App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

JumpCloud Directory Platform Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

192

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.78/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Not only is their entire team from sales, to customer success, to engineering, to support amazing, they are very fast to jump on any issues or features you are interested in to help.
Easy integration with my UniFi (UID) service. Amazing UI and perfect documentation.
JumpCloud is by far the best solution for those smaller businesses that don't have the time or the budget for a dedicated IT team.
Still missing some functionality that we need as an organization.
At times the instructions can seem vague and maybe presume too much.
Not having to maintain an internal LDAP directory has been a substantial burden that was lifted by JumpCloud.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


192 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Justin S.

DevOps Engineer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Pricey, gets the job done, but not Active Directory

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Justin: Hi, I'm Justin, DevOps engineer, and I give JumpCloud five out of five stars. For more reviews...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Layton H.

IT Helpdesk

Real Estate, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

JumpCloud Directory Platform - Windows, MacOS, Linux

Reviewed 5 months ago

Transcript

Layton: Hi, I'm Layton. I'm a help desk associate, and I would give JumpCloud five stars. Click below...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Hany S.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great App that makes IT life easier

Reviewed a year ago

Great experience so far

Pros

Easy UI, Lots of integration and new features

Cons

Support needs to get more proactive and know their product more better

RR
AvatarImg

Robert R.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great functional product that tackles most of the Central management and directory functions

Reviewed 2 years ago

Jumpclouds offering has great features and helps simplify the central user management issue we had. Importing users from Gsuite which was the main system that housed all our users centrally was simple, albeit lacking granular import options (such as ignore mailgroups etc) Systems (which are devices) is the inventory of all your systems running the jumpcloud agent - the greatest feature here is being...

Pros

Support right through the demo to the purchase, to the implementation. Success criteria are agreed between yourselves and them. They're improving the product almost daily and have the ability to use web-hooks to monitor service status' The ease in which you are able to integrate Gsuite (as well as multiple ways to import users from your existing central directory) It also gives you the ability to tailor...

Cons

A few tricky bits around JC > Gsuite integration wording that take some time to get your head around when integrating and activating accounts once imported. The admin vs user console login is dynamic and handled via one URL making it a little frustrating to see what the user profile looks like as you have to log out/open a new window to log in as a user - they should be separate logins URLS/Pages...

RK
AvatarImg

Ravit K.

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Cylus Review

Reviewed a year ago

We are new to it, seems nice and easy to use but the MAJOR issue is locking us out of our PCs without any warnings and that caused us to pause the usage - a shame - as we worked hard to integrate it and were excited about using it.

Pros

The fact that I can have an active directory and SSO managed for Macs/Ubuntu and Window users all in one place is amazing

Cons

There's a bug and it locks our users, especially in Ubunto but also in Macs and it caused a HUGE inconvenience for us. Takes support time to respond. Initial chat response is quick, but when we need the professional side ad-hock when I have an Executive locked out of his pc all day, it wasn't resolved

CS
AvatarImg

Carl S.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Solution for User and Device Management, Directory and Security

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are using JumpCloud as central directory, for SSO, for device and user management and partially MDM functionality. We love the support service, their incredibly enthusiastic and helpful staff. Support is brilliant! They are response time is sometimes hard to believe. The speed with which they have implemented features they mentioned in phone calls a few days before... we are well impressed. The end user experience is simple and assigning users to devices is lightning fast. JumpCloud helps us leverage zero touch deployment as well. We love that it has so many SSO integrations, too.

Pros

Great UI, self explanatory, fast and works in almost any browser (desktop and mobile). The ease of use is incredible. Basically no learning curve at all.

Cons

It would be great to have even more MDM functionality, especially for Mac and mobile devices.

AG
AvatarImg

Aaron G.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Directory as a service the next generation

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been awesome to know I can track staff, device but not use active directory. It's only took a few days to learn the software and the documentation has been awesome.

Pros

Not having to use Microsoft domain management. Less on prem expense and more focus on daily needs. Easy to use and deployment.

Cons

I haven't really had an draw backs from using this software it has really help to go domain less for me as a MSP owner.

MK
AvatarImg

Mike K.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Software and Service

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very good and very helpful with managing dispersed machines across many different clients.

Pros

Automatically updates and pushes changes out to devices in near real-time. Works with a host of services and grows every day. Has many of the main features of a DaaS, without being overly complex or difficult to configure. Windows policy configuration without a domain for small businesses.

Cons

Lacks substantial Mac and Linux policy configuration.

AG
AvatarImg

Alex G.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Awesome software, awesome people

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ease of use as well as the Slack lounge + support team is quick to respond.

Cons

I have not encountered any situations yet where the software was not able to meet my needs.

JW
AvatarImg

Jarred W.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for DaaS!

Reviewed 3 years ago

GREAT! This service has been FLAWLESS!

Pros

I like the integrations and synchronizations to other applications. Specifically, we use a hybrid AD approach. It works great! We’re also using the RaaS for dynamic vlan mapping. VERY impressed!

