This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

CivicRec Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

The training was informative and the trainers were great at showing examples with our facilities, not just a mock up/sample facility. The functionality is great and very user friendly.

Amy B.

Staff is friendly, specific, quick to respond, and always there to help. Out of all the customer service needs with online services I have used over the years, Rec1 staff have clearly been the best.

Mark M.

I do however have GREAT service from the phone and online chat feature. Those team members are quick to respond, ask for details to better understand and provide an accurate and effective result.

Amy B.

Cons

There are quite a few basic very poor database development programming problems. Starting with problems with keeping the unique identifiers - unique.

Anonymous Reviewer

My only "trouble" is not with the software itself, but with my assigned account manager and the difficulty in reaching them and the delayed response.

Amy B.

There are some serious error (bugs) in the system.

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating

4.5

5

4

3

2

1

26

9

5

0

0

88%
positive reviews
97%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


40 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CIVIC REC

Reviewed 3 years ago

The use of CIVIC REC in our department...I can't put a value on it. Our employees love it, as well as our citizens in this great county!

Pros

The Flexibility of the product puts it at the top of the heap for our Department's needs. The already canned Financial and Roster reports are 2nd to none. The reports capture all the information that our Finance folks want to see. Being web-based instead of seat or hardware based has been the key to our success. Being restricted by seat usage really infringed on our customer service. Now, that we are web-based, we the ability sign up anyone and at anytime and at any location.

Cons

The occasional updates sometimes interfere with our business the next day, but 99% of the time, it is fixed within the hour.

Vendor response

Thank you John for your review and feedback and for being a part of the CivicPlus and CivicRec family. We appreciate your comments regarding the flexibility and reporting. Thanks, CivicRec Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

User Friendly, Seamless Integration and Endless Customization

Reviewed 9 months ago

I have only been utilizing the software since March, and we did not launch until May and then because of COVID and amenity closures we only opened part of our facilities. My only "trouble" is not with the software itself, but with my assigned account manager and the difficulty in reaching them and the delayed response. I do however have GREAT service from the phone and online chat feature. Those team members are quick to respond, ask for details to better understand and provide an accurate and effective result.

Pros

I was very pleased with the customization of the software. Having multiple facilities, amenities and rates it was a lot to set up, however the customization was well worth it. The training was informative and the trainers were great at showing examples with our facilities, not just a mock up/sample facility. The functionality is great and very user friendly. There are multiple ways to set up a permit for example and although one method might be "preferred" by the trainers you can accomplish the same goal in at least three different ways. This is a benefit when you have multiple admins as each person may work with different set ups easier.

Cons

The set up, although very customizable was also VERY intense. We have not fully begun using all of the product features due to the complexity of setting everything up prior to launch. The most impactful functionality that I feel is missing is one related to field rentals. Our property rents 3 soccer fields and a softball field and we rent them at an hourly rate of $10/hour or a league rate of $124...

Vendor response

Thanks for your review! We are so glad that CivicRec has proven helpful for your organization. Thanks for being part of the #CPfamily and using CivicRec. You may find our Quarterly Enhancement webinars helpful. The webinar provides instruction on product updates and new features along with tips and tricks for getting the most out of the CivicRec solution. Check the Resources section of the CivicPlus.com website to register for our next webinar. Past webinars are also available. We appreciate your feedback very much.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

I Would Cautiously Recommend CivicRec

Reviewed 9 months ago

My experience with CivicRec has been overall positive, yet I would still cautiously recommend the product.

Pros

CivicRec was a big leap forward from the previous system we used. What I like most about CivicRec is how efficiently it allows our agency to rollover hundreds of programs from previous sessions.

Cons

CivicRec doesnt have an interactive facilities booking calendar, which is a feature that many of our customers have asked. This calendar would allow for customers to view the availability and book sports fields and park shelters. CivicRec also lacks a robust sports leagues management module.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review! We are so glad that CivicRec has proven helpful for your organization. Thanks for being part of the #CPfamily and using CivicRec. You may find our Quarterly Enhancement webinars helpful. The webinar provides instruction on product updates and new features along with tips and tricks for getting the most out of the CivicRec solution. Check the Resources section of the CivicPlus.com website to register for our next webinar. Past webinars are also available. We appreciate your feedback very much.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Civic Rec Review

Reviewed 10 months ago

Civic Rec has allowed our divisions to work together more closely and more concisely. Being able to send reports automatically has allowed a streamlined and accurate way to serve our community.

Pros

The ease of use makes for ease in training and public use.

