App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Lightyear Reviews

Overall rating

4.9

/5

131

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.75/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

Pros and cons

It's made each head of department responsible for their own invoices and the processing of them which is great.
The Lightyear software is very affordable, user friendly and easy to implement. It does have many functionalities and the integration to NetSuite ERP system is very robust.
Cost effective and over all this is great tool that helping organisation to minimize cost with less effort and good record keeping tracker and processing.
Hard code description against suppliers when it is always the same description that needs to be entered.
Using Lightyear eliminates the overhead of a staff member and risk of manual data entry errors.
Cannot delete Gl codes or Suppliers from the system that were imported incorrectly.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


131 reviews

Recommended

YM
AvatarImg

Yasmin M.

Workflow and Operations Manager

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Great AP Software

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Yasmin M.: Hi, my name's Yasmin. I'm a operations manager. I give Lightyear five out of five. For more...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Aidan O.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Accounts Payable made easy

Reviewed 2 years ago

Just Fantastic....great product...great team :-)

Pros

Coming from the paper world of Accounting to Lightyear has transformed the business and the happiness of the staff in the accounting team. The ability for invoices to be automatically coded, digitally stored and approved through an online platform is truly excellent. The implementation team at Lightyear were fantastic, leaving no stone unturned and a special shout out to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] who was instrumental in the process from start to finish. Well done Lightyear team

Cons

There is not much to dislike about this product. When implementing, there was no Purchase Order function however this is now a new feature on Lightyear so very impressed with the speed to get this up and running with more to come :-)

JS
AvatarImg

Jane S.

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This software took away our headaches with accounts payable

Reviewed 3 years ago

We love using Lightyear. It provides a fast, smooth process for auto processing and two-step approval. This saves us time and gives us the control process we need with administration staff checking mapping and accounts along with Directors approving the bill for payment; all before getting exported to Xero. Customer support is helpful and timely , especially during the set-up process.

Pros

Integrates seamlessly and easily with Xero - our accounting software The option for single, double or exec approval process within Lightyear - meaning bills can be directly exported to the payment tab in Xero rather than draft. Ability to file statements within the software - very handy with suppliers that send multiple dkts then ask you to pay on a statement

Cons

Minor wish list item:The archive tab for completed bills would be handier to search if located on the horizontal tab area where reviews, approvals are shown - rather than only accessible from the left-hand menu bar.

SH
AvatarImg

Steven H.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

UEA Big Boss Lightyear experience

Reviewed 6 months ago

Value for money solution

Pros

Ease of use and reduction in time approving invoices

Cons

Lack of interaction with purchase orders

BM
AvatarImg

Brett M.

Mining & Metals, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lightyear has been a game changer!!

Reviewed 3 months ago

Excellent! We have had a wonderful experience and are very thankful to the team for the assistance

Pros

Lightyear has been a critical and very beneficial piece of software for our business. The ease of use combined with the outstanding customer service has meant we were able to build and launch lightyear very quickly and start using it to assist our growing business.

Cons

Hard to pick something we dont like. If anything, search capability can be improved within purchase orders but the team are constantly working and upgrading the software.

AF
AvatarImg

Andy F.

Hospitality, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to implement and works very well

Reviewed 2 years ago

Has helped modernize the way our company processes and stores invoices, hard to envisage the company going back to the way it was before.

Pros

Easy to use and has vastly improved the time to process our payments while providing significantly more oversight for our executive team.

Cons

Integration with existing procedures was very easy but would require the company's accounts/purchasing team to be hands on during the process.

AM
AvatarImg

Alex M.

Hospitality, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Invoice System I have ever used

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very positive.

Pros

- So easy to use - Effortless - Easy to integrate to accounting software - Easy to identify working streams via approval tabs - Easy to find old invoices

Cons

- Nothing ! It is such a good platform. Highly recommend.

ES
AvatarImg

Evette S.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly Recommended - A Cost Effective Solution and Amazing Customer Service

Reviewed 6 months ago

I wish we had moved to Lightyear a long time ago, it's a simple solution to a time consuming process. Customer service has been second to none - from the start of demonstrations to ongoing support (which we rarely use now) the service has been 10/10!

Pros

Complete visibility across supplier invoices either via the dashboard as a quick view or in detail across all stages of approvals. This is especially helpful at the end of the month to see if all invoices have been through the entire approval process and exported to our accounting system before close off. Search functionality is helpful and shows which stage of the process each invoice is at - search...

Cons

Looking forward to enhancements to the mobile app to allow more functionality while on site.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A really good accounts payable software.

