App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Avalara Logo

Tax compliance done right

(9)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Avalara Reviews

Overall rating

4.1

/5

310

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.05/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

zoho-books
exemptax

Pros and cons

Overall, I am happy with product as it is has saved time for team in filing reports and also is a great repository for our sales tax related files.
Seamless integration with our ERP system, reporting and ease of reconciliation to our records are awesome. There is no need to maintain Sales Tax tables internally.
My overall experience with Avalara has been very positive, I especially enjoy all of the resources to help business understand the sales & use tax process.
Difficult to set up and when it is not working as expected it can get in the way of processing documents.
Reminds me of the old Microsoft model (maybe still current model?) and it can be very irritating. If you have a tax problem, the last thing you need is more costs and a wait time.
They charged us up front for a year and then provided little to no support in implementation. It's impossible to get a response from them.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


310 reviews

Recommended

MM
AvatarImg

Michael M.

CEO

Farming, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Taxes Simplified

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Speaker 1: My name is Michael. I'm the owner of You Can Never Have Too Mushroom LLC. We sell mushroom...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Brian G.

Director of Accounting

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Easy to use product

Reviewed 4 years ago

Transcript

Brian: Hi, my name is Brian, I'm a director of accounting in the healthcare industry, I use Avalara and...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Theresa F.

Machinery, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Couldn't do it without them!

Reviewed 6 years ago

In the wake of South Dakota v. Wayfair, Avalara alerts us if we have nexus in a new state. This is a priceless benefit. Also, Avalara was instrumental in helping us comply with a Tennessee customer's request for a multi-year sales tax refund. Thanks to Avalara, we survived the experience without hiring additional labor and the customer was satisfied with the outcome.

Pros

Avalara keeps up with all the nationwide changes in taxing jurisdictions month-to-month so we can focus on our business transactions and not struggle with tax compliance. They operate seamlessly in the background and keep us accurate and exposure-free.

Cons

I am eternally disappointed that I didn't come up with the concept for Avalara myself =)

DC
AvatarImg

David C.

Furniture, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Tax Calculation Service

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Avalara provided the most accurate and updated tax calculations and tables. Daily updates to region and city taxes which helps us balance our books.

Cons

The support is the least favorite thing about Avalara. Calls and Chats should be more accessible and quicker to get a person. Other than that, everything else is solid.

Vendor response

David, thank you for sharing about your experience with Avalara AvaTax, we look forward to continuing to serve you. We're sorry to hear you've had challenges with support calls and chat. Please know we're working to improve that experience.

BH
AvatarImg

Blake H.

Consumer Electronics, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Avalara overpromises & Under-delivers

Reviewed 5 years ago

TERRIBLE! There are a lot of configuration issues that we had discussed in the pre-sales cycle (like CertCapture integration, configuring marketplace facilitatort exceptions, etc.) these were all ignored and never were addressed by Avalara when we went live. Tons of issues, then their customer service doesn't respond to cases for weeks at a time. Just a really horrible customer experience. AVOID AVOID AVOID!

Pros

I liked that it integrated with all of our platforms (i.e. NetSuite, Magento and future state Shopify+) and the quoted price came in much lower than other comparative software solutions.

Cons

The setup is not intuitive. There are tons of issues where it doesn't calculate sales tax correctly or at all for some states or on returns. There are multiple different logins for different services/features (i.e. AvaTax, CertCapture, General Avalara account) which are frustrating. Also had a number of issues with our NetSuite integrations. CertCapture required us to manually upload each state certificate...

Vendor response

Blake, thank you for sharing about your experience using Avalara. We are sorry to read you've experienced challenges, we understand it's been frustrating, and we'd like to address your concerns. Please contact our VP of Customer Excellence Bobby Sands at customercare@avalara.com so we can learn more and work to assist.

SM
AvatarImg

Steven M.

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Big help in dealing with different state tax entities

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Sales tax has become a hot issue and a difficult one to navigate. Avalara is a huge help in managing the process and despite a few flaws, it's pretty invaluable. Saves so much time and effort

Cons

Difficult to set up and when it is not working as expected it can get in the way of processing documents.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sabine D.

