This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Lightyear Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Cost effective and over all this is great tool that helping organisation to minimize cost with less effort and good record keeping tracker and processing.

RJ

Ramakrishna J.

It's made each head of department responsible for their own invoices and the processing of them which is great.

YM

Yvette M.

The Lightyear software is very affordable, user friendly and easy to implement. It does have many functionalities and the integration to NetSuite ERP system is very robust.

ME

Mike E.

Cons

Hard code description against suppliers when it is always the same description that needs to be entered.

ML

Melanie L.

Using Lightyear eliminates the overhead of a staff member and risk of manual data entry errors.

Megan R.

Cannot delete Gl codes or Suppliers from the system that were imported incorrectly.

MR

Mandy R.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

103

3

0

0

1

99%
positive reviews
99%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


107 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating

Great AP Software

Reviewed 3 months ago

Transcript

Yasmin M.: Hi, my name's Yasmin. I'm a operations manager. I give Lightyear five out of five. For more...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Systemisation

Reviewed 4 months ago

time consuming input, inaccuracies in reconciling invoices to statements, avoided double payments, accountability for authorization with clear with a good audit trail

Pros

It took all manual inputting invoices and reconciliation to statements away saving huge amount of time, was 100% accurate taking away human error, provided great audit trail and reporting, clear lines of authorisation of invoces.

Cons

There were no obvious cons that we could see

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MITS review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Experience so far has been fantastic. We have had little use, and had to stop during the COVID-19 shut down, but from what we have used so far, we can see this saving our venue managers and well as our finance team lots of time in processing and reconciling supplier accounts.

Pros

The ability to set up different team members to approve invoices, as well as keeping all invoices in one central location, uploaded via suppliers. Integration to Xero is also fantastic.

Cons

The learning curve for new users takes some work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Accounts Payable Invoice Processing and Approval Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent support from their support team Very user friendly

Pros

Layered and tiered approval process Simple and easy to use, very user friendly PDF recognition Progressive software company that looks to continue to develop its product

Cons

Speed of software can be improved Can improve on recognition of other file formats

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lightyear is fantastic

Reviewed 2 years ago

We love Lightyear. It has made the way we operate so much easier. Team members across NZ & Australia can access invoices to review, code and sign off/approve invoices for payment.

Pros

Saves so much time, easy to use, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Easy to train our Farm Managers to use to code invoices.

Cons

Can't think of anything. We have been really pleased with Lightyear.

Vendor response

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review on Lightyear. Glad to hear you are saving time with coding your invoices.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Efficient & Effective

Reviewed a year ago

As a Bookkeeper, lightyear has provided me the ability to take on more clients and efficiently process larger volumes of Purchase Bills through the automatic mapping and coding. For any issues that require troubleshooting, the customer service team are always fantastic and proactive to assist us with rectifying any problems.

Pros

- Duplicate filtering - Xero Intergration - Automated Coding & Mapping - Statement reconciliation - Flagging of GST or amounts that may require reviewing if the coding does not match the PDF

Cons

I would love to see other forms of purchase bills/receipts accepted in future updates

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and efficient

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Its easy to use. Its very clear and the team and customer service are excellent. MIssing invoices are always easy to locate.

Cons

Sometimes I find it difficult to map some of the smaller businesses, but as someone who is not techno savvy this is just a small problem.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lightyear changed our life!!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our previous PI approval process was time consuming and mostly manual, we had to process each invoice several times to update various systems, with Lightyear we have reduced that process to several clicks, plus approvals are now much quicker and we now never lose invoices! The ability to price check regular suppliers invoices automatically has also helped reduce costs by finding suppler mistakes we would have missed previously.

Pros

The best bit of Lightyear is the cloud archive of all our purchase invoices, we no longer have to keep paper archives saving us space and time. We also like the Bill Task function which allows us to send an approval request to a specific person who may only approve a few invoices.

Cons

We would like an integration into simPRO which we use to raise orders, this will reduce the administration involved in managing our PO’s and PI’s.

Vendor response

Many thanks for your review and feedback. We have some exciting developments regarding PO's in the future. We are always exploring new integrations and I will pass this back to the product team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic AP automation product

Reviewed 2 years ago

A great success - Lightyear have a very supportive and customer focussed team and their product has allowed us to achieve so much efficiency and accuracy in our AP process. Highly recommended.

Pros

The best feature is the direct integration with our Oracle NetSuite which has enable the team to save a lot of time printing, posting, and filing paper invoices.

Cons

Nothing of note - integration was a success and really well supported by the Lightyear team, and they also support closely with any queries as we use the software on a daily basis.

Vendor response

Many thanks for reviewing us. We will pass along your praise to the support team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Data processing efficiencies

Reviewed 10 months ago

Tech assist is readily available and most helpful

Pros

The mapping that allows for pre population of data. This saves considerable time and adds a level of accuracy to the data process.

Cons

Iam finding it difficult to pin down any feature I don't like !

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My experience with Lightyear

Reviewed 2 years ago

I’m absolutely satisfied with Lightyear.

Pros

Very much user friendly, well programmed and mostly importantly very secured.

Cons

Nothing yet that I have experienced any bad so far.

Vendor response

Many thanks for the review. Glad to hear you are finding the product to be user-friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Prompt response

Reviewed 10 months ago

the software every now and then gets updated with new feature - but most importantly the customer service is brilliant. They always respond and resolve any queries so promptly that it doesnt disrupt your workflow.