Cons

Wish there were more options that we didn’t have to customize via the powershell API. I don’t remember all of the cmdlets and have to look them up every time.

FL
AvatarImg

Felix L.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A simple yet effective Cloud based management system

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The free 10 first users really helped me do my proof of concepts with the applications I wanted to integrate. The interface is simple and everything you need to manage users and associated systems and applications are easy to find.

Cons

Policies to deploy to systems are a cool feature, however, there are too few policies for Linux. A community driven for policies could be very interesting.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Moises C.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Break away from the traditional way of managing your computers

Reviewed 3 years ago

I love the ability of being able to manage computers and apps from anywhere that I am at. I do not have to be in the office to manage anything. Break away from the traditional settings.

Pros

I love the fact this this is an online solution to your old traditional way to manage computers from internal servers. It branches outside your office to anywhere you want to do work.

Cons

Some of the function setups are not that user friendly. Policies are a headache when selecting what to configure. It's not easy to go back where you left off. Sometimes you have to scroll down a long list of configurations to get back to the location that you last left off from.

SJ
AvatarImg

Steve J.

Food Production, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

JumpCloud is a solid solution for cloud directory.

Reviewed a year ago

Really like that they constantly improve the service and have great customer service as well.

Pros

The policy and directory features stand out. You can easily add a machine and take it away when necessary.

Cons

There is some functionality that I sometimes spend a lot of time to get working properly.

AB
AvatarImg

ADam B.

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Avoiding the mistakes of others...

Reviewed 2 years ago

I watched our sister company who was all Mac-based turn to the dark-side and try to take on PC client machines along with active directory...it's been a slow churn for them. No unified passwords, a home built radius server held together by a band-aid and Mac clients that see no benefit and 2 AD servers that no one truly understands...it's like some mystical dark art. We on the other hand, spun up...

Pros

I love that this DaaS product "just works" right out of the box. There is plenty of good documentation to read if you are cautious like me. I found that many features just worked and were intuitive to implement. We went from a small company that was ravaged by "password fatigue" - we separate passwords for everything with no central password app. It was a nightmare. After deploying Jumpcloud,...

Cons

While the support for features and processes pertaining to Jumpcloud are documented well. At times the instructions can seem vague and maybe presume too much. However, support personnel are just an email away...they will help you "stick to the script", they are not however always well-versed in real scenarios you may have on your job-site. Nonetheless, I'll give them a C+ for walking through a couple nerve-racking installs the first time through.

JB
AvatarImg

Jeffrey B.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solid way to manage users

Reviewed 3 years ago

I use jump-cloud for my own business and my clients primarily to help with user management and to manage access to the various services that are used. It jump make all this easier.

Pros

It solves a bunch of problems all at once. You can have Jumpcloud handle your G Suite/Office 365 password, then use that same password for your computer logins and well as for your office's WiFi. A lot of people miss that last one. Small business rarely change the WiFi password, so every exemployee knows how to log in. With Jumpcloud Radius service, everyone uses their Jumpcloud password to log in. If someone is no longer with the company, you disable their Jumpcloud account and they no longer can log in. If you are a Linux admin, Jumpcloud's system agent can handle password, or even better ssh keys with two-factor authentications. This really take security up while making all it easy to manage. They keep adding features as well, like recently added management of Bitlocker.

Cons

I only have minor grips. Like to manage LDAP, you have to create an LDAP bind user. No big deal, but that is the only thing I'm going to use that account for. The fact that it shows up as an option for G Suite or for system log ins is unnecessary. Seems like that should be a special user locked away under LDAP tab somewhere.

RS
AvatarImg

Ratko S.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Freedom of choice, movemant, security, breaking AD chains - all with JC

Reviewed 2 years ago

If you want to have or already have most of what is necessary in the Cloud, without the need for a DC server in the premises, to expand your intranet to the entire Internet, then you need DaaS. JumpCloud is simple but offers complex services.

Pros

Quite complete solution, pretty simple but comprehensive. Management of users, machines, groups, solid connections with o365, cloud RADIUS option... And constant service improvement, which is very important in the software industry.

Cons

Reliability of RADIUS service, addition of remote control.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Muhammad S.

Hospitality, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great MDM for WFH startups

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Rolling out the system was easy. Imported users from Google Workspace and we were good to go. Simple to use Web UI compared to other clunky products I have tested over the years.

Cons

Some UX components can be fine tuned. Nothing major to complain about. For example, Admins should be able to get Geolocation of the device's WAN IP. Features like Geofencing would be great. Visibility of all installed applications on the end point device would be useful for audits. Admin/Sudo permission can include a scheduler or timer to auto disable.

MS
AvatarImg

Marco S.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The truth cloud directory as a service platform

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Jumpcloud aggregates several features in one place as a SAAS service. From managing users to deploying policies, software, ... It's an easy way to start managing assets, from people to computers. It provides a wide range of SSO allowing its use straightaway.

