This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Greenshades

Cloud-based, employee-focused, payroll and HR software.

visit website

Greenshades Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

In fact, they are one of our best and most responsive corporate partners and business developers. They are professional and always responsive and available to help.

GS

Gary S.

The tax software is also good and very easy to use. Payroll Inspector is very nice in that it will determine the correct local taxes for employees.

SR

Sheila R.

It has definitely gotten better over the years. Very happy with everything now.

LH

Lisa H.

Cons

On the Political Subdivision under the employee tab, the drop down is very large.

LH

Lisa H.

The portal / website is a bit confusing because the steps are not very clear when revisiting the website. I didn't know that some steps did not need updating before completing submission.

MJ

Maria J.

When calling into customer service, it is difficult to work my way up to an "expert" who can fix an issue that takes more knowledge than the front line person has.

RR

Ruth R.

Overall rating

4.4

5

4

3

2

1

10

8

1

1

0

90%
positive reviews
90%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


20 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 3 months ago

It has been good.

Pros

This software is much less expensive than any other product I have reviewed. For the price, it is easy to use and I like that the information entered in the Greenshades software carries over to our payroll system entry for entry instead of a general "dump" of information on the accounting side.

Cons

When calling into customer service, it is difficult to work my way up to an "expert" who can fix an issue that takes more knowledge than the front line person has. It would be nice to have a dedicated customer service person that I could talk to each time I have an issue instead of calling in and a random person helping me. When this happens I have to explain each time how our benefits are set up. If I had a dedicated person that I could call who only dealt with a specific number of companies, they would more easily and quickly understand the issue I am having instead of me spending 10 minutes or more explaining what I need.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A Helpful and Welcome Tool

Reviewed 4 months ago

We have really enjoyed working with Greenshades. In fact, they are one of our best and most responsive corporate partners and business developers. They are professional and always responsive and available to help.

Pros

We are using Greenshades along with our Microsoft Dynamics SL accounting package to provide online access for employees to their paystubs and W2's among other uses (we process an in-house payroll). The system is customizable and the support team is accessible and eager to help. Though the system was originally built for MS Dynamics GP, Greenshades has also customized the system to work in a variety of ways with SL. For what the software provides, it is a good value!

Cons

Since the software is not made primarily for Dynamics SL, at times it can be frustrating to make things work perfectly. However, although the support team is very helpful, there are some limitations that may not satisfy all users. Overall all though, the pros outweigh the cons!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Mid-Size Payroll Service using for Tax Purposes

Reviewed 4 months ago

We have over 7000 W-2's that we process, so it is good to have as an information gather. However, we must go over the information closely, for it is incorrect in some ways.

Pros

The software is quite easily to use and information can be manipulated.

Cons

The software does not communicate well with our payroll software (Darwin 16). It doesn't pull the correct information and since the techs with Greenshades don't know much about Darwin they state they can't fix it. Also we are using the software in Alabama mostly and the software is not even capable of creating an upload file with our state.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Reliable software to Interface with Great Plains

Reviewed 4 months ago

We are solving Payroll inquiries by no longer having to accept requests for documentation when the employee can access past records by using the portal. We have elliminted 90% of the time required to administer garnishments.

Pros

Provides support for administering 1,000's of annual garnishments. Utilizing the Employee Portal for all payroll wage statements and W-2's.

Cons

It took a long time to implement and set up as promoted. Volume of garnishments was 100 times greater than Greenshades said the software was designed to accomodate. Proper implementation took many months and calls with Greenshades programmers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Payroll Reporting

Reviewed 2 months ago

The technical supports are great and reachable. Most of the problems are solved within reasonable time.

Pros

Since we started using the software, we don't have to issue check stubs to employee anymore. Our year end distribution of W2 to employees and the reporting process to authorities were smooth and finished on timely manner.

Cons

the widow for submission of W2 with a staggering increase in price - this need to be modified to lesser increase in cost or longer period. instead of having 5 different pricing level, reduce it to 3 maybe with a slightly longer window.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Basic Greenshades use

Reviewed 2 months ago

Working with this company overall has been a positive experience. I would recommend the software to small companies however I haven't used a lot of the other products.

Pros

The software is super easy to use. I only use the basic time keeping module and W-2 printing/reporting. Anytime I call support they are helpful and always follow up with me if they don't have answers.

Cons

Greenshades was very difficult to deploy in 2013. I felt like the company grew so fast it couldn't keep up. IT seemd when the company moved to the cloud, there was a few bumps. We are a 24/7 operation so the down time for upgrades or maintenance cause our team some issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

May2021 Greenshades

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Timesheets have been a success for our administrative staff and are easy to use and import into Dynamics GP. The payroll tax module has been a great tool for reviewing and filing our quarterly and annual taxes. Integration of the software was simple. Love that customer service is part of the package.

