App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ThreatLocker Logo

Allow what you need, Block everything else.

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

ThreatLocker Reviews

Overall rating

4.9

/5

62

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.47/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

manageengine-opmanager
site24x7
nordvpn-teams

Pros and cons

The cost of this tool and the time to set it up is worth it. This tool gives us a fantastic peace of mind in environments we have it deployed in.
My experience with ThreatLocker has been particularly positive, largely due to the outstanding technical support they offer.
It’s the best product out there for application whitelisting. It’s easy to use, it’s MSP friendly, has some of the best support I’ve ever experienced from a vendor.
If your trying to block something or something is being blocked, it may be in a policy you did not know about.
The initial learning curve would definitely turn some people away from the product and frustrated us but otherwise it has worked as intended.
Threatlocker is a philosophy your techs need to adopt and this can be a struggle to overcome.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


62 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Adam G.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ThreatLocker is an invaluable tool and incredible company

Reviewed a year ago

From my initial conversations with the team at ThreatLocker, to on-boarding, roll-out and ongoing support, it has been one of the most pleasant vendor experiences I have had in a really longtime.

Pros

There are new threats coming out daily. ThreatLocker helps add an important layer of security and brings system one step closer to protection from these new threats. ZeroTrust is not a new concept but ThreatLocker made it accessible to all businesses, big or small. I also have to say that the team at ThreatLocker have been amazing to work with and I wish other vendors would be as partner support focused.

Cons

Honestly there are not a ton of cons. The process to implement ZeroTrust can be a bit more involved than most realize, and ThreatLocker does have some of those challenges too. However the platform is designed in a way and has features to help streamline that process and end user experience. Backed by amazing support.

JM
AvatarImg

John M.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love ThreatLocker

Reviewed 17 days ago
Pros

The ThreatLocker platform covers so many needs and they're constantly adding to it. Also, the team is amazing. I've never had an issue that wasn't resolved quickly and I'm always connected with someone that knows what they're doing. For cybersecurity, ThreatLocker is one of our frontline defenses keeping out ransomware and other malware.

Cons

If you're using the allow listing, ThreatLocker can get pretty noisy and require a lot of maintenance. If your users aren't opening a lot of random software after the learning period, you'll be fine. ThreatLocker has a lot of power but you better know what you're doing with it to use that power.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

threatlocker vs the others

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

it is very easy to intall new policies. have very good looking interface it easy to use

Cons

really i dont have nothing negative about this

JH
AvatarImg

Joaquin H.

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Zero trust importance

Reviewed 3 months ago

100% positive about the security goals, and the most important aspect is [sensitive content hidden] support. He masters the solution and goes above and beyond to assist, especially helping to close a deal with customers.

Pros

Total control of the customer environment. Outstanding pre/sales/post-sales support Great product support

Cons

Customers need to understand they have to sacrifice convenience against security as they will be constantly having to ask for permission to make any change on their computer

BS
AvatarImg

Bill S.

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Application Allow Listing that actually works

Reviewed a month ago

Overall, we've been incredibly happy with the product because I feel like it's really allowed us to tighten up the security on our network and gives us much better control over what software gets run on our network. Nothing is fool proof, but I feel like this product really has mitigated our risk of ransomware. It's also moved us much closer to Zero Trust.

Pros

I've looked into application allow listing several times in the course of my career, and it always seemed to be too difficult to do and require far too much management. ThreatLocker actually figured out how to do this in a way that works. It's still involved, but it's an incredibly well designed product that allows us to do application allow listing, privilege access management for applications,...

Cons

It's an incredibly complex product and it can be overwhelming sometimes. It also does require a fair amount of maintenance. The maintenance goes down with some time and fine tuning, but it will never be a product where you set it and forget it. But I think the company is aware of that which is why they've built a strong and quick to respond support organization,

RB
AvatarImg

Richard B.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ThreatLocker is the way to go!

Reviewed 20 days ago

Overall, we have had a fantastic experience with ThreatLocker. The software is solid and their team is fantastic to work with. The cost of this tool and the time to set it up is worth it. This tool gives us a fantastic peace of mind in environments we have it deployed in.

