App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Buildxact Logo
Buildxact

Online construction management for builders & remodelers.

visit website

(11)

Buildxact Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

116

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.76/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

They take all the wish list from users and continue to improve which is awesome knowing it will grow as we grow.
Easy to do take offs and manipulate the software to your individual requirements. The support teams are great, always ready to help you and assist you in getting the most out of the software.
My overall experience with Buildxact is great. Estimates are Professional and build confidence in your clients.
Inability to adjust purchase orders once created (need to delete and go again). Not having a take off tool once the job goes past estimate stage.
Could have smoother transition between estimate and invoice. Should be in same drop down box.
I spend less time in the office and more time on the tools and having a clod beer after a hard day.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


116 reviews

Recommended

LN
AvatarImg

Leigh N.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly recommend

Reviewed a year ago

We can easily keep on-top of all variations, invoicing, and schedules - also keeping a track of job costs via purchase orders has been really beneficial.

Pros

Being able to upload all types of plans and the ease of measuring up complex projects.

Cons

The Variation forms would be much better if you could list/add 'Actual Cost' items after the variation has been made up. (if something was accidentally missed) Being unable to export screen shots to show trades certain areas of what we have allowed etc.

Vendor response

Thanks for using Buildxact Leigh!

GS
AvatarImg

George S.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Continually Evolving

Reviewed a year ago

It has been a great product to help our company grow and is continually evolving and improving, the customer support is excellent. It was a little learning curve at the being but is definitely a case of short term pain for long term gain

Pros

It has systemised our quoting process, which speeds up our quote time, which leaves more time for project management and sales. We can produce extremely professional quotes now which include all the products we have allowed for so the clients and my team know exactly what they are getting

Cons

Integration with building suppliers in NZ isn't available yet but I believe this will come in due time. The client portal is quite cumbersome and I don't like the fact that we don't have control over this once it's set up. Manual inputting of supplier invoices can take some time The scheduling tool can be a bit of a pain to use and doesn't look very nice, an upgrade to this would be great

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback George.

GA
AvatarImg

Gary A.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Bx

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

The set out and ease of use is good. The take off allows for basic functions and calculations. Job control is good

Cons

Bx Has some annoying traits Take off is slow when a decent template is used. You have to go in and out of the take off for every item. The program basically shuts down by8:30 , 9pm and is useless. the email functions eg emailing Po's from the system are so unreliable that we don't use them. We save and email from outlook. The client portal is not very good and we are not using it. POs cant be ordered by supplier which is very annoying. Invoices get scrambled if you try to move the order.

LP
AvatarImg

Luke P.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Abroenet Constructions - BX review

Reviewed 8 months ago

It has been a great addition to my business with its integration to xero and deputy.

Pros

I love the estimating, the take off tool within the estimating section. Its easy to convert a quote to a project. It links to my suppliers pricing which means i should always have the most up to date pricing avaialble

Cons

Dont like that you pay per user, not just per account. Or have a residential package to suit up to 5 users say. The timeline scheduling, unless I'm not using correctly is difficult to edit and frustrating so i dont use it like i probably should. Love that it links to xero and Deputy

SD
AvatarImg

Scott D.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Making Life easier

Reviewed a year ago

Could not be happier with BuildXact and get really good feed back from clients and our accountant team

Pros

From tracking quotes, to take offs and organizing your quote in a professional way, to sending purchase orders and tracking your project to the cent, BuildXact is by far the best value for money estimating/project management software on the market.

Cons

The scheduling is a bit clunky in comparison to MS Project

Vendor response

Thanks for your great feedback.

MH
AvatarImg

Min H.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Overall good

Reviewed a year ago

Very good, would recommend to anyone that in this industry

Pros

Software - easy and useful. Service - 5 star services, solves all the issues we have ever.

Cons

Sometimes bugs still come out, most them have been resolved, but some we still have to pay attention too.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great feedback.

BT
AvatarImg

Barry T.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Buildxact Experience

Reviewed a year ago

My overall experience with Buildxact is great.Estimates are Professional and build confidence in your clients. This program will help you win Quotes.

Pros

The product was easy to use. Uploading your company logo for branding was easy. This program is backed up by fantastic support which I accessed .

Cons

Could have smoother transition between estimate and invoice. Should be in same drop down box. Ex convert current estimate to invoice.

Vendor response

Great to hear you're enjoying the software so much Barry.

GB
AvatarImg

Glenn B.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great work tool

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Keeping my jobs costed and follow profit to each job

Cons

Nothing to mention, everything works as I need

Vendor response

Glad you're enjoying the software Glenn!

SY
AvatarImg

Steve Y.

Building Materials, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of use

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

how easy it is to use, provide digital take off, purchase orders

Cons

not a great fan of the schedule, im sure its easy to use as well but never got around to it.

SF
AvatarImg

Scott F.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Block review

Reviewed 17 days ago

i really like the product it works very well for us. great estimating and easy scheduling

Pros

estimating and scheduling is what we use most

Cons

mobile use is not great, an app would be better

Lv
AvatarImg

Luke v.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

BuildXact Estimating

Reviewed a year ago

Excellent isnt a better package out there to suit my needs

Pros

Estimating ease of use, graphical takeoff, template creation

Cons

actual calculation functions to assist with cutting lists

Vendor response

Thanks for the great feedback.

