App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Forecast Reviews

Overall rating

4.1

/5

24

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.41/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

As a fan of Harvest, I find that working with Harvest forecast is just as easy to use. This is a great tool for anyone who doesn't have a forecaster built into their project management software.
I use this daily for scheduling projects and forecasting who will be available to work on what in the company. This is a great price of software...the subtle micro-interactions are a nice touch.
Overall, it's a very helpful tool that keeps our business running. I think it's a great tool and would recommend to others.
Unfortunately, we are not usually able to use it for much beyond its visual representations of individual team schedules week-to-week because of the lack of reporting tools.
The product has many fundamental flaws. For example, if you charge a deposit for a project via Forecast, it doesn’t actually credit the deposit against completed work.
An early beta product that doesn’t work, with a premium product price and arrogant culture.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


24 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Flavio A.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Bird's Eye View for Project Planning

Reviewed 4 years ago

Forecast is a great little tool for project managers and directors, allowing them to organise and get an overview of upcoming tasks and projects for different teams as well as individual employees.

Pros

Forecast was probably the best innovation from Harvest in recent years. Even though the parent tool is in dire need of a refresh, Forecast gives managers a bird's eye view of their upcoming projects, allowing them to individually assign tasks and distribute the workload.

Cons

Despite the fact that it is a great forecasting tool, project visualisation can get a bit overwhelming on larger organisations with bigger teams.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Morgan C.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Intuitive Time Planning Software That Adapts to Any Team Size

Reviewed 4 years ago

The software works like a dream if your organization has the depth of project management/trafficking skill to understand how to balance its functions with the needs of the people captured by the system. This is NOT a great software for agile environments in my opinion.

Pros

Forecast (and its partner Harvest) make for a powerful program that can assist in planning any work that requires team effort. The process is easy, the interface readily understandable. Setup is very simple and new projects are easily managed in Forecast. You can be as detailed as you'd like, or very high-level. Perfect for traffic management, not so great for creativity.

Cons

This isn't a software for agile environments, and it's VERY easy for project managers to get caught in the objective of making red into green (a person is over budgeted time allotments versus a person has time to do the work) rather than thinking about what they're actually splitting or assigning. This can be a big problem in creative environments where team members may need large chunks of time for thinking, creating, or researching.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Peter L.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A good (almost brilliant) project management SaaS tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use Asana and Forecast to manage time allocation to tasks, and use Forecast to plan out our resource allocation. Harvest Forecast seem to work well for us when planning work schedules over the next few weeks, but we do not seem to successfully use this for longer term project management. We use Harvest Forecast daily - it has become mission critical to the successful running of our business. However...

Pros

Forecast is easy to use and does the job as a forecast management tool for us. The ease of use should not be underestimated - we have trialed many other project management tools and they were just too hard to set up. Moreover the integration to our Harvest itself (a time tracker) makes this much more powerful than a classic project management tool. We use it to manage our software development processes, which has a mix of short 1-2 days tasks and longer multi-month projects. Forecast and has some neat features: particularly like the quick way of setting up milestones. Forecast now also allows time planning around weekends so you can accommodate over time and will work in countries where the weekend is not Saturday and Sunday.

Cons

The integration method to Harvest Forecast is lumpy. You have to manually select which products in Forecast you import, and it is not perfectly linked, so change a name in, say, Asana and you have to manually fill this in. It is hard to include public holidays.

JW
AvatarImg

Jack W.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Useful tool for planning team members' time but not the most intuitive

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, Forecast is a time saver for managing teams, and the feedback from the team members is that it helps co-ordinate their week ahead and know what they need to be working on. If they can work on improving the design and layout, it could be the perfect team management system.

Pros

Forecast's direct integration with Harvest (time tracking) makes it a simple and easy process to assign tasks to a team member in Forecast and have it automatically appear in Harvest for them to log time against, helping streamline the process and reducing the number of steps.

Cons

While the interface for Forecast is fairly easy to use, it isn't all that intuitive. It can be difficult to see what a team member is working on, and if there's a few people on the team, there is a lot of faffing around to open up each team member's list and see what they're assigned to.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good product

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, it's a very helpful tool that keeps our business running. I think it's a great tool and would recommend to others.

