Pivotal Tracker Reviews

Pivotal Tracker Reviews

Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

4.51/5 (35 reviews)
19,441     10,630

David Tengdin

Awesome Software Project Management Tool

14/03/2017

I used to be a Pivot.

Pros

Tons of tracking and story organization tools to create "epics" (batches of stories), "labels" (grouped stories) and analyze projects.

Cons

There are such a multitude of different options and tools that it can be overwhelming at first glance. You really need a "Pivot" to teach it to you to fully understand how to use it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rom Srinivasan

Great tool for keeping track of project implementation

17/02/2017

Pivotal Tracker is the perfect tool to help keep track of the status of the all the stories your engineering team is working on.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Christopher Knight

The - Project Management tool for Software Development Teams

01/02/2017

Been using tracker for a few years now. Its continually improved, but also kept a baseline of core functionality thats remained fairly static. It achieves its purpose, and doesn't throw in a lot of bells and whistles. Project / feature / story pipeline management core to storing information about past bugs, assets, ideas, implementations. Its served as alternative documentation to many of our projects. When consistently used, can be a very effective management tool for software proejcts.

Pros

Its made FOR & By software devs.

Cons

Its a bit clunky with lots of tabs open. Some light UX simplification could help. Also more markdown options ( or a bit clearer docs ) on how to write more formatted descriptions for stories & comments.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Pivotal Tracker

Theres no alternative in my mind for serious software dev teams. Atlassian / Trello / Jira all to heavy handed and convoluted to be effective with teams of primary devs.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
George Gonzalez-Rivas

Dive in! (or stay out, no half-measures)

16/01/2017

Our company started using Pivotal Tracker to manage software development in an outsourced environment. It seems to be a really successful tool in that regard. It's collaboration features are strong, its assignment tracking is very strong, and its reports are pretty good. If you have an application to manage distributed tasks that are each of significant effort -- say a few hours to a few days each -- then Pivotal is a top contender and you should review it carefully. The problem that I have with Pivotal is that its success in the coding side of the business led to its adoption across the board in all our business processes. Here's where the trouble started. It's a little too slow to use with tasks that should be measured in minutes rather than hours -- it adds too much relative overhead. Of course, there are ways to deal with this like using Zapier to integrate a list tool or Trell or the CRM with Pivotal... but then the real question is why go to all these lengths to apprise teams in other departments to a level of detail they are not interested in? So, if you're developing code, debugging code, or create documents that that, say, 2 or more hours each, Pivotal Tracker is an excellent way to organize, and, well, 'track', progress, report on relative team velocity and, most importantly adapt workload to current work pave (it automatically moves stories from background to active based on the calculated velocity/workload of the team -- that's pretty cool.) But if you just need a list, or if you existing tool, like a CRM, already has task management then don't complicate your life.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bill Stathopoulos

Useful for software development

10/01/2017

We've been using Pivotal both internally and to collaborate with clients. Helps a lot with keeping track of a project's overall status, possible showstoppers and team efficiency.

Cons

Interface

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ivan Collins

Pivotal Helps Keep your Team Organized

16/11/2016

We have been using Pivotal Tracker for several years now and it has quite a few features that keep our development team organized. We don't use the layers that predict how long feature will take those elements tend to require some programming knowledge and since I manage the system it's hard for me to assign point values to those. But I expect that adds a few more layers of functionality. Just the basic of being able to create a development ticket, assign it to a developer, tag the designer in comments so he gets inquiries, and use the approval process is a game changer in terms of staying organized. Everyone can tap into Pivotal Tracker and know exactly what their game plan is for the day.

Pros

assigning tickets to team mates, tagging them in notes so they get a notification, and the approval process.

Cons

estimating tickets seems a little hard to predict as a non developer..

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Spencer H

Pivotal gives the entire team visibility into our roadmap

15/10/2016

We've happily used Pivotal as a team for a couple of years now. Anyone on the team can contribute to creating stories that are then prioritized accordingly and brought into our product. The feature set is robust while the UI is intuitive. Our team has built some great product features by using Pivotal as our mode for keeping the team focused and aligned.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff Lau

It has been good so far.

17/02/2016

Pros

Easy to assign stories to developer and have a bird's eye view of a project.

Cons

It is hard to view all the tasks that I am assigned. Let's say I am included in 15+ different projects and I have stories assigned to me in different ones, I would need to go to each individual project to view my tasks. I know that I can group all my projects, but that is too much of a hassle. It would be nice if there is a way to view all my tasks in one panel, like a todo list.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Pivotal Tracker

Create workspaces so you can clump multiple projects together. This makes it easier to see what is in your icebox and see what tasks is assigned to you.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris M

Pivotal Tracker for Bug Tracking and Project Management

16/02/2016

Pros

For my line of work, the product is pretty straight forward and easy to use. I don't manage projects but am always entering, reviewing and updating stories within the project and have never had any trouble. It doesn't take too long at all to get acclimated with it and once you have it down, it's smooth sailing. I really like the that they keep the product up-to-date and add new features.

