App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Silent Auction Pro Logo

Silent Auction Pro

Simple * Affordable * Powerful

(9)

Silent Auction Pro Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

393

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.55/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Overall, I love using this software as they made it so easy for me using it for my first time. It is very user-friendly and the tech support team is amazing and was always available to help.
The one thing that impressed both my co-chair and I was the amazing customer support. The people we spoke to knew their product and provided the help we needed.
The best feature of Silent Auction Pro is the support. I also loved the ease of sending communications to our bidders.
I had some trouble using the messaging features like emails. Hard time getting it formatted the way I wanted it and it lost some of our graphics after posting.
They had horrible customer service and wanted to know WAY to much personal information about me in order to open an account. But that isn't Silent Auction Pro's fault.
If you are looking for a platform on which to manage your silent or live auction – onsite or virtual – look no further.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


393 reviews

Recommended

CM
AvatarImg

Ciera M.

Director of Operations

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Worked Wonders For Me & My School

Reviewed 7 months ago

Transcript

Speaker 1: My name is Sierra, and I'm the Director of Family Support and Operations at Lafayette Preparatory...

MS
AvatarImg

Mary S.

Coordinator of Advancement

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

A happy client!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Mary S.: Hi, my name is Mary. I'm coordinator of advancement. I give Silent Auction Pro a five-star rating....

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Karen C.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and Learn

Reviewed 5 years ago

Silent Auction Pro was very easy to use. The staff was easy to talk with and would work with you to find a solution. Silent Auction Pro made our program run much smoother than in past years.

Pros

The software was easy to set up, learn, use and teach. Our members loved how quick check-in/out was.

Cons

There is no app, yet. There is a way to make a shortcut on your phone but some people have difficulty doing it.

RK
AvatarImg

Rachel K.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Silent Auction Pro Helped Save Our School!

Reviewed 3 years ago

When the pandemic affected our yearly auction, we knew there had to be a solution that could fill the void. Our school relies on the income from that event to keep our school up and running. We loved that Silent Auction Pro was able to help us continue this tradition, while also helping us raise the money that we need. Since our initial event, we have had two more auctions. Each time, the software improves and becomes more user and customer friendly.

Pros

Hands down, the best thing about using Silent Auction Pro is the customer support. At every small bump in the road, someone was there to help us figure it out.

Cons

While it's understandable that the software is constantly evolving and improving, I found that the menus were confusing the navigate.

CP
AvatarImg

Cristina P.

Sports, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Used for Annual Auction

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It does the job but doesn't exactly WOW me as a user

Cons

Seemed very basic and run of the mill. Nothing stood out as I had to keep using this.

Vendor response

Interestingly there is no Cristina P that has used our software since 2019. This is a fake review. "Cristina" - I'm sending you a copy of my response along with my email address. If you are real, please reach back out to me - if you really used our software and didn't like it I would love to hear more about what it was you didn't like... Jim Donnell - President & Founder.

AB
AvatarImg

Allison B.

Sports, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

100% Recommend

Reviewed 3 years ago

Had the best experience with Silent Auction Pro.. we were under a short time frame due to restrictions with COVID-19 and getting approval from the administration on an auction software. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], our event Coach helped us through the whole process. Even when we had a slight error during the event her and the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] solved it immediately. Very impressed with their company.

Pros

Customer Service is amazing Really, really, easy to use TONS of reports to pull for any information you would need Real-time reports on how much money you are making and the return on the value The registration page and the ability to customize it to our liking was amazing, especially when recognizing sponsors. The mobile site was awesome and so easy to use Texts/Emails that came during the event are helpful

Cons

Can only have one event going at a time Unable to "edit" thank you letter when going to send out, it pulls straight from the template The donor v. bidder and confirming identities

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Utilities,

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Using SAP for silent auction for a Non-Profit group.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Saves us so much time. Used to use excel and mail merge to create bid sheets. Then had to enter results into a shared Sheet. Checkout took a lot longer since had to search the sheet. Also never had an online presence before so this gives us access to more people.

Pros

Using this tool enables us to reach more people. I also like that checkout takes a lot less time and the customers like getting a receipt. The ability to print and check all the items from a donation or auction item perspective is so helpful when setting up. I also like the email feature so we can send messages to our patrons and Thank you notes to our donors. The ability to text winning bid status is fun too. Having the patrons credit card information helps make check out a breeze even if they are not present at the time of close out of the auction.

Cons

Minor glitches with downloading to excel if you use that option. Easy to clean up though. There is a lot to learn to get going with the software but once you understand it, it is easy to use and the customer service is excellent.

PY
AvatarImg

Paul Y.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent company

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Easy to use both from a administrator and customer point of view

Cons

No cons can not come up with anything we did not like

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Beth V.

