Carbonite Reviews

Carbonite Reviews

Carbonite

Internet based backup solution

4.27/5 (11 reviews)
68,021     15,862

Robin  Stearn

Much easier to use than Norton back up

27/02/2017

In our office, Norton's backup system had been in place for a long time. While it seems to do the job, it became more and more cumbersome to use, having to delete old backups and make room for new ones. Our bookkeeper recommended Carbonite and it was a very seamless transition. It was easy to install, very easy to see which files were backedvup, and very easy to add files to be backed up. There are no file space limitations, and when a file is backed, it writesvover the old version, so there are not multiple copies of back ups floating around. For basic service, which is plenty for a small office, it made perfect sense and we are so glad we switched products!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Doug Chinneryu

Good for Windows but couldn't make it work on a Mac

20/02/2017

I have been using Carbonite on my Windows machine for almost a decade. It's easy to use, cheap, and their customer service is excellent. I've never waited any more than a minute or two for a chat session and they use a really easy remote login client that saves a ton of time. I thought I'd try it on my wife's Mac and 3 frustrating days later I pulled the plug and cancelled the subscription. I chatted with 4 different reps over 5 sessions and no one could get it to work any longer than 15 or 20 minutes. That aside, I have no hesitation in recommending it for any Windows installation.

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

Won't work on mac

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Carpenter

Carbonite - Rock Solid Solution

25/01/2017

Carbonite's backup retention system has been a huge part of our company. From server backups to individual laptops, the information saved has allowed the IT dept to reformat end user laptops, pull down data and rollout new machines in a matter of hours, not days. The file retention all keeps us in compliance and with great uptimes and failover servers, Carbonite has thought of it all!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark Zoril

Very happy with this backup service

08/12/2016

I have been using Carbonite for 2 plus years and have been very happy with it. Have not had any issues at all in getting going with it and is runs on its own.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kim Teed

Peace of Mind

05/12/2016

We have used Carbonite for at least 10 years. It has saved us more than once in the case of hard drive failures. It is easy to configure. They now offer multiple plans and help you decide which one will best serve our needs. I gave the features and functionality 4 stars because it occasionally does not connect to their server and it waits 7 days to tell you it hasn't backed up a particular computer. We now are in the habit of checking for backup daily. Compared to other backup methods we have used in the past such as tape drives or rewritable cd's or cassettes, this is far superior. I used to worry about having our data in the cloud, but times are changing, and they have some tough encryption.

Pros

Ease of use. Tough encryption. Competent support staff, real people to talk to.

Cons

The 7-day delay in notification of failure to back-up.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Carbonite

Better safe than sorry.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sharla Winfrey

Fast and Easy

05/12/2016

I have been using Carbonite for the last 5 years and have experienced zero issues. Although I have not had to reinstall onto a computer. It backs up my data like a charm. NO complaints.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Yechiel Leiter

Good, easy to use

17/11/2016

On the operational level I found nothing whatsoever to fault this program for. It is unobstrusive, running in the background, and when I needed to recover a dead laptop's data or earlier file versions it worked. Couldn't ask for more. When I needed customer support the responses were fast and useful.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ron Hill

Inconsistant back ups for some reason. It used to be automatic

17/11/2016

Not certain when my last back up was. A bit worrisome. Alway need to ask our son to assist with support. Wothwhile product, just not sure why it has to be so complicated to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jacob Hill

Good experience with Home version, poor experience with Business version

03/11/2016

I purchased two separate licenses at the same time. One was for my home and another for my business. I have been satisfied with the home version, but ended up cancelling my business license after a year. I just kept getting error after error. Each time I called customer support, they had me uninstall then reinstall the software. It never fixed the problem. Eventually, I gave up calling customer support because they didn't try anything new. I don't really know that the difference is between the two, but I had nothing but trouble with the version installed on my work server. The home version, on the other hand, has worked great. It runs quietly in the background. I gave my parents a license for Christmas one year, and they have enjoyed the piece of mind knowing their files are being backed up.

Pros

The home version works great. I like the ability to access my files remotely from any computer with internet connection.

Cons

When running, this Carbonite slows down my computer a little. However, I understand this is a problem with all cloud based backup storage.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Vanessa Naja

Verified Reviewer

Easy and Convenient

17/09/2015

I use Carbonite to back up my computer, my phone and my tablet. It does it automatically every 24 hours and I never have to worry about losing my work, videos, music or photos. It also awesome because I can access all of my files on any of my devices from my phone, which is super convenient. Their prices are very reasonable and the service is completely reliable. I have been using the service for 4 years now and have never had any kinds of problems with it. Always reliable, always fast. I highly recommend Carbonite to anyone that needs easy backup and restore service without having to do a thing.

Pros

Fast, easy to use, reliable, can access all info from all devices

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nicole Lux-Ritchie

Verified Reviewer

06/01/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Read more