Pros

It makes it easy to schedule our team's days and weeks while also prioritizing projects. It also is helpful per team member to keep track of your projects, and set milestones for the projects ahead of time.

Cons

The only thing I don't like about this software is when you shift things around if a new project comes in or an old drops off, it's a little challenging to do because you have to click every single element after that project. Would be easier if there was a "bump" feature of some sort.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chris A.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

This tool has made it easy for me to schedule projects and forecast who will be available to do specific job at the company. It's so easily to use and it helps me assign task and distribute the workload.

Cons

For a large organization like ours having lots of drivers and big teams project visualization can get quite overwhelming.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gerson C.

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Predict accurately each project

Reviewed 5 years ago

Make precise calculations based on profits and benefits of each project in real time, knowing which of them is the most profitable and how the work team defends itself in each area to know what the strengths and weaknesses are.

Pros

The main functionality or where the application is focused is the ability that gives you to correctly forecast and schedule each project in composite with workers as a team, but in which it differentiates to others, which allows you to calculate costs based on time spent , this is the main advantage, you can see the benefit at the time of each project, when it is profitable and when it is not, so you can project the profits, know when a project extends more than it should and how this affects the profits of the company.

Cons

It lacks some tools based on the management of projects at times may be too simple in excess and this will affect you when you reuyeras complete functionalities for management.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Forecast is great for project management for timelines/resources -- goodbye static gant charts.

Reviewed 5 years ago

We get an agreed upon view of what is going on -- our management knows the project schedules and our employees know where they will be allocated in the future. That also means we can prevent time collisions for project planning purposes and figure out where we went wrong if timelines are missed.

Pros

The reporting and planning of project timelines is so simple with forecast. Once you learn where the UI controls are, it is easy to report over timelines and view data. I love that you can zoom in and out between how granular data is. It is really easy to tell what is going with just one glance at the screen.

Cons

Setting up clients, employees and projects can be cumbersome. Once the entire thing is set up, it is easy to modify or edit -- but getting our things in order to get it all inside of forecast took some time. That combined with slower page load times on the app (when we were using it at least) made it a bear to onboard.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Joe P.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Forecast has made utilization planning for our teams so much simpler!

Reviewed 6 years ago

The forecast has allowed us to move our utilization planning out of manually updated spreadsheets and into a tool built for the job. It's been awesome, and the added cost is nominal compared to the value it delivers.

Pros

Love the integration with Harvest. Being able to sort and filter by different criteria makes it super simple to like at Product teams, functional teams, offices, etc. the visibility we've gained with a Forecast has been a game changer.

Cons

I wish it were a bit more directly integrated into Harvest (as opposed to living outside as a separate platform. As is, it's easy to accidentally create people, etc that aren't tied to a Harvest entry. Integrating would simplify our toolset as well, giving us one place to go to manage time tracking and team planning.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mark N.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Project Management Essential Tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall an easy to use interface for scheduling a team of staff for a variety of projects.

Pros

Easy to use, simple interface. Clear colour coding allows for easy project scheduling.

Cons

- Adding notes to projects can be limited

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Both Forecast and Harvest are good - but the integration is horrible

Reviewed 4 years ago

Recommended if you only need one or the other tool ... but don't use it if you want to use the (logical) combination.

Pros

Every one of the two tools (Harvest / Forecast) does what it should do. Using it is easy as long as you don't want to combine those two tools.

Cons

The integration of Harvest and Forecast (which is meant to go together) does not work at all. The process is not thought through and is highly unintuitive. Just to give you one example. In Harvest Users can't create clients (only admins) but in Forecast everyone can create clients (you can't even change this setting). However to link projects and clients obviously they need to have exactly the same...

KC
AvatarImg

Kevin C.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great tool for tracking and updating team members' schedules.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

(1) Great UX, low learning curve (2) Visual representation of team members schedules, their projects, and tasks (3) Added functionality for when team members are "overbooked" or "under-booked"

Cons

Less useful for larger projects that require multiple, dedicated team members for a long period of time.

IS
AvatarImg

Ivona S.

Design, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Its really good

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I really like how it connects together, when I am working on a task, I can just choose that specific tasks, without me writing it. Also I like that it is an app. You can have it in your computer, not the browser.

Cons

I would not use it myself because it is a bit too expensive for me.