Cons

I would like to have updates and training periodically available to stay up to date, it is currently not an option. Also, there are a lot of add-ons that I'm unable to utilize, such as Civic Plus.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that CivicRec is intuitive and enables collaboration across divisions. Thank you for being part of the CivicPlus family and a CivicRec client! You may find our Quarterly Enhancement webinars helpful. The webinar provides instruction on product updates and new features. Check the Resources section of the CivicPlus.com website to register for our next webinar. Past webinars are also available.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Why we choose CivicRec

Reviewed 9 months ago

We are able to easily complete our programming and registration tasks within a resource that all of our staff have access to. The information we provide our citizens is consistent. We utilize CivicRec for programming, registrations, facility reservation management, point of sale operations and reporting. It is a comprehensive management system. Participants young and old use the system daily and with ease to check-in to their classes and programs!

Pros

I find the software intuitive and easy to use. As we complete the event or programming entry, our catalog of programs is done. The reporting options are expansive and extremely useful for budgeting purposes, program evaluations and trends. Communicating with participants is very easy via CivicRec.

Cons

The Knowledge Base does not provide enough details at times. Sometimes it is difficult to find the appropriate guide and instructions. However, when we encounter this we will call CivicRec and receive the help needed.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that CivicRec is intuitive and participants can use it with ease. You are correct, local municipal parks and recreation departments are exactly what CivicRec is designed for. Our software excels at facility and activity management and we work closely with parks and rec personnel across the country. Thank you for being part of the CivicPlus family and a CivicRec client!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Gwesome Software with Continual Development

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are a city organization in Idaho and we've been working with Rec1 for about a year now and our experience has been excellent. The software had a few small bugs and didn't do 100% of what we wanted when we signed up but that quickly changed. Rec1 worked though every "demand" we had and were very pleasant and knowledgeable with all that their software can do. They never remove features or functionality...

Pros

They never remove features or functionality but are continuing to grow and expand their accounting, user interface, and POS management and to this day accomplishes everything we want in a recreation/POS/facility software. Accounting is also streamlined and easy to use. A cool feature is the customer roadmap where you can submit or vote on ideas for further development. There were even times they developed new parts of the software simply because we asked. For the cost of 1% of our revenue, this service it's absolutely worth every penny!

Cons

Our only complaint when compared with other software companies comes from the lack of phone support. They do have an emergency line but generally, correspondence is done through email. Having the ability to pick up a phone and immediately talk with an expert would be nice rather than the unknown timeframe of email (although still fairly quick).

Vendor response

Thank you, Todd! It's our pleasure to work with you and the City of Rexburg!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good product, still working out kinks

Reviewed 9 months ago

CivicRec has been a much needed upgrade in registration and reservation software for our department. Support from CivicRec has been good.

Pros

The software allowed us to easily transition to online registration and reservations. It's intuitive and easy for our part timers to pick up as well as the public. It also mirrors our city's website so it provides a consistent look for our end users.

Cons

Still have some kinks to work out that we find while working through things that come up. It's not as customizable to our programs as we would like (specifically with drop in programs) but we have found work arounds. The implementation/ building out was a lot of work but once it was done the software was easy to use.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review! We are so glad that CivicRec has proven helpful for your organization. Thanks for being part of the #CPfamily and using CivicRec. You may find our Quarterly Enhancement webinars helpful. The webinar provides instruction on product updates and new features along with tips and tricks for getting the most out of the CivicRec solution. Check the Resources section of the CivicPlus.com website to register for our next webinar. Past webinars are also available.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Recreation Software

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

It has made setting up leagues for athletics much easier. We are able to rollover from season to season very easily. I also set up a number of large rentals for different groups, and am able to do so very quickly.

Cons

At times trying to get a report sent to your email can be very delayed.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that CivicRec is intuitive and efficient to use. The CivicRec team continues to identify opportunities to update the software with features and functionality to meet the needs of parks and recreation professionals, especially with regard to reporting. Stay tuned! Thank you for being part of the CivicPlus family and a CivicRec client!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Input

Reviewed 9 months ago

Overall, very pleased with the product, but in the past month we are having some concerns after just signing a new contract. I supported renewing the contract and I need my staff to be behind that decision. I need them to be confident in your product and customer service.

Pros

Ease of use. We were the first ever Rec1 customer 20+ years ago...

Cons

I like you staff, but we seem to be getting a less responsive reply. Too many hands in the cookie jar.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to have Cherokee Recreation & Parks as a long-time client. We will be in touch with you to ensure you have all that you and your team need. Thank you for being a loyal part of the CivicPlus family and a CivicRec client.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Overall this company has been really good to work with.

Reviewed 4 years ago

It allows us to keep track of our building and pavilion rentals, register our sports programs, keep track of our concessions, and many other things.

Pros

Relatively easy to use and new/updated features are always being added. Support team has been AWESOME!!!!

