Datadog Reviews

Datadog Reviews

Datadog

Monitoring Service for IT

4.86/5 (21 reviews)
477     11,839

Filip Tepper

A vital part of our infrastructure

13/02/2017

Datadog brings a whole new level to visibility of our infrastructure. It definitely has a learning curve but it's definitely worth it. Our incident response has become much less of a hassle. Tried AWS, Kafka, Cassandra, Zookeeper and Docker integrations - all are great starting points for building something custom.

Pros

Easy setup, numerous integrations, "just works".

Cons

Not very mobile friendly, some learning curve.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kevin Van Heusen

Great view of our server environment

08/02/2017

Datadog has great support for a variety of different third party systems - Windows machines, linux machines, AWS instances, pretty much anything you can imagine. You can easily slice and dice stats on a good looking dashboard. Provides a good one stop view of your environment.

Pros

Datadog's Windows support is great, the Windows agent supports detailed IIS and MSSQL statistics. Their RabbitMQ support is good as well - providing good insight into queues. Customizable dashboards are very handy as well.

Cons

The User interface generally is good but in some instances can be a bit too technical to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Datadog

They have great customer support if you get stuck on something!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Maheshwar reddy

really good

06/02/2017

Datadog is a great application for very specific uses - To me, it feels like it was made to monitor AWS and AWS only not Azure. But it actually can monitor Azure and docker and chef as well but I still feel like Azure was an afterthought.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matthew Kerfoot

80 out of 100

16/01/2017

Data dogs is a great application for very specific uses - To me it feels like it was made to monitor AWS and AWS only not Azure. But it actually can monitor Azure and docker and chef as well but I still feel like Azure was an afterthought.

Pros

The AWS monitoring is top notch

Cons

Azure monitoring needs to play some catch-up, this is a monitoring platform made for a developer IMHO.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Recommendations to others considering Datadog

I feel . . . this is built for a backend developer to monitor the smallest little things, for Windows Server monitoring I would push you toward LogicMonitor which is what I ended up choosing!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sky Lukas

Verified Reviewer

DataDog - App and System Monitoring

04/03/2016

We recently flipped from using an older SNMP based monitoring system and couldn't be happier. From the initial install during our trial I was smitten. It was everything I would want in an application and system monitoring system all wrapped up in a beautiful API.

Pros

Easy... seriously dummy proof. Robust - So many integration's and easy write your own plugins. Solid API with great documentation. It's StatsD and Graphite, at the push of a button.

Cons

Somewhat expensive. Doesn't have an integration with every single application? I actually have to do some work... That's all I can think of....

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
6 of 6 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Milan Stanojevic

Verified Reviewer

It's amazing

16/12/2015

We're using Datadog to monitor our many servers and various types of services, which has always been a hassle. Datadog allows us to quickly see health of our entire system, quick and reliant alerts for our custom criteria which target only the people in the team that need to see and react accordingly. It's been a breeze to setup and tweak.

Pros

Easy setup, easy to use, great customer support, quite an eye candy.

Cons

No significant cons, though I'd like to be able to monitor RDS health without integrating to the entire AWS.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
7 of 7 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Faisal Shaikh

Verified Reviewer

Excellent product and excellent customer support

27/10/2015

Datadog takes away a lot of overhead in maintaining monitoring infrastructure. This allows us to focus resources on our core services. It was quick to trial and proved useful during our load tests and performance tuning excercise.

Pros

Fantastically easy to setup and install. Works well with automation tools like Ansible to get it installed on a fleet of servers. Customer support is second to none!

Cons

Have to be a bit careful about AWS EC2 integrations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
7 of 7 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bilal Aslam

Verified Reviewer

Superb monitoring, done right

08/09/2015

We compared a lot of monitoring options to DataDog. Nothing comes close! Beautiful, high-performance UI. Lots of integrations with everything under the sun. And a team that knows how to listen. Highly recommended!

Pros

- Lots of integrations - High-performance UI - Team-centric with Slack integrations, @mentions etc.

Cons

- A little pricey :) - I want to send my logs here too!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
6 of 6 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Christian Roy

Verified Reviewer

Fantastic for Monitoring

04/09/2015

Datadog has been very helpful when we get a lot of traffic. We get a global glance of our infrastructure's health from a few dashboard and detailed information about specific aspect when needed. It integrates so well with Amazon Web Services and all sorts of software, it's very easy to set up and get started quickly. Whenever I have a question, the customer service is fast and knowledgeable. I recommend Datadog for any type of business or organizations.

Pros

Customer Service, Integration, Easy to use, Easy to configure

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Eric B. Lubow

Verified Reviewer

Monitoring Made Simple

23/07/2014

After setting up Datadog, the value was immediately apparent. The instrumentation provided out of the box changed hours of troubleshooting to find the source of a problem in to minutes. While it used to take days or weeks to set up instrumentation, Datadog provides tools that make setup and installation simple. We use Chef at SimpleReach and in about 10 minutes, I had Datadog monitoring everything in the infrastructure. Spent a few minutes creating alerts for application metrics and turned what used to be a few weeks of work into a few hours. Coming from a systems administration background, I can't say enough good things about Datadog.

Pros

Easy setup. Wide range of integrations with common applications. Easy to create custom graphs and metrics on the fly.

Cons

If you don't already have your applications instrumented with statsd, then it can a little catching up. Also, their default set of metrics limits you to 100 metrics per server (which can be changed easily).

Source: GetApp
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Doug Daniels

Verified Reviewer

Get DataDog

08/07/2014

We've been customers of DataDog for over two years. In short, they're fantastic and I recommend them to everyone. You can setup monitoring on your servers in 5 minutes, and integration with your app via statsd is simple too. We use both the screenboards and dashboards to see what's going on across our servers and apps in realtime, with alerts set for thresholds we want to monitor. Highly recommended.

Source: GetApp
6 of 6 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sam Myers

Verified Reviewer

26/04/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Syon InfoMedia

Verified Reviewer

16/12/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
christina damelio

Verified Reviewer

31/03/2016

Time used: Free Trial

Source: GetApp
Read more
Anonymous
Associate Professor (Higher Education company, 1001-5000 employees)
Verified Reviewer

22/03/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Source: GetApp
Read more
Cobus Bernard

Verified Reviewer

29/12/2015

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more
Jeff Devine

Verified Reviewer

19/12/2015

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Read more
Tyler Gish

Verified Reviewer

15/12/2015

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Read more
Brian Wagner

Verified Reviewer

24/11/2015

Time used: Free Trial

Source: GetApp
Read more
Pawan Kumar

Verified Reviewer

27/10/2015

Rating breakdown

Ease of use

Time used: Free Trial

Source: GetApp
Read more
Michael Tougeron

Verified Reviewer

16/09/2015

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Read more