App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Buildxact Logo

Buildxact

Bid more, win more. Quote 5X faster with digital tools.

(16)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Buildxact Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

155

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.81/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

They take all the wish list from users and continue to improve which is awesome knowing it will grow as we grow.
Hands down the best product I have ever used. Their technical support is beyond the best that I have ever encountered in any product.
My overall experience with Buildxact is great. Estimates are Professional and build confidence in your clients.
Inability to adjust purchase orders once created (need to delete and go again). Not having a take off tool once the job goes past estimate stage.
Could have smoother transition between estimate and invoice. Should be in same drop down box.
I spend less time in the office and more time on the tools and having a clod beer after a hard day.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


155 reviews

Recommended

DB
AvatarImg

David B.

Estimator

Construction, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

The New Way to Estimate!

Reviewed 5 months ago

Transcript

David B.: Hello, my name's David. I'm a Assistant Project Manager over at Tayman Associates, we've been...

Vendor response

Thanks for your positive review David. We are so pleased that Buildxact has been able to benefit you and your business and that you are enjoying all the many functions it offers!

JS
AvatarImg

Jacob S.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Support

Reviewed a year ago

Customer support is what has really set you guys apart from everyone else and one of the main reasons we went with buildxact. Keep it up

Pros

We loved the wide range of things we could do with this software. A one stop shop for our costing, scheduling and backcosting.

Cons

We would love a timeline longer than a month to be visable on the dashboard to see all our builds over say a year span. We would also love some more new zealand suppliers. I also struggle sometimes when recipes update wrong or not at all from the categlogue to the esitmate.

Vendor response

Thanks for the positive review Jacob

RW
AvatarImg

Rachel W.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Amazing support and easy to use

Reviewed a year ago

Buildxact have a team that ACTUALLY care about your business and help find solutions.

Pros

The support is fantastic. Any issues we come across, whether user or system, we get super fast solutions or training advice. The system is cost effective.

Cons

Would be great to have more reports and timesheets (we hate having to use Deputy to sync as Deputy is super complex).

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review Rachel

EL
AvatarImg

Emma L.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Daily Usage for Renovation Industry

Reviewed a year ago

I quite like the program but the reporting is very lacking so we rely heavily on XERO to do this part.

Pros

That is works well with XERO to track expenses according to each job

Cons

That there is no search feature in the Actuals. In the building industry there are so many different items used and a search to find an item would be handy.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback and taking the time to review Buildxact

MI
AvatarImg

Marcos I.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Software for Small Businesses

Reviewed a year ago

We had to spend a few hours/days setting up the tool for quoting, tracking expenses as they were being allocated in the wrong field when synced with Xero and making it fully synced.

Pros

It's a great tool for quoting as you can set up formulas and the quote itself looks really professional and visually attractive.

Cons

Sometimes the numbers and percentages are hard to understand and sometimes they don't match in a logical manner.

Vendor response

Thanks for taking the time review Buildxact Marcos

MH
AvatarImg

Min H.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Overall good

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very good, would recommend to anyone that in this industry

Pros

Software - easy and useful. Service - 5 star services, solves all the issues we have ever.

Cons

Sometimes bugs still come out, most them have been resolved, but some we still have to pay attention too.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great feedback.

BT
AvatarImg

Barry T.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Buildxact Experience

Reviewed 2 years ago

My overall experience with Buildxact is great.Estimates are Professional and build confidence in your clients. This program will help you win Quotes.

Pros

The product was easy to use. Uploading your company logo for branding was easy. This program is backed up by fantastic support which I accessed .

Cons

Could have smoother transition between estimate and invoice. Should be in same drop down box. Ex convert current estimate to invoice.

Vendor response

Great to hear you're enjoying the software so much Barry.

GB
AvatarImg

Glenn B.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great work tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Keeping my jobs costed and follow profit to each job

Cons

Nothing to mention, everything works as I need

Vendor response

Glad you're enjoying the software Glenn!

SY
AvatarImg

Steve Y.

Building Materials, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of use

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

how easy it is to use, provide digital take off, purchase orders

Cons

not a great fan of the schedule, im sure its easy to use as well but never got around to it.

Vendor response

Thanks for such a great review Steve

BA
AvatarImg

Bill A.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Exceptional Customer Service

Reviewed 10 months ago

Great. Has really turned my business around.

Pros

I have now been in business as a builder since the beginning of 2020 (basically right at the start of COVID). For two years I was using a different platform, and for the past year BuildXact. I was constantly stuffing up my estimates and bleeding money using the old platform, but since changing over to BX and building up my own custom template, I've now done three major extension/renovations through...

Cons

Costs are high, takeoff features could do with some improvments, no plan annotation feature for use with tablet/ stylus

Vendor response

Thanks for choosing Buildxact Bill

tt
AvatarImg

tony t.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Buildxact Review

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

We found [sensitive content hidden] had so mcuh intellectual property about Buildexact, and had the patience to share , and teach , which was very helpfull , she really knows her stuff also, her explaining of features in the sofware was so easy to adapt . her call backs were on time , great asset to the company .

Cons

Client having access to live shedule , client access side

Lv
AvatarImg

Luke v.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

BuildXact Estimating

Reviewed 3 years ago

Excellent isnt a better package out there to suit my needs

Pros

Estimating ease of use, graphical takeoff, template creation

Cons

actual calculation functions to assist with cutting lists

Vendor response

Thanks for the great feedback.

Rd
AvatarImg

Richard d.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Build Exact user

Reviewed 3 years ago

Tracking of variations has been extremely useful especially as linked to the invoicing

Pros

All the features are useful and relevent

Cons

Clearer tracking of progress invoices from contractors and suppliers for part claims

Vendor response

Hi, thank you for the great feedback and for using Buildxact.

