App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Stormboard Logo

Stormboard

Work Better Together with Stormboard's Digital Whiteboard

(17)

Stormboard Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

40

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.53/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Stormboard is very easy to use, and yet there are layers of capability that can be unfolded as needed. Stormboard has THE BEST reporting mechanisms of any virtual whiteboard/brainstorming tool.
It's just a genuinely useful piece of organisational software. I can organise not only my personal life but also management and work tasks with ease.
Customizable templates and the ability to send users into substorms or different "rooms" to collaborate is very useful. Simple, intuitive interface.
There are still a few bugs, and the pricing is a little strange. Inability to remove users is a potential security risk.
Feels quite limited even within its limited scope.
The fact that there is a limited color pallet for the cards.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


40 reviews

Recommended

KV
AvatarImg

Kateřina V.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Stormboard Review

Reviewed a year ago

Powerful tool for effective collaboration with many customizable templates.

Pros

Stormboard is advanced tool for online collaboration on projects. I like that there is a lot of customizable templates which can really save peoples' time (e.g. SWOT analysis). It can be interconnected with Slack, which is very convenient when using Slack as the main communication platform.

Cons

I didn't find any disadvantages of Stormboard, however the tool is quite expensive, so it is necessary to consider costs and benefits before using it.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion and feedback with us. We're very happy to hear that both our templates and integrations are providing value to you and your team! Have you heard about our new Guest model? It may be a useful function to help manage some of the costs associated with your Stormboard subscription. https://stormboard.com/blog/product-launch-guest-users

HS
AvatarImg

Hanah S.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Sticky Notes and Whiteboard -Beautiful Combination

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, this site is clear. I have to admit that it’s constantly helping me figure out my project ideas. I don’t like sites that look rushed or put together too fast. This site allows me to get my project ideas done and sectioned out in segments with my team. I wanted a site where I didn’t have to add loads of people or teams to my project. I work on small projects, so this is so helpful. I love how this has helped me grow and also it’s also a learning tool. I get to work with other people with this which is really neat. This helped me get my plan and project done. No headache so I am super happy.

Pros

I absolutely love this site. I love brainstorming sites, but this one is so different. It’s different in a good way. I love how I am able to pick a theme for each stormboard I pick and it’s set up the way I want. Each theme has sections where I can plan out my idea. I can work on each stormboard with my team and assistants. I don’t have to do it alone. I also like how I can set my stormboard for private...

Cons

There are certain areas of this site that I don’t like. I wish that certain options were available for the free option. In order to really go through this site you have to upgrade. This is the only thing that I wish they would fix. If you have more options this would help so much.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Joel B.

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

My honest opinion of Stormboard for collaboration

Reviewed a year ago

We used Stormboard at a time when most employees were working remotely and I must say it served its purpose well.

Pros

Having a mobile app that I could use was helpful and allowed me to collaborate from anywhere I was without having to open my computer. I also like that a wide array of templates are provided for my team to choose from.

Cons

Where should I start from? I began using the free plan and it was okay for a while but Stormboard allows a maximum of 5 users on each whiteboard and because we were testing it out, we chose to split the team into two. They also have a fixed list of things that can be customized on the whiteboard. Aside the color, you pretty much cannot change anything else.

Vendor response

Hi Joel, We appreciate your feedback. While we're glad the free version served it's purpose well, we're sorry that you felt limited. We recently launched a brand new user and licensing model that may be of interest to you that will help you collaborate more effectively with your team on a more flexible plan that provides access to the full-featured product. https://stormboard.com/blog/product-launch-guest-users

ww
AvatarImg

wendy w.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Genuinely useful

Reviewed 4 years ago

Just a joy to use. The reporting is excellent, especially a one click full suite report in Excel and the Wordle is far more useful than it might first appear, I've been able to get a high level overview in one chart. I've pretty much trialled every project management software, from Agile to Waterfall but I've not found anything as useful as Stormboard for daily task tracking and reporting. Plus the templates are excellent for using a number of different methodologies.

Pros

It's just a genuinely useful piece of organisational software. I can organise not only my personal life but also management and work tasks with ease. The reporting is the unsung hero here.

Cons

There's not really anything to dislike.

SM
AvatarImg

Santino M.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Stormboard Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The ability to collaborate and see changes in real time with Stormboard makes it an excellent option for meetings or group projects. The software is very easy to use and the aestethics are pleasing. Having customizable templates is a great option for creatives. The substorm feature makes breaking up larger groups a breeze.

Cons

There is occasionally some lagging when large groups collaborate but overall there are no major issues.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jonas U.

Professional Training & Coaching, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Experience of using Stormboard in corporate training

Reviewed 4 years ago

We used Stormboard with large groups of participants in corporate training. In one session we first collected hundreds of questions via Mentimeter and then we imported those to Stormboard and let the participants answer their colleagues' questions (as comments). In another session we first presented a process and then the participants wrote notes in Stormboards of how they worked in this process.

Pros

It enabled large groups of training participants to co-create Q&A or process descriptions in real time. Participants learnt how to use it quickly and could focus on the exercise, not the tool.

Cons

With more than 20 parallell users in the same Storm, the software sometimes gets a bit slow.

