously improves its product with small but meaningful tweaks. The product always stays fresh and up to date.

Pros

Xakia has been a game changer for our office and has allowed us to work completely paperless and with maximum team collaboration. We love that Xakia seriously considers customer input. What a great company and product!

Cons

The timekeeping function is not fully optimized, but it meets the minimum requirements for our functionality.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Verónica M.

Law Practice, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solving problems with its robust features

Reviewed a year ago

I have found the customer support of Xakia to be very helpful in solving problems in our firm. They were responsive and knowledgeable when I had questions or concerns. They were able to walk me through the process of resolving any issues I had with the software. However, I do find that the pricing of Xakia can be a bit high for some smaller firms. It's not the most affordable option in the market and could be a bit of a strain for some budget-conscious firms. It's worth noting that the features and capabilities of Xakia are quite robust and it has been a valuable tool for us in terms of organization and collaboration.

Pros

I find the document management feature to be incredibly impactful and helpful. It allows me to easily upload, organize and share important documents within the organization. The search and discovery feature also makes it easy for me to find the information I need quickly and easily. The knowledge sharing feature allows me to collaborate with my colleagues and share my expertise with others, which has helped to improve the overall knowledge and expertise within the organization.

Cons

The layout and design of the software is not as intuitive as it could be, and it takes some time to get used to. Additionally, I have found that the software can be a bit slow at times, which can be frustrating when trying to quickly access important information.

FL
AvatarImg

Fiona L.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Wish I'd had this when I started practising law

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

This product enables you to see exactly how many matters are current, their status, who's dealing with what and when and what's still in the pipeline.

Cons

Initially, we had to run 2 systems parallel. This was resolved once we integrated Xakia with our file management system.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Karen Creasia Y.

Insurance, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Terrific product, excellent value and top-notch service!

Reviewed 5 years ago

I highly recommend Xakia for the product, value and service. The introduction of Xakia to our legal department has been extremely positive, and I expect we will continue to learn its capabilties and rely on this software as part of our operation well into the future.

Pros

The software is intuitive and easy to use. Implementation was simple, and our team was able to begin using it on day one. The product is clean and straightforward, yet provides insightful data and analytics that can be sorted and used in a number of ways such as evaluating workloads and prioritizing work. The tool allows for easy customization by the client, and there is a time tracking feature that can be used as much or as little as desired. The customer service is top notch. The team cares about the customer experience and is continually improving this product. Xakia is a great value as well.

Cons

No cons so far. Our biggest challenge so far has been to ensure that team members are evaluating matters on a similar basis so as to get the most value from the overall data. Regular discussions among the team and customization has mitigated this challenge.

AL
AvatarImg

Andrea L.

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful, but still affordable

Reviewed 4 years ago

Xakia has been great! They are very responsive and always willing to help. I can tell it is a system built for in-house legal and not some old, legacy system with so many features that we would never use (but would still have to pay for) or would have a big implementation bill to customize for us. For those without legal ops or IT support for a tool like this, their tiered pricing structure makes it accessible to get started and upgrade features as you are ready to use them.

Pros

This tool has been great to help our team track our responsibilities while having powerful reporting that can demonstrate our contributions to the rest of the organization. One of my favorite features is the Notes tab, where I put status/progress updates for my own reference. This allows me to remember where a matter is at even if it has been quiet for a while and for anyone else to help if I'm out...

Cons

So far, just little nits on how something might be able to be accomplished in one-click rather than two clicks, but that may just be my unique preferences and the product is still highly efficient. I know there are a lot more features (intake tool) that we will love once I find time to learn more about them. I'm also looking forward to the document management, which is on the horizon.

SF
AvatarImg

Sophie F.

Utilities, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent, user-friendly and efficient software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our previous case management system was outdated, and could not provide reports so these were produced manually by the team. Xakia has allowed the team to accurately report on all legal work undertaken, and to show where most of our time is spent, whether that be awaiting instructions or dealing with many ad hoc general advice queries. This has saved the team a lot of time, and has also enabled the legal team to justify how invaluable it is to the business.

Pros

We spent a lot of time looking for software, and Xakia was our preferred choice by far. It is perfect for recording in-house legal work, and being able to provide accurate reporting data to management with the provision of many different types of reports, which are even customisable. We love the dashboard feature (giving a screen shot of current work types/departments, filtered by strategic value) and particularly the legal in-take which allows referrals to be made by the business to the legal team, including all instructions and relevant documentation. This saves a lot of time for the legal team, and is great for the business as they can be sure of the status of the referral by the system generated acknowledgments.

