JumpCloud DaaS Reviews

JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

4.77/5 (53 reviews)

Chris Cotter

Everything I Need, Without the Aggravation of AD

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-09-09
Review Source: Capterra

I have been very happy with JumpCloud. I used to run an ActiveDirectory system for the small amount of users I have, and AD is so old, clunky, and often overkill. This is a lightweight solution that can allow you to manage your organization with ease using users, groups, and policies. Setting up a user in another state is just a click away on the panel.

Pros
Very simple, quick package install that takes seconds. I love that the agent runs as service with a tiny footprint. You make changes using the web console, and they propagate down within a minute. Password syncing is not an issue. Just as if you were using AD, password syncing works fast. I loved how easy it was to setup RADIUS for wireless. I had it up and running within a couple of minutes. Agent installation on our machines was either done by a small installer, or in the case of Linux, a simple copy-and-paste command pasted into the terminal.

Cons
No mobile app yet. I am hoping this will change in the future so I can make changes without having to log into the browser.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Sean Hunter

Not yet feature complete, but getting closer every quarter

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-10-07
Review Source: Capterra

Not having to maintain an internal LDAP directory has been a substantial burden that was lifted by JumpCloud.

Pros
Ease of use for SMB's, changes are reflected instantly, free for up to 10 users forever makes trialing trivial, and MDM features across Windows and Macs are uniquely useful.

Cons
Lacking some features. For example, they support VLAN assignment via RADIUS, but do not support named VLAN's in this configuration. It's not a complete replacement for AD in that you cannot nest groups, they have to be individually managed. The MDM features are some of the most interesting available, but feature availability is highly dependent on OS... for example, while both Mac and Windows have significant options available to them (albeit many fewer that Group Policy in AD provides), Linux has almost none of the MDM features available to it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Jeffrey Brite

Solid way to manage users

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-10-09
Review Source: Capterra

I use jump-cloud for my own business and my clients primarily to help with user management and to manage access to the various services that are used. It jump make all this easier.

Pros
It solves a bunch of problems all at once. You can have Jumpcloud handle your G Suite/Office 365 password, then use that same password for your computer logins and well as for your office's WiFi. A lot of people miss that last one. Small business rarely change the WiFi password, so every exemployee knows how to log in. With Jumpcloud Radius service, everyone uses their Jumpcloud password to log in. If someone is no longer with the company, you disable their Jumpcloud account and they no longer can log in. If you are a Linux admin, Jumpcloud's system agent can handle password, or even better ssh keys with two-factor authentications. This really take security up while making all it easy to manage. They keep adding features as well, like recently added management of Bitlocker.

Cons
I only have minor grips. Like to manage LDAP, you have to create an LDAP bind user. No big deal, but that is the only thing I'm going to use that account for. The fact that it shows up as an option for G Suite or for system log ins is unnecessary. Seems like that should be a special user locked away under LDAP tab somewhere.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Diana Scott

Great LDAP solutions for small businesses

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-10-07
Review Source: Capterra

Small businesses that need to become more operational mature in handling their staff and managing users but maybe can't afford an on premise Windows server or want to keep everything in the cloud - this is where JumpCloud reigns supreme.

Pros
The price is probably number 1 thing i like! Free for under 10 users. A great way for me as an IT professional to help smaller businesses get onto a stable platform for properly managing their users and devices, with room to expand as their companies grow. Great integrations with other apps (we use Office365 for most clients). With JumpCloud a small company really doesn't need a Windows Active Directory server on premises any longer.

Cons
No customer service for the free licenses - I get why, but I don't have to like it. It would be less annoying if the knowledgebase was a bit streamlined better. Can be difficult to find How-To information. Usually the article is there but is not intuitive and easy to find.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Mark Hitchcock

Reliable product

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-09
Review Source: Capterra

Jumpcloud are always requesting feedback and improving their offering

Pros
Minimal downtime and easy to navigate GUI.

Cons
Access to logs is via API only making them hard to decipher at times.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Anonymous

Divorcing Microsoft Active Directory, married nibble SaaS and cloud simplicity

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-17
Review Source: Capterra

Jumpcloud has helped me move the authoritative directory to the cloud, unify sign-on and simplify end-user password sprawl.

Pros
Jumpcloud is a great alternative to Microsoft Active Directory, I've rolled out JC at several firms and enjoyed the simple to use and easy to deploy, yet powerful service they provide. A big plus is that JC is designed to be OS agnostic, so I can deliver the security, management, and scripting I need to endpoints and servers while allowing end-users to choose their preferred OS.