PT
AvatarImg

Paul T.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Stormboard saved by bacon....

Reviewed 5 years ago

This transformed our business Onboarding and Demo process, we connect better with our users, they see the value our our workflow mapping faster. It is a game changer for us, and I love the work the team do on Stormboaed I highly recommmend it.

Pros

I was struggling with in person card sorting and post it note workflow mapping, I had to be in person, I had to transcribe or photograph my work, it If sucked up heaps of time. Now with stormboard, I just book an online meeting, it is easy and fast to map out our workflow over stormboard and a call. And I save around 2 hours on every demo.

Cons

It seems too simple, so you don’t realize it’s potential, I had to just get in and try it with some potential customers and it blew my mind.

JM
AvatarImg

Julia M.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Reasons to use Stormboard

Reviewed 3 years ago

For education usage it is great for the following: Use as a calendar for assignment due dates Teacher can assign tasks and assignments Use the task reports to track progress Collaborate with classmates and teachers Utilize chat, comment, and voting options Receive feedback and input on projects and assignments

Pros

Stormboard is one of the leading project management, team meeting, and brainstorming tools on the web today. It is a premiere communication and project organizer tool that is multi-faceted and works for you not against you. It lets you use sticky notes to designate tasks or create workflow patterns and you can create mind maps, brainstorm, or organize thoughts through flow charts .

Cons

I didn't really dislike anything. The education pricing was a bit confusing. They say if you are using it for administrative work between faculty you have to use their regular plans instead of the education plan. So what is this faculty also teaches? There isn't really a black and white between administrative and teaching faculty, some do both. Wish they would just say anyone with a .edu address qualifies for education pricing.

TG
AvatarImg

Travis G.

Medical Devices, 11-50 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A game-changer

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use Stormboard to develop schedules with project teams. Each team member is able to work simultaneously to incorporate their tasks into the larger picture of what it takes to launch the deliverable. They can represent both their work, and how their work depends on others.

Pros

Stormboard is very easy to use, and yet there are layers of capability that can be unfolded as needed. Stormboard has THE BEST reporting mechanisms of any virtual whiteboard/brainstorming tool.

Cons

In the interest of simplicity, they have had to make a trade-off; there are fewer options than one may be used to.

AB
AvatarImg

Azariah B.

Government Relations, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Collaboration and Teamwork with Ease

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have designed action plans to make our agency more diverse, inclusive, and equitable, and have used ideas accumulated from brainstorming on this software that have impacted a cultural change.

Pros

I love that this software is so easy to use, and that multiple users can access and see changes being made in real-time. This makes collaboration and teamwork much easier as we are able to brainstorm, categorize, and create action plans all at one place. There is also the feature that allows for the ideas to be captured and summarized to send out to the team once the meeting is complete, and to refer to at future meetings.

Cons

The one feature that is my least favorite is that when you scroll on the page it zooms in and out. You have to actually click and hold to move around on the board. However this is an easy adjustment compared to the many great features this software offers.

Vendor response

Azariah, we are so glad to hear that your team has not only been able to take advantage of Stormboard to Work Better Together, but also to affect real, meaningful change - that is our vision for all of our users!

PM
AvatarImg

Paul M.

Management Consulting, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great way to collaborate remotely

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall - very positive. Great tool. Stormboard team accepts feedback and seems to be working hard to improve the platform.

Pros

Customizable templates and the ability to send users into substorms or different "rooms" to collaborate is very useful. Simple, intuitive interface.

Cons

Had some early issues with performance due to the large size of workspaces being used. Dark fonts on dark note colors make no sense - very difficult to read. Only applies to a few dark colored notes.

Vendor response

Paul, thanks for your review! We're happy to hear that you are taking advantage of Substorms - they are one of our favourite features too. P.S.: Stay tuned for a huge update that is coming soon that will significantly improve in-Storm performance and will reduce lag when collaborating with larger teams.

SB
AvatarImg

Scott B.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Early Adopter of Storm Board

Reviewed 4 years ago

Stormboard allowed the team to quickly in a digital manner see the bigger picture of a project plan, the tasks that were dependent on each other and be able to adjust and move quickly as the plan refines.

Pros

Stormboard worked great as an online digital version of long sheets of paper and sticky notes that are traditionally used in project planning sessions. It quickly and easily allowed similar function to create swimlanes for the various cross functions, associated tasks and risks and then link the tasks that are dependent of each other.

Cons

As a new user I was trying to increase the space of a column and accidentally actually added a line in reality. I wasn't able to find a way to remove or undo my row add and now its there forever. I would also like the ability to designate via color or for tasks those that are critical path.

KH
AvatarImg

Kelly H.

Real Estate, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for organizing thoughts and brainstorming

Reviewed 5 years ago

As a market researcher, it’s my job to distill a huge amount of information into focused and actionable insights and recommendations. Storyboard helps me bring structure to the effort, which saves a ton of time.

Pros

I can take notes quickly in real-time discussions, capturing unique ideas on each sticky note so I can organize into themes later.

Cons

Hard to customize at lower subscription levels. I’m an individual user, paying for it myself. I haven’t been able to make a business case yet for adoption by my whole team.