Pros

It is very user friendly option of mapping is brilliant

Cons

There should be more features on the processing tab to save the invoice there. Should have more option to customize mapping

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lightyear

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Reducing the AP process time at least 50%. You are able to see the the line items and the statement can be automatically reconciled. So if there are missing invoices that you can chase them up immediately. The Support team is also wonderful. They response your problems quickly.

Cons

If mapping can be more automatically for any format of invoices will be great.

Vendor response

Hi Li, Many thanks for the feedback, delighted to hear you are enjoying the software. Good news is we have enhancements planned for the data extraction process in 2020. Stay tuned. Chris

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 2 years ago

Really positive, very helpful support team and great product.

Pros

This is the only product I've been able to find where it can map what's on an invoice and has an approval process built-in. Also no requirement to have PO's which a lot of similar products use.

Cons

At first, I couldn't work out how to use it but after a quick demo, it was very easy to use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing AP processing and approval software

Reviewed 10 months ago

I have been impressed by the time savings and data entry accuracy LY has introduced to our ASX Listed company's AP process.

Pros

- The fact that a given suppliers' invoices are mapped by a human first time round, rather than relying solely on OCR. - The quality of data extraction is high. - The multiple approvals functionality including dual Executive Approval function is very useful.

Cons

I wish invoice descriptions that don't fit on one line would be picked up by the software, rather than truncating the description after the first line.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Happy would recommend

Reviewed 3 months ago

highly recommend saves time money and accuracy

Pros

the ease of processing prevention of invoice duplication importing to software with full description details

Cons

there not really anything I did not like

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent product for accounts payable!

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Extremely user-friendly; easy to setup, integrate, implement and maintain. Loved the customer service we received!

Cons

Nothing as such, its a good platform, easy to integrate.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Processing heaps of invoices?? Lightyear will make lightwork of it!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I cant really recommend lightyear enough. It's easy to set up and just does what its meant to ... saves you time and money.

Pros

As we are a small team i have always been on the look out for software that will save us time. Looking at our processes, accounts payable and data entry was the biggest time suck for our business. A friend put me onto lightyear and we've never looked back. All my invoices get broken down and sucked into Xero in seconds. Every price is checked automatically and compared to the set LUC. I have cut down our invoice processing time by much more than half using this little gem of an app.

Cons

Cons: Being so impressed with Lightyear, that it has made me want to tell the world about it via this Capterra review....5 minutes of my life i'll never get back.

Vendor response

Many thanks for the review. Great to hear that you are saving 50% of your time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Save time and improve accountability

Reviewed a year ago

The support staff at Lightyear are helpful and speak my language.

Pros

Clear and simple workflows allows for correct coding and ensures managers have transparency and accountability around their purchases.

Cons

Being able to integrate inventory into myob would be handy but the flexibility of lightyear means we have a simple workaround.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing Support

Reviewed 2 years ago

Absolutely amazing customer support!! Very easy to use and saves so much time, which therefore saves money!

Pros

The mapping of the invoices is amazing! The support that comes with lightyear is the best customer support I have received, instant helpful support. Issues resolved quickly and efficiently every time.

Cons

We are just waiting for the PO functionality to be available to help better our processes, the only thing I least like about lightyear is that its not available yet.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lightyear

Reviewed a year ago

Makes the workload easier to handle , so much quicker turnaround getting Invoices approved etc everything is on Lightyear that everyone needs to see , no more searching through files for Invoices , brilliant system to use and the staff are all really friendly and helpful , queries are always solved very quick at the other end of the phone or online .

Pros

Very easy to use and cuts down totally on paperwork

Cons

Still a work in progress for raising PO's etc but wouldn't say this is a fault as the system is constantly getting upgraded

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

RJC Review to Lightyear

Reviewed 2 years ago

As above, we have freed up so much time for our Bookkeeper and eliminated the human error.

Pros

The ease of use and that fact that it is so easy to navigate your way through the system. The reporting is first class as lightyear sorts all invoices for you into their correct category and account.

Cons

The obvious is the set up process, very timely. But hey once complete correct the first time, life is so much easier and quicker to compile your invoicing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great AP Software

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

Easy to use and great for automating your AP process

Cons

Minimal issues, hard to complain about such a good software!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

LIghtyear Review

Reviewed 7 months ago

Once everyone was trained it was easier for all managers to use

Pros

Easy access for all managers to view and approve invoices. Less paper as the Tax Invoices are saved in the program

Cons

Cannot delete Gl codes or Suppliers from the system that were imported incorrectly

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent End to End Accounts Payable management

Reviewed 2 years ago

Easy, excellent

Pros

Ease of use, excellent customer service, ability to have multiple levels of authorisation

Cons

Not much - if I have to make a comment it is that the actual invoice does not flow through to MYOB, however I understand that this is an MYOB issue

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Has come a long way

Reviewed 2 years ago

Massive reduction in the time taken to process invoices each week. Reducing the role from a team to a single approval person before going to the accountant

Pros

Great features with a good balance of intelligent software and learning systems to give the most reliable and dependable invoice processing software available

Cons

Nothing since they build in OCR scanning and auto detection!

Vendor response

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Great to hear how you are saving time with the approvals workflow.