Individual & Family Services, 11-50 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Silent Auction Pro - Great Value & Met All Our Needs

Reviewed 5 years ago

This was our second year using Silent Auction Pro for our annual special event and our first year using the mobile bidding function. It offers all the functions we need to run a great event that includes silent and live auctions and Fund-A-Cause. The price was excellent compared to another platform we researched, and we have always found our event representative to be very helpful from beginning to end.

Pros

The wide variety of functions combined with good customer service and a great price.

Cons

Not all functions and reports are intuitive to me, but they have excellent instructions, training videos and customer service - making learning the functions easy.

WS
AvatarImg

William S.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

President

Reviewed 5 years ago

From the owner (who calls you back immediately) to the support person (who you can call at 11:00pm during your checkout on the Saturday night of the event) - it's the type of customer service that is rare these days - bravo to the team!!

Pros

This software essentially removed our need to hire an auction company to handle our event - saving us upwards of $2,500.

Cons

The software could use a little more "what you see is what you get" buttons - in other words, navigation for dummies; but if you spend even a little time using the software, it's intuitive and grows on you quickly.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Susan D.

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The customer support is unparalleled!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The Customer Support is very helpful. We had not used a formal database previously and have found this one to be very easy to use.

Cons

I wish we could link two bidders (spouses) so we know if both have used the bid # upon checkout. Would love to have a couple more checks and balances in place.

RJ
AvatarImg

Rich J.

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software that is invaluable aid to fundraising

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Functionality is excellent. It has lots of features and benefits. The administration and reporting tools are also well thought out. It is clear they understand the many requirements of fundraising. Finally, their support is outstanding.

Cons

It takes a while to learn the navigation- where tools are located. Also, in one or two instances we wanted to extract information in a certain way but the system didn't provide for this.

GT
AvatarImg

Gail T.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I like Silent Auction Pro and would recommend it to any NPO or organization for their event.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Fundraising for the Children's Coalition of Aransas County

Pros

That first phone call to Silent Auction Pro led to a Zoom demo with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]. The demo with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] led to our Board giving approval for the contract. Since that first conversation to the post-event conversations, every step, every need, every question, every "OH NO" moment on my side was quickly answered and solved. There is no customer service team like theirs....

Cons

The initial use of the software required diligent data entry. It was a lot of work. We now have a database containing donors, sponsors, bidders, volunteers, and workers. Next year's data entry will not start at zero. For some data entry and reports, (without checking which aggravated me the most I must be vague) having a "scroll to the top button" would be nice. Also, when working in one function,...

KM
AvatarImg

Kristine M.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome fundraising tool for our organization!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our non-profit arts education organization has had a very positive experience with Silent Auction Pro. We look forward to using this great software and all of its features/capabilities even more as we move forward in 2020!

Pros

1. Excellent training and support by [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and his Silent Auction Pro team! 2. This quality software system really did its job from initial communications, to auction set-up, right through event night and beyond with solid reporting! 3. Its affordable price, combined with superior customer service and tech support, made the decision to purchase a no-brainer-- especially for a committee of nervous new users!

Cons

There *is* a learning curve for newbies, as with any other software package. However, the online tutorials as well as ample documentation with clear procedures made it as painless as humanly possible to get up to speed and functional with it.

CJ
AvatarImg

Cindy J.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Software that DEFINITELY Helps you Raise More Money

Reviewed 7 years ago

This was our first use of this software and we were very satisfied with the results we achieved the night of our event. The software is relatively easy to use - the modules are marked but you do need to take you time to make sure you are on the right page. The customer support was fantastic. Every time I had a problem or a question they were there to answer it. They were able to go into my site,...

Pros

This was our first use of this software and we were very satisfied with the results we achieved the night of our event. The software is relatively easy to use - the modules are marked but you do need to take you time to make sure you are on the right page. The customer support was fantastic. Every time I had a problem or a question they were there to answer it. They were able to go into my site,...

Cons

The modules could be designed to be easier to differentiate.

ED
AvatarImg

Emily D.

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Auction software - JUST PERFECT FOR US!

Reviewed 7 years ago

Three years ago was the first time we used SilentAuctionPro. And we used it again for this year's event. SAP handled our 450+ donations with five users, 200 auction items, online bidding by 225+ guests and the raffle ticket feature. We were able to train our volunteers on the AuctionDay features, and questions were quickly answered by the support staff via phone or email! The extensive help section allowed users to familiarize themselves with the various features, too. Tips for future users: start on soliciting donation early & use SAP to keep track of it all! We plan to use it again for our next silent auction event in two years. Great program, Silent Auction Pro. Leaps & bounds better than the days of paper bidding!