Sporting Goods, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Watched this company go from great to terrible

Reviewed 6 years ago

Multi district/state tax calculation made easy.

Pros

Platform is flexible and mapping is intuitive, even for complex tax situations. Easy integration with Magento Enterprise.

Cons

Reports are difficult to run. Its more complex than it should be to add manual transactions and the UI needs a considerable update. But my biggest complaint has been in the lack of customer service. It has regularly taken WEEKS for our customer service rep to respond to my emails. And when I showed the "Customer Experience Manager" at Avalara the chain of emails that shows it has regularly taken weeks,...

DS
AvatarImg

David S.

Business Supplies and Equipment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Very Buggy

Reviewed 5 years ago

I use with Quickbooks Enterprise. It causes a lot of problems. Can't be used with multiple companies open but I can work around that. The software pops up when not expected and keeps you from sending email invoices withing the QB app. Address verification pops up on one computer for the address that another user is entering on a different computer. Customer service is non existent. After entering a ticket, you get the auto generated response then nothing after that. 1st ticket got an actual response after 4 business days. A second ticket never had a response.

Pros

It does what it says it is supposed to do. Online reports are fine

Cons

Very buggy Slow Frequently shuts itself down

Vendor response

David, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Avalara. We work hard to deliver our customers a reliable and easy-to-use solution. From what you wrote, we recognize that there are things that have gone well and areas that may need improvement. We would appreciate an opportunity to learn more about your experience. If you're open to a conversation, please contact customercare@avalara.com.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Reanna R.

Security and Investigations, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Takes the hassle out of filing taxes

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

- Portal is easy enough to navigate. Lots of training and tutorials provided - "Set it and forget it" .. well not exactly .. you still have to monitor and reconcile monthly to ensure everything is running smoothly. But saves a lot of time logging in and figuring out how to file taxes monthly for each state. - Reporting is very transparent. Easy to download reports, and compile and save info for auditing purposes.

Cons

- Use Tax functionality is not fully automated for all software. We use NetSuite, and there's no way to capture Use Tax on Expense Reports so these must still be entered into Avalara manually. - Customer Support is sometimes lacking. It takes forever to get a hold of someone on the phone, and when you do, many of the times the case just gets escalated to someone else so no immediate help. Also, they may point you to an article online that you've already found by Googling on your own.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Avalara sales tax service is the worst sales tax service provider

Reviewed 6 years ago

Avoid Avalara. There are many other sales tax service providers available in this industry. After you sign a contract with Avalara, you will regret it.

Pros

Avalara dominates social media, and they put alot of effort into the first meeting

Cons

There are at least 15 people involved in our large and complex system implementation. After six months of negotiation and testing, it seems that none of the employees communicate about our company's needs. One employee promises something will happen, but it doesn't -- and the next person knows nothing about it. They will lie and agree to anything to get you to sign a contract. The website is horrible. The reports are not very helpful in reconciling your tax filings, and there is no useful or timely update on the status of the return filings. They are not cooperative when there is a problem, and they treat you like you're stupid.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your experience has not been a success. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your interaction with Avalara. Your satisfaction is our priority. Please reach out to me personally via email at customercare@avalara.com and I would be happy to discuss the issue at your earliest convenience. - Liz Armbruester SVP, Compliance & Customer Success

CV
AvatarImg

Carlos V.

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Ease the burden of filing

Reviewed 4 months ago

Its great! Dont need to worry about filing deadlines unless the state goes through an overhaul of IT systems

Pros

its convenient and worry free. I never have to worry about getting tax filed

Cons

When changes are made, either throught the state or otherwise, getting in touch with Avalara is frustrating

Vendor response

Hi Carlos, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We work hard to make sales tax filing worry-free for our customers, and we're grateful for the opportunity to serve your team.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jena T.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sales Tax Made Easy

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Before we used Avalara services, we would manually update the sales tax rates for all of the states we were doing business in (over 35). Not only did we save time with Avalara, the rates were up to date and accurate for the individual placing their online order. The team at Avalara are great to work with - super helpful and friendly!

Cons

The assumption of how many transactions will occur instead of being charged a monthly per transaction fee.

CK
AvatarImg

Christopher K.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MISC Comments

Reviewed 5 years ago

Big improve, make that massive improvement over Vertex. In fairness, the move to Netsuite solidified the Avalara move.