Pros

I love the security it provides with very little hassle for the end user. When properly setup, it adds safe boundaries for your client's systems to run in without a big hit to performance.

Cons

ThreatLocker is a complex tool with a lot of different moving parts. It's not plug-and-play, set it and forget it style tool. Your time is required to set it up properly and manage it. There is a large time commitment required up front. HOWEVER, ThreatLocker doesn't just sell to you and then drop you in the mess and charge you for their help like other companies. They provide regular check-ins with their support team to ensure our environment is running optimally. Also they have 24-7 support always ready to help us with any question about the service or best practices. They provide a university platform to train your team to run the software. It's not a set it and forget it product... but if you put in the work, the payoff is huge!

KF
AvatarImg

Kyle F.

Mining & Metals, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Threatlocker Zero Trust

Reviewed 20 days ago

Overall Threatlocker has been excellent resource that greatly increases our security posture. Their support from implementation to troubleshooting has been knowledgeable and responsive.

Pros

Application whitelisting was fairly effortless for the vast majority of our implementation. Threatlocker was able to learn all of our applications automatically and can handle updates to these applications without our intervention. When custom rules are required the UI guides you through the process. The UI also does a good job of alerting administrators if you create any policies that are not secure...

Cons

The Network control portion is prone to hiccups when using threatlocker specific objects and switching networks.

LB
AvatarImg

Luke B.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ThreatLocker

Reviewed a month ago

Overall, dealing with ThreatLocker has been fantastic. This is largely due to them having the best support I have ever experienced with a software vendor. We have encountered small issues along the way but ThreatLocker are always quick to respond and come up with a solution.

Pros

Easy to deploy. Possibly the best support I have ever received from a software vendor. Elevation Control and Application Control are both fantastic. Constantly evolving.

Cons

ThreatLocker is constantly evolving which is fantastic however this can sometimes result in some unpredictability. Their support team is usually right on it though and it is a small price to pay for the improvements that are made on a regular basis.

AG
AvatarImg

Alice G.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Imprived Network Security Features and Capabilites

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

With this tool, we enjoy unmatched networks security capabilities as well as endpoint protection.

Cons

Well, ThreatLocker has best features and no complaints.

BH
AvatarImg

Brian H.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Brian Hamilton Review

Reviewed a month ago

Great experience with TL working for two different orgs. The implementation is easy and it is easy how to explain the workers to clients.

Pros

I like that it is a different approach to security. I like that it can be its own security software.

Cons

There is one thing I do not like about the new site. The computers section you can only group by 500 where it was 1000 before.

RB
AvatarImg

Russell B.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ThreatLocker: Zero-Trust Endpoint Protection for every MSP stack

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

ThreatLocker has given us the ability to offer a fully comprehensive zero-trust endpoint protection package to our clients. Giving us the knowledge that we can ensure our clients systems are secure from emerging cybersecurity threats. We can easily review,respond and action daily to requests that come in from our clients. The main points for us are the Allowlisting, Ringfencing and Elevation control. Allowlisting...

Cons

Not really a con but as ThreatLocker is such a fully featured and power tool, there can be lots to learn and pick up. But this is mitigated by the incredibly useful Knowledge Base, ThreatLocker University and the Cyber Hero Support Team.

DT
AvatarImg

Dylan T.

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Application access/elevation control and ringfencing in a simple to use package

Reviewed 7 months ago

The level of support provided by both our solutions engineer and account manager has been excellent. [sensitive content hidden] in particular has been extremely helpful with our initial deployment queries. At the start we did bounce around a few different account managers, presumably due to restructuring, but once we went live this stopped and [sensitive content hidden] has been excellent since then.

Pros

ThreatLocker was easy to implement and deloy to our (AAD/Intune) environment, and has thus far been easy to manage. Compared to our previous access control solution, TL is leagues ahead in terms of flexibility and simplicity. Due to TL's not-for-profit pricing, it also coss less than competitor's solution. Our support and account management team have been extremely helpful, answering all queries that we've had. [sensitive content hidden] in particular has shown exceptional knowledge of the platform and has always been able to provide a solution when asked. Regular updates bring new product features and QoL improvements.