Cons

I haven't had any issues with the product so far and anything that was a small minor annoyance has been fixed with their newer updates. Small things make big differences.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Pivotal Tracker

Are you looking for a bug tracking system? Maybe a project management system? Then look no further! I really have enjoyed using the product and would venture out in saying that it's probably the best bug tracking system I've used thus far.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robert Gooding

Quick, efficient and a pleasure to use.

16/02/2016

Pros

The search engine is highly optimized and makes sifting through our QA Database easy. Additionally, there relatively zero downtime. The few times we've experienced a drop, they keep their social media updated every couple of minutes so you can refresh and follow along as the issues are fixed.

Cons

Right now there's very little info on the history of a project. Individual story histories are available, but you can only bring up one product's history at a time. They "are" working on it in a tab called "Analytics BETA", however, it's a bit of a blatant feature that should have been included for launch.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Pivotal Tracker

Make sure your team can work without an in-depth project history.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andrew Van Stelle

Pivotal Tracker Review

16/02/2016

Pros

The product provides a lot of options and settings that allow you to customize your project tracking.

Cons

While you can't directly relabel some functions, the use of some functions allow you to tackle any job that you throw at it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Pivotal Tracker

Hows the softwares usability? Is it easy to pick up and start working out of the box?

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jesse Dupuy

Intuitive Software with Great Features

16/02/2016

Pros

I like how easy it is to filter through the stories lists so I can see exactly what information I'm hunting for. This is especially useful on projects with lots of bugs or feature requests, so I can limit the list to only the stories relevant to my work. I also like how frequently Pivotal is updated with new features and upgrades... it feels reassuring as a user to know the product we're using is maintained well!

Cons

It's difficult to see all information across all projects at a glance, in my experience. I'm involved in dozens of projects simultaneously, all with incoming bugs and feature requests, so it would be really useful to be able to see everything at once easily. I know it's possible to create a workspace to do this, but I'd prefer to have it work out of the box.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Pivotal Tracker

Make liberal use of labels and tasks, it will greatly improve the effectiveness of new stories and issues being tracked.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stacey  Speck

Efficient Program Management without Over-Complicating

16/02/2016

Pros

Pivotal Tracker is a great tool for easy accountability and time management when working with multiple projects at one time. It allows you to have a snap shot view of each project and where it is in the process from start to finish. It is a very reliable program with great backing (customer service support) and detailed processes that are easy to follow.

Cons

No complaints. This software has been a great resource for me.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Pivotal Tracker

Definitely take a look at this software. It is efficient and detailed without being overly complicated.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gabriela Sneider

This product is efficient and effective!

16/02/2016

Pros

I like that once you learn how to use this product then it is very quick and easy. It is efficient and effective! Many different teams at my company use this product and it seems to keep everyone on the same page and on track. It is a great way to communicate with the developer and the implementation teams and make sure that the changes to the website are made.

Cons

In the beginning, it takes time to get used the product. It isn't completely intuitive in the beginning but once you do learn it then it becomes second nature. It just takes a bit of time to learn it and feel comfortable with it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Pivotal Tracker

I would say that it is important to evaluate how easy it is to use the software, how efficient it is, and if it meets your goals and needs. In the end, does it do what you are looking for? Does it accomplish what you are trying to do with this product?

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mira Van Landingham

Effective Project Management Tool

16/02/2016

Pros

I like that you can "start" a bug task, and easily tag people. Also the notifications are very helpful so I can instantly see when my attention is needed on a particular story. I also enjoy being able to look at my projects one by one, so I can focus on completing one project at a time.

Cons

I would like it if I could re-check the notifications so that I could go in to the whole task, read it and then make the notification highlighted again. Sort of like making your inbox emails look "unread" so I can go back in there when I'm ready to do the task and still have that reminder.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Pivotal Tracker

The more you use this program the easier it becomes. It was intimidating to me at first, but after using it for a week I felt confident using it without any issues.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Megan Kakitsubo

Smooth Agile Tool for Startups

09/02/2016

Pros

I liked that the contents of the dashboard is customizable for every member of the team who all had different roles. For instance, as a web developer I constantly kept my eyes on "My Work", "Current", and "BackLog" as I liked to track my tasks as well as what others in the team had in progress. On the other hand, the Project Manager had "Charts" and "Epics" opened as he wanted to track the velocity of the team. Aside from the customizable element, the dashboard was easy to edit as changes to an existing story as well as creating new ones could be accomplished in one tab/window without moving onto a new page. Because everything could be tracked with a one page view, it provided a good summary of what everyone was up to as well as nice way to track individual tasks.