Pros

*Interface with Netsuite *Management reports available for month REC *Driven by strong Tax knowledge and customer awareness.

Cons

*Website is still not what it should be regarding ease of use. *Resent changes in how support is handled may produce cost saving however it may be at the expense of customer need for timely response. In the past I suspect customers contacted support only after giving up on attempts to gain intel from the website.... may not be pleased having to wait longer. Avalara does not file at all on exception...

Vendor response

Christopher, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Avalara. We work hard to deliver our customers a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we're grateful to have the opportunity to serve you.

KR
AvatarImg

Kelsey R.

Luxury Goods & Jewelry, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

If everything is set up & you don't need any additional support, Avalara is great. Otherwise, look elsewhere

Reviewed 2 months ago

If you have no backfilings that you need to do and you know everything will be set up correctly from the get go then sure, go with them. But otherwise stay far, far away. I was not the one who implemented Avalara, I took it over and have not been pleased with our overall experience. I also find their prices quite high, though I have nothing to compare it to. The combination of their chaotic emailing, lack of support with our new account manager, and their high prices are definitely making us lean towards taking our business elsewhere.

Pros

Their website is very easy to navigate, also love that they have right on the dashboard states that we're coming up on reaching the nexus threshold. Our old account manager was very responsive and helpful, unfortunately our new one is not.

Cons

Their emailing method is absolute *insanity* and extremely confusing because every email response you receive STARTS A WHOLE NEW EMAIL THREAD so if you have multiple projects going on it is nearly impossible to keep things straight. I literally had to make a spreadsheet one time when we had multiple backfilings going on because it was incredibly chaotic and stressful. Their website seems to regularly go down or will just have 1 page that isn't working which is incredibly frustrating. Their state registration fees are massive and you basically have to provide them ALL the information they'll be using to file with the state anyway. Save yourself the money and do it yourself.

Vendor response

Kelsey, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re committed to offering our customers a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we’re sorry if we missed the mark in your case. If you’re open to a conversation, we’d like to learn more about your specific experience and how we can improve. Please contact our team at customercare@avalara.com.

RM
AvatarImg

Ronnie M.

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Avalara - the cons outweigh the pros

Reviewed 5 years ago

This is a horrible company if you value customer service and resolution of issues in a timely manner.

Pros

Hard to find any pros. The reporting is good when it works.

Cons

Doesn't calculate tax based on the correct jurisdiction - tax will change between sales orders and invoices even though addresses did not change. The reconciliation report that is ran out of NetSuite stopped working after the latest update, absolutely no help in getting that resolved which means I can't reconcile back to our GL. When Avalara was contacted, they asked us for a "video" of what was going...

Vendor response

Ronnie, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience, though the frustrations you've described are not what we want. We strive to offer the best service possible and apologize for the challenges you've experienced. Please contact customercare@avalara.com if you're open to a conversation.

JR
AvatarImg

John R.

Apparel & Fashion, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Horrible Customer Service

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very aggravating. Don't expect to be treated like your problems are important, even if you're a multi-million dollar company paying way too much for this software. As someone who frequent reads product reviews for our business I take customer service complaints with a grain of salt. Usually someone has one bad experience and uses that to represent the entire company. I'm writing at the end of a pattern of neglect and hold music. Literally the best part about this whole experience is the hold music reminds me of a video game I played when I was 14 years old. You hate to see it.

Pros

Not much. The integrations are a huge pain to set up. It's what I would call a necessary evil for our company in lieu of ever increasing sales tax complexity.

Cons

The customer support. We're multiple months into having the same type of order's tax miscalculated and I'm still fighting to get any help on it, meaning hundreds of orders are being charged incorrect sales tax. On top of not getting replies to my emails every time I call the robot voice says I'm 20th or 30th in line, guaranteeing a minimum 30 minute on hold session. In a day and age where SAAS companies are starting to see the importance of quality customer service it feels like Avalara is either behind the ball or just doesn't care. Obviously writing this while on hold, because what else am I going to do?