Cons

Wish there was a little more detailed explanation of how to do certain functions. There are some functions that operate one way on one screen and different on another screen.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Laura! We love hearing from our clients and their favorite features!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Customer Support is top of the line and software is constantly improving.

Reviewed 4 years ago

It has improved the quality of customer services by: making scheduling of reservations quicker and easier, allows for online customer rentals and availabilities, decreasing double bookings, increasing sales totals, improving tracking of rentals and allows for ease of tracking reservation and accounts receivable by the reporting features.

Pros

The software is customizable to support whatever needs arise. This program has improved our customer sales and customer satisfaction by allowing customers to access our calendar online and schedule and pay for reservations themselves. The reports menu is fantastic! Manage bookings, accounts receivable, refunds, and make custom reports to fit whatever your need. . The options for reporting are endless....

Cons

When system updates are rolled out (typically on a monthly basis, there are some glitches that effect the quality of the software for a brief period of time. As they make improvements to some areas, it may cause a small issue in other areas of their software. A simple phone call to notify them of this will usually correct the problem within minutes or at the very least make them aware of it and get their tech department working on a fix for the problem.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best tech support ever!

Reviewed 2 years ago

We manage a fairly large membership in our Senior Center as they participate in activities and events. We really appreciate the large variety of tasks we can accomplish using the software which, of course, saves us from having to do all those things manually! The system is also used countywide for other facilities.

Pros

As a new user of the CivicRec software, I've had LOADS of questions! Tech Support has responded promptly and completely AND followed up with me to be sure everything was clear EVERY.SINGLE.TIME. I've called! They're awesome!

Cons

There are a couple of reports I'd like to be able to get, but they are unique to our situation. And the tech support folks have always had suggestions about how we can accomplish the task in a di

Vendor response

Thank you so much Becky! We appreciate your review and are so glad that Spalding County is part of our CivicRec family. We also think we have the best tech support team ever. Thank you for your feedback!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent software system!

Reviewed 4 years ago

First & foremost, the system has not allowed a double booking on a rental facility. It provides accurate data retrieval for roster lists to facilitate summer nature camp activity, as well as other programs offered at Northwest Park.

Pros

Support from Zarah and Laura is professional, highly responsive (i.e. call back within an hour of request). They consistently resolve the issue to my satisfaction, and when asked for a deeper understanding of the system, they provide education on how the system "thinks." .

Cons

The software application requires the user to carefully review the actions before submitting an entry. In certain situations, I find myself reaching out to Zarah and Laura to assist with complex refund or user credit situations involving multiple transactions. In my opinion, this is not a "con" but rather the user needs to be mindful of carefully executing a transaction to provide the account holder with an accurate receipt and just as important to ensure accurate"back end" data reports.

Vendor response

Hi Lori! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of CivicRec. We're glad that you have found our support team (Kudos to Zarah and Laura!) to be responsive when you need it!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rec1 has been a great software to help us meet all of our registration, event, and POS needs!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The software is user-friendly and easy to get acclimated with. Each area that we use most often (registration for classes or events, Point of Sale transactions, calendar updating, financial reports) are all easy to understand and navigate.

Cons

There are certain occasions where we will begin to put in a rental but need to back out or cancel, and upon attempting this are told that it cannot be done because there are active transactions associated with it. This is not a major problem but more so a minor inconvenience. One other small item I've noticed is that sometimes when going to give a refund the default method is "user credit" rather than the method they paid with.

Vendor response

Thanks, Philip! We're glad to hear that CivicRec/Rec1 has been able to meet the City of Brookhaven's Parks and Rec needs!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Still in the development stages

Reviewed 9 months ago

Frustrating

Pros

The software is easy for our patrons to navigate and use.

Cons

Not intuitive or user friendly. Reports, receipts, and facility calendars need improvements.

Vendor response

We appreciate your review very much Stephanie. We maintain a constant focus on offering and improving the features that parks and recreation professionals need most. You may find our Quarterly Enhancement webinars informative and helpful. The webinar provides instruction on product updates and new features. Check out the Resources section of the www.CivicPlus.com website to register for our next webinar. Past webinars are also available for reference.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Rec1 has been a phenomenal company to work with since 2012!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Rec1 is extremely user friendly. It is easy to set up programs and memberships, as well as train new employees on POS. The customer service is second to none. All of the programs ands activities then sync to our website. The user essentially sees what we see when registering.

Cons

It would be nice to receive better reports to better track crucial analytics in regards to our memberships and demographics.

Vendor response

We have been so pleased to be working with WECMRD for the past 5 years! Thanks for being one of our most loyal clients!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

No more paper forms for program registration! Excellent support staff!

Reviewed 4 years ago

No more paper registrations! Transactions are quick and simple. Flexibility in programming activities. Excellent support staff who seem more like friends.