MB
AvatarImg

Megan B.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

One click forecasting that integrates with Harvest

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use Forecast because of its integration with Harvest. Unfortunately, we are not usually able to use it for much beyond its visual representations of individual team schedules week-to-week because of the lack of reporting tools. It requires a lot of additional work inside Excel to filter down to anything useful.

Pros

Harvest integration ties in with your existing projects

Cons

Non-existent reporting means you need to export a CSV and create your own reports.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Simple but limited

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ability to quickly edit timelines and assignments is fast and easy.

Cons

You can easily integrate it with other services and the reporting is very limited.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great online project allocation software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Forecast is an easy to use application for project allocation. I use this software to set up team members allocation across 9 teams. It's an easy way to see what the allocation is for each one and to keep track of off days as well. The management of the applications is easy and intuitive, set up is quick and team management is as easy as clicking or dragging.

Cons

The way filtering is handled is ok, but it could be better on how to view allocation across multiple team members.

RC
AvatarImg

Ruth C.

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Tool that can help to take the hassle out of team utilisation planning

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We use Harvest to track time spent working on clients and so we use Forecast by Harvest as it fully integrates. Being able to filter between teams e.g. client team and product team makes it easy to see how people are spending time and where there are opportunities to re-distribute work.

Cons

It can be easy to accidentally create people in Forecast that aren't linked to a Harvest entry which means you have to remove the person and start again. This tools pretty basic and doesn't offer much historical reporting on how the team have been performing over time.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Forecast is great lightweight tool for planning project and team capacity.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Easy to use capacity planning software for understanding the capacity of my teams!

Pros

I'm a project manager who has tried MANY different forecasting tools. I was frequently frustrated by forecasting tools that were too exact and cumbersome for agile planning for small teams. Forecast is a great lightweight tool for estimating and understanding capacity of your team in one view.

Cons

This tool would make my life even easier if it had some type of automated reporting that would give me historical data on my teams capacity and project durations for future planning.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

An early beta product that doesn’t work, with a premium product price and arrogant culture

Reviewed a year ago

When we raised issues with the product, they refused to accept the premise of the issue and ridiculed us. When it finally became impossible to reject the obvious flaws in the product, they asked us to help them design the solutions. I have no issues giving ideas to a startup to help them improve the product, but I am less inclined to do so after being treated poorly.

Pros

What it is supposed to do, in theory, is a great concept. However, in practice, it doesn’t deliver and is a waste of time and money.

Cons

The product has many fundamental flaws. For example, if you charge a deposit for a project via Forecast, it doesn’t actually credit the deposit against completed work. It is a half baked beta project.

TS
AvatarImg

Tyler S.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Gantt Charts FTW!

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use Forecast with Harvest to suck in projects and schedule the work our creatives will be working on. It serves as a pipeline so we know who's busy and who's got capacity.

Pros

Super slick way to schedule people's work and see where the bottlenecks lie in our future workflow.

Cons

Wish you could choose to not schedule people and schedule only projects/tasks instead. Sometimes we don't know who will be working on what until it's time to be worked on.

DS
AvatarImg

Denise S.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I love it!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I've been looking for a tool that helps me plan my availability and capacity in advance for ages and I've recently found this one. It's amazing and does what it says on the tin. It's so intuitive, I didn't even need the how-tos or any other instructions to get started.

Cons

It needs a web app. It works on mobile but not very well and basically shows you the desktop version. Far too much scrolling.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Super easy software for managing teams

Reviewed 4 years ago

Love it

Pros

I use this daily for scheduling projects and forecasting who will be available to work on what in the company. This is a great price of software...the subtle micro-interactions are a nice touch.

Cons

I wish it was easier to modify multiple peoples schedules at once.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Natalie G.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nice planning tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

As a fan of Harvest, I find that working with Harvest forecast is just as easy to use. This is a great tool for anyone who doesn't have a forecaster built into their project management software. Great for organizing your and your teams time and planning your upcoming work.

Cons

I like all aspects of this software including pricing. It would only be better if integrated into a project management software like Monday.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Not great for true project management

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I liked that this was integrated with Harvest when we were using Harvest. It made it super easy to use.

Cons

I didn't like the in flexibility of this product. I evaluated it for a while when I was using Harvest and it wasn't good for iterative projects or projects where you needed people working on more than one thing at a time.