Orchestra PPM Reviews

Orchestra PPM

Scalable project portfolio management software

Orchestra PPM

Review Summary

Pros

Ramp-up is not easy (Planning, budget and Ressources management). Owerall, this tool is good, there are good ideas and functions.

Vincent C.

Cover all the needs with good features from the demand to Project management, Portfolio management, indicators. Great relationship with NQI.

Vincent G.

Good PPM tool, cover all the functionnalities needed, good relationship.

Vincent G.

Cons

Poor documentation to become Orchestra expert and support daily usage. Heavy weakness on standard reporting.

Nicolas W.

The poor performance with Internet Explorer/Edge.

Christian L.

No possiblity to do "batch" actions in lists. Timesheet workflow validation too restrictive.

Vincent C.

Overall rating

4.0

(12)

5

4

3

2

1

4

4

4

0

0

67%
positive reviews
91%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


12 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great app !

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I particularly appreciate the integration of different features : project management, ressources management, budget, time tracking. We also implemented specific features apart from project development like non-conformity treatment, executive committee decisions management, customised reports

Cons

My company find it a bit expensive but it worth it. Needs a real training to get the full performance.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very good tool, easily and intuitive to use on main functions.

Reviewed 3 years ago

The main benefits are in the simplicity of navigation and use for the end-users: very good design and organization of the activity with fast access to the interesting information for the different level of the organization.

Pros

Orchestra is tool very appreciated by the users. Its design is clear and intuitive, which allows the different users to navigate inside the tool after 1 hour of training. Its use is also sufficiently simple for the occasional users (1 time per month or less) to re-find the menu without a new reading of the user guide. The access is simple and efficient from a location. We use it to manage the R&D...

Cons

There are no clear dark points about this software. Some specific attentions must be brought to the recording time (storage of the data) for specific functions. This time can increases with the number of manipulated elements or for specific functions. It is not a real issue, except in the case of long set of data recording.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple efficient and scalable

Reviewed 2 months ago

We stard with Planisware Orchestra in 2011. First to manage IT projects and then gradually to manage all IT activities. This tool has evolved a lot since 2011 and allows us today to manage the entire activity, workforces load and budgets forecasting.

Pros

Capapcity to manage large organizations and numerous resources. Easy to use without too many concessions on advanced features. Scalable solution both in terms of users and functionalities. Great local support (France). Suitable for RUN and BUILD activities. Numerous intégration possibilities (flat files, datamart, Reporting Tools, etc.)

Cons

Agility is not perfectly managed. Kaban could be smoother.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Works for basic project management or those new to project management

Reviewed 4 months ago

Planisware was not very responsive during implementation to completing tasks, following up on items requested or issues found. They either don't respond at all or don't respond quickly through their service desk requests for issues, questions, upgrade ideas, etc.

Pros

The ability to customize stages and gates is great as it allows for different types of projects in one organization or for different organizations to all have completely different set ups. The initial project tasks are easy enough to set up.

Cons

There are always way too many steps in each process. It may be easy enough to figure out the process but it seems like most could be completed with less clicks from the user.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good value for money and support

Reviewed 3 months ago

Planning, resource/capacity and budget management.

Pros

It is user-friendly, the user interface is intuitive

Cons

The poor performance with Internet Explorer/Edge

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good PPM tool, cover all the functionnalities needed, good relationship

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transparency and consistency of our information. Consolidation of the data for analysis or understanding Be able to have a live status of our project and take decisions based on that. Manage the resources and distribute the work, valorize this one. End-to-end chain of information management

Pros

The fact to have a mix of settings and specific. It permits to be autonomous and start to have a first platform usable very fast. And after, with our specificity as a large company, be able to develop some interface with other tools. Interface is really user friendy. Good evolution of the tool with better and better user interface and features. Good interface with Google permits to us to use our Electronic Document Management System, SSO,... Cover all the needs with good features from the demand to Project management, Portfolio management, indicators,... Great relationship with NQI

Cons

It's inside their roadmap, but today, portfolio management can be better, Risk management also, Demand Management, on the Stakes part is not perfect We would like to be able to have little bit more global control on the projects, state, bulk modification as administrator or user. Some names are not consistent everywhere inside the tool and need to be align But I know, link to their roadmap, all this work in on going

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great customized and local solution for project management in our ISO 17025 accredited laboratory.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

NQI Orchestra software really meets our first requirements i.e. find a customized and local solution for project management. Then quality module has been implemented and used as well. It's a robust solution. After almost 2 years of daily use by the project manager and the quality manager and around 15 users, we have managed almost 190 projects of 2 weeks to 4 months duration; I would like to highlight that it has never shut down. We really appreciate the activity Stream; it constitutes a really help in follow up. Since we have learned how to create and use the Dashboard module, we like it!

Cons

- Installation and updates are not "friendly": it requires to paste files directly into core folders. Without internal IT support, that would be difficult to manage. - We decided not to use the document module because once documents are uploaded in the software, it is not possible to access them without using the software. - Generally, there are too many information displayed and today, it is not possible to remove some of them to get clear visibility of seeked information: e.g. Gant diagram.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

NQI Orchestra Review

Reviewed 4 months ago

We started with a new version of Orchestra : 7.0. This version wasn't mature and we faced many bugs. Ramp-up is not easy (Planning, budget and Ressources management). Owerall, this tool is good, there are good ideas and functions. Now, the next step should be to simplify the User interface. Some idea : include more batch actions, simplify Planning > Gantt (only one view), simplify Project Ressource Management by displaying ressources need more easyly >> too many clicks to display ressrouces need.

Pros

- Integration between projects and ressources - Customisation with the Designer - Possiblity to export lists

Cons

- "Clicodrome". Too many click to do something. No possiblity to do "batch" actions in lists. - Timesheet workflow validation too restrictive - In project Budget and project ressource management no possibility to express the ressource need by competencies. Only ressource type is available >> too restrictive as a ressource can have only one "type". Most of organisation have ressources that can do many activities in projets (Project management and business analysis for exemple). Assign ressources by type is too restrictive. Real need to asign ressources by competencies.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Voo - project & program implementation

Reviewed 4 months ago

global orchestra experience is good. This tool is gathering all functionalities to manage any project on a daily basis but I would like to increase my organization compliance through a deepest positive experience, but "con's criteria" are constraints to that goal (poor documentation, poor reporting, unsucceed collaboration, too much click) I really hope that planisware will invest to improve propduct in that way

Pros

User-friendly, functionalities very complete

Cons

- poor documentation to become Orchestra expert and support daily usage - heavy weakness on standard reporting - sometimes too much "click" to realize a basic project operation - project stakeholders collaboration is not enough succeed

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

VWFS

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Fluidity of softwre and visualization of data

Cons

Flexibility of reporting and adaptative reporting to our business

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My remarks

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

ease of implementation and great freedom of customization

Cons

it is not possible to manage time on actions contained in tasks

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Usage in DEKRA

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

The time sheet recording is really easy to use

Cons

The general ergonomie should be improve, especially the planning management (GANT). Agile should be more integrated into the software.