Cons

Platform limitations around use of batch and python scripts, though understandable, have been the main source of contention internally since deployment. The mobile app could also do with additional features to match that of the web portal, though I understand this is planned for future updates.

TJ
AvatarImg

Tom J.

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best zero trust platform

Reviewed 5 months ago

The help desk is fantastically responsive and professional. They always resolve the issue right away.

Pros

True zero trust access control. Fine-grained application, user, device, network port, and internet default deny.

Cons

I don’t like that the culture of system administrators is averse to this approach. You really have to teach them to accept the little friction that comes from needing to make a request before installing or updating any software.

JS
AvatarImg

Jordan S.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product, great support

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

ThreatLocker has a large feature set which provides a lot of option. Their support and especially account reps are knowledgeable and helpful.

Cons

Due to the number of complex settings and features within ThreatLocker there is a lot to learn, know and understand.

AG
AvatarImg

Anthony G.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Security Solution with Exceptional Technical Support

Reviewed 2 months ago

When implemented patiently and correctly, ThreatLocker can be seamlessly integrated into an MSP security stack without increasing support tickets or end-user dissatisfaction. ThreatLocker is a highly effective application allow-listing solution backed by exceptional technical support. ThreatLocker's features and responsive support make it a solution that we will continue to use to safeguard our customers from mayhem caused by supply chain attacks, user ignorance, or compromises of our tools used to manage our customers.

Pros

ThreatLocker is a comprehensive application allow-listing security solution that offers protection against cyber threats while providing a seamless user experience. My experience with ThreatLocker has been particularly positive, largely due to the outstanding technical support they offer. The software onboarding hero ([sensitive content hidden]) was knowledgeable and completely understood all aspects of the software

Cons

Adopting new technologies or software such as Threatlocker has a long learning curve. A Significant amount of time and effort is required by all to become proficient and master this cybersecurity tool. The extended learning period can pose challenges such as reduced productivity, frustration, and increased training costs.

MB
AvatarImg

Martin B.

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ZeroTrust Solution with Deny-by-default Concept

Reviewed 4 months ago

It is a vital company which takes care about their customers and their needs. The Portal is modern and easy to use. They have great learn material in their university for all new colleagues. It works like a charm.

Pros

The only product in the market we know, that has implemented the ZeroTrust Concept in a consequent way, called Allow only the known - deny and forbid anything else inkl. Ransomware.

Cons

Possibility to directly chat with a person which requested access, is currently missing and would be awesome. (March 2024)

GL
AvatarImg

George L.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Threatlcocker - Please help other Vendors Support like you do!

Reviewed 2 months ago

Threatlocker is a great company and has in our opinion, the best support for a product that is complex in nature. Also, they have grown and added so many more products that actually work and make sense to add to our Security stack. We always recommend them to Peers.

Pros

The number one thing about Threatlocker is the Cyber Heros. We use a ton of software in our company and no one else does support like them. We have been meeting with an Engineer ever few months as we deploy our new clients and he is a rock star. The product is awesome, it blocks every single thing you do already have a policy for, which for any Zero day or net new attacks, its amazing.

Cons

The only thing i can even think about here is that it does take a bit of time to really know the program, feel comfortable to do it on your own. However, with the Cyber Heros they are always a min away if we get stuck.

WG
AvatarImg

Wil G.

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Threatlocker Took our Business to the Next Level

Reviewed 9 months ago

Many benefits to ThreatLocker. Elevation is very useful for admin rights to run software, app control for stopping browser extensions, storage to monitor file changes or block USB, etc

Pros

Complete control. As an MSP, Threatlocker has taken our security stack to the next level. Application control, Elevation, Storage control and now recently we are adding Networking and evironment hardening with Configuration manager to the stack. We needed a product to give us better central control than RMM products offer and Threatlocker has delivered and beyond for our company. The University and support are also excellent.