Reviewed 6 months ago

I really like how user friendly this software is. It helps me be more productive and I understand it enough now that I can easily introduce interns to it. Being able to integrate with different accounting software is a bonus and a real time saver. I also really enjoy going paperless so my work is accurate and there are no lost documents. I would like for Lightyear to work on the lag when integrating but other than that I would definitely recommend this software.

Pros

I like how user friendly this software is and if I am ever stuck then support is always available. I have been able to save a lot of time and train a few interns with Lightyear. Being able to access old invoices in the online archive is great too. The statement reconciliation process has finally allowed me to go completely paperless which makes my work more accurate.

Cons

At times syncing with Netsuite lags so it takes a bit longer to sync.

CK
AvatarImg

Claire K.

Civic & Social Organization, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Charity Lightyear User

Reviewed 6 months ago

Its been a fantastic experience with high quality customer support and attentive account manager. It was refreshing that they have delivered the product that was sold to us. The fact that there is so much product development and opportunities to feedback means that you feel important as a customer.

Pros

The ease of use is exceptional and has made the implementation easy for our organisation. End users have said how much they love the product and all our admin teams and managers have embraced the change which is fantastic. It means that the finance team now have full visibility of where there are backlogs in invoices being sent in for payment which helps when suppliers have queries. The audit trail and approval listing is fantastic.

Cons

It may have helped to get some more feedback from a similar organisation on how they adapted their processes to fit in with Lightyear but the Lightyear team is very helpful and patient so we got up to speed quickly .

LY
AvatarImg

Lisa Y.

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Lightyear review

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

1) End user friendly. 2)The integrity of the data being exported to the accounting software is great. 3) Very helpful support team, always answer queries quickly.

Cons

Feature enhancement - any supplier cards created in lightyear can be automatically created in the accounting systems.

DB
AvatarImg

Diego B.

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great AP tool for your business

Reviewed 3 years ago

User friendly platform, great support and an outstanding approval options. I recommend Lightyear to all my clients, specially the ones that requires a complex approval process before the bill is imported to the accounting system.

Pros

The approval options definitely is the differential of Lightyear. From a simple 2 steps approval, to up to 3 executive approval, there are many options that can suit the most complex business. Another strong point from Lightyear is their support. You usually gets a response on the same day.

Cons

Their subscription is based on the number of transactions, so if your business manages a large quantity of bills, it might become a bit expensive.

Vendor response

Many thanks for the review. Glad to hear that the approvals are making your life easier.

SW
AvatarImg

Soonah W.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Growth Enabler

Reviewed 3 years ago

Using this program has centralised our accounts payable system. its has allowed us to mazimise growth through the use of a time saving effieciently tool and also offering features that other do not eg approvals, statement mapping, line item, price matching etc

Pros

Streamlined our processes and added features of line mapping, statement mapping, price matching

Cons

that when you log into the app on mobile devise you have to re-enter the password every tiem

Vendor response

Hello Soonah, Many thanks for your review. We are lad to hear about all the other features you are taking advantage of. The issue with logging in everytime to the mobile app should now be resolved and you will stay logged in for longer.

AG
AvatarImg

Andrei G.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Outstanding Product

Reviewed 2 years ago

We've been using LightYear for 8 months now. We process 1200 AP bills per month and have found the software to be easy to use, accurate and bug-free. Initial training and implementation was a breeze and we were up and running in a very short time which was excellent. I highly recommend LightYear!

Pros

Easy to use, easy and fast to implement, seamless integration with Xero, outstanding product support and customer service

Cons

We'd like to be able to integrate LightYear with other tools in our stack which is not yet available however the team have assured me this will become available in the not too distant future

EK
AvatarImg

Erin K.

Hospitality, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lightyears Ahead!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very happy with Lightyear and the efficiencies in processing up to 500 invoices per week in our various businesses. Even when we switched to Microsoft Dynamics (ERP system) Because it is so user friendly I was able to customise the export format with little fuss. Support have always been very helpful, from our migration (Invitbox to Lightyear) and any queries that our team have. We have developed a really good relationship with the team. It continues to work very well for our operations, I wouldn't consider changing and have no hesitations in recommending the product.

Pros

The ease of use. We have varying levels of computer literacy across the group, and I haven't had any complaints or confusion about the product.

Cons

some times the mapping/mapping requests can cause delays in processing. though this would be a problem in any like system.

AC
AvatarImg

Ajai C.

Automotive, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

EXCELLENT SERVICE

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very pleased with level customer service and support

Pros

This software does things that other software could not offer us and was not as user friendly Once the software was set up correctly the we saved 12-20 hours a week

Cons

General I am very happy with Lightyear and no negitives

Vendor response

Many thanks for the review. Great to hear that you are saving so much time every week.