Vendor response

John, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience using Avalara, though it's not the type we aim to deliver. The frustrations you've described are not what we want. If you're open to a conversation, we'd like to address your concerns. Please contact VP of Customer Excellence Bobby Sands at customercare@avalara.com.

RH
AvatarImg

Rachel H.

Building Materials, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Customer Service

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall the software works well. If there is a special project and questions or anything out of the ordinary the project will likely have problems, good luck getting a response and assistance with questions. They also tend to only want to respond through e-mail and they don't answer all questions. It is an uneasy feeling to not get responses on critical projects.

Pros

The tax cal rates are reliable and the dashboard is easy to use.

Cons

Avalara managers are slow to respond to questions and assistance. They do not provide phone numbers to anyone except the account manager. If there are issues with the account manager no one will provide their supervisors phone numbers so basically one will be at the mercy of their account mangers response. On special projects for back filing projects they have taken over a month to answer questions. When sending in notices for Avalara to address for tax return prep they are slow to respond to notices.

Vendor response

Rachel, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience using Avalara. We strive to offer the best service possible and the frustrations you've described are not what we want. If you're open to a conversation, we'd like to learn more about your specific experience and how we can improve. Please contact customercare@avalara.com.

TT
AvatarImg

Tausha T.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Would be lost without Avalara

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Sales tax laws are incredibly confusing! After several years with Avalara and many questions while adding new jurisdictions and filing tons of returns, we have grown to trust Avalara completely with our sales tax needs!

Cons

The support process is not the best, though my issues are always resolved. Calling in takes forever and trouble tickets, it seems the biggest goal is to close as fast as possible which isn't always the best customer service.

Vendor response

Hi Tausha, hank you for taking the time to share your experience using Avalara. We work hard to deliver our customers the best service possible, and we're grateful for the opportunity to work with you. If there's additional feedback you'd like to share please contact customercare@avalara.com to continue the conversation.

AC
AvatarImg

Alejandro C.

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tax calculations made easy

Reviewed 6 years ago

Avalara saves us a lot of time by keeping track of all the sales tax rules based on products, customers, zip codes, tax exempt certificates. We just need to setup the states where we have business in, the products and upload the tax certificates and Avalara makes the rest.

Pros

Avalara makes tax calculation easy for each of our sales order. We no longer have to be too much concerned with the right tax rates in each of the states and counties we have business in because Avalara update those rates every time a tax rule or tax rate changes. Each time I need to research when a tax calculation is wrong, based on the user’s input, I found that Avalara is correct and that the issue is related to something the user is missing to take into consideration.

Cons

The only dislike that I have is that Avalara support takes a lot of time to get back to you. I always end opening a support case thru e-mail, chat and phone, so I work with the one that answers the fastest.

DS
AvatarImg

David S.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Better than nothing, but many areas that need a lot of improvement

Reviewed 9 months ago

Nightmarish! Had to hire an expensive CPA firm to assist in "fixing" issues and aid with training on Avalara.

Pros

IF you figure out how to code everything correctly, it does calculate sales tax and will file the returns.

Cons

Lack of support, virtually no communication from key support staff that are critical for most anything in Avalara, software is NOT intuitive and figuring it out is a nightmare AND if you don't code everything properly it will do as much harm as good. Person to person communication is extremely hard to get in sufficient quantities to be effective.

Vendor response

David, thank you for sharing about your experience with Avalara. We're sorry to read you've experienced challenges, we understand it's been frustrating, and we'd like to address your concerns. Please contact us at customercare@avalara.com so we can work to address the issues you've described.

MA
AvatarImg

Mike A.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Worst Customer Service Experience

Reviewed 3 years ago

Absolutely awful, one of the most frustrating experiences I have ever had with a piece of paid software.

Pros

Nothing, I am just typing to meet the character requirements here.

Cons

Well, first off the account manager for our VDA left the company and we were never notified or assigned a new one, that took me several weeks to resolve. (I was continued told my AM was person x, person x's email was not active and their phone number disconnected though...) Then, the decided to cancel our sandbox key even though we had paid for a live API key, making testing changes a bit tricky. When we asked for our sandbox key to be re-activated, they tried to charge us. (I have never see a software company try and charge a paying client for a sandbox....) This isn't to mention that I have yet to find anyone at the company I would consider responsive...