Cons

The learning curve and initial noise of implementing the system brings some additonal work and training challenges. Threatlocker is a philosophy your techs need to adopt and this can be a struggle to overcome.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Wil! Make sure that your new users check out our live Bootcamp videos to learn more about the ThreatLocker platform and support ease of use during the adoption process.

MP
AvatarImg

Martin P.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great product for complete piece of mind.

Reviewed 4 months ago

Overall, my experience with ThreatLocker has been excellent. It's easy to use with fantastic support. It gives our company complete piece of mind that nothing will run on our endpoints unless it has been approved.

Pros

What I like the most is the ThreatLocker support, it's excellent! Most of my questions have been answered through the university or the help page. Both are fantastic tools. That being said, if I can't find what I need, I message the Cyber Heroes, they respond almost instantly. They're very polite, knowledgeable and follow the problem through until you're happy to close the ticket. It's nice to know that if you're stuck or unsure, someone has your back.

Cons

I find that sometimes ThreatLocker doesn’t always elevate an application when it has been set on approval. This is an intermittent issue that I need to raise with the TreatLocker team when it happens again. I am sure it is an easy fix and I know the Cyber Heroes will be happy to look into. This is the only thing that I can think of that is negative.

DV
AvatarImg

Daniel V.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ThreatLocker one stop shopping for security

Reviewed 11 days ago

I have had a successful experience with ThreatLocker for our company and our clients.

Pros

The entire suite provides zero trust solution

Cons

Ease of use, need to be trained on a few items first

BS
AvatarImg

Brandon S.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ThreatLocker - The Bouncer at the Door

Reviewed 4 months ago

So far I have enjoyed the product, support and general use. I look forward to protecting our customers beyond what other MSP are offering and do it at a reasonable rate.

Pros

The program is always improving. Response time on support is very good. The program is very thorough.

Cons

Some slowness at times. It can get a bit confusing when you get a bunch of policies that seem to be for the same thing. If your trying to block something or something is being blocked, it may be in a policy you did not know about.

JS
AvatarImg

Jack S.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Unparalleled Application Control

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

ThreatLocker shines with its superb application control, making it a powerful tool for securing our business infrastructure. Its easy-to-navigate interface and insightful auditing capabilities make managing thousands of endpoints a breeze. The Zero Trust model has significantly improved our security stance, reducing potential vulnerabilities. The integration process with our existing business procedures was straightforward and efficient, further simplifying its implementation.

Cons

In our experience as a partner and reseller, we have found no negatives with ThreatLocker. The robust security features, ease of use, and continuous product enhancements underscore its position as a leading solution in the cybersecurity space.

CR
AvatarImg

Colin R.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Threatlocker - best endpoint security protection to date.

Reviewed 3 months ago

Our team enjoyed the onboarding process as discussion was very interactive and time effective. The process was organized to maximize knowledge transfer, minimize user disruption and maximize security profile.

Pros

The software is powerful but like all security tools questions surface that require rapid vendor clarification or direction and the Threatlocker's "Cyber Hero" support the solution is taken to much a higher level - most issues are reviewed and resolved by the Threatlocker support team while the questionable ones related to how our company wants to proceed are forwarded with the data needed for us to make quick security decisions. End result: a high security profile with minimal user frustration - very unusual these days.

Cons

Like all security packages you need to understand how the software works to get the proper results.

NS
AvatarImg

Nate S.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Solution

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Tha ability to quickly secure devices in an environment.

Cons

Initial learning curve is quite high, so it'll require hours of training to get started.

ML
AvatarImg

Marco L.

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent addition to our tech stack

Reviewed 4 months ago

From the begining the product works as advertised, and they delivered exactly as promised during the sales cycle.

Pros

The product works as advertised and they are a great partner to work with. On-boarding was a truly great experience. We met with the TL team weekly to go through our individual client needs and this helped with seamless deployment to over 3000 endpoints. The cyber hero managers are very prompt to remediate any end user requests.

Cons

There are not that many negatives and none really worth mentioning. I would like little more analytics specifically around the cyber hero manager's response and resolution rates.