Cons

There aren't really any cons with Xakia. There has been the occasional glitch, but nothing other than what can be expected of any software, and this has been very promptly resolved by the Xakia team who are always on hand to provide support.

RH
AvatarImg

Richard H.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful and fast with outstanding support

Reviewed 4 years ago

We are very happy with it. We needed an application to more readily enable job sharing and better capacity and workflow management, very well time to go live ahead of extended periods of working remotely. The team is very happy. Super light weight (ie fast) web based interface. Very powerful reporting and task tracking, very user friendly creation process for sophisticated features like custom intake forms. Automated and professional reports on spend and capacity have been very influential in showing cost and capacity control up the chain, and have removed manual processes we previously used to extract data and prepare powerpoints. Finally the web-based SAAS solution is thankfully capital light and low risk as it's easy to import to and import from. Support is outstanding.

Pros

Creation of matters is light touch and very fast (many users less than one minute). Excellent integration with Doc Management System. Graphical and built in reports are excellent and constantly improving. Customer Service is very responsive with issues and feature requests. Regular well thought through feature updates.

Cons

Would like a bit more optionality in the reports but this is being built.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Greatly improved our legal operations

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great. It's replaced my to-do list and improved my ability to organize my workload. It's also been instrumental in our ability to track and display our performance as a department.

Pros

The reports and dashboards have become an essential part of the performance measures that provide to upper management. Not just has Xakia saved us hours of time in creating performance measures, they've allowed us to present those in a way that clearly demonstrates our department's value.

Cons

It'd be nice if the reports were more customizable.

Vendor response

Thanks for your Xakia review. Did you know that there are >20 million combinations of data available within Xakia? And the number of ways to display them all are well, too many to count! We provide customized reports for clients on request and the ability to customize your own report is also on our roadmap, so watch this space. Regards, The team at Xakia

BS
AvatarImg

Beau S.

Insurance, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The perfect matter management tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

We treat our legal operations team similar to a start-up as we starting building it from scratch in mid-2018. We opted against the larger one size fits all front-end to back-end software and instead looked for a la carte options that better fit our needs. Our priority was to find the right tool and company to partner for our front-end process. If you get the front-end wrong then there is little hope...

Pros

Ease of use. Designed by attorneys specifically for the legal industry. Unparalleled customer service. Company strives for continuous improvement. Out of the box reporting and dashboards are useful from day one.

Cons

The product is new so there may be some glitches and growing pains, but they are quickly resolved and a small price to pay for the ROI received on the product.

JP
AvatarImg

Jiří P.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool for in-house legal teams.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Xakia is a very intuitive and easy to use system. Everything is clearly structured with customization options for each individual user.I very much appreciate the ability to link individual cases and create a plastic structure within a given topic. Also, the ability to search, either full text or using given criteria, makes it easier to navigate the work of the whole team.I also appreciate the clarity of the dashboards as well as the reporting, which can serve both users and managers well.

Cons

The only thing I can think of is more customization of fields in matters and e.g. lawsuits. I believe many internal legal departments have specific requirements and the ability to customize would add to the attractiveness of the system.

TC
AvatarImg

Trevor C.

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Western Downs Regional Council

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have found that using the program is very simple and logical thus making the experience with Xakia and Netdocs very positive. Predictive email saving simplifies what was previously a time absorbing task and allows for real time collaborative access to matters. The ability to use the system from either an in-house or remote environment has been very welcome, especially with the current nationwide work situation. I would highly recommend Xakia as a solution to manage legal natters

Pros

WDRC in-house Legal team required a matter centric document management system to manage its practice, develop its precedence base and enable detailed section reporting to executive management level. The level of support, irrespective if it was of a technical nature or just a question in general, has been excellent. This is highlighted in the training that was provided both pre and post installation as well as the monthly webinars that introduce new features or continue general usage of the system

Cons

The integration of Xakia was very simple and quick

SC
AvatarImg

Spencer C.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Works well for my small team

Reviewed 6 months ago

Great. Nice people to deal with and a good product.

Pros

Xakia is just easy to use. We have been on the Xakia journey for years. Started as a greenfield site and have been using it ever since. With some familiarity it is a powerful tool.