Vendor response

Hi Mike, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We apologize for the miscommunication from our team. We strive to offer the best service possible and the frustrations you've described are not what we want. If you're open to a conversation, we'd like to address these issues by learning more about your specific experience. Please contact us at customercare@avalara.com.

PC
AvatarImg

Peter C.

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Service

Reviewed 6 years ago

Great experience overall. Software if easy to navigate. If you have a question they are fairly quick to get back to you and provide specific support.

Pros

Ease of use and navigation of support questions. There is a lot of capabilities in the system depending on your business structure. Any questions that you might have about using the software is available for non users in the support search.

Cons

Support emails. Blocky and convoluted, they notify you if there is a support request made. They become hard to follow with the generated support number and when the request has been elevated to another department or specialist. I mostly just archive the emails without looking at them as they tend to be redundant (which has had me miss some important emails unfortunately). Would benefit greatly in cleaning up the email format.

LM
AvatarImg

Lisa M.

Consumer Electronics, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User Friendly

Reviewed 5 years ago

Have cut down the time considerable in processing returns using Avalaa.

Pros

Easy to use. The Avalara website is very helpful with sales tax questions.

Cons

Account manager is not always knowledgeable and will give incorrect info.

Vendor response

Lisa, thank you for sharing about your experience with Avalara, we're happy to hear it's been positive. We are committed to offering a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we look forward to continuing to serve you.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for eCommerce, but error messaging sometimes unclear

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

We love how AvaTax automatically calculates and reports on sales tax - there don't seem to be any competitors that can do it as well as Avalara does. The Magento extension works perfectly and we run into issues only occasionally.

Cons

When we do run into issues, it's either because the data coming in to AvaTax is garbage data (not really their fault), or because of random matchback issues related to tax product codes and address verification. For the latter, the errors are really not verbose enough to solve the problem. Manual reposting of transactions isn't very intuitive when you have to fix errors/mistakes on an order without literally logging into AvaTax and creating new records.

CP
AvatarImg

Carlyle P.

Wholesale, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Technical Difficulties

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like the ease of use - the drop downs and categories are perfect.

Cons

When I have technical issues with specific transactions customer support isn't always knowledgeable enough to help. When I have specific tax calc questions support will never respond with an answer - as you are "not" tax advisors and sometimes the question is not that limited.

Vendor response

Carlyle, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Avalara. We work hard to deliver our customers a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we are grateful for the opportunity to serve you. If you have additional feedback to share, especially around areas where you see opportunity for improvement, please contact customercare@avalara.com.

AG
AvatarImg

Ann G.

Retail, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Use with Extreme Caution

Reviewed 2 years ago

I started a free trial with Avalara and didn't have any issues with their software--I just decided to go with a different service. I couldn't find how to cancel my account in my settings so I messaged their customer support and asked if I needed to cancel or if I could let the time run out on the free subscription. The agent I spoke with stated "Yes, you can let the time run out since it is your free...

Pros

Automation features and variety of platforms that can be synced with Avalara make it appealing.

Cons

The software itself seems well constructed but it wasn't quite what I needed for my business. I contacted customer support before my free trial ended because I couldn't find where to cancel my account and they advised that because it was a free trial, I could let the free trial expire. Once it expired I was still charged for a full year's subscription.

Vendor response

Hi Ann, thanks for taking the time the detail your experience with Avalara. We strive to offer the best service possible for our customers and we are sorry to read about the frustrations you've described with our support team. We also understand how unexpected costs would be upsetting, and we'd like the opportunity to find a solution that works for you. Please email us at customercare@avalara.com so we can look into your case and learn more.

KK
AvatarImg

Kimberly K.

Mining & Metals, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Avalara Cert Capture

Reviewed 6 years ago

The Avalara system has been very beneficial in the tracking and uploading of tax certs for all of our customers. It has also proved to be a very efficient way of pulling certs during audit reviews.

Pros

Uploading tax certs and searching for tax certs within the system is very simple

Cons

This isn't really a con. Currently we have not used the reporting function or the request for information function. It isn't as simple and takes a lot more time from what we have been told. The instructions we received were very detailed and seemed a bit complicated. I will be able to better score this once we have a chance to actually work with it.