RM
AvatarImg

Reza M.

Defense & Space, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Stormboard user review

Reviewed 5 years ago

It is a very useful platform for an agile work style.

Pros

It bring a very organized platform to put your ideas and plans and share it with rest of the team

Cons

Applying some search, sorting and statistical analysis is not 100% convenient yet.

RG
AvatarImg

Rhiannon G.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Finally, a way to take our in-person process online

Reviewed 4 years ago

The customer service is amazing, we find a bug and it 's fixed the next day.

Pros

I like that we can use the templates as a structure but be flexible about how it works, and that we can color code and shape code so we can have a range of information expressed.

Cons

We sometimes write longer stories than it requires and want more flexibility about how we group information

KW
AvatarImg

Kelly W.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I use Stormboard to organize, thoughts, ideas and projects

Cons

Removing and adding custom templates to word and ppt reports.

EY
AvatarImg

Elijah Y.

Writing and Editing, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Awesome

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall this thing was god sent for me. i am an up and coming film maker and being able to create Sub Storms, is perfect for character details and back story. Storm Board allows me to put my mind into vision and multitask on different projects. I also love the way you transition into sub storms, just a personal joy for me

Pros

Allows me to be as detailed as I am in my mind Allows me to assign things to deadlines which is great for me I like how I can copy cards over to other storms, makes organization super easy

Cons

I would like more colors for sticky notes The legend description doesn't translate across computers There are some things that can't be backtracked with cntrl Z

LG
AvatarImg

Lauren G.

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Virtual Agile

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our team uses Stormboard for our daily workflow, Previously we had a paper sticky note agile system. The team picked up how to navigate/use with very basic training. It has been a really positive change for us, also saving alot more paper!

Pros

- simple to use/navigate - plenty of legend colours to choose from to personalise your stickies - replaces a paper Agile Wall - Reprepresentatives in contact very promptly with any queries

Cons

- when you scroll down it zooms out of the storm, I did assume this would scroll though it originally, but its easily enough to get the hang of. - It takes a while to load if you have a large amount of stickies.

JS
AvatarImg

Johan S.

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Stormboard

Reviewed 2 years ago

We work with stormboards in construction projects. It's easy to see what the other designers are doing. Easy to detect problems in the project.

Pros

Easy to use. Gives a good overview i the project.

Cons

No special but there is another program needed. We work with several different programs. We would like to have a place where all our needs are met.

Vendor response

Hi Johan, Thanks for leaving a review! We're happy to hear that you find Stormboard easy to use, and that it's been helping you with project management. You mentioned working with several different programs, are there any specific integrations you'd like to see Stormboard have in the future?

GP
AvatarImg

Graciela P.

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Stormboard to have a great organization

Reviewed 2 years ago

My experience was really good, I really like the differents tools and functions that we have with this software.

Pros

This software provide us a great environment and a great number of differents tools and functions, this software it's really useful and friendly for new users, this software provide us differents tools and functions to organize in a really good way.

Cons

This software doesn't have a serious problem, just some things with the graphic interface, those problems can be solved and give a better look to the software.

BA
AvatarImg

Beverly A.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Whiteboard Ever

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Stormboard is one of the best whiteboard software I have come across and its great for creating and organizing business and personal projects. You can add sticky notes for additional information. You can also share ideas with other people. There are great templates to assist you if you need additional help. This is a great whiteboard for meetings workshops, seminars and conferences. Its easy to use. Its not hard at all. Its simple and you can keep all your projects all on one software. There is an area where you can chat with other people who are working on the projects. With your business you can assign each co- worker a project. Its easy and fun to use for school also. Simply an awesome whiteboard. Great tool to keep you organized.

Cons

You really have to upgrade to get all the best of this software. Its a great whiteboard software and its worth it.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Share your ideas

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great for working with a team during a meeting, sharing it so that everyone can add their ideas or just for working by yourself and stop wasting paper. I also love that it has lots of planning and problem solving templates ready to use.

Pros

Simple to use and share, with free personal plan available and lots of preset backgrounds.

Cons

It lags when you put lots of sticky notes and it lacks background options in the free plan.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jayson C.

Pharmaceuticals, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Brainstorming Made Easy

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Stormboard has allowed us to easily engage clients to provide a unique approach to brainstorming

Cons

There have been very little in terms of things to complain about

JP
AvatarImg

Jonathan P.

Computer & Network Security, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Stormboard

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I love how easy it is to organize ideas and distill down into what is really important. It allows us a framework to get together and come out of meetings with an actionable plan.

Cons

There are still a few bugs, and the pricing is a little strange. Inability to remove users is a potential security risk

Vendor response

Hi Jonathan, We would love to make certain that we answer all of your questions and get the bugs all worked out. I am reaching out to you to answer how it is possible to remove users as well.

JM
AvatarImg

John M.

Management Consulting, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Long-Time User

Reviewed 5 years ago

I'm a huge fan

Pros

simple, powerful and very easy to get collaborators setup

Cons

its still too hard to bring my clients on to the system (I'd do it all the time if there was a friction-free way to hand-off but still continue to collaborate together)