Cons
not much to add here, it does what its supposed to do.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

David Fletcher

Great AD alternative

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-10-09
Review Source: Capterra

With end users using G Suite for file storage and sharing, we are able to manage PCs and end user credentials without needing to deploy Active Directory.

Pros
Easy to manage web interface with clear categories and policies.

Cons
Client installation on PCs was more complex than I would have liked.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Michael Griffin

One of a kind cloud product

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-10-09
Review Source: Capterra

Solution to meet the requirement by having his/her own unique user account, therefore, no accounts are being shared.

Pros
As a replacement for an onsite server, JumpCloud leads the pack because they support companies that are very small with high growth potential, to take advantage of the software for free with limitations of number of users/computers. This allows the company using it, to grow and as it does, gives me an easy decision to subscribe to the service, without reinventing a solution. Another PRO is that is actually releases updates that have a beneficial use; JumpCloud has never stopped adding new or improved features. I have to research software to make recommendations that are best for the client and business. They choose JumpCloud.

Cons
As it relates to Directory-as-a-Service features, are policies for user/computer functionality. Such as standard policy to lock the computers after 15 minutes. It incorporates basic policies to apply to the machine or user, but not any near the amount Local Group Policy offers.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Mike Kosek

Great Software and Service

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-10-13
Review Source: Capterra

Very good and very helpful with managing dispersed machines across many different clients.

Pros
Automatically updates and pushes changes out to devices in near real-time. Works with a host of services and grows every day. Has many of the main features of a DaaS, without being overly complex or difficult to configure. Windows policy configuration without a domain for small businesses.

Cons
Lacks substantial Mac and Linux policy configuration.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Andre Devine

Dumping the old and embracing the new!

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-09-04
Review Source: Capterra

Overall JumpCloud has been wonderful. I was able to eliminate the costs of hosting a datacenter for my client and reduced their overall IT costs by 30% or more. This allowed them to use that savings to leverage other cloud based services to enhance their entire business model.

Pros
JumpCloud DaaS helped me move an organization from an expensive hosted AD environment to a cloud based one which provides much needed security and ease of use for my registered users. Its licensing scheme was cost effective, its inherent ability to migrate users onto the platform easily was great, and its administrative portal is very easy to use.

Cons
I haven't found any cons yet. The software runs very well. Whenever I did run into issues with the deployment or setup the help team was prompt and knowledgeable.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Anonymous

Tough To Manage - Effective at it's Job

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-10-24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I love what jumpcloud does, it provides safety and security to our company. We really needed a way to gain control and make sure company property was protected. Having the single login to multiple services helps our employees, with only having to remember one password.

Cons
It's pretty tough to implement and control. We constantly run into issues with configuring users on new systems. Systems fall out of date and don't add/remove users as the should. It's a headache to fix. Employees consistently get locked out, as they have to set a new password every 90 days

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Anonymous

Great option as cloud directory as service

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-09-04
Review Source: Capterra

Works just fine as a cloud-based domain service, ideal for spread organizations.

Pros
Easy to use and deploy for different OS options

Cons
Cost can become considerable for large number of users

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Moises Cruz

Break away from the traditional way of managing your computers

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-11-22
Review Source: Capterra

I love the ability of being able to manage computers and apps from anywhere that I am at. I do not have to be in the office to manage anything. Break away from the traditional settings.

Pros
I love the fact this this is an online solution to your old traditional way to manage computers from internal servers. It branches outside your office to anywhere you want to do work.

Cons
Some of the function setups are not that user friendly. Policies are a headache when selecting what to configure. It's not easy to go back where you left off. Sometimes you have to scroll down a long list of configurations to get back to the location that you last left off from.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Anonymous

I love JumpCloud - it's a very smart approach to directory services in a cloud first world

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
JumpCloud provides the ability to be the core directory service, easily federate with other services and provides wealth of management capabilities in a cross-platform way.

Cons
Replacing a directory service is never an easy process, so there is some upfront investment in regards to implementation.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Isreli Reichman

DaaS as it should be.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-09-09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
- Simple to use yet allows for more advanced functions. - No add-ons. Full functionality so it is easier to adopt new functionality. - The product evolves and adds features very fast. - New features and the over all product tend to be high quality.