Pros

Add donor, add donation item, save! The extras are great:logos & pictures for displays, the communication tool saved us & we were able to message our bidders with auction highlights.

Cons

After our 2nd event, the system usage seemed more intuitive. We didn't realize how many features we could have used that first time! Would love the system to accept AmEx, not just Visa/MasterCard.

Vendor response

Hi Emily - thank you for the review! FYI - You can accept AmEx, you just need to set up an AmEx account and give that number to Vantiv. Once it is set up just check the "Merchant Accepts AmEx" checkbox on the "Configure Merchant Account" page and AmEx will show up in the credit card select lists.

LS
AvatarImg

Lisa S.

Philanthropy,

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Windsor Farm Elementary PTO Silent Auction Pro Review

Reviewed 7 years ago

Silent Auction Pro provided an ease and professional quality to our annual auction we had not previously enjoyed. In years past, our annual elementary PTO Fundraiser and Silent Auction was a tedious process. We would create our Bid Sheets and Display Sheets on separate programs. We would have another person create our event programs. Our donations would be logged in an Excel Spreadsheet. We would...

Pros

Easy to use, great customer service, able to manage all needs in one platform.

Cons

n/a

SW
AvatarImg

Scott W.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Look no further. You have found a terrific solution to your online, silent and live auction headache

Reviewed 9 years ago

This is our fifth year of using Silent Auction Pro for our annual fundraising auction for our public schools and we can highly recommend it. We looked at several competing products before deciding it offered the most-bang-for-the-buck for an Internet-based cloud solution (important for the ability to share access with many users). With only a few weeks to prepare, we were able to import the bidder...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

NC
AvatarImg

Natalie C.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Software is Extremely Easy to Use

Reviewed 3 years ago

I loved working with Silent Auction Pro. Their support is phenomenal. Most of the people you talk to were involved with a PTO which is how they got started working with Silent Auction Pro so they were extremely helpful especially since I am using this software to raise money for our PTO.

Pros

I loved that the bidding, sign up, and communication was extremely easy to use. It was as easy as providing a link or QR code to get families signed up for the online bidding. Then the bidding itself was easy and engaging because you will get notified on items you are actively bidding on to tell you if you have been outbid which keeps you actively engaged in the auction! You can also set a max. bid and bid increment and the system will bid on an item for you. In the set up process Silent Auction Pro makes it extremely easy to communicate with your bidders. You can set up email and text notifications in advance so you don't have to worry about sending the day of or before your event. You can schedule out these notifications for the month, etc. leading up to your event.

Cons

It was a little difficult making sure everything looked ok when you switched donor items over to auction items. It usually pulls over details you have in your donor item, but you need to go through and make sure fonts and everything look the same so when people are viewing your auction items everything looks consistent.

CA
AvatarImg

Celia A.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Saved Us Time, Trouble And Confusion!

Reviewed 8 years ago

Before finding Silent Auction Pro, we were doing everything by hand. It took up a lot of everyone's time and led to a lot of frustration. After a very stressful night of having people waiting for us to hand calculate their winning bids and asking us every five minutes if we were ready, we decided there must be a better way to do this. A fundraiser should be fun! It has fun in the name! So I found Silent Auction Pro. It made such a difference to not have all of those people waiting for us to give them their winning items and invoices. And, checking out was quick. I highly recommend for events like silent auctions.

Pros

You can enter your donations one time and duplicate them if you have more than one or if you are repeating the same items the next year, you can see where your volunteers are in the process of getting their donations and they can mark their status, you can bundle lower value items together to make a larger basket and it is easy to do, the check in and check out at our event was fast! And, I was able to enjoy the actual event for the first time.

Cons

Not really a con, but a suggestion if you use this software: have a designated person in charge of using the software and train everyone to enter the information consistently. I think their best practices was helpful'it saves time to make sure you take that step so you don't have to edit a bunch of things later.

SS
AvatarImg

Stephen S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Phenomenal Support

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our primary objectives were to: 1. Streamline the checkout process and make it easier for our donors. 2. Increase the size of our bids with respect to the Fair Market Value of the items. We achieved both of these objectives.

Pros

The product is great (and increased our bid-to-FMV ratio), but the support is phenomenal! In my "day job", I have been a software professional for 30 years. I have never seen the level of support that Silent Auction Pro delivered to us. They were very proactive in reaching out to make suggestions such as "you are now 4 weeks away from your event, so you should be thinking about these things..."....

Cons

None that I can think of. We did a few things wrong this first time around, but that was because all of us have day jobs and did not spend adequate time to get up to speed and "didn't know what we didn't know". However the support staff did a great job helping us over those snags.