Pros

CivicRec is always evolving to keep up with our needs. Support staff goes above and beyond to answer questions and solve issues that come up in a timely manner.

Cons

No software is perfect, and no software perfectly fits our needs, but CivicRec has been a good fit for us since 2011.

Vendor response

Thanks, Jill! We are glad we could fit your needs!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Product, great price

Reviewed 3 years ago

We started when the product was called Rec1. The change from Rec1 to CivicRec came without much warning. We had some issues as a result. However, support is pretty responsive and great at helping resolve the problem.

Pros

Ease of use, low cost, layout of software.

Cons

Some of the reports do not run as desired.

Vendor response

Thank you Sarah for your review and feedback and for being a part of the CivicPlus and CivicRec family. We appreciate your comments regarding the ease of use, cost and our great support team! Thanks, CivicRec Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

New to online registration

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our Park and Rec Dept. was new to online registration, and we looked at many options. Most companies couldn't do what we wanted to do. Rec1 not only met our expectations, they have exceeded them. When there is a small issue that comes up, customer service is very quick to reply and find and answer. We have been very pleased with the Rec1 service!

Pros

Very easy to setup and use. Once a program is setup in the system, it is easy to close for other similar programs.

Cons

There are some things that have caused issues with the way we handle our "age matrix" when determining what age group a child should play in.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CivicRec Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Customer service is outstanding.

Pros

It is very user friendly. Many staff are not fully comfortable with technology. This software is very upfront and forces users to follow correct procedure. It is easy to set parameters that assist staff with figuring out the steps of the processes.

Cons

The activity set up portion of the software can be a little confusing.

Vendor response

Thank you Ryan for your review and feedback and for being a part of the CivicPlus and CivicRec family. We appreciate your comments and valuable feedback! Thanks, CivicRec Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Pleasant to work with and surprisingly flexible tools

Reviewed 4 years ago

easily organizes our events and activities.

Pros

I like how simple it is to organize events and activities, and how easily it can be modified on the fly, I also enjoy how quickly you can organize lists and sign in sheets using the reports tab, as well as how easy to contact every one in an activity.

Cons

Sometimes the software can be a little confusing at first glance, but once you look through the help or speak with customer support they easily explain the system in a way that becomes much easier to grasp.

Vendor response

Thanks, Jorge for taking the time to share your review of CivicRec! We're glad you have found our tools quick, easy, and flexible for the Town of Dover!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good Product for the Money

Reviewed 9 months ago

Implementation was very smooth and the product has met most of our needs. We hope that as CR grows so does its ability to create new requsted features at a much more rapid rate.

Pros

1. Deployment was very smooth, CivicRec provides on site and remote training for end users which is invaluable. The trainers where knowledgeable about the product and very honest. 2. Very easy to create new programs, activities, and facilities.

Cons

1. New feature requests are very slow to be developed even with alot of community backing on changes 2. Reporting features could stand to be improved. Especially financial reporting, the system does produce accurate reports. But running the wrong report will cause headaches as some reports such as a transaction report can differ significantly from a GL report.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review! We are so glad that your CivicRec implementation went smoothly. The CivicRec team continues to identify opportunities to update the software with features and functionality to meet the needs of parks and recreation professionals, especially with regard to reporting. Stay tuned! Thank you for being part of the CivicPlus family and a CivicRec client!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Civicrec

Reviewed 2 years ago

CivicRec is the best software I have ever used while working for a municipality.

Pros

This is the most helpful/useful/coolest software available for city events/reservations/inventory/Point of Sale management and much more. I would highly recommend this software to other municipalities and even some businesses.

Cons

We have yet to find a problem or something we do not like.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review! We are so glad that CivicRec has proven helpful for your organization. Thanks for being part of the #CPfamily and using CivicRec.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome

Reviewed 4 years ago

Online registrations / booking, along with being able to access it from your phone

Pros

The outstanding customer service! And the fact that they have a spell check feature in their feedback :)

Cons

You can tell they limit the "back end" capability for ease of use. And the fact that they have a minimum amount of characters for their feedback :)

Vendor response

Thanks, Grant!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Needs Improvement

Reviewed 3 years ago

This product needs a good database developer engineer to rebuild a good portion of the code. There are some serious error (bugs) in the system. I just hope they are being addressed.

Pros

It is fairly intuitive and easy to learn.

Cons

There are quite a few basic very poor database development programming problems. Starting with problems with keeping the unique identifiers - unique.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and feedback. We would love to visit with you about the issues you describe. Lots of thought has gone into our technology, but if you have insight on how to make it better, we would love to hear from you. Since your review is anonymous, please reach out to CivicRec@civicplus.help or to your Client Success Manager directly, and we can talk with you about your concerns. Thanks, CivicRec Team