RS
AvatarImg

Rebecca S.

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Stop searching this is the product for you

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have been with them since the start - and I find it exciting to see the new developments, and love the innovation of the team. It has made my workload smaller and aided me in finding invoices that would have long been lost had it not been for lightyear search options.

Pros

The ease of use, and the multi-level permissions. I run three companies using one software.

Cons

every time I find something I don't like customer service solve it within minutes - they have figured workarounds for all the work we complete

Vendor response

Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Great to hear our customer service team is going beyond your expectations.

MJ
AvatarImg

Matt J.

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Accounts Payable - sorted

Reviewed 4 years ago

Been using Lightyear since it launched, and their previous product invitbox before that. Can't believe we processed paper bills for so long.

Pros

This is the simplest software we know. It just works. Chefs approve food bills, Marketing Managers approve marketing bills etc. Data extraction and approvals workflow in one. Plus the price-checker means we don't get overcharged. Love it. Local support. Easy setup. Would highly recommend.

Cons

none to be honest. This does more than anything in market, at a similar price.

Vendor response

Hi Matt. Thank you for the review and great to hear you are enjoying Lightyear

TB
AvatarImg

Timothy B.

Investment Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lightyear is great

Reviewed 3 years ago

Paperless, seamless accounts payable function. Have upgraded bookkeeper role to a commercial accountant making our small team more functional and value adding than administrative

Pros

The ease and simplicity at which it operates. The seamless integration with Xero. The transparency, accountability and control it allows.

Cons

No cons at this stage. There is some initial set up work and testing to be done but the more you use the more efficient it becomes.

Vendor response

Many thanks for the review. Great to hear that you are enjoying using Lightyear.

DM
AvatarImg

DONNA M.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Time Saving

Reviewed 2 years ago

Purchase invoices, time saving

Pros

This is so beneficial for our purchase invoices. Saves so much entry work. Customer service is fast on chat and if need be the issue can be discussed over the phone. Which I find most useful. Customer service always helpful and will fix up the problem via joining your screen if needed

Cons

Credit expiry is not warned when it is coming to an expiry point.

CS
AvatarImg

Chris S.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Systemisation

Reviewed a year ago

time consuming input, inaccuracies in reconciling invoices to statements, avoided double payments, accountability for authorization with clear with a good audit trail

Pros

It took all manual inputting invoices and reconciliation to statements away saving huge amount of time, was 100% accurate taking away human error, provided great audit trail and reporting, clear lines of authorisation of invoces.

Cons

There were no obvious cons that we could see

KK
AvatarImg

Kenneth K.

Accounting, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Accounts Payable Invoice Processing and Approval Software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Excellent support from their support team Very user friendly

Pros

Layered and tiered approval process Simple and easy to use, very user friendly PDF recognition Progressive software company that looks to continue to develop its product

Cons

Speed of software can be improved Can improve on recognition of other file formats

NM
AvatarImg

Nicole M.

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lightyear is fantastic

Reviewed 3 years ago

We love Lightyear. It has made the way we operate so much easier. Team members across NZ & Australia can access invoices to review, code and sign off/approve invoices for payment.

Pros

Saves so much time, easy to use, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Easy to train our Farm Managers to use to code invoices.

Cons

Can't think of anything. We have been really pleased with Lightyear.

Vendor response

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review on Lightyear. Glad to hear you are saving time with coding your invoices.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rebecca S.

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of Work lifesaver

Reviewed a year ago

pleasure

Pros

running my multiple entities and division within the one program

Cons

anything that doesn't work, a simple call to support and they fix it right away or find an alternative solution

CS
AvatarImg

Corey S.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing AP processing and approval software

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been impressed by the time savings and data entry accuracy LY has introduced to our ASX Listed company's AP process.

Pros

- The fact that a given suppliers' invoices are mapped by a human first time round, rather than relying solely on OCR. - The quality of data extraction is high. - The multiple approvals functionality including dual Executive Approval function is very useful.

Cons

I wish invoice descriptions that don't fit on one line would be picked up by the software, rather than truncating the description after the first line.

LL
AvatarImg

Li L.

Food & Beverages, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lightyear

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Reducing the AP process time at least 50%. You are able to see the the line items and the statement can be automatically reconciled. So if there are missing invoices that you can chase them up immediately. The Support team is also wonderful. They response your problems quickly.

Cons

If mapping can be more automatically for any format of invoices will be great.

Vendor response

Hi Li, Many thanks for the feedback, delighted to hear you are enjoying the software. Good news is we have enhancements planned for the data extraction process in 2020. Stay tuned. Chris