Cons

Hoping for a smoother transition to add online W2's for our employees as we looked into this last year and seemed like a lot of work so we did not add this option. Also to allow our employee's to see more than just one or two years of W2's without needing to purchase an extra plan.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Greenshades Software Review

Reviewed 4 months ago

The main issues I have had with Greenshades is sometimes the payroll inspector will make suggestions that are incorrect. I have to send over the rulings to Greenshades to get them to update the data.

Pros

I like the year end feature for the ease of use. The tax software is also good and very easy to use. Payroll Inspector is very nice in that it will determine the correct local taxes for employees.

Cons

I feel that the reporting is lacking and I would like more ability to modify and customize reports that are not available in our payroll system, but could be built as adhoc reports in Greenshades.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

1099 PROCESS NEVER BEEN EASIER

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

The software gives a peace of mind. It is very user friendly, and it simplifies the entire 1099 process at year end. You drop your company vendor information on a Template and upload to their site. After uploading your company’s vendor information, Greenshades Software reviews your vendor information, and they flag any potential error or errors so you're able to correct before you hit the button to send to IRS. Not only that, but they will also mail and transmit 1099 file to IRS for you. Can you say stress free?

Cons

Hmmm, sorry, I cannot think of anything now .

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Keeps me on track

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Greenshades is very easy to use to submit quarterly and annual tax returns, and I really appreciate the daily reminder emails within the week that the tax returns are due. I also appreciate being able to complete the Federal I-9 forms online with Greenshades.

Cons

I wish that it supported a few more of the local taxes/fees that we encounter in certain states. Even though the returns for these are fairly simple for the few employees we have in the affected states, it would be nice to be able to process them like we do the other taxes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good Products

Reviewed 4 months ago

We have been using Greenshades for a long time and the ease of use along with additional functions have been great.

Pros

The original price was attractive and the ease of use.

Cons

The original set up was a challenge to finalize.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Greenshades review

Reviewed 4 months ago

Tax reporting/filing is easier with Greenshades, our employees enjoy being able to view their check and print them themselves.

Pros

Easy to use, customer service is prompt, patient and knowledgeable.

Cons

Some of the reports could be more user friendly and customizable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GS Review

Reviewed 4 months ago

It has definitely gotten better over the years. Very happy with everything now!!

Pros

The ease of maneuvering in and out of the tabs and screens

Cons

On the Political Subdivision under the employee tab, the drop down is very large. Wish we could type in a few letters that narrows the search down instead of having to scroll.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Greenshades Review for 2020

Reviewed 4 months ago

I always enjoyed the ease of use and when I had to contact Greenshades for assistance, they were always very knowledgeable and friendly and followed up after the initial contact.

Pros

I always thought it was very user friendly and contained pertinent information that every employee would find helpful. I especially liked having our PTO balances on the paystub.

Cons

It seemed to hard to set up for some employees but once it was set up it was very easy to use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

1099 Submission

Reviewed 3 months ago

Greenshades is a very convenient tool in submitting 1099s to the IRS. Technical support returns my emails / calls whenever I need assistance with a short wait period.

Pros

It is convenient for filing 1099 for contract workers without having to do paperwork.

Cons

The portal / website is a bit confusing because the steps are not very clear when revisiting the website. I didn't know that some steps did not need updating before completing submission.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

1099 User

Reviewed 4 months ago

Before 1099 NEC form, I would have highly recommended Greenshades but would like to see 1099 NEC also be able to upload to IRS

Pros

1099 distribution to vendors and upload to IRS

Cons

Could not upload 1099 NEC to IRS using Greenshades

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simply a Great Product

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

While we don't use all of the Greenshades modules that are available, we rely on it for our 1099 reporting and IRS filing. It is simply an easy to use, life saver around tax time. We've have never had a problem installing it, using it, and have come to rely on it for our filings. Their support staff is very responsive and instructive .I would hate to think what our filings would be like without it!

Cons

I can't think of any: we've been using the product for several years now and have never had a problem with it. It is the one third-party software package that I worry about the least.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

AGM

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Easy to use and checks and balances with our billing software.

Cons

Issues with emails to employees regarding paystub.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

My trip with Greenshades online

Reviewed 5 years ago

More glitches than expected but information was accurate and product performed as promised. Integration left much to be desired but price was excellent

Pros

Price was right core delivery was accurate

Cons

As long as integrations aren't needed it's a solid product

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Greenshade User

Reviewed 4 months ago

Poor. Very limited. We had to move to a more complex system

Pros

It was ok system. The webpage is easy to get around on.

Cons

This package is very lacking compared to others. Customer service is non-existent