JB
AvatarImg

Jennifer B.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent overall others

Reviewed 3 years ago

I believe this company stands high above other software. The customer service is key and you guys have it nailed! Many people already struggle with technology and to learn a whole new software program can be frustrating even for those who know it well. So to have customer service available at any time of the day, and to have your call answered in less than three rings is excellent. I loved that I did not have to wait on hold, be transferred from person to person and I appreciated that anyone we talked to was patient, understanding and above helpful and walked through each problem in detail until it was resolved or answered.

Pros

When we had any questions and called in for help we got ahold of someone immediately...no waiting on hold, transferring to another person. Every person we talked to was helpful, patient and did not mind how long the phone call was in regards to answering all our quetsitons.

Cons

The photos were low resolution, even after I optimized and uploaded them ready for web view. The photos were small so it was difficult to see some of the beautiful donated items. It was difficult to see the arrows to shuffle through multiple photos.

Vendor response

Hi Jennifer - thank you for your review. I took a look at some of your photos for your donations and they were uploaded smaller than our max size of 1024x768. I'm sure that would have helped. We'll also look at making the arrows a bit more prominent. -Jim

RS
AvatarImg

Rachel S.

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Customer Service

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, I've been thankful for their ability to to assist me with my event. They call and checkup on a regular basis to ensure that you feel ready and that they've done their best to prepare you. They also stay on call when your event is happening, just in case.

Pros

The software has features and capabilities that I never knew I needed. Not only does it make the whole thing easier, it helps with every aspect of the event. The best thing ever, is that even if you are confused or lost, they are great at answering the phone and clearly walking you through everything. The more I use it, the less I need help and the more I learn about all the features.

Cons

It can be confusing at times where things are but the more you use it, the better it gets.

VL
AvatarImg

Virginia L.

Philanthropy, 51-200 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great auction software for our small congregation

Reviewed 3 years ago

We used Silent Auction Pro to host our annual fundraiser, which we had never done online. We had to switch models because of the corona virus. It was a great experience and my team and I agree that we will be using them again, even if we switch to an online model. There is a learning curve to setting up the items, but there's a lot of fun features, and we were even able to have a live auction over Zoom. The checkout alone made this auction SO easy. We didn't have to chase people to get their payment, and it was very clear who won what item. This event is really a lot of work, and SAP make the job way easier.

Pros

Silent Auction Pro had a lot of features, and was able to have multiple winners for an item- which was a key for our group. For example we like to try and drive the price up on an item by having only the top 4 winners win on an item, it drives the price up. Other auction softwares were not able to feature this. The support available by the team was incredible. they were always available to answer with questions and walk me through setting up the items.

Cons

I am tech-savy and I felt educated about how to enter items, but there's a lot of clicks and I still messed it up. The support team did a great job to help me but it's just a very clicky software. Even after watching the videos and classes, next auction I will set up a zoom call to have them walk me through a few live ones to make sure it's set up right. There is a learning curve to the software.

BB
AvatarImg

Brian B.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great customer service and a useful product getting better. Takes a little getting used to.

Reviewed 8 years ago

We have now used Silent Auction Pro for 3 years for our nonprofit gala. We started using it because it was the most cost effective way to take people's credit cards ahead of time for a more expedited check out process. Our board still doesn't want to go totally electronic, so we use it to sell tickets, to prepare the bid sheets for silent auction items, and to run the checkout process from our paper-based...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Brian and the listing of Pro's and Cons. We will be releasing "Promo Codes" for tickets this month along with several other minor enhancements. The online bidding and mobile bidding pages were recently updated to freshen the look. We're going to be doing the same to the online ticket purchase pages. -Jim

SR
AvatarImg

Sandy R.

Music, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Perfect Solution for Us

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our guests LOVED the capability to do this and we raised DOUBLE out best year ever! THAT was truly amazing and we are so pleased with our decision to use SAP!

Pros

The software allowed us to do pretty much accomplish all of our goals for our auction. It streamlined both the bidding and the redemption portions of the auction which are the most time consuming. It went without a hitch at the event and we were beyond pleased with how it went and the amazing results!

Cons

We really did not dislike anything! Once we understood how it was structured, it was super easy to use and implement. We expected a learning curve, so that was not a surprise.

MJ
AvatarImg

Michelle J.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Perfect for our church auction

Reviewed 8 years ago

Our silent auction had been paper based for two years and we decided to take it to a web-based platform this year. It was a risk, but we did our research and reached out to three different companies for demos. The team from Silent Auction Pro was fantastic and answered all of our questions during the demo and post demo. Once we decided they were the right company for us - we got to work with set...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review