Cons
- Sometimes you can feel the start-uppy nature of the company with less then ripe features released. - The cloud nature of the service means depending on another company in case of an outage.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Mike Jenkins

Great non-domain user control!

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-09-04
Review Source: Capterra

With this service I was able to settle some PCI Compliance issues with just a short amount of setup time.

Pros
I loved the fact that I was easily able to implement this product with Linux and Windows servers to auto-create and populate user information and user control. This has changed so many steps in our initial buildouts and use on these machines. Must say it has saved countless hours of work!

Cons
So far, I do not see any part that I am not a fan of at all.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Christian Hujer

Jumpstart your directory service with JumpCloud

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-09-09
Review Source: Capterra

Having SSO (Single-Sign-On) across all our systems (mostly Linux) and Google G Suite (Google Drive, Gmail etc) has made systems administration much less painful for both, users and administrators.

Pros
The setup is relatively easy, and major operating systems are supported. It allows single-sign-on (SSO) across a variety of systems. For me, of particular interest was having Linux and G Suite SSO, for which JumpCloud provides an excellent solution.

Cons
I wish Linux SSO would work by an LDAP proxy cache instead of a patch to /etc/passwd /etc/shadow /etc/group /etc/gshadow files. An LDAP proxy cache just appears more secure to me.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Jarred Wheeler

Great for DaaS!

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-09-13
Review Source: Capterra

GREAT! This service has been FLAWLESS!

Pros
I like the integrations and synchronizations to other applications. Specifically, we use a hybrid AD approach. It works great! We’re also using the RaaS for dynamic vlan mapping. VERY impressed!

Cons
Wish there were more options that we didn’t have to customize via the powershell API. I don’t remember all of the cmdlets and have to look them up every time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Igor Manassypov

swiss knife identity hub

Used weekly for free trial
Reviewed 2019-09-04
Review Source: Capterra

Identity as a service - ability to stitch together disjoint web apps while maintaining centralized identity store

Pros
Flexible multicloud identity broker - allows to stitch and federate identity between onprem and cloud. When you are looking to go all-cloud, major challenge becomes identity federation and not depending on the onprem AD. Capability to offer tie the same cloud identity to onprem infra via RADIUS as a service is indespe

Cons
can become costly and api-level interop with major MDM / Security frameworks is highly desired

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Donald Hock

Ease of use

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-10-07
Review Source: Capterra

Used this product at my clients sites that are a small office and not a domain. Works best in these environments.

Pros
Ease of deployment and ease of use when managing end users and Nas access.

Cons
When changing password it would not flow from jump cloud to O365. You would have to change in O365 and push to jumpcloud.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Anonymous

Easy and affordable directory service

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-09-04
Review Source: Capterra

It’s been really great and the people at JumpCloud are very helpful if I ever have an issue.

Pros
I like how easy it is to add new users to my directory and mange them in one place from anywhere.

Cons
There are a few limitations when integrating with other software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Susan Fung

JumpCloud

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-04
Review Source: Capterra

We are using this to be able to manage the users on our devices as well as to manage some of the features and push scripts out as needed.

Pros
This software was very easy to use and set up. Customer Service was great during the set up process. The knowledge base was also quite useful. I ended up using the knowledge base a lot more and used Customer Service for further clarification as needed.

Cons
Nothing at the moment. We are very satisfied with this product. It met our current needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Preston Robinson

Simple and effective

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-09-10
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent probably the best description I can provide for JumpCloud. In addition to using it for the office, I am personal use it at home.

Pros
Ease of use and works for Windows, Mac, and Linux OS

Cons
The agent periodically does not report. When this issue happens you typically have to reinstall the agent or reset the portal account.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Greg Choisser

Great for managing cloud resources

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-02-21
Review Source: Capterra

We needed a way to manage resources that were out of the office environment like remote empolyee's.

Pros
This has a great integration with Google allowing the ability to manage resources outside of the office environment. Works with pc's and macs. Once we purchased the software we were provided a success manager who helped with the rollout from step 1 to completion.

Cons
So far nothing bad to say about it. Anytime we've ran into an issue they were quick to provide a resolution.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management

Michael Beauchamp

Good solution for MSPs

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-10-07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Integration with G Suite Replacement for AD in small office environments Adds needed security and management for clients that have never implemented AD

Cons
The pricing model has improved but can still be cost-prohibitive for small IT budget clients.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


JumpCloud DaaS

Directory-as-a-Service for cloud identity management