GS
AvatarImg

Grant S.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Buildxact

Reviewed 3 years ago

The main benefit is that we can have processes in place to assist us with quoting clients homes

Pros

Great software and they are continually improving their service offering. Easy to do take offs and manipulate the software to your individual requirements. The support teams are great, always ready to help you and assist you in getting the most out of the software. They continually run sessions on their updates to ensure you are across them. All of their support are based in Melbourne and Australian owned company which is great for local business.

Cons

Their quoting system wasn't ideal at the start however they have just released a newer version and it's great.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great feedback Grant. Thank you for using Buildxact.

RS
AvatarImg

Rolf S.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Reveiw

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experiance has been great.

Pros

The take offs of plans is very quick and efficient.

Cons

cannot change quote template to replicate the rest of the company's documents and formats

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Rolf.

JS
AvatarImg

John S.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy Estimating

Reviewed 3 years ago

Easy estimation production that has saved us hundreds of hours over the past few years. Also pricing client variations and options is easy. I though our last estimating product was quick and easy to use until we trialed BuildXact.

Pros

Easy and intuitive to use, simple import plans and scaling. Its also easy to used similar quotes as templates.

Cons

Labeling all the plan pages takes a while, but once that is done then your off to the races.

Vendor response

Thanks, John for the great feedback.

AB
AvatarImg

Anthony B.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Buildxact for residential construction

Reviewed 3 years ago

Buildxact does a great job of estimating and job management. Helpful with back costing etc

Pros

intergration from estimate to job. this excellerated our sales process helping us lift our turn over

Cons

intergration with other systems...Payrole etc. The overall dash board is helpful but I would like a global company planner

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback Anthony.

JM
AvatarImg

Jacob M.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great product!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've thoroughly enjoyed the software.

Pros

The BuildXact software implements very well with our accounting software and makes the task of reconciling job costings hassle free! I really like the invoice and quote design functionality - the fact that you can customise the design and layouts, and save these templates for future next project is a real time saver, and the quotes come out looking great! The take-off tool is a game changer, to be able to scale your drawings digitally and calculate required materials using the distance and area ruler saves a heap of time with pricing and ordering materials!

Cons

It would be nice to have a mobile app, although not essential.

Vendor response

Thanks for using Buildxact.

AF
AvatarImg

Angela F.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Estimating Helper

Reviewed a year ago

I can share estimated projects with other team members to assist in project delivery

Pros

I like that I can use the take-off tool in my role as estimator to assist in the process of our extremely custom & varied business

Cons

Upload of plans and ability to delete pages within buildxact is a little clunky

Vendor response

Thanks for such a great review Angela!

sh
AvatarImg

sean h.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Hillman Homes review

Reviewed 3 years ago

my experience has been good. very easy to use interface. am still to complete the training which I am sure will help improve my efficacy using the program.

Pros

- integration with Xero - easy take offs - take offs are saved for visual representation - you can email PO's directly from system

Cons

- the ability to produce quick quotes, rather than just only variations

Vendor response

Thanks for your great feedback Sean.

AW
AvatarImg

Andrew W.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy of use

Reviewed 6 months ago

Love using it and keeping all details in one place

Pros

I can put together a $400,000 landscaping estimate together in an hour, super fast. And having used an excel sheet prior and accidentally deleted fields, it's nice to know this doesn't happen

Cons

I do not put through purchase orders as it means double handling with having to enter receipts into xero

Vendor response

Thanks for such a great review of Buildxact Andrew.

BD
AvatarImg

Ben D.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Mavben

Reviewed a year ago

Very happy

Pros

The entire system functions seamlessly together. I operate the entire company using Buildxact. We would be lost without it.

Cons

I suggest updating the scheduling system to allow for color-coding and alerts in case of double booking trades. This will enhance the overall organization and efficiency of the system.

Vendor response

Thanks for such a fantastic review Ben!

LP
AvatarImg

Loren P.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall easy to use, easy to do take offs, easy to format a quotation for a job (which I have to do at least once a week, big or small jobs).

Pros

The estimate and costing format. It's all in one page and you can go from item to item easily. How easy it is to customise estimate templates. Quote letter and it's format

Cons

Mark up can't be shown as separate line item in the "quoted catergories' so I am having to manually calculate it. Quote body and terms and conditions font type is "arial" not "tahoma' like the rest of the quote letter font. No undo function.

Vendor response

Thank you for your great feedback

MH
AvatarImg

Michael H.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

the best construction management tool available

Reviewed 7 months ago

AMAZINg

Pros

ESTIMATE PRESENTATIONBUDGET TRACKING SCHEDULINg

Cons

THE TIME COMMITMENT NEEDED TO LEARN THE SYSTEM AND USE IT PROPERLY. WE’RE STILL NOT THERE YET LOL I NEED TO COMMIT A SOLID WEEK TO WATCHING THE TRAINING VIDEOs

Vendor response

Thanks for the awesome review Michael!

BB
AvatarImg

Brendan B.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Happy customer

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great service and support to resolve issues and provide further training

Pros

the overall management from costings, to accepting the job, to running the job and contractors

Cons

With some of the roll out of new features, we had some minor hiccups with an old quote being accepted and not all the fields running across

Vendor response

Thanks for the great feedback and for using Buildxact.

BS
AvatarImg

Ben S.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Buildxactly

Reviewed 3 years ago

Time-saving user friendly software which is a must for everyone in the construction

Pros

The costing element to the software No more spreadsheets No more errors from CA or other people within the business

Cons

everything is very self-explanatory Buildxact Technical support is fantastic and hassle-free

Vendor response

Thanks for using Buildxact.