Cons

Not a lot. There are some bits that look a little aged, but it works and the updates come through regularly.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Huge improvement on our old ways of working

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Both ease of use and speed to update/generate a matter are helpful to reduce the usual friction and barriers often found in other case management systems. It is easy to know what everyone is doing, and to allocate or re-allocate matters accordingly. We have greater insight into what areas of law are and aren't in demand, and can consider staffing accordingly. Being web based, it is incredibly easy to just log in from anywhere, whether that's work, home or elsewhere.

Cons

Sometimes the system hangs. That's usually solved by reloading the page.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Anna H.

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

First experience using legal matter management software

Reviewed a year ago

Overall experience is really positive. Despite that it costed us quite some time to get started, Xakia is a really user-friendly legal tech software which keeps developing itself. The customer support is also great, the staff is very friendly an eager to help you as quick as possible.

Pros

In my day-to-day use, I like the card view of my matters the most. It gives me a very handy overview of all pending matters in one view. Besides, the analytics feature is really great. There are endless ways of analyzing the company's use of Xakia.

Cons

From admin perspective, building the structure was quite difficult. This is also due to our complex corporate structure. As a result, it costed us quite some time to get started.

AW
AvatarImg

Adam W.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

As a CFO, Xakia highlights the value of our Legal Team

Reviewed 4 years ago

Xakia drives accountability within the Legal Team, ensuring they are focussed on the critical, high value, strategic work. It clearly highlights where our Legal Team is spending their time, enabling the organization more broadly to adjust its operating model based on the split between high risk / strategic work and the low risk activity. For example, when we first implemented Xakia, the data it produced enabled us to pinpoint the significant proportion of contract review work coming from our Operations teams that was low risk maintenance contract activity. We decided this was better dealt with by the contract managers within the Operations teams. This activity now only receives a “light touch” from the Legal Team, delivering significant cost savings.

Pros

In my view, Legal teams need to be more than technical experts – they need to ensure they are operating efficiently and can demonstrate the value they are creating. The dashboards and reports from this software enable the Legal Team to show me, the CFO, and the Operations teams who are being provided in-house legal services, exactly how the Legal Team is performing. I know that by using this software, my legal team are constantly giving consideration to the appropriate resourcing and priority of work.

Cons

No cons so far. Our focus is ensuring the Legal Team makes use of all the features of the software.

JJ
AvatarImg

Joanne J.

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Give it a trial - you may be surprised

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

The integration to other products like iManage and Outlook make Xakia a great competitive choice. The ease of the product is also a great ROI.

Cons

It is out of box, so don't expect much customisation. The flip side is there is less issues than other similar products and the product team are constantly updating features.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jackson P.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Xakia review

Reviewed 10 months ago

Overall, Xakia is a great matter management system to get a baseline and consistent use of matter management software across the Legal Team. Xakia does include some additional functionality, but in a way that isn't overwhelming to the standard user.

Pros

The matter management, spend management, data and analytics, and reporting/dashboard functionality, along with Xakia's integration with our document management system, are ideal for Legal Team.

Cons

It would be useful for Xakia to have increased matter task management functionality, such as the ability to assign tasks, link tasks to manage dependencies, have start and due dates of tasks, etc.

JM
AvatarImg

Jane M.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Data and Analytics

Reviewed 5 years ago

The Xakia team provides excellent customer service and genuinely cares about providing and improving the product. The overall value for money is excellent for the amount of output the reporting can provide. We also appreciate that there is integration with other legal software.

Pros

Xakia provides a detailed way to gather data and analytics on the way the team delivers legal services to stakeholders. The reporting functionalities make it simple to show the value-add of the team to the wider business.

Cons

When we first started using Xakia it was new and didn't have the functionality it has now. We appreciate that new and improved features are being added all the time, and the Xakia team is very responsive to requests for new functionality.

EL
AvatarImg

Emilie L.

Building Materials, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy-to-use professional matter management system

Reviewed 2 years ago

A modern, easy-to-use professional matter management system with a user-friendly interface and many productivity-enhancing functionalities. It is a useful tool to evidence our Legal team’s alignment of functional support to the organisation’s broader strategic objectives. It is also a powerful reporting tool to manage both our team and communications with other internal stakeholders.

Pros

The integration with our document management software is useful. Reporting tool interfaces.

Cons

None