Cons

For a larger team I feel that it would be difficult to keep the dashboard maintain the nice clean look. As a developer that used Pivotal Tracker in a startup accelerator, every project I worked on was for a different company and each team had about 4 to 7 people (which was a good size for collective Pivotal Tracker usage). In a larger company, there could be larger sized teams which could potentially make the dashboard more cluttered and thus require a careful categorization of their projects for later review. Although I personally did not have to face this scenario often I could see it being a bit of an issue if my team and company was that of larger scale.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Pivotal Tracker

If you are a visual person like myself, I recommend looking for softwares that has an elaborate dashboard. In an agile team, having a dashboard that is easy to see is crucial and even more so if all the functionalities are there. I like not having to open multiple windows to view and edit details of the stories because then I could see everything with the bigger picture in mind. At the same time it has to look uncluttered as much as possible. Otherwise the use of Agile softwares depends on the size of the team and how important it is to track historical records of different projects down the line.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lindsey Salls

Easy to Use for Small and Large Scale Projects!

03/02/2016

Pros

Pivotal Tracker is very easy to use, but you are able to get granular with projects if you need to. Basically, it works for small scale and large scale projects. The software is very organized which contributes to its ease of use. If you manage or create multiple projects with the same structure, team members, or stories, you are easily able to create a template that can be uploaded each time you create a new project. This greatly reduces the time it takes to setup projects within the software if your company manages a high volume of similar projects. The best aspect of the software is you are able to give point values to stories so you can track project velocity and estimate time until completion.

Cons

If you work on multiple projects at once, it can be difficult to view all stories you own across all projects. You will have to manual setup a multi-project workspace in order to see all stories that you own. If a new project gets created, you must manually add it to the workspace. This is the products biggest downfall in my opinion.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Pivotal Tracker

Pivotal Tracker is definitely one of the best Agile project management tools on the market, but it will also work if your company doesn't follow the Agile methodology. It is an online software, so you don't need to worry about making sure all team members are using computers with the same operating system. I would definitely recommend it to companies looking to organize their development or software engineering projects.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nazanine Pineda

Verified Reviewer

Great project planning tool

22/12/2015

When building out our web application (Methodologee), we needed a story-based project planning tool/agile software that allowed our team to collaborate and execute all the features instantly. We were referred to PT by our Senior Developer and loved using it.

Pros

Great agile software, easy story writing tool, API to the feedback and knowledge based tools we were using.

Cons

The mobile app was not that great but it might have improved by now.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Skot Carruth

Great for delivery-focused, agile software teams

10/12/2015

Pros

The product is opinionated enough to have a clear purpose but reasonably flexible. Plus it comes from Pivotal, so I trust that it will be reliable and performant.

Cons

The product's great, but it doesn't solve problems associated with incorporating research and design into an agile workflow, so it's not the be-all-end-all of software development trackers.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Pivotal Tracker

It's not for everyone, but if you want a system that supports an active agile or XP team, it's one of the best built.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ian Schumann

Extremely customizable proj. and issue mgmt. system

29/10/2015

Pros

Innovative interface with a lot of control over what you see, what is filtered, what you're interacting with, etc. Help videos and knowledge base are well developed and informative. Lots of integration options with external systems.

Cons

Compared to something like FogBugz which is much simpler and more intuitive, the degree of complexity within Pivotal can be a little jarring, and some setup and accommodation time is usually required for newcomers.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Pivotal Tracker

Since Pivotal is more complex and somewhat more expensive, make sure that *what you need* isn't really something simpler such as e.g. FogBugz. If you do go with Pivotal make sure time is set aside for the learning curve for yourself, your processes, and/or your internal users.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jerod Guillen

Pivotal Tracker Review

26/10/2015

Pros

I like the way the products provides, burn rates, project/scope management, and gives you the ability to easily keep team members tied to overall projects and mini projects separate.

Cons

I dislike the mobile experience. I feel like its extremely difficult to attach imagery and I always seem to constantly provide duplicate images for projects.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering Pivotal Tracker

This is a great product to integrate into projects. The user interface look is somewhat clunky, but the tools and features are pretty robust for the overall tool.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rahul Singh

Verified Reviewer

Brilliant for managing Kanban style projects

06/06/2014

We have used Pivotal Tracker to track the progress of each user story, bug, feature, and epic and we have found that it has focused the team into delivering high quality software.

Pros

Easy to use. App available on iPad which is a massive plus.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Diane

Easy-to-use Tracking Tool

15/11/2012

Pivotal Tracker is great for helping organize my tasks and projects. I can see what projects I have started on, what projects I could start, and sub-tasks for each of them.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Paul

Great Tool, easy to use

09/11/2012

We use Pivotal Tracker for our managers to organize and check the work done by their team. In our way of doing each task or project has to be in Pivotal Tracker to keep a trace of it. Employees can decompose their project in several tasks and our managers can check at every moment what has been done and what is still to be done. It is a great tool to make sure everyone is going forward and delivering on what they commited. I recommend it even to manage small teams of 2-3 people

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Thiru

Just makes tracking easy.

03/10/2012

We use it in our daily work. Managing and monitoring task within different teams is just at ease.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more