Patriot Payroll Reviews

Patriot Payroll Reviews

Patriot Payroll

Online payroll software

4.81/5 (540 reviews)
1,254     2,827

Faith Cole

Best value!

18/03/2017

Pros

Ease of use. Easy setup. Great customer service. You can't beat the price. With ADP and Paychex costing 2-3 times more, this is truly the way to go.

Cons

I've been using Patriot Software since the beginning of the year. I have not found any cons as of yet.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
William Rowland

What a life saver

16/03/2017

Even with the check printing challenges, I love the service. Nothing is perfect. We have been with Patriot for over a year now and our experience has been very consistent. We moved from another payroll service that cost about the same but did far less and had issues several times a year. I feel Patriot Software is fair. Most of the time when companies of multi service options as "piece meal" solution, the company does this in order to maximize the appearance of low cost. With Patriot, it is not the case, in my opinion it is to allow business owners to pick what their company needs.

Pros

Easy to use web interface and good help functions if you need them. Quick service if you have questions with their chat help feature. Very knowledgeable staff every time I have spoken to them. Patriot offers many options to pick from in order to meet each business needs. System just works without issues. If you choose, they will file all of your forms for you and I think it is well worth it. The employee portal is a great tool that allows employees to access their information at any time without using any man hours.

Cons

The printing of checks is the biggest issue we have found. It does print well once you setup. Printer setup is a bit challenging. The second part of the check printing issue is when you print on check voucher laser checks, no matter how you setup, it really does not print info in the right areas. Also unsure why you have to enter a check number on the "print payroll" page in order to download the file to print check with. Check numbers are already printed on the checks.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Pat Brown

Easy Set Up

15/03/2017

Pros

Easy set up for the accounts, customer service was vey helpful and guided me thru the process. I would recommend

Cons

Tax set up was a pain in the neck. I also didn't like how long it took for the test deposits to come into the acoount

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robert Isom

Great value for small business

15/03/2017

Patriot software is extremely easy to setup and use. I would recommend it to any small business owner that needs accounting or payroll software

Pros

Value Easy-to-use Customer service

Cons

None

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Patriot Payroll

Buy it

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Diana  Morado

New to Patriot Software

15/03/2017

I am new to Patriot Software. As soon as I signed up, I received a welcome phone. The software is easy to use and to navigate, includes these instructional videos that help setting up.. etc. I just had difficulty with the pre printed checks, for some reason the sample test print was not matching the adjustments I would make , other than that everything is great!

Pros

the instructional videos.

Cons

N/A

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Patriot Payroll

easy to read and use. great for small business use.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kate Lister

End your payroll nightmare!

13/03/2017

I've struggled to find a reliable, inexpensive, and easy payroll service for our 1 person payroll. Of all three, I'd be happy with just easy. Finally, we found Patriot and got all three. Best of all, their customer service is outstanding! The people are friendly, knowledgeable, and eager to help solve any problem. While our current needs are tiny, I have run businesses with much larger payrolls in the past and wish I'd known about Patriot then.

Pros

Great customer service (really great) Easy interface Exports to Quickbooks

Cons

Does not support Worker's Compensation accounting

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Seeley

Easy Payroll for small business!

11/03/2017

Simple to use with no previous experience. Great support.

Pros

Easily calculates payroll taxes for state and federal.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
stephanie mottard

easy and cost effective

09/03/2017

I really love that I can sit down at home and run my payroll in minutes. I am a small business owner with two employees, the cost of payroll was a killer. This is so much more affordable and all my needs are met.

Pros

inexpensive

Cons

none that I have found

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Donnie Morris

Slick software.

09/03/2017

Thanks for the great software. I could not be happier with Patriot Software. Setup was a breeze.

Pros

Easy setup. Comprehensive. Great Value

Cons

Nothing Ive seen yet.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
carolyn  currin

Carolyn Currin owner/manger

09/03/2017

I had been looking for the right fit for my small business. Patriot was something that jump out at me as the price was reasonable and was not trying to sell me anything that I really did not need. I like it so far. I only signed up for the basic as I like to do things my way.

Pros

I like that you give the business owner or manager the option to input your own information and print out your own payroll with out charging an arm and leg. Being a small company I only have two employees and it was just the right fit for my company

Cons

I have not found any thing that I did not like as yet. I just started, but so far its great

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Hedden

Just buy it and don't think about it

08/03/2017

They made it so easy for me to set up. I was so overwhelmed about payroll. After I found Patriot was the best bargain, I started setting it up immediately! They even called me while I was setting it up to make sure I didn't have any questions!!

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

Couldn't help with 2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Patriot Payroll

Just buy it!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephanie Badger

Chose Patriot

08/03/2017

I like that Patriot Software is very user friendly! The site isn't cluttered. The payroll reports are easily downloaded. I did a lot of price comparing before choosing Patriot! They are very reasonable and without the headaches of Quickbooks!

Pros

I like that Patriot Software is very user friendly! The site isn't cluttered. The payroll reports are easily downloaded. I did a lot of price comparing before choosing Patriot! They are very reasonable and without the headaches of Quickbooks!

Cons

If I had to think of a con, it would be that if I'm in the middle of entering a payroll and I realize I need to make a change to an employee's information, I need to cancel the whole payroll or wait till next time. I understand the reasoning, so this complaint is more directed at the user!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Patriot Payroll

I'm so glad I made the choice of Patriot for our payroll! It has made my job a lot easier!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stacy Shelton

Patriot Software has been easy to use and the c/s is super helpful.

07/03/2017

Pros

Patriot Software is very easy to navigate and to change when I realized I need more support. Chat option has been very responsive.