Cons

Jumpcloud attempts to support every OS (Mac, Linux, Windows) however it does not provide the same amount of functionality throughout all of those operating systems. Currently, Linux is behind with little functionality compared with the others. Also, the Command execution needs a lot of improvements to give an overall better experience.

MG
AvatarImg

Michael G.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of a kind cloud product

Reviewed 3 years ago

Solution to meet the requirement by having his/her own unique user account, therefore, no accounts are being shared.

Pros

As a replacement for an onsite server, JumpCloud leads the pack because they support companies that are very small with high growth potential, to take advantage of the software for free with limitations of number of users/computers. This allows the company using it, to grow and as it does, gives me an easy decision to subscribe to the service, without reinventing a solution. Another PRO is that is actually releases updates that have a beneficial use; JumpCloud has never stopped adding new or improved features. I have to research software to make recommendations that are best for the client and business. They choose JumpCloud.

Cons

As it relates to Directory-as-a-Service features, are policies for user/computer functionality. Such as standard policy to lock the computers after 15 minutes. It incorporates basic policies to apply to the machine or user, but not any near the amount Local Group Policy offers.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Divorcing Microsoft Active Directory, married nibble SaaS and cloud simplicity

Reviewed 4 years ago

Jumpcloud has helped me move the authoritative directory to the cloud, unify sign-on and simplify end-user password sprawl.

Pros

Jumpcloud is a great alternative to Microsoft Active Directory, I've rolled out JC at several firms and enjoyed the simple to use and easy to deploy, yet powerful service they provide. A big plus is that JC is designed to be OS agnostic, so I can deliver the security, management, and scripting I need to endpoints and servers while allowing end-users to choose their preferred OS.

Cons

not much to add here, it does what its supposed to do.

KB
AvatarImg

Kevin B.

Computer & Network Security, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

the best solution for managing non AD clients

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I have deployed this product at a number of companies who either decided they do not like or need Active directory for any number of internal reasons, in some cases they were small and did not want the complexity or overhead of having to maintain a server. regardless of the original reason for shunning AD they have all been very happy with the abilities of Jumpcloud.

Cons

although it handles some of the tasks that AD does, it does lack some of the depth of control that AD provides. We have created work-arounds that have address 80-90% of the shortcommings

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cloud Directory Done Right!

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

JumpCloud offers a versatile interface, responsive support, and they embrace automation. I have used the policies feature to help manage Windows and MacOS. I deploy scripts using JumpCloud extensively, and they offer their own for different actions via GitHub. Various multi-factor authentication methods are supported, which I have used to further secure user VPN connections.

Cons

Managing scripts via the "Commands" window could use some fine-tuning. It can prove difficult to manage many at once or make bulk edits, for example.

JP
AvatarImg

Jean-Pierre H.

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

JumpCloud as windows MDM

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

We are a remote start up so having a cloud AD infrastructure doesn't make sense for us. JumpCloud provides a majority of the features of AD (GPO, Password management, iDP, etc) and is easy to use. I have an IT Intern that became proficient in JumpCloud within a month.

Cons

JumpCloud customer service could be better at responding. Our CS Manager is great, but for general support there is a lack of in dept information. There was an outage with JumpCloud and it was causing our users to be locked out of their PC's. Okta was on a zoom call with us within an hour to see if it was on their end, I had to open two JumpCloud tickets. It also took multiple days to get a RCA from JumpCloud.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Tough To Manage - Effective at it's Job

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love what jumpcloud does, it provides safety and security to our company. We really needed a way to gain control and make sure company property was protected. Having the single login to multiple services helps our employees, with only having to remember one password.

Cons

It's pretty tough to implement and control. We constantly run into issues with configuring users on new systems. Systems fall out of date and don't add/remove users as the should. It's a headache to fix. Employees consistently get locked out, as they have to set a new password every 90 days

MM
AvatarImg

Mark M.

Telecommunications, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for our small user base

Reviewed a year ago

It allowed me to standardize access to all of het company's data assets very quickly and easily.

Pros

The best part of Jumpcloud is the ease of use for setting up things that we need quickly.

Cons

There are offerings here that I know nothing or next to nothing about. ot the failt of Jumpcloud - I need to spend the time

NT
AvatarImg

Nick T.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Product for a reasonable price

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been a very good experience so far. We are streamlining onboarding of employees and management of all our SaaS accounts.

Pros

The product is very easy to use and helps us work more efficiently. It also help us unify security settings across all of our devices without having to change all of them manually. Computer set up is much smoother now using the agent.

Cons

I wish they had MDM for PCs in addition to Macs. Also, setting up the RADIUS server is difficult because there are so many different kinds of networking devices.

VF
AvatarImg

Vincent F.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jumpcloud at A-JIS

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

As IT admins for a K-12 school, we like to be able to map different software solutions to our users to manage licenses and to leverage SSO.

Cons

The lack of CSV exports for admin data and having to rely on the API. The API works well so that is not an issue but not all admins are able to leverage it.