AW
AvatarImg

Andrew W.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great allrounder that keeps getting better

Reviewed a year ago

We are able to generate accurate reports + track the jobs a lot better

Pros

Buildxact has all the features we need to run and manage multiple building projects.

Cons

Take off function takes a while to get used to

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review!

JF
AvatarImg

Jeff F.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Streamlined and revolutionised

Reviewed a year ago

We are all now accountable for work now that everything can be traced and accurately recorded. It showed us the holes in our business prior, and we have streamlined all our processes off the back of shifting to BX.

Pros

The ease of tracking costs when integrated with Xero has made administering projects ever so simple. To follow a project from conception to completion is priceless.

Cons

The profit & loss and work in progress could be a little easier to understand.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great feedback and for using Buildxact.

RJ
AvatarImg

Rob J.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple & Effective software for Builders

Reviewed 3 years ago

Buildxact has been an extremely effective business support tool for our network of builders providing them virtually one place to run their business.

Pros

Buildxact is a comprehensive estimating and job tracking software package for builders and building companies of all sizes. It's simplicity of use yet effectiveness to cover nearly all aspects relatable to a construction project has made it the number choice for our network of builders which has positively impacted their businesses and lives.

Cons

Buildxact lacks a detailed CRM tool but this can be covered by other additional applications. However, I do believe Buildxacts version is in production phase for release soon.

JM
AvatarImg

Jacob M.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great product!

Reviewed a year ago

I've thoroughly enjoyed the software.

Pros

The BuildXact software implements very well with our accounting software and makes the task of reconciling job costings hassle free! I really like the invoice and quote design functionality - the fact that you can customise the design and layouts, and save these templates for future next project is a real time saver, and the quotes come out looking great! The take-off tool is a game changer, to be able to scale your drawings digitally and calculate required materials using the distance and area ruler saves a heap of time with pricing and ordering materials!

Cons

It would be nice to have a mobile app, although not essential.

Vendor response

Thanks for using Buildxact.

JK
AvatarImg

Jamie K.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

JAK Build

Reviewed 10 months ago

Great after sales services , and follow you up. Always looking to improve and up grade, asking for our thoughts and also testing some new ideas.

Pros

The integration with email, suppliers and other products is great. The client Portal is another good add on, you can also make suggestion for up grades

Cons

Some better training for the the more experienced users, look a t the schedule side of the program. Some subbies and rated the request quote side of things.

SP
AvatarImg

Sera P.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Buildxact is the game-changer we needed in our business

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

We found it very easy to use and easy to teach our employees. We all use it daily!

Cons

Aspects of workflow could be better. We came from using on-site companion software, and believe that check-lists would be beneficial.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review Sera.

NP
AvatarImg

Natacha P.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great programme and much more user friendly than others.

Reviewed a year ago

We like it. It works well for our proposals/quotes and something we will continue using for this purpose.

Pros

It's very easy to navigate when it comes to the basics and the proposals you produce look great for clients.

Cons

Probably like most programmes, it has a lot of functions that we have to pay for, but do not use. Also annoying when you are putting a proposal together and you enter an item, hit TAB and if there is a receipe it autofills and if it's not what you were wanting, you have to delete the line and start again.

Vendor response

Thank you for the awesome review.

bw
AvatarImg

bob w.

Building Materials, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Bob at Loven tools

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

overall package offers a lot. compares to other software. Template is useful when planning the project

Cons

The software price is at the higher end. Only offers 2 user account is a bit limited. It will be good to allow a few accesses only accounts for Site managers.

JE
AvatarImg

Jordan E.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

All in one tool

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Buildxact is more than a way to produce professional accurate estimates quickly and easily. We have integrated it into our day to day operations using the jobs scheduling and construction management. Its great to be able to track a job from start to finish comparing estimated and actual costings and applying the results to future estimates.

Cons

Would love an app for the onsite staff to be able to use with limited capabilities

Vendor response

Thank you for the great feedback Jordan.

CG
AvatarImg

Claire G.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Buildxact for residential building companies

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

VERY easy program to use, gives a great insight into overall budgeting throughout a particular job, ease of use, generation of invoices, compatible with our MYOB software

Cons

It can be a likely clunky with MYOB and generating "design" invoices appears to be sometimes challenging. It would also be great to run cost centre reports

CC
AvatarImg

Ciel C.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software

Reviewed a year ago

do the take off, measure the plan, actual costing

Pros

We can use the template and we can use the buildxact to do the back costing

Cons

calculation progress for the actual cost, or we can put our invoice in the software.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great feedback Ciel!

RF
AvatarImg

Rayden F.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Getting your materials to site quick and easy

Reviewed a year ago

The ease in putting a quote together

Pros

The ease to quote and obtain Quantities for jobs

Cons

Financials, budgeting and the biggest is no cost controls

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback Rayden.

AM
AvatarImg

Adam M.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Construction Estimating Management software review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Ease to setup and implement the software

Cons

While they continue to improve the software, still some feature lacking

Vendor response

Thanks for the quality feedback Adam.

LL
AvatarImg

Lacy-Lynn D.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Review from a designers perspective

Reviewed a year ago

Good experience, look forward to new things to come.

Pros

Its a easy effective way to walk through a project from start to finish.

Cons

That there is no material list for the designer. Not everything you put into the invoice needs to be showcased to the client

Vendor response

Thanks for the great feedback.