Cons

I am a new business owner. I feel like the few struggles I have had were self inflicted. I am not awesome at reading directions.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Thuy Tran-Saboe

Very affordable and the best customer service!

07/03/2017

Patriot's client services are affordable. The portal are user friendly. They have outstanding customer support. Client can currently view the pricing package offered. This is not ideal since I do not want my client to see how much I'm paying for the reseller package. Patriot is working on removing this. I'm very happy that I chose to partner with Patriot to provide payroll services to my client. They have been outstanding in answering all my questions and providing prompt responses and assistance in setting up clients.

Pros

Patriot's client services are affordable. The portal are user friendly. They have outstanding customer support.

Cons

Client can currently view the pricing package offered. This is not ideal since I do not want my client to see how much I'm paying for the reseller package. Patriot is working on removing this.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Daniel Greenberg

Thumbs Up!

06/03/2017

Couldn't have been easier to get up and running given the great customer service. It is very easy to use, and a tremendous value.

Pros

ease of use

Cons

nothing

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Patriot Payroll

get it

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Janelle  Proulx

Easy to use and great price

06/03/2017

We are a small business with only two employees so finding an affordable payroll solution was our biggest consideration. A lot of other payroll companies had bells and whistles that we didn't need. Patriot's customer support helped us get set-up quickly since we'd never used a payroll software before and being able to try it for 30 days for free made starting with them not feel overwhelming. The peace of mind knowing that our taxes are being paid on time and the convenience of direct deposit have made payroll feel easy.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joe Huya

Payroll Software

03/03/2017

We reviewed several software payroll options on the internet, and found Patriot Payroll to be a good fit for our small business. It is affordable, and easy to use, once the system is set up. I can process payroll weekly in less than 5 minutes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Senen Fontanilla

President

03/03/2017

Pros

Very easy to use even for a non-accounting person. The reports are very easy to understand and generate.

Cons

Can't think of any cons at this time. I have seen other companies reports that I like but Patriots' reports are ok/

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
William Sobol

Great For Small Business Payroll

03/03/2017

I own a small construction business and being able to add and remove employees quickly and easily while also being able to print my own payrolls on my own time is a great addition to my company. The customer support was also very helpful, polite, and easily reachable through email or by phone.

Pros

Easy to add or remove employees Nice to print my own payroll on my own time Helpful customer support

Cons

Some of the information on the site is difficult to find

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
raymond kharineh

never going back

01/03/2017

i had used other payroll services before coming to patriot software and i will never go back. the software is easy to use and convenient

Pros

convenient and easy to use, helpful customer service agents ready to assist

Cons

can only print check stubs, have to purchase checks with info

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Henry Bolton

Payroll made easy

01/03/2017

Love Patriot Payroll. I own a one-employee company and payroll has never been easier - or cheaper!

Pros

Ease of use and low cost.

Cons

Haven't found any yet.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jaylin Allen

Great Value for Payroll

01/03/2017

This software does what you need it to do. I appreciate the simplicity and the value. I have the version that submits all my federal paperwork - more peace of mind.

Pros

This software does what you need it to do. I appreciate the simplicity and the value. I have the version that submits all my federal paperwork - more peace of mind.

Cons

It is slightly less user friendly than the previous software I was using, Gusto and it doesn't offer automatic payroll which I do miss. However, for a single employee corporation, I appreciate this low cost and effective way to run my payroll.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jie Ruan

easy to use

01/03/2017

its new to me, i like to try one or two month.wait the first quarter end file 941

Pros

this software has very simple features for your payroll, once you set up all the information, it start work easily

Cons

I have difficulty when I first try to fill and set up company's information, and there has few questions you can not get around to get answer

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Yevgeniya Veverka

Great payroll software with the small business in mind

28/02/2017

I have loved everything about Patriot Payroll for my small business of just one employee.

Pros

Cost: very reasonable for a small business Tax filing and emailed receipts Very intuitive

Cons

N/A

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jennifer Davis

Primitive Parlor

28/02/2017

Absolutely the best and easiest software I've ever used! Even my Accountant reassured me it was a great system!

Pros

Easy and efficient

Cons

Really don't have any

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Patriot Payroll

No

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more

Customer testimonials for Patriot Payroll

The following testimonials have been provided by Patriot Software, Inc.

“In small business, we are told you get what you pay for. That is a lie. I am getting way more than I could have dreamed. I am absolutely amazed. The software is easily half the cost of any other option out there. It is absolutely unreal. Your service has continually blown me away. I wish everything in life was as easy to get started and get help with.”

Antonio Gonclaves

I highly recommend Patriot Software to any business! Starting up was very easy with knowledgeable people at Patriot. Anytime I ever called in with questions, support was so helpful and very friendly. Definitely a 5-star plus!”

Jennifer Miller

Patriot Software was a godsend. The software price point is right where we need it. The software has all the tools we need for a small business instead of hiring an outside company to take care of our administrative purposes. The software package was easy to learn and teach to our new employees. Our employees can login and access their own present/past paychecks. If needed, I have the option to override anything I see fit. I have already recommended Patriot Software. I cannot say enough good things about it!”

Lyman Schimming

Patriot is a great piece of software. The whole system is very easy. I have used Quickbooks in the past and that was a nightmare. You guys are extremely helpful with any questions that I have. I have recommended you guys.

Eric Feldman

Great software that is easy to use with great customer support. I have used payroll software with other companies in the past, and it’s been a nightmare waiting on hold and not reaching a knowledgeable person. With Patriot, you get quick, expert support every time. I have already recommended you guys

Tie Smith